Publications

Ministry Accessibility Plans

Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
2009-2010 Accessibility Plan


Introduction

The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 sets out the roadmap to make Ontario accessible by 2025. Under this act, accessibility standards are being developed and implemented to break down barriers in key areas of everyday life.

These standards will increase accessibility for people with disabilities in the areas of customer service, information and communications, employment, transportation and the built environment.

The Government of Ontario is preparing to lead the way towards an accessible province, beginning in January 2010 when the first standard — for customer service — comes into force.

Each year, the government sets the course to prevent, identify and remove barriers through annual accessibility plans required under the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001 (ODA).

Building on last year's plan, the 2009-10 accessibility plans will continue moving the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care towards the goal of an accessible province for all Ontarians.

The ministry is committed to improving accessibility through identifying, removing, and preventing barriers, working together within our ministry, across government, and in our relationships with our stakeholders.

Links to the other ministry plans are available at: http://www.mcss.gov.on.ca/mcss/english/ministry/accessibilityPlans/ministries_accplans10.aspx.

Back to top


Report on Status of Customer Service Requirements

The Accessibility Standards for Customer Service (Ontario Regulation 429/07) came into force on January 1, 2008. All OPS ministries must comply with the Regulation by January 1, 2010.

To begin to transition OPS ministries to this regulation, this section has been added to the ODA Planning Template to highlight customer service initiatives.

Focus Area : Customer Service

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will adopt the OPS Accessible Customer Service Policy and OPS Accessibility Guideline.

Planned Action(s) : All staff will be encouraged to embed this policy into ministry-specific practices, policies and procedures to ensure that accessibility becomes part of regular business practices.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Customer Service

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will ensure that persons with disabilities will be able to provide feedback on the way it provides goods or services to people with disabilities.

Planned Action(s) : A process will be established within the ministry to respond and take action on complaints received in order to improve service to persons with disabilities.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Customer Service

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will continue to provide accessibility training for all staff to ensure they are trained, as appropriate, on policies, practices and procedures that affect the way goods and services are provided to persons with disabilities.

Planned Action(s) : All staff will be encouraged to complete the accessibility e-learning modules provided through the OPS Centre for Leadership and Learning. Training in accessible customer service will be included in staff performance management plans, and incorporated into orientation materials for new staff.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11

Results Achieved : Ministry staff are better able to provide goods or services to customers and clients with disabilities, and recognize the barriers people with disabilities may face when accessing services.


Focus Area : Customer Service

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will provide alternative communications systems, with a focus on TTYs, to facilitate access to information by clients who are hearing-impaired or speech-impaired.

Planned Action(s) : The ministry provides TTY service through a dedicated phone line at 1-800-387-5559, and promotes the TTY number on all relevant ministry web pages, fact sheets, brochures, and advertising aimed at the general public.

Implementation Timeframe : implemented (Note: ServiceOntario, Ministry of Government Services, became responsible for administering the TTY service and dedicated phone line as of July 7, 2008.)

Results Achieved : Clients are able to access services in whichever format they choose.

Back to top


Report on Other Accessibility Commitments

Accessibility Improvement Initiatives to Identify, Remove or Prevent Barriers in preparation for AODA standards currently under development.

Focus Area : Employment

Impact : Policy

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will provide training and information to ensure that managers have the necessary resources to recognize and address barriers to accessibility in the workplace and to effectively respond to workplace accommodations.

Planned Action(s) : All managers have been advised of their responsibility to review the Employment Accommodation and Return to Work Operating Policy to respond to accessibility issues, and to better manage the reassignment of employees to alternate positions based on medical needs.

Implementation Timeframe) : Oct 09 -Mar 11

Results Achieved: Ministry managers have the resources and knowledge they need to effectively address accommodation issues in the workplace.


Focus Area : Employment

Impact : Policy

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will continue to ensure there are no potential barriers in employment policies, processes, practices or tools for people with disabilities.

Planned Action(s) : The ministry continues to remove any identified barriers that may affect job applicants and employees with disabilities. Recruitment and service delivery processes are reviewed on a continual basis to ensure they are accessible.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Built Environment

Impact : Service

Commitment : Ongoing

Family Health Teams to be reminded and encouraged to comply with accessibility requirements.

Planned Action(s) : Family Health Teams will be reminded of their obligations through ministry funding agreements, Family Health Team Guides, and a facility checklist which requires them to determine the accessibility of their proposed site and identify any barriers.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Built Environment

Impact : Policy

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will continue to require that healthcare facilities address their accessibility issues in accordance with existing statutes and regulations, in the design and construction of their capital projects.

Planned Action(s) : The ministry will advise healthcare facility boards/owners/ property management of their responsibility to comply with applicable codes (e.g. Ontario Fire Code and the Ontario Building Code), and requirements through operating agreements and as otherwise, if deemed necessary.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Built Environment

Impact : Program

Commitment : New

The ministry's Public Health Division (PHD) commits to ensuring that meetings, training sessions and meeting materials will be accessible, e.g. meeting spaces will be in barrier-free facilities, provision of alternative meeting modalities (e.g. teleconference, webinar, video conference, face-to-face options), and provision of materials (e.g. large print material on request, multiple electronic formats with capacity for modification for people who are visually-impaired).

An example of stakeholder training initiatives aimed at supporting accessibility is the Hand Hygiene program, which is designing its training packages with print and online options. Also, training models will be uploaded to the program's website to ensure that this information is accessible from the user's desired location.

Planned Action(s) : PHD will develop a policy to address potential barriers when selecting meeting modalities, locations, format of materials. PHD will formalize this practice in an appropriate document, with accompanying tools and measures for consistent application across the division.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Built Environment

Impact : Service

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will continue to ensure that accessibility design features and the needs of employees requiring accommodation are considered during workstation design.

Planned Action(s) : The ministry will ensure that layouts for new workstations are designed in accordance with OPS Barrier Free Design Guidelines, and reflect current industry standards for ergonomic design.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11

Results Achieved : New and renovated ministry workplaces are accessible.


Focus Area : Built Environment

Impact : Service

Commitment : New

The ministry is creating 50 new Family Health Teams (FHTs), and 25 Nurse-Practitioner (NP)-Led Clinics across Ontario.

Planned Action(s) : All 50 new FHTs and 25 NP Clinics will be accessible, and comply with the Report on Status of Customer Service Requirements, as part of the ministry's Request-for-Proposal (RFP) process for the new FHTs and NP Clinics. As well, they will be informed of their obligations for accessibility through ministry funding agreements, FHT Guides, and a facility checklist which requires them to determine the accessibility of their proposed site, identify any barriers, and describe how these barriers will be eliminated.

Implementation Timeframe : Sept 08 -Mar 10

Results Achieved : All Family Health Teams and Nurse-Practitioner-Led Clinics are accessible to persons with disabilities.


Focus Area : Information and Communications

Impact : Program

Commitment : Ongoing

Library services housed within the ministry's Public Health Division have undertaken several initiatives to support the accessibility of their services. This includes provision of materials online (e.g. may be modified for people who have visual impairments), the ability to send all materials directly to individual service users in their preferred method (fax, mail, online), and the support of librarians to help service users to access the collection. All of the librarians have completed accessible customer service training.

Planned Action(s) :The Library continues to assess its services, and to develop new strategies to improve the accessibility of its services, through an ongoing reflective process.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Information and Communications

Impact : Program

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry's Health System Information Management & Investment Division (HSIMI) commits to initiating compliance requirements within the division for the proposed AODA Information and Communication (IC) Standard.

Planned Action(s) : HSIMI has undertaken a number of activities aimed at increasing awareness of the IC Standard development process. A group of representatives from across the ministry was initiated by HSIMI to help the ministry representative on the AODA IC standard development committee identify opportunities and challenges.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Information and Communications

Impact : Service

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will continue to ensure that customers and other users are aware that ministry publications are available in alternate formats.

Planned Action(s) : Ministry staff will be provided with guidance on partnering with Publications Ontario to make publications available in alternate formats.

Implementation Timeframe) : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Information and Communications

Impact : Service

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will ensure that its public-facing website complies with the Ontario government Online Design Program guidelines as well as with international accessibility standards to make information easier to access for people with disabilities.

Planned Action(s) : The ministry completed phase 1 of this project in June 2009, improving navigation features and enhancing performance for accessibility. The ministry will continue with phase 2 of this project this year and with phases 3 and 4 in future years. Website content will continue to be reviewed to ensure it is accessible.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Information and Communications

Impact : Service

Commitment : Ongoing

The ministry will raise awareness among staff of the AODA Customer Service Standard and the other four standards currently in development.

Planned Action(s) : The ministry has created an intranet website on accessibility to provide employees with the tools and resources required to comply with the AODA standards. The site will be updated on an ongoing basis as new information becomes available.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11


Focus Area : Other

Impact : Policy/Program

Commitment : Ongoing

The Equity Unit co-chairs the Provincial Liaison Committee for Persons with a Physical Disability, which is comprised of ministry and stakeholder organizations (both client and service provider). The committee's mandate is to provide strategic advice to the ministry about priorities for health and service delivery issues related to individuals with physical disabilities. The committee is co-chaired by the ministry, the Centre for Independent Living of Toronto (CLT), and Independent Living Service Providers (ILSP). Meetings are held in fully accessible venues, and materials are provided in formats to meet the communication needs of all members.

Planned Action(s) : Ongoing committee meetings provide advice, including physical disability stakeholder perspectives, to policy and strategy development.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 - Mar 11

Results Achieved : Policy and strategy developments include perspectives from stakeholders who may be disabled.


Focus Area : Other

Impact : Act / Regulation

Commitment : Ongoing

The MOHLTC Legal Services Branch will continue to review legislation and regulations to identify barriers to accessibility.

Planned Action(s) : Legal counsel will work with ministry staff, including the identification and removal of barriers, when revising existing acts or regulations, or when developing new acts or regulations.

Implementation Timeframe : Oct 09 -Mar 11

Results Achieved : Legal counsel and ministry staff reviewed acts and regulations on a case-by-case basis, as they were developed or revised, to identify and address accessibility issues.

Back to top


For More Information

Questions or comments about the ministry's accessibility plan are always welcome.

Please phone :

General inquiry number: 416-314-5518

TTY number : 1-800-387-5559

1-800 number : 1-866-532-3161

E-mail : infoline.moh@ontario.ca

Ministry website address: http://www.health.gov.on.ca/

Visit the Ministry of Community and Social Services Accessibility Ontario web portal. The site promotes accessibility and provides information and resources on how to make Ontario a barrier-free province.

Alternate formats of this document are available free upon request from:

ServiceOntario Publications
Phone : 1-800-668-9938
TTY : 1-800-268-7095

©Queen's Printer for Ontario

ISSN #1710-4106
Ce document est disponible en français.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Plans d'accessibilitè du ministére

Plan d'accessibilité 2009-2010


Introduction

La Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO) constitue la feuille de route pour rendre la province accessible d’ici 2025. En vertu de cette loi, des normes d’accessibilité sont établies et mises en œuvre en vue d’abolir les obstacles qui existent dans les principaux aspects de la vie quotidienne.

Ces normes amélioreront l’accessibilité des personnes handicapées dans les secteurs des services à la clientèle, de l’information et des communications, de l’emploi, du transport et du milieu bâti.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario se prépare à faire de l’Ontario une province accessible à compter de janvier 2010 lors de l’entrée en vigueur de la première norme, soit celle pour les services à la clientèle.

Chaque année, le gouvernement définit la façon de prévenir, de repérer et d’éliminer les obstacles par l’entremise des plans d’accessibilité annuels exigés par la Loi de 2001 sur les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LPHO).

Se fondant sur le plan de l’année dernière, le plan d’accessibilité de 2009-2010 continuera à faire progresser le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée en fonction de l’objectif de faire de l’Ontario une province accessible pour tous les Ontariens et toutes les Ontariennes.

Le ministère s'est engagé, par un travail de collaboration en son sein, à l'échelle du gouvernement et dans ses relations avec les intervenants, à améliorer l'accessibilité en repérant, en éliminant et en prévenant les obstacles.

On peut obtenir les liens aux plans des autres ministères en cliquant sur  : http://www.mcss.gov.on.ca/mcss/french/ministry/accessibilityPlans/ministries_accplans10.htm.

Haut de page

Mise à jour sur les exigences relatives aux services à la clientèle

Les Normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle (Règlement de l’Ontario 429/07) sont entrées en vigueur le 1er janvier 2008. Tous les ministères de l’Ontario doivent se conformer au Règlement d’ici le 1er janvier 2010.

Les ministères amorcent une période de transition en vue de se conformer à ce règlement. On a donc ajouté au plan d’accessibilité la présente section qui met en relief les initiatives prises par les ministères en matière de services à la clientèle.

Secteur d’intérêt : Services à la clientèle

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère adoptera la Politique d'accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle de la FPO et les Lignes directrices de la FPO en matière d'accessibilité.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Tous les membres du personnel seront encouragés à ancrer cette politique dans les procédures, les politiques et les pratiques spécifiques au ministère de manière à ce que l’accessibilité devienne partie intégrante des pratiques ordinaires.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Services à la clientèle

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère veillera à ce que les personnes handicapées aient la possibilité de fournir une rétroaction sur la manière dont il leur fournit des biens ou des services.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Un processus sera mis en place au sein du ministère pour réagir et agir face aux plaintes reçues afin d’améliorer les services pour les personnes handicapées.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Services à la clientèle

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère continuera à dispenser à tous les membres de son personnel une formation sur l’accessibilité afin de s’assurer qu’ils sont dûment formés sur les procédures, les pratiques et les politiques ayant une incidence sur la manière dont les biens et les services sont fournis aux personnes handicapées.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Tous les membres du personnel seront encouragés à suivre les modules d’apprentissage en ligne sur l’accessibilité fournis par l’entremise du Centre du leadership et de l’apprentissage de la FPO. La formation sur l’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle sera incluse dans les plans de gestion du rendement du personnel et intégrée aux documents d’orientation destinés aux nouveaux membres du personnel.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011

Résultats obtenus : Le personnel du ministère est davantage en mesure de fournir des biens et des services aux clients et aux personnes handicapées, de même que de repérer les obstacles que les personnes handicapées peuvent rencontrer pour accéder aux services.


Secteur d’intérêt : Services à la clientèle

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère fournira des systèmes de communication de substitution, en mettant l'accent sur les numéros ATS afin de faciliter l'accès à l'information pour les clients ayant une déficience auditive ou un trouble de la parole.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Le ministère propose le service ATS par l’entremise d’une ligne téléphonique spécialisée au 1 800 387-5559 et il fait la promotion du numéro ATS sur l’ensemble des pages Web, fiches d’information, brochures et documents publicitaires pertinents destinés au public.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Réalisé (remarque : ServiceOntario, ministère des Services gouvernementaux, est devenu responsable de l’administration du service ATS et de la ligne téléphonique spécialisée le 7 juillet 2008.)

Résultats obtenus : Les clients peuvent accéder aux services sur le support de leur choix.

Haut de page


Mise à jour sur les autres engagements relatifs à l’accessibilité

Initiatives d’amélioration de l’accessibilité visant à repérer, éliminer et prévenir les obstacles pour les normes en cours d’élaboration en vertu de la LAPHO.

Secteur d’intérêt : Emploi

Incidence : Politique(s)

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère fournira une formation et de l’information afin de veiller à ce que les gestionnaires disposent des ressources nécessaires pour repérer, puis éliminer, les obstacles à l’accessibilité sur le lieu de travail et pour résoudre efficacement les problèmes liés à l’adaptation des emplois.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Tous les gestionnaires ont été informés de leur responsabilité de revoir la politique opérationnelle d'adaptation des emplois et de retour au travail afin de résoudre les problèmes liés à l’accessibilité et de mieux gérer la réaffectation des employés à d’autres postes en fonction de leurs besoins médicaux.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011

Résultats obtenus : Les gestionnaires du ministère ont les ressources et les connaissances requises pour résoudre efficacement les problèmes liés à l’adaptation des emplois sur le lieu de travail.


Secteur d’intérêt : Emploi

Incidence : Politique(s)

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère continuera à veiller à ce qu'il n'y ait pas d'obstacles possibles dans les processus, pratiques et politiques d'emploi ou dans les outils pour les personnes handicapées.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Le ministère continue à éliminer les obstacles connus et risquant de défavoriser les personnes handicapées qui postulent un emploi en son sein ou qui sont à son service. Il examine de façon continue les processus de recrutement et de fourniture de ses services afin de s’assurer de leur accessibilité.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Milieu bâti

Incidence : Services

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère rappellera aux équipes de santé familiale qu’elles doivent se conformer aux exigences en matière d’accessibilité et les encouragera à le faire.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Le ministère rappellera aux équipes de santé familiale leurs obligations par l’entremise des accords de financement, des guides des équipes de santé familiale et d’une liste de vérification des installations obligeant les équipes à établir l’accessibilité des locaux prévus et à recenser tout obstacle à l’accessibilité.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Milieu bâti

Incidence : Politique(s)

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère continuera à exiger que les établissements de santé résolvent leurs problèmes d’accessibilité conformément aux lois et règlements en vigueur lors de la conception et de la construction de leurs projets d’immobilisations.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Le ministère informera le conseil d’administration, les propriétaires ou les gestionnaires immobiliers des établissements de santé qu’ils ont la responsabilité de se conformer aux codes (par exemple, le Code de prévention des incendies de l'Ontario et le Code du bâtiment de l'Ontario) et aux exigences en vigueur par l’entremise des accords d’exploitation et par d’autres moyens, si nécessaire.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Milieu bâti

Incidence : Programme(s)

Engagement : Nouveau

La Division de la santé publique du ministère s’engage à s’assurer que les réunions, les séances de formation et les documents de réunion seront accessibles. Par exemple, les aires de réunion se trouveront dans des installations sans obstacle, des solutions de rechange seront proposées pour les réunions (téléconférence, webinaire, vidéoconférence, rencontre en face à face, etc.) et divers supports seront disponibles (documents en gros caractères sur demande, multiples formats électroniques pouvant être modifiés pour les personnes ayant une déficience visuelle, etc.).

Un exemple d’initiative de formation des parties prenantes visant à soutenir l’accessibilité est le programme d’hygiène des mains, qui conçoit ses trousses de formation en proposant différentes solutions imprimées et en ligne. De même, des modèles de formation seront chargés sur le site Web du programme pour s’assurer que l’information est accessible depuis l’endroit souhaité par l’utilisateur.

Action(s) proposée(s) : La Division de la santé publique élaborera une politique pour aborder les obstacles potentiels au moment de choisir les modalités d’une réunion, le lieu de celle-ci ou le support des documents. Elle formalisera cette pratique dans un document adéquat, qui sera accompagné d’outils et de mesures permettant de l’appliquer uniformément dans toute la division.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Milieu bâti

Incidence : Services

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère continuera à veiller à ce que l’accessibilité et les besoins des personnes nécessitant des mesures d’adaptation soient pris en compte au moment de la conception des postes de travail.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Le ministère veillera à ce que la disposition des nouveaux postes de travail soit conçue conformément aux lignes directrices sur l'aménagement sans obstacle de la FPO et respecte les normes actuelles de l'industrie en matière de conception ergonomique.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011

Résultats obtenus : Les postes de travail nouvellement créés ou rénovés du ministère sont accessibles.


Secteur d’intérêt : Milieu bâti

Incidence : Services

Engagement : Nouveau

Le ministère est en train de créer 50 nouvelles équipes de santé familiale et 25 cliniques dirigées par des infirmières et infirmiers praticiens dans tout l’Ontario.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Chacune des 50 nouvelles équipes de santé familiale et des 25 cliniques dirigées par des infirmières et infirmiers praticiens sera accessible et conforme à la Mise à jour sur les exigences relatives aux services à la clientèle, dans le cadre du processus de demande de propositions du ministère pour les nouvelles équipes de santé familiale et cliniques dirigées par des infirmières et infirmiers praticiens. De plus, celles-ci seront informées de leurs obligations en matière d’accessibilité par l’entremise des accords de financement du ministère, des guides destinés aux équipes de santé familiale et d’une liste de vérification des installations qui les obligent à établir l’accessibilité des locaux prévus, à repérer tous les obstacles et à décrire la manière dont ceux-ci seront éliminés.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Septembre 2008 – mars 2010

Résultats obtenus : Toutes les équipes de santé familiale et les cliniques dirigées par des infirmières et infirmiers praticiens sont accessibles pour les personnes handicapées.


Secteur d’intérêt : Information et communications

Incidence : Programme(s)

Engagement : Permanent

Les services de bibliothèque de la Division de la santé publique du ministère ont lancé plusieurs initiatives pour favoriser leur accessibilité. Ceci inclut la fourniture de documents en ligne (qui peuvent, par exemple, être modifiés pour les personnes ayant une déficience visuelle), la capacité d’envoyer tous les documents directement à l’utilisateur par le moyen que celui-ci préfère (télécopie, poste, en ligne) et l’apport d’un soutien par les bibliothécaires afin d’aider les utilisateurs à accéder à la collection. L’ensemble des bibliothécaires a suivi une formation sur l’accessibilité des services à la clientèle.

Action(s) proposée(s) : La bibliothèque continue à évaluer ses services et à élaborer de nouvelles stratégies pour améliorer l’accessibilité de ceux-ci grâce à un processus de réflexion permanent.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Information et communications

Incidence : Programme(s)

Engagement : Permanent

La Division de la gestion de l'information et de l'investissement pour le système de santé du ministère commencera à se conformer aux exigences de la proposition de norme d’accessibilité de l’information et des communications de la LAPHO.

Action(s) proposée(s) : La Division de la gestion de l'information et de l'investissement pour le système de santé du ministère a entrepris un certain nombre d’activités destinées à mieux faire connaître le processus d’élaboration de la norme d’accessibilité de l’information et des communications. Elle a mis sur pied un groupe de personnes issues de tout le ministère afin d’aider le représentant de celui-ci au comité d’élaboration de la norme d’accessibilité de l’information et des communications à repérer les occasions et les difficultés.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Information et communications

Incidence : Services

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère continuera à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour que les clients et autres utilisateurs sachent que ses publications sont disponibles sur supports de substitution.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Le personnel du ministère recevra des conseils sur la manière de collaborer avec Publications Ontario afin de créer des publications dans des formats de substitution.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Information et communications

Incidence : Services

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère veillera à ce que son site Web destiné au public respecte les lignes directrices du Programme de conception Web du gouvernement de l’Ontario ainsi que les normes internationales d’accessibilité afin de permettre aux personnes handicapées d’accéder plus facilement à l’information.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Le ministère a terminé la phase 1 de ce projet en juin 2009. Son site Web dispose désormais d'outils de navigation et d'une accessibilité améliorés. Le ministère continuera cette année la phase 2 de ce projet puis passera aux phases 3 et 4 dans les prochaines années. Le contenu du site Web continuera à être examiné afin de veiller à son accessibilité.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Information et communications

Incidence : Services

Engagement : Permanent

Le ministère sensibilisera le personnel à la Norme d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle de la LAPHO ainsi qu’aux quatre autres normes actuellement en cours d’élaboration.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Le ministère a créé un site intranet sur l’accessibilité afin de donner à ses employés les ressources et les outils requis pour satisfaire aux normes de la LAPHO. Le site sera mis à jour régulièrement chaque fois que de nouveaux renseignements seront disponibles.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011


Secteur d’intérêt : Autre

Incidence : Politique(s)/Programme(s)

Engagement : Permanent

L’Unité de l’équité copréside le comité provincial de liaison pour les personnes ayant un handicap physique, lequel est constitué de représentants du ministère et d’organismes de parties prenantes (clients et fournisseurs de services). Ce comité a pour mandat de proposer au ministère des conseils stratégiques sur des questions prioritaires en matière de santé et de fourniture de services pour les personnes ayant un handicap physique. Il est coprésidé par le ministère, le Centre for Independent Living of Toronto (CLT) et Independent Living Service Providers (ILSP). Ses réunions se tiennent dans des lieux totalement accessibles et la documentation est fournie sur des supports répondant aux besoins de communication de tous les membres.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Les réunions permanentes du comité génèrent des conseils, y compris le point de vue des parties prenantes ayant une incapacité physique, en vue de l’élaboration de politiques et de stratégies.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011

Résultats obtenus : Les politiques et les stratégies sont élaborées en tenant compte du point de vue de parties prenantes qui sont handicapées.


Secteur d’intérêt : Autre

Incidence : Loi(s)/Règlement(s)

Engagement : Permanent

La Direction des services juridiques du MSSLD continuera à examiner les lois et les règlements en vue d’y déceler les obstacles en matière d’accessibilité.

Action(s) proposée(s) : Les conseillers juridiques travailleront avec le personnel du ministère afin de repérer et d’éliminer les obstacles au moment de la modification ou de la création des lois ou des règlements.

Calendrier de mise en œuvre : Octobre 2009 – mars 2011

Résultats obtenus : À mesure que les lois et règlements seront rédigés ou modifiés, les conseillers juridiques et le personnel du ministère continueront à les examiner sur une base individuelle en vue de cerner et de traiter les questions d'accessibilité.

Haut de page


Renseignements

Nous sommes toujours heureux de recevoir des questions et des commentaires sur le plan d’accessibilité du ministère.

Téléphone :

Renseignements généraux : 416 314-5518

Numéro ATS : 1 800-387-5559

Sans frais : 1 866 532-3161

Courriel : infoline.moh@ontario.ca

Site Web du ministère : http://www.health.gov.on.ca/

Rendez-vous sur le site d’Accessibilité Ontario, ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires. Ce site sur l’accessibilité offre des ressources et des renseignements destinés à faire de l’Ontario une province accessible.

Pour commander gratuitement un exemplaire du plan d’accessibilité sur support de substitution, adressez-vous à :

ServiceOntario Publications
Tél. :   1 800 668-9938
Service ATS : 1 800 268-7095


©Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario

ISSN 4130

This document is available in English.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.