Publications

Ministry Plans

Ministry Annual Reports - 2002/2003 and 2003/2004


Ministry Overview

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care leads the government's plan to realize its goal of healthier Ontarians in a healthy Ontario

The ministry’s vision is :

A sustainable, publicly funded, health system in which individuals, providers and government work together to keep people healthy and deliver high quality, outcome focused, consumer-centred health care, based on need and not ability to pay.

The ministry’s various responsibilities support the pursuit of this vision.

The ministry is responsible for administering the provincial health care system and working with a wide range of health care providers and transfer payment agencies to deliver a comprehensive array of health care services to the Ontario public.

It is also responsible for leading policy change within the health care system and strategies to make our medicare system financially sustainable. The ministry meets its responsibilities through eight programs, overseeing day-to-day operations and contributing to achieving success in the government’s key priority areas.

Acute and Emergency Health Services is responsible for the planning of Ontario’s hospitals; transferring funds to public and specialty psychiatric hospitals and Cancer Care Ontario; holding hospitals accountable for how they spend provincial money; and for an integrated system of emergency health services throughout Ontario. It also supports the government’s priority areas.

Community and Mental Health is responsible for the planning and funding of community services such as long-term care homes, community care access centres, community mental health and addiction programs, community health centres, and diabetes education programs. It also is responsible for developing operating policies for community agencies and ensuring they are accountable.

The Ontario Health Insurance Program funds insured health services, including physicians’ services and primary care initiatives. It also funds drug programs, some public laboratory services, and assistive devices, such as test strips for insulin-dependent diabetics and hearing aids.

Public Health, Health Promotion and Disease Prevention is responsible for programs that keep Ontarians healthy. This includes immunization programs; health protection activities that prevent health risks; screening to detect health problems early, and surveillance to collect information to control diseases and health emergencies. It is responsible for planning and expanding care in the event of an outbreak so that every available worker can be redeployed where necessary. It is also responsible for developing programs to increase the awareness of key health risk factors including smoking, obesity and physical inactivity.

Health Policy and Research integrates the ministry’s policy, research and planning functions to provide consistent, clear and timely support for the government’s health care planning and policy implementation.

Building a better system involves integrating health care services and putting in place information systems and capital infrastructure to support service delivery and ensure accountability for investments in health care.

Two ministry programs are key to this priority :

  1. Smart Systems and Knowledge Management provides secure, integrated province-wide information infrastructure to allow electronic communication among providers and enable the effective use of health information for flexible, responsive and innovative service delivery.
  2. Health Capital is responsible for capital policy development, the capital planning process, and providing funding for buildings and equipment to such organizations as public hospitals and regional cancer centres.

Finally, Ministry Administration monitors, reports on and manages ministry transfer payment programs and advises on resource allocation and the ministry’s financial position, ensuring government priorities are funded appropriately.


Back to top

Public Health

The Ontario government faced one of the most significant challenges to the health care system in 2003 with the outbreak of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS). Steps were taken to contain the spread of SARS by isolating those people who were exposed, restricting hospital visits and adopting new infection control procedures in all parts of the health care system.

Specifically, actions were taken to educate health care workers and the public regarding the transmission of communicable diseases, the promotion of hand hygiene, and the signs and symptoms of SARS. As a result of these activities, a high level of public awareness was achieved regarding communicable diseases and workers strengthened their expertise in responding to communicable disease emergencies.

The experience uncovered weaknesses in the system. In January 2004, a new Ontario Chief Medical Officer of Health was appointed to lead the renewal of public health in the province.

In January 2004, the ministry launched Canada's first-ever Emergency Medical Assistance Team (EMAT), which allows a special unit of health professionals to be ready for deployment within 24 hours in the event of an infectious disease outbreak, health emergency or other disaster. EMAT is a mobile acute-care field unit consisting of 20 negative-pressure tents, up-to-date medical equipment and supplies, a communications centre, and its own supply of electricity and water.

An expert panel to strengthen infectious disease control during future disease outbreaks was named and charged with assessing the backup capacity needed in the health care system, as well as research and other measures to strengthen infectious disease control, public health and system response capabilities.

The ministry expanded its program of providing free flu shots through public health units, employers and pharmacies across the province as well as doctors’ offices.

It expanded laboratory testing for West Nile virus (WNv) to ensure a turnaround time of three days, allowing up to 400 tests to be performed per day.

The ministry launched a West Nile virus public education campaign to provide Ontarians with information to protect themselves and their families. The campaign included educational materials such as a brochure (distributed to every household in Ontario), posters, and television and radio advertising. It supported the 37 local public health units in their fight against WNv and relied on partnerships with other government ministries and major retailers to help get the message out.

Two vaccines were introduced :

  • Adacel, a booster immunization against whooping cough for youth between the ages of 14 and 16, and
  • Prevnar, a conjugate pneumococcal vaccine, which provides safe and added protection against many pneumococcal infections, such as meningitis, infection of the bloodstream and pneumonia, which may be fatal in children.

Back to top

Hospitals

To cover the operating shortfall from fiscal year 2003-2004, the ministry provided $385 million to Ontario hospitals while introducing a new approach of linking funding to achieving desired results. A full $50 million of the total was ear-marked for creating 400 full-time nursing positions and improving safety and working conditions for nurses in hospitals.

As part of this strategy, a portion of the federal Diagnostic and Medical Equipment Fund was used to purchase safety equipment in hospitals, such as ceiling-mounted bed lifts to improve working conditions for nurses. In addition, hospitals were challenged to convert overtime dollars into full-time positions for Ontario nurses.

When a Toronto hospital discovered a problem with sterilization of medical equipment, all hospitals were immediately directed to conduct an audit of infection control practices to address problems. This process brought cultural changes to hospitals.

The ministry made several investments in hospital services, providing funding for redevelopment and upgrades as well as for modern equipment. Hospitals that received capital funding included Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation, University Health Network, William Osler Health Centre, Trillium Health Centre, Peterborough Regional Hospital, Ajax-Pickering Hospital, Stratford General Hospital and St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton.

At their July 2003 annual conference, premiers called on the federal government to increase federal funding until the federal share is 25 per cent of provincial/territorial health and social expenditures.


Back to top

Legislation

Bill 31, the Health Information Protection Act was introduced. The bill establishes clear and consistent rules and protections for the collection, use and disclosure of personal health information.

Bill 8, the Commitment to the Future of Medicare Act, was introduced to preserve in law the right of all Ontarians to access insured health care services based on need, not ability to pay. The bill included provision for the Ontario Health Quality Council - an independent, arms-length body responsible for reporting on important health quality indicators to assist with improving the quality of Ontario’s health care system.


Back to top

Community Care

Poor standards of care in some long-term care homes prompted a comprehensive review by the ministry. One of the first actions taken to improve the safety and quality of care in long-term care homes was to implement unannounced annual inspections of all homes.

The ministry also established a toll-free Long-Term Care Line (1-866-434-0144) to make it easier for residents and their families to get information about homes and to make complaints.

The ministry earmarked $5.3 million for alternative funding plans to attract and keep geriatricians in the field, to ensure that the elderly have access to quality health care when they need it and to promote innovation and high-quality education for new physicians.

The ministry committed $11 million to hire 117 new nurse practitioners across Ontario.


Back to top

Primary Care Renewal

Thirty-nine million dollars from the Federal Primary Health Care Transition Fund went toward expansion of primary care reform, funding 45 primary care projects. This included $1.8 million for Integrating Family Medicine and Pharmacy to Advance Primary Care (IMPACT) and providing better drugs and $734,600 for Inter-disciplinary Nutrition Services in family health networks/primary care model sites to deliver nutrition services.

The ministry earmarked more than $41 million to enhance pharmacy services to ensure that quality pharmaceutical care is provided to patients taking medications.


Back to top

Annual Report 2003-2004

Ministy Expenditures ($ millions)
  2003-2004 Actual
Operating1 28,036
Capital2 358
Staff Strength (as of Mar. 31, 2004) 6,889

Notes :

1 The operating funding is net of one-time costs and has been restated to reflect transfers out to other ministries.

2 Starting in 2002-03, major tangible capital assets owned by provincial ministries (land, buildings and transportation infrastructure) are accounted for on a full accrual accounting basis. Other tangible capital assets owned by provincial ministries will continue to be accounted for as an expense in the year of acquisition or construction. All capital assets owned by consolidated government organizations are accounted for on a full accrual basis.


Back to top

Annual Report 2002-2003


Health Care System

The ministry, in consultation with the Ministry of Finance, developed a framework for multi-year hospital operating funding.

Hospital corporations in Brampton and Ottawa signed project agreements with business sector partners to build new facilities.

A $100-million increase in the nursing and personal care per diem for long-term care homes was implemented.


Back to top

Technology

The Smart Systems for Health Agency (SSHA) was established as an operational service agency of the ministry in January 2003. As of March 31, 2003, 77 per cent of Ontario’s hospital corporations, 42 community care access centres and 23 of 37 public health units had been connected to the SSHA secure network.


Back to top

Accountability

The ministry and the Ontario Hospital Association signed a three-year agreement on July 15, 2002 to develop and produce hospital reports for 2002-03 through 2004-2005.

Pilot laboratory accreditation visits were conducted under the new laboratory accreditation program requiring all Ontario laboratories to meet the same standard regardless of size or location.


Back to top

Health Human Resources

The ministry invested $14 million for 137 nurse practitioner positions and devised new regulations relating to nurse practitioner services in public hospitals and long-term care homes.

The government announced funding of more than $95 million over three years to establish the Northern Ontario Medical School in Sudbury and Thunder Bay.

The final phase of the 30 per cent expansion of medical school undergraduate enrolment was completed.

The ePhysician Project developed a transition support program to optimize physician use of information technology.

The ministry continued to implement the Ontario Stroke Strategy by enhancing existing centres and creating eight new ones for a total of 23 across the province.

The new ARIS II land ambulance dispatch system was implemented at two Central Ambulance Communications Centres (CACCs) and two training sites. Improved staffing for CACCs and quality assurance programs for all CACCs were also implemented.


Back to top

Access To Care

The ministry approved and began paying for the use of verteporfin (Visudyne™) in conjunction with cold laser treatments for wet macular degeneration, the leading cause of blindness in people over age 50.

The Primary Health Care Transition Fund was launched. Approximately $12 million was allocated to inter-disciplinary practice projects.


Back to top

Public And Community Health

Funding for the Healthy Babies, Healthy Children program was more than $67 million. An interdisciplinary training project was developed to educate primary care and social service providers in ongoing developmental assessment and to increase their knowledge of healthy child development monitoring from birth.

More than $8 million was allocated for increased access to substance abuse treatment for under-served populations.

As part of the Early Childhood Development initiative, $3.25 million was provided for programming for pregnant women with addictions and their children up to age six.

Thirty-four hundred supportive housing units for people with serious mental illness who are homeless or at risk of being homeless were in place and 200 others were expected later in the fiscal year.

The province’s nine Mental Health Implementation Task Forces, the Provincial Forum of Task Force Chairs, and the Forensic Mental Health Services Expert Advisory Panel submitted their final reports, which were used in the development of a multi-year implementation strategy.

Ministy Expenditures ($ millions)
  2003-2004 Actual
Operating1 25,800
Capital2 339
Staff Strength (as of Mar. 31, 2003) 6,978

Notes :

1 This is a restated number.

2 Starting in 2002-03, major tangible capital assets owned by provincial ministries (land, buildings and transportation infrastructure) are accounted for on a full accrual accounting basis. Other tangible capital assets owned by provincial ministries will continue to be accounted for as an expense in the year of acquisition or construction. All capital assets owned by consolidated government organizations are accounted for on a full accrual basis.


June 2006

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Publications en ligne

Plans du ministère

Rapports annuels 2002-2003 at 2003-2004



Vue d'ensemble du ministère

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée mène à bien le plan du gouvernement visant à améliorer la santé de la population et celle de la province.

La vision du ministère :

Instaurer un système de santé durable, financé par les deniers publics au sein duquel les fournisseurs et le gouvernement travaillent ensemble pour préserver la santé de la population et dispenser des soins de premier ordre, efficaces, axés sur le consommateur et les besoins et non sur la capacité de paiement.

Les diverses responsabilités qu'assume le ministère vont dans le sens de cette vision.

Le ministère s'occupe d'administrer le système provincial de santé et travaille avec un large éventail de fournisseurs de soins et d'organismes bénéficiaires de paiements de transfert afin d'offrir à la population ontarienne un éventail complet de services de santé.

Il est aussi chargé de piloter les changements aux politiques au sein du système de santé ainsi que les stratégies visant à rendre le système financièrement viable. Le ministère s'acquitte de ses responsabilités par le truchement de huit programmes qui veillent au bon fonctionnement des activités quotidiennes et à l'obtention de résultats satisfaisants dans les secteurs que le gouvernement juge prioritaires.

Les responsables des soins actifs et des services d'urgence voient à la planification des hôpitaux de l'Ontario, au transfert des fonds aux hôpitaux publics et psychiatriques spécialisés et à Action cancer Ontario, à la responsabilisation des hôpitaux en ce qui concerne l'utilisation des deniers publics, ainsi qu'à l'intégration des services d'urgence dans la province. Ils appuient également les secteurs que le gouvernement juge prioritaires.

Les services communautaires et de santé mentale voient à la planification et au financement des services communautaires tels que les foyers de soins de longue durée, les centres d'accès aux soins communautaires, les programmes communautaires de toxicomanie et de santé mentale, les centres de santé communautaire et les programmes d'éducation sur le diabète. Ils s'occupent également d'élaborer les politiques de fonctionnement des organismes communautaires et de veiller à ce qu'ils rendent des comptes.

Le régime d'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario finance les services de santé assurés, notamment les services médicaux et les soins primaires, ainsi que les programmes de médicaments, les services de laboratoire et les appareils et accessoires fonctionnels (p. ex. les bandelettes pour les personnes souffrant de diabète insulinodépendant et les appareils auditifs).

Les services de santé publique, de promotion de la santé et de prévention des maladies veillent à ce que les Ontariennes et Ontariens demeurent en santé. Ils incluent les programmes d'immunisation, les activités de protection de la santé, le dépistage précoce des problèmes de santé, ainsi que la collecte d'information permettant de surveiller et de contrôler les maladies et de faire face aux urgences en matière de santé. Ces services sont chargés de planifier et d'accroître les soins en cas d'épidémie de façon à redéployer tous les travailleurs disponibles au besoin. Ils chapeautent également des programmes pour sensibiliser davantage la population aux principaux facteurs de risque pour la santé, notamment le tabagisme, l'obésité et la sédentarité.

Les programmes de politiques et de recherche en matière de santé regroupent les fonctions de planification, d'élaboration de politiques et de recherche du ministère afin de fournir en temps utile un soutien clair et cohérent en ce qui a trait à la planification des services de santé et à la mise en œuvre des politiques du gouvernement.

Pour bâtir un meilleur système, il faut intégrer les services de santé, ainsi que mettre en place des systèmes d'information et une infrastructure qui appuient la prestation des services et permettent de rendre des comptes sur les investissements faits dans le domaine de la santé.

Les programmes suivants jouent un rôle clé dans ce secteur prioritaire :

  1. Les programmes de systèmes intelligents et de gestion des connaissances offrent une infrastructure de l'information protégée et intégrée à l'échelle de la province qui permet aux fournisseurs de communiquer entre eux par voie électronique et d'utiliser efficacement l'information sur la santé afin de dispenser des services de façon souple, adaptée et innovatrice.
  2. Les programmes d'immobilisations dans le domaine de la santé voient à l'élaboration des politiques et au processus de planification en matière d'immobilisations, ainsi qu'au financement des installations et du matériel d'organisations telles que les hôpitaux publics et les centres régionaux de traitement du cancer.

Enfin, les services administratifs du ministère assurent le suivi et la gestion des activités en matière de paiements de transfert et préparent des rapports à ce sujet. Ils fournissent des conseils sur l'allocation des ressources et la situation financière du ministère pour assurer le financement approprié des priorités du gouvernement.


Haut de page

Santé publique

La flambée de syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère (SRAS) qui a sévi en 2003 a représenté un défi de taille pour le système de santé de l'Ontario. Le ministère a pris des mesures pour contenir la propagation du SRAS, notamment en isolant les personnes exposées, en restreignant les visites dans les hôpitaux et en adoptant de nouvelles mesures de lutte contre les maladies infectieuses dans l'ensemble du réseau de santé.

Plus précisément, des mesures ont été prises pour éduquer les travailleurs de la santé et le public concernant les maladies transmissibles et les signes et symptômes du SRAS ainsi que pour les inciter à se laver les mains. Ces activités ont permis d'augmenter considérablement le niveau de sensibilisation du public et de renforcer les compétences des travailleurs qui doivent faire face à des urgences mettant en cause des maladies transmissibles.

Cette expérience a toutefois fait ressortir des faiblesses au sein du système. En janvier 2004, un nouveau médecin hygiéniste en chef a été nommé pour mener à bien le renouvellement de la santé publique dans la province.

En janvier 2004, le ministère a créé l'Équipe des services médicaux d'urgence (ESMU), la première en son genre au Canada, qui comprend une unité spéciale prête à être déployée dans une période de 24 heures en cas d'épidémie, d'urgence dans le secteur de la santé ou d'une autre catastrophe. L'ESMU est une unité mobile de soins actifs composée de professionnels de la santé et dotée de 20 tentes à pression négative, de matériel médical moderne, d'un centre de communications et de son propre approvisionnement en eau et en électricité.

Un comité d'experts a également été nommé et chargé de renforcer les mesures de lutte contre les maladies infectieuses en cas d'épidémies, d'évaluer la capacité de réserve nécessaire au sein du système de santé, ainsi que d'explorer et de prendre d'autres mesures pour renforcer la lutte contre les maladies infectieuses, la santé publique et la capacité d'intervention du système.

Le ministère a élargi son programme antigrippal en offrant des vaccins gratuits dans les bureaux de santé publique, les entreprises et les pharmacies de toute la province, ainsi que dans les cabinets de médecins.

Il a étoffé les services de dépistage du virus du Nil occidental de façon à avoir les résultats des tests dans un délai de trois jours et à effectuer jusqu'à 400 tests de dépistage par jour.

Le ministère a lancé une campagne d'information sur le virus du Nil occidental afin que les résidents de l'Ontario puissent se protéger contre le virus. La campagne a consisté à produire une brochure (distribuée dans tous les foyers de la province), des affiches et des annonces à la radio et à la télévision. Elle a également soutenu les 37 bureaux de santé publique dans leur lutte contre le virus et misé sur des partenariats avec d'autres ministères et des grands détaillants pour véhiculer le message.

Deux nouveaux vaccins ont été offerts :

  • Adacel, un vaccin de rappel contre la coqueluche pour les jeunes de 14 à 16 ans;
  • Prevnar, un vaccin combiné contre le pneumocoque qui offre une protection accrue contre plusieurs infections à pneumocoques, telles que la méningite, la bactériémie et la pneumonie, qui peuvent être mortelles chez les enfants.

Haut de page

Hôpitaux

Afin d'éponger le manque à gagner au titre des dépenses de fonctionnement pour 2003-2004, le ministère a versé 385 millions de dollars aux hôpitaux de la province tout en introduisant une nouvelle approche qui lie le financement à l'obtention des résultats souhaités. Du total, 50 millions de dollars visaient à créer 400 postes d'infirmières et d'infirmiers à temps plein et à améliorer la sécurité et les conditions de travail du personnel infirmier dans les hôpitaux.

Dans le cadre de cette stratégie, le ministère a affecté une portion du Fonds pour l'achat d'équipement médical et diagnostique du gouvernement fédéral à l'achat d'équipement de sécurité dans les hôpitaux, tels que des dispositifs de levage installés au plafond, afin d'améliorer les conditions de travail du personnel infirmier. En outre, les hôpitaux ont été mis au défi de convertir les sommes consacrées aux heures supplémentaires en postes d'infirmières et d'infirmiers à temps plein.

Lorsqu'un hôpital de Toronto a découvert l'existence d'un problème de stérilisation de l'équipement, tous les hôpitaux ont été tenus de vérifier leurs pratiques de lutte contre les infections pour trouver des solutions aux problèmes, ce qui a donné lieu à des changements dans la culture hospitalière.

Le ministère a également effectué plusieurs investissements dans les services hospitaliers, notamment sur le plan de l'aménagement et de la modernisation des installations et de l'équipement. Parmi les hôpitaux ayant reçu des fonds, mentionnons les suivants : Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation, le Réseau universitaire de santé, le Centre de santé William Osler, le Centre de santé Trillium, l'hôpital régional de Peterborough, l'hôpital d'Ajax-Pickering, l'hôpital général de Stratford et le Centre de soins de santé St-Joseph de Hamilton.

Lors de la conférence annuelle de juillet 2003, les premiers ministres ont demandé au gouvernement fédéral d'augmenter son financement jusqu'à ce qu'il atteigne 25 % des dépenses provinciales/territoriales en matière de santé et de services sociaux.


Haut de page

Mesures législatives

Le projet de loi 31, Loi sur la protection des renseignements sur la santé, a été présenté. Il établit des règles et mesures de protection claires et cohérentes pour la collecte, l'utilisation et la communication des renseignements personnels sur la santé.

Le projet de loi 8, Loi sur l'engagement d'assurer l'avenir de l'assurance-santé, a été adopté afin de préserver légalement le droit de tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes à l'accès à des services de santé assurés fondés sur le besoin et non la capacité de payer. Le projet de loi comportait une disposition pour la création du Conseil ontarien de la qualité des services de santé, organe indépendant chargé de surveiller les principaux indicateurs de la qualité des services de santé et de présenter des rapports à cet effet afin d'améliorer le système de santé de l'Ontario.


Haut de page

Soins communautaires

La mauvaise qualité des soins de longue durée fournis dans certains centres a poussé le ministère à entreprendre une étude exhaustive. L'une des premières mesures prises pour améliorer la sécurité et la qualité de vie dans les foyers de soins de longue durée a été de prévoir des inspections annuelles inopinées de tous les foyers.

Le ministère a aussi mis sur pied la Ligne info des Soins de longue durée (1 866 434-0144) afin que les résidents et leur famille puissent facilement se renseigner sur les foyers et porter plainte.

Le ministère a investi 5,3 millions de dollars au titre d'autres plans de financement afin d'attirer et de retenir les gériatres, de donner aux aînés l'accès à des soins de qualité quand ils en ont besoin et de promouvoir des programmes de formation innovateurs et de grande qualité pour les nouveaux médecins.

Le ministère a investi 11 millions de dollars pour embaucher 117 nouvelles infirmières praticiennes dans l'ensemble de la province.


Haut de page

Renouvellement des soins primaires

Le ministère a affecté 39 millions de dollars provenant du Fonds pour l'adaptation des soins de santé primaires du gouvernement fédéral à l'expansion de la réforme des soins primaires, notamment pour financer 45 projets dans ce secteur. Cela incluait 1,8 million de dollars pour le projet IMPACT (Integrating Family Medecine and Pharmacy to Advance Primary Care), la fourniture de meilleurs médicaments et le versement d'une somme de 734 600 $ aux Services de nutrition interdisciplinaires (Inter-Discipinary Nutrition Services) pour mettre à l'essai les réseaux Santé familiale et de soins primaires et ainsi offrir de meilleurs services de nutrition.

Le ministère a réservé plus de 41 millions de dollars pour l'amélioration des services de pharmacie afin de garantir aux patients prenant des médicaments des soins pharmaceutiques de qualité.


Haut de page

Rapport annuel 2003-2004

Dépenses ministérielles (millions $)
  Chiffres réels 2003-2004
Fonctionnement1 28 036
Immobilisations2 358
Effectif (au 31 mars 2004) 6 889

Nota :

1 On a déduit du financement des fonctionnement les coûts non renouvelables et le montant a été retraité afin de tenir compte des montants transférés à d'autres ministères.

2 À compter de 2002-2003, les immobilisations corporelles importantes appartenant aux ministères provinciaux (terrains, immeubles et infrastructure de transport) sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice intégrale. Les autres immobilisations corporelles appartenant aux ministères continueront à être comptabilisées à titre de charges au cours de l'année d'acquisition ou de construction. Toutes les immobilisations appartenant à des organismes publics intégrés sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice intégrale.


Haut de page

rapport annuel 2002-2003

Système de santé

Le ministère, en consultation avec les ministères des Finances, a mis en place un cadre de financement pluriannuel pour les hôpitaux.

Les associations hospitalières de Brampton et d'Ottawa ont conclu des ententes avec des partenaires du secteur privé afin de construire de nouvelles installations.

Un montant supplémentaire de 100 millions de dollars a été octroyé aux fins des indemnités journalières dans les foyers de soins de longue durée.


Haut de page

Technologie

L'Agence des systèmes intelligents pour la santé a été mise sur pied à titre d'organe de services opérationnels du ministère en janvier 2003. Au 31 mars 2003, 77 % des associations hospitalières de l'Ontario, 42 centres d'accès aux soins communautaires et 23 des 37 bureaux de santé publique étaient branchés au réseau protégé de l'Agence.


Haut de page

Reddition de comptes

Le ministère et l'Association des hôpitaux de l'Ontario ont signé, le 15 juillet 2002, une entente de trois ans afin de produire des rapports sur les hôpitaux pour les exercices allant de 2002-2003 à 2004-2005.

Des visites d'inspection pilotes ont été effectuées dans le cadre du nouveau programme d'agrément des laboratoires, qui exige que tous les laboratoires de la province respectent les mêmes normes, peu importe leur taille ou leur emplacement.


Haut de page

Ressources humaines

Le ministère a injecté 14 millions de dollars pour créer 137 postes d'infirmières praticiennes et adopté de nouveaux règlements touchant les services qu'elles fournissent dans les hôpitaux publics et les foyers de soins de longue durée.

Le gouvernement a alloué un financement de plus de 95 millions de dollars sur trois ans aux fins de l'établissement de l'École de médecine du Nord-Ontario à Sudbury et à Thunder Bay.

La dernière phase de la hausse de 30 % des inscriptions aux études de premier cycle en médecine a été achevée.

Le projet InfoMéd a mis sur pied un Programme d'aide à la transition afin de maximiser l'usage que font les médecins de la technologie de l'information.

Le ministère a poursuivi la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie ontarienne de prévention des accidents vasculaires cérébraux en améliorant les centres déjà en place et en en créant huit nouveaux, ce qui porte à 23 le nombre total de centres dans la province.

Le nouveau Système d'information pour la répartition des ambulances SIRA II a été mis en place dans deux centres intégrés de répartition d'ambulances et deux lieux de formation. On a également étoffé l'effectif et mis en œuvre des programmes d'assurance de la qualité dans tous les centres de répartition.


Haut de page

Accès aux soins

Le ministère a approuvé l'usage de la vertéporfine (VisudyneMC) et commencé à assumer les coûts de ce médicament en conjonction avec les traitements au laser non thermique de la dégénérescence maculaire humide, qui est la principale cause de cécité chez les personnes de plus de 50 ans.

Le Fonds pour l'adaptation des soins de santé primaires a été créé. Environ 12 millions de dollars ont été octroyés à des projets de nature interdisciplinaire.


Haut de page

Santé communautaire et publique

Les fonds alloués au programme « Bébés en santé, enfants en santé » se sont chiffrés à plus de 67 millions de dollars. Un projet de formation interdisciplinaire a été mis sur pied pour mieux former les intervenants des soins primaires et des services sociaux sur l'évaluation et le suivi du développement des enfants dès leur naissance.

Plus de 8 millions de dollars ont été versés afin d'accroître l'accès aux services de traitement de la toxicomanie dans les régions mal desservies.

Dans le cadre de l'initiative pour le développement de la petite enfance, 3,25 millions de dollars ont été alloués aux programmes destinés aux femmes enceintes ayant des problèmes de toxicomanie ainsi qu'à leurs enfants jusqu'à l'âge de six ans.

Trois mille quatre cents logements avec services de soutien ont été aménagés pour les personnes ayant de graves problèmes de santé mentale qui sont sans abri ou risquent de perdre leur foyer. Deux cents autres devraient être aménagés plus tard au cours de l'exercice.

Les neuf groupes d'étude sur la mise en œuvre de la réforme des services de santé mentale, le Forum provincial des groupes d'étude ainsi que le Panel consultatif d'experts en services psychiatriques médico-légaux ont tous soumis leur rapport final. Ces rapports ont servi à l'élaboration d'une stratégie de mise en œuvre pluriannuelle.

Dépenses ministérielles (millions $)
  Chiffres réels 2002-2003
Fonctionnement1 25 800
Immobilisations2 339
Effectif (au 31 mars 2003) 6 978

Nota :

1 Ce chiffre est retraité.

2 À compter de 2002-2003, les immobilisations corporelles importantes appartenant aux ministères provinciaux (terrains, immeubles et infrastructure de transport) sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice intégrale. Les autres immobilisations corporelles appartenant aux ministères continueront à être comptabilisées à titre de charges au cours de l'année d'acquisition ou de construction. Toutes les immobilisations appartenant à des organismes publics intégrés sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice intégrale.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.