Ministry Reports

Taking Action on Asthma : Report of the Chief Medical Officer of Health


Asthma is a chronic respiratory disease that impacts both one's health and daily functioning. Over the past two decades, the prevalence of asthma has markedly risen in Ontario and around the world. This increase is particularly evident amongst school-aged children, with approximately 12 per cent of Ontario children and seven per cent of Ontario adults being diagnosed with asthma.

Currently, asthma is the leading cause of hospitalization for children in Ontario and is a significant cause of school and work absenteeism. In 1996, there were 192 deaths directly attributable to asthma in Ontario.

Our goal is to minimize the onset of asthma in susceptible individuals and to control asthmatic episodes amongst those affected. It is increasingly evident that the growing number of asthmatics are contributing to rising health care costs in Ontario. Direct costs to the health care system include hospitalization and physician care, whereas indirect costs can include lost productivity due to disability, school or work absenteeism, and even premature death. However, through a process of proper control and education, we can reduce hospitalization and emergency department visits, reduce school and work absenteeism, decrease the need for medication, and most importantly, positively impact rates of asthma morbidity and mortality.

It is the role of those affected with asthma, their families, and their health care providers, to establish an optimum asthma management plan for that individual. However, a greater understanding of the disease and its management is also needed, as is a shared dedication towards reducing its impact on affected individuals and on the health care system itself. Health care providers, asthmatics and their families, schools, workplaces, local boards of health, the community and governments at all levels, must work together in order to understand and better manage the impact of this disease.

Colin O. D'Cunha, MBBS, MHSc , FRCPC
Chief Medical Officer of Health

You can read the report online, or download it from the link below.

Document Download

Taking Action on Asthma : Report of the Chief Medical Officer of Health
18 pages | 274 kb | PDF format

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

November 2000

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Rapports du ministère

Comprendre et prévenir l'asthme - Rapport du médecin hygéniste en chef


L’asthme est une maladie respiratoire chronique qui nuit à la santé et aux activités quotidiennes des asthmatiques. Au cours des vingt dernières années, la prévalence de l’asthme a augmenté de manière significative en Ontario et dans le reste du monde. C’est particulièrement le cas chez les enfants d’âge scolaire. Environ 12 pour cent des enfants et sept pour cent des adultes de l’Ontario en sont atteints.

L’asthme est la première cause d’hospitalisation des enfants en Ontario et une cause importante d’absentéisme à l’école et au travail. En 1996, il a causé 192 décès en Ontario.

Notre objectif est de diminuer le risque de survenue de l’asthme chez les personnes à risque et de contrôler les épisodes d’asthme chez les patients atteints. Il est de plus en plus évident que le nombre croissant de personnes asthmatiques contribue à augmenter les dépenses de santé en Ontario. Les coúts directs comprennent les soins hospitaliers et les honoraires de médecin; les coúts indirects comprennent la perte de productivité due à l’invalidité, l’absentéisme à l’école et au travail et également les décès prématurés. Cependant, l’éducation du public et de bonnes mesures de maîtrise de la maladie peuvent réduire les hospitalisations et les visites au service d’urgences des hôpitaux, diminuer l’absentéisme à l’école et au travail et la consommation de médicaments et, surtout, la morbidité et la mortalité dues à l’asthme.

Il incombe aux personnes atteintes d’asthme d’établir un plan de traitement en collaboration avec leur famille et leurs fournisseurs de soins de santé. Une meilleure compréhension et gestion de la maladie s’imposent. Il faudra, en outre, s’attacher de manière collégiale à atténuer son impact sur les particuliers visés et sur le système de santé. Les fournisseurs de soins de santé, les asthmatiques et leur famille, les écoles, les employeurs, les conseils locaux de santé, la collectivité et les différents paliers de gouvernement doivent collaborer afin de comprendre et de mieux gérer les conséquences de la maladie.

Colin O. D’Cunha, MBBS, MHSc, FRCPC
Message du médecin hygéniste en chef de l'Ontario

Comprendre et prévenir l'asthme - Rapport du médecin hygiéniste en chef


novembre, 2000

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.