Ministry Reports

Integrated Service Plan for Northwestern Ontario

Report of the Special Advisor, Tom Closson


June, 2005

Vision for the Restructuring of Health Services in Northwestern Ontario :
Improve the health status of people in Northwestern Ontario through an emphasis on health education, disease prevention, health maintenance and access to health services that incorporates the physical and mental health of the population.

This vision requires significant attention to the restructuring, integration and enhancement of primary community care and primary hospital care. The recommendations in this report will maximize the population's access to health services by integrating services along the continuum of care, emphasizing culturally sensitive service delivery and providing services as close to home as is feasible with respect to the safety of care, quality of care and the economics of the care delivery systems.

The Report of the Special Advisor contains the recommendations that will provide the best opportunities for system enhancement, while clarifying the important role of the Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC) within the system. The Hay Report to the Special Advisor includes all of the data gathered over the past nine months in Northwestern Ontario, literature reviews, summaries of consultations that took place during that time and summaries of over 70 submissions received from the community with regard to the work of the Special Advisor. In addition, the Special Advisor received invaluable advice and assistance from a Steering Committee made up of community leaders and health care professionals who live and work throughout Northwestern Ontario.

The Report of the Special Advisor, as well as the Project Report Submitted to the Special Advisor may be downloaded below.

Document Download

Report
Integrated Service Plan for Northwestern Ontario : Report of the Special Advisor, Tom Closson
16 pages | 190 kb | PDF format

Report
Integrated Service Plan for Northwestern Ontario : Project Report Submitted to the Special Advisor
284 pages | 981 kb | PDF format

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

August 2005

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Rapports du ministère

Plan de services intégrés pour le Nord Ouest de l'Ontario

Rapport du conseiller spécial, Tom Closson


juin, 2005

Vision de la restructuration des services de santé dans le Nord Ouest de l'Ontario :
Améliorer l'état de santé des Ontariennes et des Ontariens du Nord Ouest en privilégiant l'éducation, la prévention de la maladie, le maintien de la santé et l'accès aux soins, tant pour la santé physique que mentale de la population.

Cette vision requiert une attention de tous les instants à la restructuration, à l'intégration et à l'amélioration des soins primaires communautaires et hospitaliers. Les recommandations faites dans ce rapport optimiseront l'accès de la population aux services de santé en intégrant les services dans le continuum des soins, l'accent portant sur la prestation de soins adaptés à la culture aussi près du domicile du patient que possible pour dispenser des soins sûrs et de qualité à un coût abordable.

Le Rapport du conseiller spécial contient les recommandations qui créeront les conditions les plus propices à l'amélioration du système, tout en clarifiant l'important rôle du Centre régional des sciences de la santé de Thunder Bay au sein de ce système. Le rapport Hay à l'intention du conseiller spécial présente toutes les données réunies au cours des neuf derniers mois dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario, des analyses documentaires, un sommaire des consultations tenues au cours de cette période et le résumé de plus de 70 observations reçues de la collectivité sur les travaux du conseiller spécial. Ce dernier a d'ailleurs reçu des conseils et une aide inestimables d'un comité directeur composé de chefs communautaires et de professionnels de la santé qui résident et travaillent dans le Nord Ouest de l'Ontario.

Le rapport complet peut être téléchargé en format PDF ci-dessous :

Téléchargement des documents

Rapport
Plan de services intégrés pour le Nord Ouest de l'Ontario
17 pages | 77 kb | format PDF

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.