Ministry Reports

2003 Chief Medical Officer of Health Report :  Blood-borne Infections

November 4, 2003


Introduction

One of the most significant victories against ill health across Canada has been the dramatic reduction in infectious disease over the last century. Many Ontarians will have never experienced the devastation of a family member stricken with polio or measles. For most Ontarians, infectious disease is thought of primarily in terms of the upper respiratory tract infection known as the common cold.

Reductions in infectious disease in places like Ontario are due in part to improved living conditions and public utilities, particularly water and sanitation systems. However, as infections that are easily transmitted in substandard, crowded living conditions are reduced, a greater proportion of the total burden of infectious disease is due to blood-borne infections (BBI).

For this report, BBI refers to microbial organisms (viruses, bacteria and parasites) that are passed from human to human through blood or blood products. Humans can be exposed to BBI because of their behaviours (particularly sexual practices and drug use), injuries (e.g., needle stick injuries of healthcare workers), mother-to-child transmission during pregnancy, labour and delivery, insect bites for vector-borne infections, or as a consequence of receiving blood or blood products as part of the treatment for a health condition.

BBI, like all health conditions, have risk factors. In the same way that people who smoke face greater risks of heart disease than people who do not smoke, people who engage in certain behaviours face increased risks of BBI. However, because BBI are transmissible, because infected people may not know they are infected and thus unwittingly spread BBI, and because all Ontarians may have friends or family members at risk for BBI, BBI affect us all.

It may be tempting to imagine that protecting people from BBI acquired through blood transfusion is not at all related to protecting people from sexual transmission of BBI. On the contrary, reducing the burden of BBI in Ontario requires a comprehensive approach that can encompass multiple modes of transmission. For some BBI, large numbers of new infections occur in well-defined groups, such as drug users. Given that preventing new infections protects everyone, the health of all Ontarians is improved by implementing effective measures to prevent BBI, whether targeted to high-risk behaviours or the general population. Put another way, each prevented infection means a lower prevalence of BBI, which means fewer people infected. And if fewer people become infected, the episodic risk of transmission in any single exposure, whether blood transfusion, drug use, sexual contact or birth, is reduced.

Colin O. D'Cunha, MBBS, MHSc, FRCPC
Chief Medical Officer of Health

Document Download

Full Report
2003 Chief Medical Officer of Health Report :  Blood-borne Infections
33 pages | 996 kb | PDF format

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

November 2003

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Rapports du ministère

Rapport de 2003 du médecin hygiéniste en chef de l'Ontario
Infections transmissibles par le sang


Novembre 2003

Introduction

L'une des plus grandes victoires médicales de ce siècle au Canada a été la réduction radicale des maladies infectieuses. Bon nombre d'Ontariens et d'Ontariennes n'auront jamais vécu l'expérience accablante de voir un membre de leur famille terrassé par la polio ou la rougeole. La plupart des Ontariens et des Ontariennes ne connaissent comme maladie infectieuse que ces infections des voies respiratoires supérieures qui causent le rhume de cerveau.

Dans les régions comme l'Ontario, la réduction des maladies infectieuses est due en partie à l'amélioration des conditions de vie, et notamment des systèmes de distribution d'eau et des installations sanitaires. Cependant, à mesure que baisse le nombre d'infections transmises dans ces conditions de promiscuité insalubre, une plus grande proportion des cas de maladies infectieuses est forcément liée aux infections transmissibles par le sang (ITS).

Aux fins de ce rapport, on entend par ITS les organismes microbiens (virus, bactéries et parasites) qui se transmettent de personne à personne par le sang ou les produits sanguins. Les êtres humains peuvent être exposés aux ITS en raison de leurs comportements (en particulier de leurs pratiques sexuelles et de leur usage de drogues), à la suite d'une blessure (p. ex. blessures avec aiguille des travailleurs de la santé), in utero ou à la naissance, après avoir été piqué par un insecte (dans le cas des infections à transmission vectorielle) ou encore après avoir reçu du sang ou des produits sanguins dans le cadre d'un traitement médical.

Comme pour toutes les conditions médicales, il existe certains facteurs de risque pour les ITS. Tout comme les fumeurs courent un risque accru de maladie du coeur par rapport aux nonfumeurs, les personnes qui se livrent à certains comportements risquent davantage d'attraper une ITS. Toutefois, étant donné que les ITS sont transmissibles, que les personnes infectées n'en sont pas forcément conscientes et peuvent donc transmettre ces infections involontairement et que tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes peuvent avoir des proches exposés aux ITS, elles nous concernent tous.

Il peut être tentant d'imaginer que de protéger les gens contre les ITS transmises par transfusion sanguine est une toute autre affaire que de les protéger contre la transmission sexuelle. Au contraire : pour réduire les ravages des ITS en Ontario, il faut adopter une approche d'ensemble qui couvre des modes de transmission multiples. Dans le cas de certaines ITS, la plupart des nouvelles infections se produisent au sein de groupes bien définis, par exemple chez les toxicomanes. Puisque la prévention de nouvelles infections protège tout le monde, la santé de tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes sera améliorée par la mise en place de mesures de prévention efficaces, qu'elles ciblent les comportements à haut risque ou la population générale. En d'autres termes, chaque infection évitée signifie une baisse de la prévalence des ITS, ce qui signifie une baisse du nombre des personnes infectées. Cela réduit à son tour le risque épisodique de transmission lors d'une exposition unique, que ce soit lors d'une transfusion sanguine, de la consommation de drogues, d'un contact sexuel ou à la naissance.

Colin O. D'Cunha, MBBS, MHSc, FRCPC
Le médecin hygiéniste en chef de l'Ontario

Téléchargement des documents

Rapport
Rapport de 2003 du médecin hygiéniste en chef de l'Ontario :
Infections transmissibles par le sang

35 pages | 1,025 kb | format PDF

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

novembre 2003

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.