Ministry Reports
Canada Health Infoway

Briefing Note
Digital Health Availability, Use and Benefits in Ontario

October 7, 2016


Background

  • Canada Health Infoway (Infoway) is an investor in digital health across Canada, working with the provinces and territories to advance digital health.
  • The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (the ministry) asked Infoway, as a neutral third-party, to provide its best assessment on how much progress Ontario has made, and how that compares to other provinces and territories.
  • As the ministry is developing a refreshed digital health strategy, unbiased information and objective insights into what Ontario is doing well and where it needs to improve are important inputs.

Highlights on Availability

  • Ontario is at or achieving conformance with Infoway-endorsed standards for all clinical information domains reviewed (i.e. client registry, provider registry, diagnostic imaging, drug information system, laboratory information system, clinical documentation);
  • Electronic health records are available in multiple settings with rich data sets;
  • Patient health information is highly available to clinicians in Ontario, with 6 of 7 types of information domains assessed in Infoway's analysis fully available or nearly fully available, ranging from 88% to 100%; and
  • Patient health information is available in multiple care settings, including hospitals, community care and primary care.

Highlights on Use

  • Ontario has seen rapid uptake and active use of electronic health records in the years following initial launch;
  • Ontario is among the top provinces in terms of adoption of electronic medical records (EMRs) in primary care, with 84% adoption as of 2014;
  • Ontario is a leader in adoption of telemedicine and telehomecare, accounting for approximately 80% and 60% of adoption of these systems across the country in 2014; and
  • Panorama is fully implemented for collection of immunization information from public health units across the province.

Highlights on Benefits

  • Infoway has estimated the financial benefits that have accrued across the country due to investments in different digital health systems, including electronic medical records, telemedicine / telehomecare, drug information systems and diagnostic imaging information systems. The estimate of national cumulative benefits accrued since 2007 is $16B.
  • Based on the ministry's analysis with Infoway inputs and verification, Ontario benefits amount to almost $1B per year (in 2015-2016) and Ontario accrued almost $6B in cumulative benefits since 2007 as a result of investments in these select digital health systems. This is summarized in the table on the next page; notes on this analysis are provided below the table.
  • These estimates reflect Ontario's size and progress relative to the rest of Canada.
    • Ontario's share of benefits delivered by electronic medical records and diagnostic imaging information systems is proportional to the population size.
    • Ontario accrues a less than proportional amount of benefits delivered by drug information systems.
    • Ontario is a leader in telemedicine / telehomecare and receives are larger share of benefits.

Conclusion

  • Infoway notes that nationally there has been substantial progress and value from digital health in the last decade, with accelerating adoption in recent years, and that Ontario is well positioned relative to its peers in terms of availability, use and benefits from investments in digital health solutions

    • Table 1: Analysis of Ontario benefits due to select digital health investments.
      Selected Digital Health System National benefit in 2015 ($M)[ 1 ] Proportion of benefits in Ontario Ontario benefit in 2015 ($M) Cumulative Ontario benefit since 2007 ($M)
      Telemedicine and telehomecare 407 0.70[ a ] 285 1,824
      Physician practice EMRs 419 0.41[ b ] 172 1,090
      Ambulatory care (outpatient) EMRs 196 0.38[ c ] 74 477
      Diagnostic imaging systems 908 0.38[ d ] 345 2,208
      Drug information systems 593 0.04[ e ] 24 149
      Total estimated 2,523   900 5,747

      [ 1 ]As reported in Infoway's analysis.

      [ a ]Proportion factor is based on Ontario's telemedicine events representing approximately 80% of total national telemedicine events and 60% of telehomecare usage.

      [ b ]Proportion factor is Ontario's adoption rate of 84% divided by the national adoption rate of 77%, then multiplied by Ontario's proportion of the national population, which is estimated at 38%.

      [ c ]Proportion factor is Ontario's proportion of the national population, which is estimated at 38%.

      [ d ]Proportion factor is Ontario's proportion of the national population, which is estimated at 38%.

      [ e ]Proportion factor is based on Ontario's 27% drug data availability noted in Infoway's analysis, divided by national drug data availability of 69% (as per Infoway's 2015-2016 Annual Report), multiplied by Ontario's proportion of the national population, which is estimated at 38%. A further discount of 75% is applied because, to date, the clinical settings for access to drug data in Ontario have been limited to hospitals and selected community health centres.

      Further notes and assumptions on Ontario benefits estimates:

      • National benefits estimates are based on a range of assumptions, including extrapolations from case studies of small sample sizes and studies that were conducted over a wide range of dates and by different data collection and analysis teams. Further assumptions and constraints of Infoway's estimates are noted by Infoway in its original documents.
      • Interpolation of benefits to Ontario for many assets assumes that benefits accrue proportionally to Ontario's population if the adoption of those asset types in Ontario is comparable to other provinces. This may not be the case and differences in specific digital health assets, health system utilization patterns, maturity of use or other factors may introduce differences in benefits accrued to Ontario that are not reflected.
      • The benefits reported only consider a selection of digital health systems and do not include a number of critical ones, such as systems that support sharing of immunization records, community-based assessments or laboratory test results.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Rapports du ministère
Inforoute Santé du Canada

Note d'information : Systèmes de santé numériques – disponibilité, utilisation et économies réalisées en Ontario

7 octobre 2016


Contexte

  • Partout au Canada, Inforoute Santé du Canada investit dans les systèmes de santé numériques, collaborant à la promotion de l'informatisation des systèmes de santé avec les provinces et les territoires.
  • Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée a demandé à Inforoute, en qualité de tierce partie neutre, de lui fournir la meilleure évaluation possible des progrès accomplis par l'Ontario, y compris par rapport aux autres provinces et aux territoires.
  • Comme le Ministère actualise en ce moment sa stratégie d'informatisation en matière de santé, l'apport d'information objective sous forme notamment d'observations justes sur les aspects où l'Ontario s'en tire bien et ceux qu'il doit améliorer revêt de l'importance.

Aperçu en matière de disponibilité

  • L'Ontario se conforme, ou est en voie de le faire, aux normes adoptées par Inforoute pour toutes les sources d'information clinique examinées (soit les registres de clients, les registres de fournisseurs, les systèmes d'imagerie diagnostique, les systèmes d'information sur les médicaments, les systèmes d'information de laboratoire et la documentation clinique).
  • De multiples établissements dotés d'abondants ensembles de données utilisent des dossiers médicaux électroniques.
  • Les données sur la santé des patients sont facilement accessibles aux cliniciens de l'Ontario : six des sept sources d'information évaluées dans le cadre de l'analyse d'Inforoute affichent un taux de disponibilité total ou presque total, variant entre 88 % et 100 %.
  • Ces données sont disponibles dans de multiples milieux de soins, entre autres les hôpitaux et les établissements de soins communautaires ou primaires.

Aperçu en matière d'utilisation

  • L'Ontario a été témoin de l'adoption rapide et de l'utilisation active des dossiers médicaux électroniques sur son territoire dans les années suivant le lancement initial du projet.
  • La province figure parmi les meilleures provinces concernant l'adoption de tels dossiers dans le domaine des soins primaires, affichant un taux d'utilisation de 84 % en 2014.
  • L'Ontario est un chef de file dans l'adoption de la télémédecine et des télésoins à domicile, concentrant environ 80 % et 60 % respectivement de leur utilisation au pays en 2014.
  • Une mise en œuvre complète de Panorama pour la collecte d'information sur la vaccination auprès des bureaux de santé publique aux quatre coins de la province a été effectuée.

Aperçu des avantages

  • Inforoute a procédé à une estimation des économies dégagées dans l'ensemble du pays grâce aux investissements effectués dans différents systèmes de santé numériques, soit dans les dossiers médicaux électroniques, la télémédecine, les télésoins à domicile, l'information sur les médicaments et l'imagerie diagnostique. Selon cette estimation, les économies accumulées à l'échelle nationale depuis 2007 s'élèvent à 16 milliards de dollars.
  • Selon une analyse du Ministère faite sur la base de la vérification et des recommandations d'Inforoute, les économies en Ontario se chiffrent à presque un milliard de dollars annuellement (en 2015-2016) et atteignent cumulativement près de six milliards de dollars depuis 2007 par suite des investissements faits dans les systèmes de santé numériques désignés. Le tableau de la page suivante résume cette analyse, à laquelle renvoient des notes placées plus bas.
  • Les estimations tiennent compte de la taille de l'Ontario et reflètent les progrès réalisés comparativement au reste du Canada.
    • La part des économies réalisées par l'Ontario à l'aide des dossiers médicaux électroniques et des systèmes d'imagerie diagnostique est proportionnelle au nombre d'habitants.
    • Le montant des économies de la province tiré des systèmes d'information sur les médicaments est proportionnellement inférieur.
    • L'Ontario est un chef de file de la télémédecine et des télésoins à domicile et dégage, à ce titre, une plus grande part d'économies.

Conclusion

  • Inforoute note la réalisation de progrès substantiels et le gain d'une valeur ajoutée considérable sur le plan national dans la dernière décennie grâce aux systèmes de santé numérique, dont l'adoption s'est accélérée au cours des dernières années. L'Ontario se classe avantageusement par rapport aux autres provinces et aux territoires sur le plan de la disponibilité et de l'utilisation de solutions de santé numérique ainsi que des économies provenant des investissements dans celles-ci.

Tableau 1 : Analyse des économies de l'Ontario résultant d'investissements dans certains systèmes de santé numériques
Système de santé numérique sélectionné Économies à l'échelle nationale en 2015 (en M de $) [ 1 ] Proportion des économies en Ontario Économies de l'Ontario en 2015 (en M de $) Économies cumulatives de l'Ontario depuis 2007 (en M de $)
Télémédecine et télésoins à domicile 407 0,70[ a ] 285 1 824
Dossiers médicaux électroniques utilisés par les médecins 419 0,41[ b ] 172 1 090
Dossiers médicaux électroniques utilisés pour les soins ambulatoires (patients externes) 196 0,38[ c ] 74 477
Systèmes d'imagerie diagnostique 908 0,38[ d ] 345 2 208
Systèmes d'information sur les médicaments 593 0,04[ e ] 24 149
Estimation des économies totales 2,523   900 5 747

[ 1 ]Selon l'analyse d'Inforoute

[ a ] Facteur de proportionnalité basé sur les événements télémédicaux, lesquels représentent environ 80 % du nombre total d'événements télémédicaux au pays et 60 % de l'utilisation des télésoins à domicile.

[ b ] Facteur de proportionnalité égal au taux d'adoption en Ontario de 84 % divisé par le taux d'adoption national de 77 %, puis multiplié par le pourcentage d'habitants canadiens résidant en Ontario, soit environ 38 %.

[ c ] Facteur de proportionnalité égal au pourcentage d'habitants canadiens résidant en Ontario, soit environ 38 %.

[ d ] Facteur de proportionnalité égal au pourcentage d'habitants canadiens résidant en Ontario, soit environ 38 %.

[ e ] Facteur de proportionnalité calculé en divisant le taux de disponibilité des données sur les médicaments en Ontario selon l'analyse d'Inforoute, à savoir 27 %, par le taux national de disponibilité des données sur les médicaments de 69 % (selon le rapport annuel de 2015-2016 d'Inforoute), puis en multipliant le quotient obtenu par le pourcentage d'habitants canadiens résidant en Ontario, soit environ 38 %. Une réduction du résultat est ensuite appliquée pour tenir compte du fait que, à ce jour, les établissements cliniques rendant accessibles les données sur les médicaments en Ontario se limitent aux hôpitaux et à certains centres de santé communautaires.

Autres remarques et suppositions sur les économies faites par l'Ontario selon l'estimation réalisée :

  • L'estimation des économies à l'échelle nationale est basée sur diverses suppositions faites notamment par l'extrapolation d'études de cas utilisant de petits échantillons ou couvrant un large éventail de dates et conduites par différentes équipes de collecte et d'analyse des données. D'autres suppositions et contraintes à l'origine de l'estimation d'Inforoute figurent dans ses documents originaux.
  • L'interpolation des économies de l'Ontario pour de nombreux systèmes repose sur la supposition que ces économies sont proportionnelles au nombre d'habitants de l'Ontario si l'adoption de ces systèmes se compare aux autres provinces, ce qui n'est peut-être pas le cas. Les différences observées concernant les systèmes de santé numériques en particulier, les tendances et la maturité d'utilisation de ces systèmes et d'autres facteurs peuvent induire des différences non prises en compte pour l'établissement des économies en Ontario.
  • Les économies déclarées ne se rapportent qu'à une sélection de systèmes de santé numériques et ne concernent pas certains systèmes essentiels, tels que ceux facilitant le partage des dossiers de vaccination, des évaluations communautaires et des résultats de laboratoire.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.