Ministry Reports

Report of The Provincial Advisory Committee on New Predictive Genetic Technologies,

November 2001


Executive Summary

During the past decade, science has made enormous advances in understanding the human genome. Sophisticated technologies have permitted human gene mapping on an unprecedented level. The increasing ability to test for genetic predisposition to disease has resulted in optimism that genetic predictive testing will help improve treatments and health care delivery. An understanding of the genetic basis of disease is expected to help everyone better understand disease processes.

Public polls show that people in Ontario are interested in learning more about the new genetic sciences and what they will mean to them. Before embracing these new technologies, governments need to carefully examine their value and their consequences for patient outcomes, legal systems and society.

The Committee

In April 2000, the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) established a Provincial Advisory Committee on New Predictive Genetic Technologies to help Ontario navigate the new frontier of human genetic medicine and science.

The mandate of the Advisory Committee was to develop a policy framework for introducing new genetic predictive testing and services into Ontario's health care system. This framework would help ensure that the provincial health system promotes wellness and improves health outcomes in advance of the appearance of disease.

The Committee would also develop guidelines, principles, broad criteria and advice to guide decisions on how new genetic services should be incorporated into the province's health care system. See Appendix A for Terms of Reference for the Committee.

The multidisciplinary Committee was made up of :

  • geneticists,
  • a genetic counsellor,
  • family physicians,
  • genetic researchers,
  • laboratory directors,
  • academics in law, ethics and medicine, educators,
  • a clinical epidemiologist,
  • an expert in psychosocial issues, and
  • representatives from the Canadian Cancer Society, the Heart and Stroke Foundation, the Huntington Society of Canada, the Ontario Association of Medical Laboratories, the Ontario College of Family Physicians, the Ontario Hospital Association, and the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.

The work of the Committee was divided among six areas :

  • education,
  • evaluation,
  • clinical practice,
  • psychosocial issues,
  • laboratory practice, and
  • legal and ethical issues

The sub-committees drew on a broad base of provincial expertise in each of these areas. Membership of the Provincial Advisory Committee and its sub-committees appear in Appendix B.

The Report

This report will help MOHLTC understand recent advances in genetic science. The report also examines the current state of genetic services in Ontario, and anticipates numerous impacts that genetic medicine and technology will have on patients, the physician-patient relationship, the health care system, and society.

Although the effects of genetic science on clinical practice, health services and individuals are still to be seen, the rapid increase in genetic technology requires responsive strategies and an objective assessment of the immediate and future scope of these advances.

The report directs its recommendations to the provincial and federal governments and to non-governmental bodies who can ensure that people in Ontario benefit from genetic science.

Impacts of New Genetic Technology

On Health Systems
Differences in the reliability, accuracy and predictive power of new genetic technologies, as well as clinical and psychosocial impacts, mean that each new technology must be evaluated for its usefulness and impact within a public health system.

The complex nature of each test procedure requires strict laboratory protocols to ensure the test results are accurate, meaningful and can be clearly communicated from physician to patient.

On Clinical Practice
Genetic tests vary significantly in the degree of certainty of developing disease, the risk and reliability associated with the test, the type of treatment required, and the complexity of their management. As the number and type of genetic tests increases, family physicians will encounter increasing indications for these tests and then will need to interpret the results.

Increasing genetic tests will also increase the workload of medical geneticists, other medical specialists and genetic counsellors. New approaches to clinical practice will need to be developed and in order to be fully effective, physicians will need to acquire new knowledge and integrate skills from different fields.

On the Patient
The probabilities and risks of genetic information are difficult concepts to understand and to base decisions on. Careful attention must be paid not only to the clinical information provided to the patient but also to the psychosocial effects which the testing may have on the individual and their families.

Unlike other forms of medical diagnosis, genetic predictive testing spans generations. Testing individuals also tests other family members, including offspring and their offspring. The test for Huntington Disease, for example, is predictive for the individual tested and also for future generations.

On the Public
Advances in biomedical science and new technologies offer an array of new health and reproductive choices. To make informed choices, the public needs reliable information about what is medically necessary and ethically appropriate.

Challenges of New Genetic Technology

Because risk is often determined by complex interactions with other genes and with environmental factors, interpreting the risk or probability of conditions through genetic testing will require a unique educational strategy.

Weighing the costs of providing a test and all the consequent lifestyle changes, surveillance programs, potential psychological, family, ethical and legal impacts against reliance on other sources of information and traditional clinical practices for dealing with disease is a concern. There is a need to guard against controlling disease through the new genetic technologies at the expense of other, known approaches to disease. Other approaches to disease control will need to be considered, including lifestyle changes that apply to the entire population, irrespective of genetic predisposition.

New testing technologies where one small blood or tissue sample can be tested simultaneously for many different disorders will open up new possibilities not previously contemplated.

Predictive genetic testing opens legal and ethical dilemmas that require guidance and decisions based on shared social values in the context of a public debate. It also raises issues that go beyond the provincial realm to areas of federal and international regulation.

Overview of the Recommendations

The recommendations of the Advisory Committee appear in section 3 of this report.

A Permanent Advisory Committee on Genetics
The initial recommendation is that Ontario establish a permanent and more broadly mandated Advisory Committee on Genetics :

  • to evaluate new genetic tests for service delivery,
  • to determine resource needs and health care service approaches as genetic issues evolve,
  • to facilitate the implementation of new genetic tests, and
  • to provide advice on educational, legal, and ethical issues relating to genetic testing.

The Need for Evaluation
The recommendations reiterate the importance of developing an evaluation process that builds on the template presented in this report. Before becoming insured services, all new tests should be evaluated for :

  • technical accuracy,
  • clinical effectiveness,
  • usefulness to tested individuals,
  • adverse and additional effects,
  • expansion potential and cost,
  • ethical/legal implications, and
  • resource implications.

Genetic Service Issues
Since genetic testing often produces complex results, testing must be part of broader integrated multidisciplinary genetic services that incorporate genetic assessment and counselling, quality testing, psychosocial support and follow-up services, including surveillance, prevention and treatment. Every effort should be made to integrate genetic service into current health care.

Because of the potential growth in the number and volume of genetic tests and their accompanying costs and consequences over the coming decades, the Committee has also made recommendations to increase recruitment and training capacity for genetic service health care providers. Each aspect of genetic services should have quality management guidelines in place.

Ethical and Legal Issues
Ethical and legal issues permeate every phase of predictive genetic testing. Recommendations emphasize the need :

  • to ensure privacy and confidentiality and protect patients from discrimination and stigmatization,
  • for fully informed consent for genetic testing,
  • to ensure quality management in laboratory testing, and
  • for governments and regulatory bodies to examine and take steps in the areas of patents, commercial use and direct marketing of genetic testing.

Educational Program
The Advisory Committee recommended developing and promoting a genetics educational program for everyone in Ontario including health professionals and decision-makers to meet public and professional needs. They also recommended developing a specific education program for each new predictive genetic test approved as an insured service.

Until recently, much of the practice of genetics involved diagnosing rare inherited disorders, estimating risk for family members, and providing prenatal diagnosis. There was little need for most health care providers to have any more than a rudimentary knowledge of genetics. Now, there is an urgent need for the Ministries of Education and of Colleges and Universities to review the curricula of secondary and post-secondary schools and incorporate core genetic issues.

Moving Forward
Governments, citizens and scientists are attempting to understand the benefits and the limitations of genetics. This report attempts to assist Ontario in that endeavour with confident caution. The monitoring of developments in genetics and the resulting genetic clinical practice is an ongoing task for all governments.

The full report may be downloaded from the link below.

Document Download

Full Report
Report of The Provincial Advisory Committee on New Predictive Genetic Technologies, November 2001
120 pages | 418 kb | PDF format

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

November 2001

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Rapports du ministère

Rapport du Comité consultatif de l'Ontario sur les nouvelles technologies génétiques prévisionnelles

Novembre 2001

Résumé

Au cours de la dernière décennie, la science a fait des pas de géant dans la découverte du génome humain. Des technologies poussées ont permis d'ébaucher, avec une précision sans précédent, une cartographie de la génétique humaine. La capacité accrue de dépistage des prédispositions génétiques à certaines pathologies fait espérer que les tests génétiques prédictifs améliorent la thérapeutique et la prestation des soins de santé. La découverte du fondement génétique de la maladie ne peut manquer d'éclairer les processus pathologiques.

Les sondages montrent que la population ontarienne souhaite en savoir davantage sur les nouvelles sciences génétiques et ce qu'elles peuvent lui apporter. Cependant, avant d'adopter ces nouvelles technologies, les pouvoirs publics se doivent d'en étudier à fond la valeur et les répercussions pour les patients, le système juridique et la société dans son ensemble.

Le Comité

En avril 2000, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) a formé le Comité consultatif de l'Ontario sur les nouvelles technologies génétiques prévisionnelles, afin de guider l'Ontario dans l'exploration de cette nouvelle frontière scientifique et médicale de la génétique humaine.

Le mandat du Comité consultatif était d'élaborer un cadre stratégique pour l'intégration de services d'évaluation et de consultation génétiques prédictifs au système de santé de l'Ontario. Ce cadre devrait aider le système de santé provincial à promouvoir le bien-être au sein de la population et à améliorer les mesures de prévention de la maladie.

Le Comité devait également élaborer des principes, directives, critères et avis généraux de façon à orienter les décisions quant aux modalités d'incorporation des nouveaux services génétiques au système de santé de la province. Pour plus de détails sur le mandat et les attributions du Comité, voir l'Annexe A.

Le Comité, de nature pluridisciplinaire, réunissait :

  • des généticiens,
  • un conseiller en génétique,
  • des omnipraticiens,
  • des chercheurs en génétique,
  • des directeurs de laboratoire,
  • des universitaires, en droit, éthique et médecine, et des éducateurs,
  • un épidémiologiste clinicien,
  • un spécialiste des questions psychosociales, de même que des représentants des organismes suivants : la Société canadienne du cancer, la Fondation des maladies du coeur, la Société Huntington du Canada, l'Ontario Association of Medical Laboratories, l'Ontario College of Family Physicians, l'Association des hôpitaux de l'Ontario et le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée.

Le Comité a réparti ses travaux en six grands secteurs :

  • éducation,
  • évaluation,
  • pratique clinique,
  • questions psychosociales,
  • pratiques de laboratoire,
  • problèmes d'ordre éthique et juridique.

Les sous-comités ont consulté une large gamme de spécialistes de la province dans chacun de ces secteurs. On trouvera à l'Annexe B la liste des membres du Comité consultatif de l'Ontario et de ses sous-comités.

Le Rapport

Le présent rapport fait, à l'intention du ministère, l'exposé des progrès récents réalisés en génétique. Il fait aussi l'examen de la situation actuelle des services de génétique en Ontario et esquisse les répercussions en tous genres qu'auront la technologie et la médecine génétiques sur les patients, les relations médecin-patient, le système de santé et la société dans son ensemble.

Les effets de la science génétique sur la pratique clinique, les services de santé et les patients ne se sont pas encore manifestés, mais l'avance rapide des technologies exige la formulation de stratégies adéquates et une évaluation objective de la portée immédiate et future de ces progrès.

Le rapport formule des recommandations à l'intention des gouvernements provincial et fédéral ainsi que des organismes non gouvernementaux, dont l'action peut faire en sorte que la population ontarienne tire pleinement avantage de la génétique et de ses effets bénéfiques.

Incidences des nouvelles technologies génétiques

Incidences sur les systèmes de santé
Les nouvelles technologies génétiques présentent des différences sur les plans de la fidélité, de l'exactitude et de l'efficacité prédictive, de même que des impacts cliniques et psychosociaux, de sorte que chacune doit être évaluée quant à son utilité et à ses répercussions au sein d'un système de santé public.

La complexité de chaque procédure d'essai exige de rigoureux protocoles de laboratoire, aux fins de l'obtention de résultats précis et significatifs, pouvant être clairement communiqués aux patients par le médecin.

Incidences sur la pratique clinique
Les résultats des tests génétiques varient beaucoup suivant divers facteurs : degré de certitude que la maladie se manifeste, risque et fidélité des tests, type de traitement nécessaire et complexité d'administration des tests. Vu l'accroissement du nombre et de la diversité des tests génétiques, l'omnipraticien, face à des indications de plus en plus grandes à l'égard de ces tests, devra pouvoir en interpréter les résultats.

La fréquence des tests génétiques croissant, on verra en parallèle s'alourdir la charge de travail des généticiens et des autres médecins spécialistes, de même que des conseillers en génétique. Il faudra mettre au point de nouvelles approches de la pratique clinique et, pour exercer en connaissance de cause, les médecins devront se doter de nouvelles connaissances et s'assimiler des compétences de différents domaines.

Incidences sur le patient ou la patiente
Les probabilités et les risques associés aux données d'ordre génétique sont des notions difficiles à comprendre, surtout quand il s'agit de décisions à prendre. Il faut bien peser non seulement les données cliniques fournies au patient ou à la patiente, mais également les effets psychosociaux du dépistage sur la personne en cause et sa famille.

À la différence d'autres formes de diagnostics médicaux, les tests génétiques prédictifs embrassent plus d'une génération. Les tests subis par une personne ont une portée sur les autres membres de sa famille, dont ses enfants et leurs rejetons. Ainsi, le test de la chorée de Huntington est prédictif pour la personne en cause mais aussi pour les générations futures.

Incidences sur la population
Les percées des sciences biomédicales et des nouvelles technologies débouchent sur tout un éventail de nouvelles possibilités en matière de santé et de procréation. Pour prendre des décisions éclairées, la population doit être en possession de données fiables sur ce qui est médicalement nécessaire et moralement approprié.

Défis afférents aux nouvelles technologies génétiques

Parce que le risque se définit souvent par des interactions complexes entre les gènes et certains facteurs issus du milieu, l'interprétation du risque ou de la probabilité de certaines pathologies révélées par le dépistage génétique appellera une stratégie éducative très particulière.

Il sera difficile mais nécessaire de peser le pour et le contre : faudra-t-il assumer les coûts de prestation des tests et de toutes leurs retombées - changements à apporter au mode de vie, programmes de surveillance, répercussions possibles d'ordre psychologique, familial, moral et juridique - plutôt que de continuer à se fier à d'autres modes d'investigation et aux thérapeutiques traditionnelles.

Il faudra se garder d'adopter les nouvelles technologies génétiques de lutte contre la maladie en négligeant d'autres approches connues. Il faudra tenir compte des autres approches de lutte contre la maladie, dont les changements à apporter au mode de vie, qui valent pour l'ensemble de la population, sans égard aux prédispositions génétiques.

Les nouvelles technologies de dépistage, grâce auxquelles un simple échantillon de sang ou de tissu peut être soumis à des tests simultanés de dépistage de différentes pathologies, ouvrent des horizons inconcevables jusqu'ici.

Par ailleurs, le dépistage génétique ouvre la porte à des dilemmes éthiques et juridiques qui exigent une orientation et des décisions fondées sur des valeurs sociales communes, dans le contexte d'un débat public. Il soulève également des questions qui, dépassant la compétence provinciale, relèvent d'une réglementation fédérale et internationale.

Aperçu des recommandations

On trouvera les recommandations du Comité consultatif à la section 3 du présent rapport.

Établissement d'un comité consultatif permanent sur la génétique
La première recommandation vise l'établissement par l'Ontario d'un comité consultatif permanent sur la génétique, dont le mandat général serait le suivant :

  • évaluer les nouveaux tests génétiques en vue de la prestation de services,
  • déterminer les besoins en matière de ressources et les formules possibles de services de santé au fur et à mesure de l'évolution des enjeux génétiques,
  • faciliter la mise en oeuvre des nouveaux tests génétiques,
  • dispenser des conseils sur les questions d'ordre éthique, juridique et éducatif que pose le dépistage génétique.

Nécessité de l'évaluation
Les recommandations insistent sur l'importance d'élaborer un processus d'évaluation fondé sur le modèle exposé dans le présent rapport. Avant de devenir un service assuré, tout nouveau test devrait être évalué des points de vue suivants :

  • exactitude technique,
  • efficacité clinique,
  • utilité pour les intéressés,
  • effets autres; effets préjudiciables,
  • potentiel d'expansion et coûts afférents,
  • incidences éthiques et juridiques,
  • exigences en matière de ressources.

Questions liées aux services de génétique
Puisque le dépistage génétique débouche souvent sur des résultats complexes, les tests doivent s'inscrire dans le cadre plus large de services de génétique multidisciplinaires et intégrés, assortis d'une évaluation et de counselling, d'essais qualitatifs, de services de soutien et de suivi psychosociaux, dont surveillance, prévention et traitement. On ne ménagera aucun effort pour intégrer les services de génétique au système de santé actuel.

À cause de la croissance potentielle du nombre et du volume des tests génétiques ainsi que de leurs répercussions et des coûts afférents au cours des décennies à venir, le Comité a aussi formulé des recommandations visant à accroître le recrutement et la capacité de formation des fournisseurs de services de génétique dans le cadre du système de santé. Il faudra mettre en place des directives en gestion de la qualité pour chaque aspect des services de génétique.

Questions éthiques et juridiques
Des questions d'ordre éthique et juridique sont inhérentes à chacune des phases du dépistage génétique. Les recommandations soulignent la nécessité des mesures suivantes :

  • assurer la confidentialité et le respect de la vie privée; protéger les patients de toute discrimination et stigmatisation,
  • assurer un consentement éclairé au dépistage génétique,
  • assurer la gestion de la qualité des tests de laboratoire,
  • faire en sorte que les gouvernements et les organismes de réglementation prennent les décisions et mesures nécessaires à l'égard des tests génétiques : brevets, exploitation à des fins commerciales et vente directe.

Programme d'éducation
Le Comité consultatif recommande l'élaboration et la promotion d'un programme d'éducation sur la génétique à l'intention de tous les citoyens et citoyennes de l'Ontario, y compris les membres des professions de la santé et les décideurs, afin de répondre aux besoins de la population et des professionnels. Il recommande aussi l'élaboration d'un programme éducatif spécifique à l'égard de chaque nouveau test prédictif jugé admissible comme service assuré.

Jusqu'à récemment, la pratique de la génétique comportait principalement le diagnostic de maladies héréditaires rares, l'estimation du risque pour les proches de la personne atteinte et le diagnostic prénatal. La plupart des fournisseurs de soins de santé n'avaient guère l'utilité de connaissances poussées en génétique. La situation a brusquement changé : les ministères de l'Éducation et des Collèges et Universités doivent maintenant envisager d'urgence la refonte des programmes des niveaux secondaires et postsecondaires, afin d'y intégrer les fondements de la génétique et les grandes questions qu'elle soulève.

Pour aller de l'avant
Les scientifiques, les pouvoirs publics et la population font des efforts pour comprendre les avantages et les limites de la génétique. Notre rapport veut aider l'Ontario à y parvenir, dans un climat d'optimisme prudent. Le suivi des progrès réalisés en génétique et de leurs applications cliniques constituera une tâche que devront assumer en permanence les gouvernements de tous paliers.

Téléchargement des documents

Rapport
Rapport du Comité consultatif de l'Ontario sur les nouvelles technologies génétiques prévisionnelles
37 pages | 272 kb | format PDF

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Novembre 2001

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.