Ministry Reports

Report of the Joint Stroke Strategy Working Group, June 2000


Executive Summary

Stroke costs the Ontario economy almost a billion dollars a year and is a leading cause of death and adult neurological disability. Currently, at least 90,000 Ontarians are living with the effects of stroke, such as motor, sensory, cognitive or communication deficits. Stroke is believed to be one of the leading causes of transfer of the elderly to long-term care. As the population of Ontario ages, the number of strokes is expected to increase.

Stroke poses a number of challenges to not only the health care system but to the citizens of Ontario. In the past, it was assumed that little could be done to prevent or treat stroke. As a result, strokes were not generally treated as medical emergencies requiring urgent care, resources for expert stroke rehabilitation -- particularly home-based rehabilitation -- were limited, and minimal attention was paid to stroke prevention.

With the advent of new knowledge and therapies, there is the potential to dramatically improve stroke care in Ontario. There is now good scientific evidence that strokes can be prevented and acute care and rehabilitation appreciably enhanced. Such developments could significantly reduce the future human and economic burden of stroke. Those who are at risk of stroke -- or who have had a stroke -- and their families will benefit significantly from the developments being proposed in stroke care in Ontario.

To begin, we now know that stroke is highly preventable. The number of Ontarians at risk of stroke can be significantly reduced through lifestyle modifications such as smoking cessation and the promotion of increased physical activity and good nutrition. Among individuals at high risk, the number of strokes can be cut in half by such interventions as blood pressure lowering medications, antiplatelet or anticoagulant drugs ("blood thinners") or surgery (carotid endarterectomy).

More recently, developments have shown that -- contrary to what we thought in the past -- stroke can be effectively treated. Using evidence-based stroke protocols and interdisciplinary stroke teams can significantly reduce stroke mortality, morbidity, hospital costs and the need for long-term care. This approach (called "organized stroke care") does not depend upon large investments in new technologies but rather reorganization of existing resources. An even more exciting discovery has been that, under the right circumstances, the thrombolytic drug used to stop heart attacks (t-PA) can also stop "brain attacks" (strokes). And this is only the beginning. Other drugs for stroke (such as "neuroprotectives") are in development.

Of particular note should be two innovative and ground-breaking initiatives that are currently underway in Ontario. The Coordinated Stroke Strategy and the Canadian Stroke Network represent valuable opportunities for Ontario to build on the most advanced work in Canada on stroke care. This will allow Ontario to make more rapid progress in the development of organized stroke care and stroke research.

If we take advantage of these many new developments, we could improve the quality of life for Ontarians and avoid a significant proportion of future stroke costs and burden. To do so, we must organize stroke care across the entire continuum (i.e. from prevention, to acute care, rehabilitation and secondary prevention) on a province-wide basis.

A comprehensive, integrated, evidence-based province-wide stroke strategy would also make Ontario a world leader in stroke prevention, care, rehabilitation and research.

After careful consideration and review of both current stroke practices in Ontario and the international literature, the Joint Stroke Strategy Working Group came to a number of recommendations as to how stroke care can be improved. These recommendations are :

Stroke Prevention

  1. The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care should support health promotion efforts that contribute to the primary prevention of stroke.
  2. Stroke Prevention Clinics should be developed to improve secondary stroke prevention and to provide support to ongoing prevention efforts in the primary care, acute care and rehabilitation sectors.
  3. Stroke prevention by primary care providers should be supported.
  4. Drugs needed for "best practices" in stroke prevention should be provided on the Ontario Drug Benefit program.

Emergency / Acute Care

  1. As part of an integrated stroke plan for Ontario, stroke should be designated a priority of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.
  2. A system of Regional and District Stroke Centres and protocols should be established linking all acute care hospitals in Ontario.
  3. To further the development of "telestroke", the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care should move to address the legal and funding implications of using telecommunication linkages for remote diagnosis.
  4. To support organized acute care of stroke and implementation of thrombolytic therapy for ischemic stroke, public education should be conducted on the warning signs of stroke.

Rehabilitation

  1. The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario should promote the development of regional stroke rehabilitation systems.

Measuring and Monitoring

  1. An information system should be developed to further data collection and monitoring across the continuum of stroke care.

Human Resources

  1. The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care should study future needs for human resources in stroke.
  2. A committee responsible for stroke training should be established to administer a provincial stroke training fund.

Implementation and Development

  1. To advance the evidence base for specific issues in stroke care, the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care should support a number of pilot projects (e.g. on "telestroke" and stroke rehabilitation).
  2. To ensure that all recommendations are realized in an orderly manner, an implementation structure should be developed to oversee a phased development of organized stroke care. The implementation structure should consists of a Stroke Implementation Steering Committee, Work Groups, Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care regional offices and a Forum of Regional Stroke Centres, with Ministry Management Team support. The phased implementation should cover a three-year period.
  3. A coordinated and intensified approach to funding stroke research should be developed.

Document Download

Full Report
Report of the Joint Stroke Strategy Working Group, June 2000
Terms of References for the Joint Stroke Strategy Working Group and Task Groups
117 pages | 257 kb | PDF format

Appendices
Appendix 1
8 pages | 16.8 kb | PDF format

Appendix 2
Prevalence of Stroke-Related Hospital Discharge Over Time - Emerging Trends in Ontario
12 pages | 36.5 kb | PDF format

Appendix 3
Prevalence of TIA-Related Hospital Discharge Over Time - Emerging Trends in Ontario
11 pages | 41 kb | PDF format

Appendix 4
Literature Review of Effectiveness of Health Promotion
2 pages | 9.2kb | PDF format

Appendix 5
Emergency / Acute Stroke Task Group Economic Decision Analysis Model
43 pages | 84.1kb | PDF format

Appendix 6
Measuring and Monitoring Working Group - Current Initiatives
9 pages | 25.3kb | PDF format

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

June 2000

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Rapports du ministère

Rapport du groupe de travail mixte sur la stratégie de prévention des accidents cérébrovasculaires


Résumé

Les accidents cérébrovasculaires (ACV) coûtent près d'un milliard de dollars par an à l'économie de l'Ontario et sont l'une des premières causes de décès et d'invalidité neurologique chez les adultes. À l'heure actuelle, en Ontario, au moins 90 000 personnes subissent les effets d'un accident cérébrovasculaire (ACV), par exemple des déficits moteurs, sensoriels ou cognitifs ou des problèmes de communication. On estime que les ACV sont l'une des premières causes de placement des personnes âgées en établissement de soins de longue durée. Le vieillissement de la population de l'Ontario fera probablement augmenter l'incidence de cette maladie.

Les ACV posent diverses difficultés non seulement au système de soins de santé mais à la population de l'Ontario. Autrefois, on présumait qu'il y avait peu à faire pour prévenir ou traiter l'ACV. D'une part, cette maladie n'était généralement pas traitée comme une urgence médicale exigeant des soins urgents, d'autre part, l'expertise nécessaire à la réadaptation des patients -- particulièrement la réadaptation à domicile -- était limitée et la prévention recevait peu d'attention.

Or, les connaissances et les thérapies nouvelles permettent d'améliorer de façon dramatique les soins aux victimes d'ACV en Ontario. En effet, des résultats scientifiques convaincants démontrent à présent qu'il est possible de prévenir l'ACV et d'améliorer considérablement les soins actifs et la réadaptation. Ces développements pourraient alléger dans une mesure non négligeable le fardeau humain et économique attribuable aux ACV. Les personnes exposées aux ACV ou celles qui en ont été victimes, ainsi que leur famille, bénéficieront dans une large mesure des développements proposés dans les soins aux victimes d'ACV en Ontario.

D'abord, nous savons maintenant que les ACV sont facilement évitables. Il est possible de réduire considérablement le nombre d'Ontariennes et d'Ontariens exposés aux ACV en les invitant à modifier leur mode de vie, par exemple en les encourageant à cesser de fumer, à augmenter leur activité physique et à surveiller leur nutrition. Parmi les personnes à risque élevé, le nombre d'ACV peut être réduit de moitié par la prise d'hypotenseurs, d'antiplaquettaires ou d'anticoagulants ou par la chirurgie (l'endartériectomie carotidienne).

Les développements les plus récents indiquent que, contrairement à ce qu'on croyait, il existe un traitement efficace pour les ACV. Dans le traitement de cette maladie, l'application de protocoles fondés sur l'expérience clinique et le recours à des équipes interdisciplinaires peuvent réduire considérablement la mortalité, la morbidité, ainsi que les coûts hospitaliers et le besoin en soins de longue durée. Cette approche (appelée « soins organisés aux victimes d'ACV ») nécessite non pas des investissements importants dans les nouvelles technologies mais plutôt une réorganisation des ressources actuelles. Découverte encore plus fascinante, dans les circonstances idéales, le médicament thrombolytique (TPA) utilisé pour arrêter une crise cardiaque peut également enrayer un ACV. Et ce n'est qu'un début. On travaille actuellement à la mise au point d'autres médicaments (tels les « neuroprotecteurs ») destinés au traitement des ACV.

Deux projets innovateurs entrepris en Ontario sont particulièrement dignes de mention. Ces projets, la Stratégie coordonnée de prévention des ACV et le Réseau canadien contre les accidents cérébrovasculaires, sont pour l'Ontario une chance unique de tirer parti des travaux les plus avancés qui se fassent au Canada en matière de soins aux victimes d'ACV. Ces travaux permettront à l'Ontario de progresser plus rapidement dans l'élaboration d'un système de soins organisés aux victimes d'ACV et dans la recherche sur cette maladie.

En misant sur ces nombreux développements survenus récemment, nous pourrons améliorer la qualité de vie de la population ontarienne et alléger considérablement les coûts et le fardeau qu'entraînent les ACV. À cette fin, nous devons organiser les soins aux victimes d'ACV dans l'ensemble du système des soins (depuis la prévention et les soins actifs jusqu'à la réadaptation et la prévention secondaire) et ce, à l'échelle de la province.

L'élaboration d'une stratégie provinciale globale, intégrée et fondée sur l'expérience clinique ferait également de l'Ontario un chef mondial dans la prévention des ACV, les soins aux victimes de cette maladie, la réadaptation et la recherche.

Après une étude et un examen minutieux des pratiques en vigueur en Ontario et de la documentation internationale sur les ACV, le Groupe de travail mixte sur la stratégie de prévention des accidents cérébrovasculaires a formulé un certain nombre de recommandations sur la façon d'améliorer les soins aux victimes d'ACV. Le chapitre qui suit présente le détail de ces recommandations. :

Prévention des accidents cérébrovasculaires

  1. Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée devrait appuyer les activités de promotion de la santé qui contribuent à la prévention primaire des accidents cérébrovasculaires.
  2. Des cliniques de prévention des ACV devraient être mises sur pied afin d'améliorer la prévention secondaire des ACV et de soutenir les efforts permanents de prévention du secteur des soins primaires, des soins actifs et de la réadaptation.
  3. Il faudrait encourager la prévention des ACV par les fournisseurs de soins primaires.
  4. Les médicaments nécessaires à l'application des meilleures pratiques de prévention des ACV devraient être inclus dans le Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario.

Soins d'urgence / soins actifs

  1. Dans le cadre d'un plan intégré de prévention des ACV pour l'Ontario, les ACV devraient être classés parmi les priorités du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée.
  2. Un système de protocoles et de centres de traitement régionaux et locaux devrait être établi afin de relier tous les hôpitaux de soins actifs de l'Ontario.
  3. Afin de favoriser le développement d'un système « Télé - ACV », le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée devrait prendre les mesures nécessaires à l'égard des répercussions juridiques et financières de l'utilisation de réseaux de télécommunication pour le télédiagnostic.
  4. Afin d'appuyer les soins actifs organisés aux victimes d'ACV et la mise en oeuvre de la thrombolyse pour les accidents ischémiques cérébraux, il faudrait sensibiliser le public aux signes avant-coureurs des ACV.

Réadaptation

  1. Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée et la Fondation de l'Ontario des maladies du coeur devraient promouvoir l'élaboration de systèmes régionaux de réadaptation des victimes d'ACV.

Évaluation et surveillance

  1. Il faudrait mettre sur pied un système d'information favorisant la collecte des données et la surveillance dans l'ensemble du système des soins aux victimes d'ACV.

Ressources humaines

  1. Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée devrait étudier les besoins ultérieurs en ressources humaines pour le domaine des ACV.
  2. Un comité chargé de la formation à la prévention des ACV devrait être constitué aux fins de l'administration d'un fonds provincial de formation à la prévention de cette maladie.

Mise en oeuvre et développement

  1. Afin de faire progresser l'expérience clinique dans certains domaines particuliers des soins aux victimes d'ACV, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée devrait appuyer un certain nombre de projets pilotes (par exemple le système « Télé-ACV » et la réadaptation des victimes d'ACV).
  2. Afin d'assurer l'application ordonnée de toutes les recommandations, il faudrait mettre sur pied un organisme de mise en oeuvre chargé de superviser l'élaboration graduelle d'un système de soins organisés aux victimes d'ACV. Cet organisme devrait comprendre un comité directeur de mise en oeuvre de la stratégie de prévention des ACV, des groupes de travail, les bureaux régionaux du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée et un ensemble de centres de traitement régionaux, appuyés par l'équipe de gestion du ministère. Le processus graduel de mise en oeuvre devrait s'étaler sur une période de trois ans.
  3. Il faudrait mettre au point une approche coordonnée et plus dynamique pour le financement de la recherche sur les ACV.

Téléchargement des documents

Rapport
Rapport du groupe de travail mixte sur la stratégie de prévention des accidents cérébrovasculaires, juin 2000
133 pages | 257 kb | format PDF

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Juin 2000

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.