Ministry Reports

Independent Review of Access to Postgraduate Programs by
International Medical Graduates in Ontario

by George Thomson and Karen Cohl

September 2011

In October 2010, the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, with administrative support from the Council of Ontario Universities (COU), commissioned former provincial court judge George Thomson and Karen Cohl to conduct an independent review of the selection process that international medical graduates (IMGs) undergo at Ontario's faculties of medicine.

IMGs are individuals who have completed an medical degree outside Canada or the United States. IMGs have varying levels of training and experience, and may seek to practise in Ontario at different points in their careers.

The purpose of the review was to identify barriers that may exist and recommend potential solutions for IMGs looking for postgraduate training and assessment opportunities in Ontario. The review was commissioned as part of the government's effort to improve access for qualified internationally trained physicians who wish to practise medicine in Ontario.

The ministry and the COU are reviewing the report and its recommendations, and are committed to working together to improve fair access to postgraduate medical training and assessment opportunities for IMGs.

The full report is available for download in PDF format below :

Document Download

IMG SELECTION: Independent Review of Access to Postgraduate Programs by International Medical Graduates in Ontario

Volume 1: Findings and Recommendations (PDF)

Volume 2: Analysis and Background (PDF)

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Marketing Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Rapports du ministère

Examen indépendant de l'accès des diplômés internationaux en médecine aux programmes de formation postdoctorale en Ontario

par George Thomson et Karen Cohl

septembre 2011

En octobre 2010, the ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, avec le soutien administratif du Conseil des Universités de l'Ontario (CUO), a commandé à George Thomson, juge retraité de la cour provinciale, et Karen Cohl la réalisation d'un examen indépendant du processus de sélection des diplômés internationaux en médecine (DIM) par les facultés de médecine ontariennes.

Les DIM sont des individus qui ont fait leurs études médicales à l'extérieur du Canada ou des États-Unis.  Les niveaux de formation et d'expérience des DIM varient.   Il se peut aussi que les DIM en soient à différents stages de leur carrière au moment où ils veulent pratiquer en Ontario.

Le but de l'examen était d'identifier les barrières qui existent peut-être pour les DIM voulant accéder à des postes de résidence ou à des évaluations pour DIM ainsi que de faire des recommandations.  Cet examen fait partie des efforts du gouvernement afin d'améliorer l'accès aux DIM qualifiés qui veulent pratiquer la médecine en Ontario.

Le ministère et le CUO étudient présentement le rapport et ses recommandations et se sont engagés à travailler ensemble à améliorer l'accès à la formation médicale postdoctorale et aux évaluations pour DIM.

Le rapport complet peut être téléchargé en format PDF ci-dessous  :

Téléchargement des documents

LA SÉLECTION DES DIM : Examen indépendant de l'accès des diplômés internationaux en médecine aux programmes de formation postdoctorale en Ontario

Volume 1 : Conclusions et recommandations (PDF)

Volume 2 : Analyse et contexte (PDF)

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à la Direction des communications et de l'information, au 416 314 6197, ou consulter la section Salle de presse.