Public Information

About the Ministry

David Hallett, Associate Deputy Minister

Associate Deputy Minister

David Hallett

David Hallett was appointed to the position of Associate Deputy Minister effective January 2010.

David is a results oriented senior level executive with extensive transformational experience acquired over a period of 15 years working in the private sector and 10 years working in the public sector.  He is motivated by challenging business situations  where executives are expected to transform and lead highly responsive organizations that deliver tangible results.

Prior to assuming the position of Associate Deputy Minister, Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, David was Associate Deputy Minister, Ontario Shared Services at the Ministry of Government Services from July 2004 to December 2009.

During his time at Ontario Shared Services, David successfully developed and executed comprehensive transformation strategies that repositioned OSS into a high performance enterprise class organization that has been recognized internationally as a leader in the delivery of innovative and efficient back-office and supply chain management services.

Most recently, David joined eHealth Ontario in June 2009 as Chief Operating Officer on an interim basis.  Over a 7 month period, he worked with the Board, 2 interim Chief Executive Officers and a completely new executive management team to effectively address a very difficult and challenging business environment facing the agency.

Prior to assuming the position of Associate Deputy Minister,  Ontario Shared Services, David was Chief Information Officer for the Central Agencies I&IT Cluster; a position he held from July 2000 to July 2004.

In the role of Chief Information Officer, David had the privilege of creating not one, but two I&IT organizations to better serve the needs of the Cabinet Office, Management Board Secretariat and the Ministry of Finance.  His span of accountability included the Ontario government’s critically important tax systems, as well as its enterprise class financial, human resources, and payroll systems.

David joined the Ontario Public Service in July 2000 from the private sector where he spent 15 successful years as an executive at two great Canadian corporations, Loblaw Companies Limited and the Oshawa Group Limited.

Throughout his career, David has established a solid reputation for  his customer focus, his long-term approach to delivering value, and his commitment to building high performance organizations.

David holds an MBA from the Richard Ivey School of Business at the University of Western Ontario and an Honours in Business Administration from Algonquin College in Ottawa Ontario.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Information pour le public

Présentation du ministère

David Hallett, Sous-ministre associé

Sous-ministre associé

David Hallett

David Hallett a été nommé au poste de sous-ministre associé en janvier 2010.

M. Hallett est un haut dirigeant qui a le souci d'obtenir des résultats et qui possède une grande expérience dans le domaine de la transformation; il a acquis cette expérience en travaillant pendant 15 ans dans le secteur privé et pendant 10 ans dans le secteur public. M. Hallett aime les défis et se trouver dans des situations où les cadres supérieurs ont pour mission de transformer et de diriger des organismes très réactifs qui produisent des résultats tangibles.

Avant de devenir sous-ministre associé au ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, M. Hallett était sous-ministre associé, Services communs de l'Ontario (SCO), ministère des Services gouvernementaux, poste qu’il a occupé de juillet 2004 à décembre 2009.

Durant son mandat aux Services communs de l'Ontario, M. Hallett a élaboré et mené à bien des stratégies qui ont permis de transformer les SCO en une organisation de haut niveau, mondialement réputée comme un chef de file dans le domaine de la prestation de services efficients d’administration et de gestion de la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

En juin 2009, M. Hallett a été affecté à Cybersanté Ontario à titre de chef de la direction intérimaire. Pendant sept mois, il a collaboré avec deux administrateurs en chef  temporaires et une équipe de direction entièrement nouvelle afin de régler la situation très difficile et compliquée dans laquelle se trouvait l’organisme.

Avant d’assumer le poste de sous-ministre associé des Services communs de l'Ontario, M. Hallett était directeur général de l'information pour le compte du Groupement ITI pour les organismes centraux, fonction qu’il a occupée de juillet 2000 à juillet 2004.

À ce titre, il a eu le privilège de créer pas un mais deux organismes ITI pour mieux répondre aux besoins du Conseil des ministres, du Secrétariat du Conseil de gestion et du ministère des Finances. Ses responsabilités comprenaient non seulement les systèmes fiscaux du gouvernement de l’Ontario d’importance cruciale, mais aussi les systèmes financiers, les ressources humaines et le service de la paie de l’ensemble du gouvernement.

Lorsqu’il est entré au service de la Fonction publique de l’Ontario en juillet 2000, M. Hallett venait du secteur privé où il avait travaillé pendant 15 années fructueuses comme dirigeant de deux grandes sociétés canadiennes, Les Compagnies Loblaw Limitée et la Compagnie de gestion Oshawa limitée.

Tout au long de sa carrière, M. Hallett s’est taillé une solide réputation comme dirigeant soucieux de la clientèle et pour l’approche à long terme qu’il applique à l’égard de la valeur et sa détermination à créer  des organismes de très haut niveau.

Il détient une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Richard Ivey School of Business, Université Western Ontario, et un diplôme spécialisé en administration des affaires du Collège Algonquin, Ottawa (Ontario).
Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h