Print  

Information for Parents
You can Protect your Child from HPV-Related Cancers

Ontario's HPV Immunization Program Helps Protect Against Cancer


Arabic Arabic Portable Document Format
Chinese Simplified Chinese Simplified Portable Document Format
Chinese Traditional Chinese-Traditional Portable Document Format
English Portable Document Format
Farsi Farsi Portable Document Format

Punjabi Punjabi Portable Document Format
Tagalog Tagalog Portable Document Format
Tamil Tamil Portable Document Format
Urdu Urdu Portable Document Format



Girls in Grade 8 in Ontario have been receiving the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine for free since 2007. Beginning in September 2016, all boys and girls in Grade 7 will now be able to receive the vaccine for free.

What does this mean for my family?

If you have a son or daughter in Grade 7 in September 2016, he or she will be offered the vaccine at school from your public health unit nurse.

If you have a daughter entering Grade 8 in 2016-2017, she will also be able to receive the HPV vaccine at school to ensure she doesn't miss the opportunity to be immunized. Moving forward, the vaccine will only be provided in Grade 7.

For most students, the vaccine is given with two injections, six months apart. For those who receive their first dose after age 14, or who have a weakened immune system, the HPV vaccine is given with three injections over six months.

It is estimated that without immunization 3 out of 4 sexually active Canadians will be infected with HPV at some point in their lives

What is HPV?

HPV is a virus that is very common around the world. It is estimated that without immunization, three out of four sexually active Canadians will get HPV in their lifetime. There are many different types of HPV and most people with HPV do not develop any signs or symptoms. However, some types of HPV can cause cervical or penile cancer as well as other cancers and genital warts in men and women. Fortunately, infections from most common cancer-causing types of HPV can be prevented with the HPV vaccine.

Why should my child get vaccinated against HPV?

The HPV vaccine is recommended for boys and girls in early youth so they will be protected from HPV infections that cause cancer. It is important to vaccinate your son or daughter well before they engage in sexually activity and are potentially exposed to HPV.

Does my child remain eligible to receive the HPV vaccine after grade 7?

If your child can't begin or finish their HPV vaccines while in Grade 7 during the 2016/17 school year, they are still eligible to receive the vaccine free of charge, until they finish Grade 12.

How does the vaccine work?

The HPV vaccine protects against HPV infection. In fact, the vaccine protects against four types of HPV, which cause approximately 92% of anal cancers, 89% of mouth and certain types of throat cancers, 70% of cervical cancers, 63% of penile cancers, and 90% of cases of genital warts.

Is the vaccine safe?

The HPV vaccine is very safe and effective. It has been carefully tested and is approved by Health Canada. In addition, Canada has a strong system in place to monitor the safety of the vaccine. The HPV vaccine is approved for use in more than 100 countries, and more than 175 million doses have been distributed around the world.

The HPV vaccine has similar side effects to most other vaccines. The most common side effects are mild and include arm pain, swelling or redness where the injection is given. The risk of a severe reaction from the HPV vaccine is extremely low.

Public health nurses give the vaccine and are at the school clinics at all times. They are trained to recognize and manage side effects, including any severe allergic reactions.

Talk to your health care provider or local public health unit if you have specific questions about who should not get the HPV vaccine. For more information, visit Ontario.ca/hpv.

Can my child get HPV from the vaccine?

No. You cannot become infected with HPV from the HPV vaccine. The vaccine strengthens a person's immune system to protect against HPV.

Are other vaccines offered in grade 7?

Beginning in the 2016-17 school year, students in Grade 7 will be offered three vaccines as part of the school-based program: HPV, meningococcal and hepatitis B. It's possible that more than one vaccine will be given on the same day. Speak with your local public health unit or health care provider for more information.

In order for your child to receive the vaccines free of charge at school, please ensure that the consent forms are completed and returned.

Visit Ontario.ca/hpv to learn more.


To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-559-4598
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Information Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Renseignements à l'intention des parents
Vous pouvez protéger votre enfant contre les cancers causés par le VPH

Le programme ontarien de vaccination contre le VPH aide à protéger contre le cancer


Arabic Arabic Portable Document Format
Chinese Simplified Chinese Simplified Portable Document Format
Chinese Traditional Chinese-Traditional Portable Document Format
Farsi Farsi Portable Document Format
Français Portable Document Format

Punjabi Punjabi Portable Document Format
Tagalog Tagalog Portable Document Format
Tamil Tamil Portable Document Format
Urdu Urdu Portable Document Format



En Ontario, les filles de 8e année reçoivent le vaccin contre le virus du papillome humain (VPH) gratuitement depuis 2007. À compter de septembre 2016, tous les garçons et les filles de 7e année pourront se faire vacciner gratuitement.

Qu'est-ce que ça signifie pour ma famille?

Si vous avez un fils ou une fille en 7e année en septembre 2016, le personnel infirmier de la santé publique lui offrira le vaccin à l'école.

Si vous avez une fille qui entre en 8e année en 2016-2017, elle pourra aussi se faire vacciner gratuitement à l'école. Après ça, le vaccin sera seulement offert en 7e année.

Pour la majorité des élèves, le vaccin est administré en deux injections, à six mois d'intervalle. Pour les élèves qui reçoivent leur première dose après 14 ans, ou ceux qui ont un système immunitaire affaibli, le vaccin est administré en trois injections sur une période de six mois.

On estime que sans la vaccination, trois Canadiens sexuellement actifs sur quatre seront touchés par un VPH.

Qu'est-ce que le VPH?

Le VPH est un virus très répandu. On estime que sans la vaccination, trois Canadiens sexuellement actifs sur quatre seront touchés par le VPH. Il existe différents types de VPH et la plupart des gens qui sont touchés ne présentent aucun symptôme. Cependant, certains types de VPH peuvent causer le cancer du col de l'utérus et le cancer du pénis, ainsi que d'autres cancers et des verrues génitales qui touchent tant les hommes que les femmes. Heureusement, le vaccin contre le VPH peut prévenir les infections causées par les types de VPH responsables du cancer les plus répandus.

Pourquoi faire vacciner mon enfant contre le VPH?

Le vaccin contre le VPH est recommandé pour les jeunes garçons et les jeunes filles pour qu'ils soient protégés contre les infections au VPH qui causent le cancer. Il est important de faire vacciner votre fils ou votre fille bien avant qu'ils deviennent actifs sexuellement et risquent d'être exposés au VPH.

Est-ce que mon enfant demeurera admissible au vaccin contre le VPH après la 7e année?

Si votre enfant de 7e année ne peut pas commencer à recevoir le vaccin contre le VPH ou ne peut pas recevoir toutes les doses durant l’année scolaire 2016-2017, il demeurera admissible au vaccin gratuit jusqu'à ce qu’il termine sa 12e année.

Comment le vaccin fonctionne-t-il?

Le vaccin protège contre quatre types de VPH, qui causent environ 92 % des cancers de l'anus, 89 % des cancers de la bouche et certains types de cancer de la gorge, 70 % des cancers du col de l'utérus, 63 % des cancers du pénis, ainsi que 90 % des verrues génitales.

Le vaccin est-il sans danger?

Le vaccin contre le VPH est tout à fait sans danger et efficace. Il a été soigneusement testé et approuvé par Santé Canada. De plus, le Canada dispose d'un système rigoureux qui permet d'en surveiller l'innocuité. L'utilisation du vaccin contre le VPH a été approuvée dans plus de 100 pays et plus de 175 millions de doses ont été distribuées dans le monde.

Le vaccin contre le VPH a des effets secondaires semblables à ceux de la plupart des autres vaccins. Les effets secondaires les plus courants sont bénins et comprennent une douleur, un gonflement ou une rougeur à l'endroit de la piqûre au bras. Le risque de réaction grave au vaccin contre le VPH est infime.

Le personnel infirmier de la santé publique administre le vaccin et est présent pendant toute la durée de la séance de vaccination à l'école. Il est formé pour reconnaître et gérer les effets secondaires, y compris les réactions allergiques graves.

Si vous avez des questions précises sur les personnes qui ne devraient pas se faire vacciner contre le VPH, communiquez avec votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou votre bureau de santé publique. Pour en savoir plus, consultez ontario.ca/vph.

Est-ce que mon enfant peut contracter le VPH à cause du vaccin?

Non. On ne peut pas être infecté au VPH par le vaccin contre le VPH. Le vaccin renforce le système immunitaire afin de protéger contre le VPH.

Y a-t-il d'autres vaccins offerts en 7e année?

À compter de l'année scolaire 2016-2017, on offrira trois vaccins aux élèves de 7e année dans le cadre du programme de vaccination scolaire : contre le VPH, contre la méningite méningococcique et contre l'hépatite B. Il se peut que plus d'un vaccin soit administré le même jour. Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec votre bureau de santé publique ou votre fournisseur de soins de santé.

Pour que votre enfant puisse se faire vacciner gratuitement à l'école, assurez-vous de remplir les formulaires de consentement et de les renvoyer à l'école.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez ontario.ca/vph.


Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 559-4598
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s’adresser à la Direction des communications et de l’information, au 416 314 6197, ou visiter notre Salle de presse.