Print  

Ontario's Grade 7 School Immunization Program

Checklist for Parents

PDF Version Portable Document Format


Nurses from your local public health unit will be visiting your child's school to provide vaccinations for students in Grade 7. These vaccines are free for eligible students and protect against the following serious diseases:

Hepatitis B

Hepatitis B is caused by a virus that attacks the liver. It is one of the most common causes of liver cancer around the world.

Human papillomavirus (HPV)

Human papillomavirus is very common around the world. HPV can cause cervical or penile cancer, and other cancers in men and women.

Meningococcal disease

Meningococcal disease is a serious bacterial infection. Without treatment, children who get it may die or have long-term disabilities such as brain injury, loss of limbs or deafness.

How does the school program work?

Sometimes there are minor side effects, such as pain, swelling or redness in the arm. This is normal and does not last very long. If you notice any change in your child's health that concerns you, contact your health care provider or local public health unit.

Is it safe for my child to get more than one vaccine at a time?

Research shows that your child's immune system can easily handle more than one vaccine at a time, and multiple vaccines have been shown to be very safe. Children do not experience increased side effects when more than one vaccine is given at a time. These vaccines have been shown to be as effective together as they are individually. When offered at school, this means fewer clinic visits for vaccinations, which saves time and offers convenience for families.

Vaccination is the best way to protect children from serious diseases. For more information about the vaccines that are given in Grade 7, the diseases they prevent, and tips to prepare your child for these vaccines, visit Ontario.ca/vaccines. You can also speak with your health care provider, or your local public health unit. Contact information for your local public health unit is on your child's consent form, or can be found at: www.phdapps.health.gov.on.ca/phulocator.


To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-559-4598
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

If you are a member of the media, call Communications and Information Branch at 416-314-6197 or visit our News Room section.

Programme de vaccinations scholaire pour les éléves de 7e année de l'Ontario

Liste de vérification pour les parents

PDF Version Portable Document Format


Du personnel infirmier de votre bureau de santé publique se rendra à l'école de votre enfant pour vacciner les élèves de 7e année. Ces vaccins sont gratuits pour les élèves admissibles et protègent contre les maladies graves ci-dessous.

L'hépatite B

L'hépatite B est causée par un virus qui s'attaque au foie. C'est l'une des causes les plus courantes du cancer du foie.

Le virus du papillome humain (VPH)

Le virus du papillome humain (VPH)est un virus très courant partout dans le monde. Le VPH peut provoquer un cancer du col de l'utérus ou du pénis, ainsi que d'autres cancers chez les hommes et les femmes.

La méningococcie

La méningococcie est une infection bactérienne grave. Sans traitement, les enfants qui l'attrapent peuvent mourir ou souffrir d'incapacités à long terme comme des lésions cérébrales, une perte de membres ou la surdité.

Fonctionnement du programme scolaire

Les vaccins peuvent parfois provoquer des effets secondaires mineurs, par exemple une douleur, un gonflement ou une rougeur au bras. Ces réactions sont normales et ne durent pas très longtemps. Si vous remarquez un changement préoccupant dans l'état de santé de votre enfant, communiquez avec votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou votre bureau de santé publique.

Est-ce sans danger pour mon enfant de recevoir plus d'un vaccin à la fois?

Les recherches montrent que le système immunitaire de votre enfant peut facilement supporter plus d'un vaccin à la fois. Il a été prouvé qu'il était tout à fait sans danger de recevoir plusieurs vaccins à la fois. Les enfants n'éprouvent pas plus d'effets secondaires lorsque l'on administre plus d'un vaccin à la fois. Ces vaccins se sont révélés être aussi efficaces ensemble qu'individuellement. Les séances de vaccination à l'école signifient moins de rendez-vous pour se faire vacciner. C'est pratique et ça permet aux familles de gagner du temps.

La vaccination est la meilleure façon de protéger les enfants contre les maladies graves. Pour en savoir plus sur les vaccins administrés en 7e année, les maladies qu'ils préviennent et trouver des conseils pour préparer votre enfant à ces vaccins, consultez ontario.ca/vaccins. Vous pouvez aussi parler à votre fournisseur de soins de santé ou votre bureau de santé publique. Vous trouverez les coordonnées de votre bureau de santé publique sur le formulaire de consentement de votre enfant ou en consultant www.phdapps.health.gov.on.ca/phulocator.


Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 559-4598
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Les médias peuvent s’adresser à la Direction des communications et de l’information, au 416 314 6197, ou visiter notre Salle de presse.