Critical Care Strategy

CritiCall Ontario

CritiCall Ontario is a 24-hour-a-day emergency consultation and referral service for hospital-based physicians in Ontario who require additional support or resources to care for their emergent or urgent patients. Formally established as a province-wide service in 1996, CritiCall Ontario began in 1988 in Hamilton, Ontario, as the Regional Emergency Access to On-Call Health Professionals Program. CritiCall Ontario is funded by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) to deliver the following key services to support the provincial healthcare system:

Case Facilitation: Hospital-based physicians who require additional support or resources to care for an urgent or emergently ill or injured patient can contact CritiCall Ontario's Call Centre at 1-800-668-4357 (HELP) to access a consultation from a physician specialist to assist with patient management issues and decision making. If the physicians determine the patient requires transfer to another hospital with higher level of care resources, CritiCall Ontario will use the Provincial Hospital Resource System (PHRS) which contains an inventory of services and resources at acute care hospitals in the province, to locate a hospital and physician specialist to accept the patient into care.

As of December 9, 2015, CritiCall Ontario will further assist hospitals by facilitating transport coordination for patients who in accordance with the Provincial Life or Limb Policy, are confirmed by the consulting specialist to be at risk of losing life or limb if they cannot be moved to a higher level of care within approximately four hours.

The Provincial Hospital Resource System: To further support case facilitation processes, CritiCall Ontario also manages the Provincial Hospital Resource System (PHRS). This system is available to all -health and addictions beds, dialysis centres) and other hospital resources. This information is used by CritiCall Ontario to assist with day-to-day decisions related to patient transfer and during Moderate Surge or times of local, regional or provincial disaster or crisis when a coordinated response to patient decanting is required. The MOHLTC, LHINs and hospitals also use the PHRS to assess bed availability in real time to manage patient flow.

Provincial Quality Improvement Initiatives: CritiCall Ontario provides client relations services to hospitals, LHIN stakeholders, and provincial specialty groups and partners to assist with the identification, development and implementation of provincial and LHIN-based quality improvement initiatives that use CritiCall Ontario services and systems to enhance access to critical care and specialty services for urgent and emergent patients. By way of example, CritiCall Ontario contributes to the Southwest Adult Critical Care Response Team; the Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant (HNHB) Critical Link; the North East Virtual Intensive Care Unit and the Toronto Neurosurgical Collaborative.

Decision Support: CritiCall Ontario produces reports on the volume and distribution of patients accessing and receiving critical care and specialty services in Ontario for hospitals, LHINS, the MOHTLC and specialty groups. These reports provide information on the types of services required by the healthcare system and where opportunities for resource allocation or process improvement exist to improve access to critical and emergent healthcare services within Ontario.

The Critical Care Information System (CCIS): CritiCall Ontario operates the CCIS on behalf of Hamilton Health Sciences, the "Prescribed Person" for the CCIS. A component of the Provincial Critical Care Strategy, the CCIS is used in all Ontario critical care units to collect data on the needs of critical care patients and associated workload for ICU staff. CritiCall Ontario provides educational, technical, administrative and operational support for the system with strategic input from Critical Care Services Ontario (CCSO).

For more information please visit CritiCall Ontario or call (289) 396-7000.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Stratégie des soins aux malades en phase critique

CritiCall Ontario

CritiCall Ontario est un service de consultation et d'aiguillage d'urgence, offert 24 heures par jour aux médecins en milieu hospitalier en Ontario qui ont besoin d'un soutien ou de ressources supplémentaires pour fournir des soins à leurs patients constituant des cas urgents ou émergents. Officiellement établi en 1996 sous la forme d'un service offert à l'échelle provinciale, CritiCall Ontario a commencé ses activités en 1988 à Hamilton, en tant que programme régional d'accès d'urgence aux professionnels de la santé de garde. Financé par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD), CritiCall Ontario offre les services clés suivants afin d'appuyer le système de santé provincial :

Facilitation de cas : Les médecins en milieu hospitalier qui ont besoin d'un soutien ou de ressources supplémentaires pour fournir des soins à des patients constituant des cas urgents ou émergents peuvent communiquer avec le centre d'appels de CritiCall Ontario au 1 800 668-4357 (HELP) afin de consulter des spécialistes qui les aideront dans la gestion de cas et la prise de décisions. Si les médecins concluent qu'un patient doit être transféré à un autre hôpital disposant de ressources d'un niveau plus élevé, CritiCall Ontario utilisera le système provincial de ressources hospitalières (SPRH), qui contient une banque de données sur les ressources et les services offerts dans les hôpitaux de soins de courte durée de la province, afin de repérer un hôpital et un spécialiste en mesure d'accueillir ce patient.

À compter du 9 décembre 2015, CritiCall Ontario aidera davantage les hôpitaux en facilitant la coordination du transport de patients pour lesquels, conformément à la politique provinciale sur les malades en phase critique, un spécialiste a confirmé un risque de perdre la vie s'il n'est pas transféré vers un établissement offrant un niveau plus élevé de soins dans un délai d'environ quatre heures.

Système provincial de ressources hospitalières : Pour soutenir davantage les processus de facilitation de cas, CritiCall Ontario gère également le système provincial de ressources hospitalières (SPRH). Ce système donne accès à différentes ressources, hospitalières et autres (lits de rétablissement, lits de stabilisation pour toxicomanes, centres de dialyse, etc.). CritiCall Ontario consulte les données de ce système pour faciliter la prise quotidienne de décisions concernant le transfert de patients ainsi que les interventions coordonnées qui s'imposent durant les périodes marquées par une augmentation modérée de la demande ou en cas de catastrophe ou de crise aux échelles locale, régionale ou provinciale. Le MSSLD, les RLISS et les hôpitaux peuvent également se servir du SPRH pour évaluer la disponibilité des lits en temps réel afin de gérer le flux des patients.

Initiatives provinciales d'amélioration de la qualité : CritiCall Ontario fournit des services de relations avec la clientèle aux hôpitaux, aux intervenants des RLISS, aux groupes de spécialistes ainsi qu'à différents partenaires provinciaux pour aider à la recherche, à l'élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d'initiatives provinciales et des RLISS qui sont axées sur l'amélioration de la qualité et mettent à profit les services et systèmes de CritiCall Ontario pour accroître l'accès à des soins intensifs et spécialisés pour des patients constituant des cas urgents ou émergents. Par exemple, CritiCall Ontario collabore avec l'équipe d'intervention auprès des malades en phase critique du Sud-Ouest, le maillon essentiel de Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant (HNHB), l'unité virtuelle de soins intensifs du Nord-Est ainsi que Toronto Neurosurgical Collaborative.

Aide aux décisions : CritiCall Ontario produit des rapports sur le volume et la distribution des patients recevant des soins intensifs et spécialisés en Ontario pour les hôpitaux, les RLISS, le MSSLD et les groupes de spécialistes. Ces rapports fournissent de l'information sur les types de services requis par le système de soins de santé ainsi que sur les possibilités d'affectation de ressources ou d'amélioration des processus en vue d'accroître l'accès aux services de soins de santé intensifs et de première urgence en Ontario.

Le Système d'information sur les soins aux malades en phase critique (SISMPC) : CritiCall Ontario administre le SISMPC pour le compte de Hamilton Health Sciences, la personne « prescrite » pour ce système. Composante de la Stratégie des soins aux malades en phase critique, le SISMPC est utilisé dans toutes les unités de soins intensifs (USI) de l'Ontario afin de recueillir des données sur les besoins des patients aux soins intensifs et sur la charge de travail connexe pour le personnel des USI. CritiCall Ontario fournit un soutien éducatif, technique, administratif et opérationnel relativement au système, avec l'apport stratégique des Services ontariens des soins aux malades en phase critique (SOSMPC).

Pour en savoir plus visitez CritiCall Ontario (en anglais seulement) ou d'appeler au 289 396-7000.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h