Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

OHIP+: Children and Youth Pharmacare

OHIP+ Stakeholder E–blast

Patients First

Update: OHIP+ Children and Youth Pharmacare Program

July 6, 2017

Colleagues,

We are pleased to share this update on OHIP+: Children and Youth Pharmacare Program (OHIP+) with you.

You can count on regular OHIP+ emails like this as your source of ongoing information and updates. We encourage you to share them with staff members, local stakeholders and other clinicians, and colleagues.

Minister’s Message:

Canadians have long cherished our universal, publicly funded health care system. It is a part of our national identity, rooted in the belief that all Canadians should have access to medical services, regardless of ability to pay.

Yet, while we are providing more patients with access to a health care provider, too often, we are failing them – particularly our most vulnerable – when it comes to prescription medications.  In order to achieve truly universal health care, we need to ensure they have access to the medications that they need.

Starting on January 1, 2018, Ontario is going to take a bold, historic step toward realizing this goal with the creation of OHIP+: Children and Youth Pharmacare Program.

OHIP+ will make Ontario the first province in Canada to provide universal, first dollar prescription drug coverage to everyone age 24 years and younger, regardless of their family income.  This program will benefit over 4 million children and youth, covering 100% of the cost of over 4,400 drug products – the entire Ontario Drug Benefit Formulary. There will be no annual deductible and no co-payments. All that’s needed is a valid prescription and an Ontario health card number.

Ontario is blazing a new path with this program, the most significant expansion of medicare in the province since its creation 50 years ago. I will continue to champion universal pharmacare, working to identify new opportunities to continue to expand prescription drug coverage for all Ontarians.

[original signed by]

Honourable Eric Hoskins, Minister of Health and Long-Term Care


How will OHIP+: Children and Youth Pharmacare coverage work?

All children and youth aged 24 and under who have OHIP+ coverage will automatically be enrolled in OHIP+. OHIP+ coverage will stop on an individual’s twenty-fifth birthday. The new OHIP+ program will cover all drugs and drug products currently reimbursed through the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) program. This includes more than 4,400 drug products listed on the ODB Formulary/Comparative Drug Index and additional drugs eligible for funding through the Exceptional Access Program (EAP).

This will include medications to treat:

  • asthma
  • depression
  • anxiety
  • attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  • infections (e.g. antibiotics)
  • epilepsy
  • diabetes (including test strips)
  • reproductive health (e.g. oral contraceptives)
  • some childhood cancers and rare diseases

Starting January 1, 2018, if a child or youth aged 24 or under requires an eligible medication, they or their caregiver can bring their valid prescription and health card number to a pharmacy and will receive that medication at no cost. Enrollment in OHIP+ will be automatic for children and youth with OHIP+ eligibility. There will be no out of pocket costs (i.e. deductibles or co-payments).

What is not covered by OHIP+ Children and Youth Pharmacare:

Drug products that are not available through the ODB program will not be covered.

More Updates Coming

You can expect regular updates like this as we move forward together.

Please Stay in Touch

Visit us online at www.ontario.ca/OHIPplus

We value your feedback. If you have questions or comments, please email us at OHIPplus@ontario.ca

To automatically receive these updates, join our mailing list by emailing OHIPplus@ontario.ca

This document is available in alternate formats upon request.


Back to archive

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

L’Assurance-santé Plus : Médicaments pour les enfants et les jeunes

Courriel pour les parties intéressées au sujet de L’Assurance-santé Plus

Priorité aux patients

Le point sur le programme Assurance-santé Plus : Assurance-médicaments pour les enfants et les jeunes

Le 6 juillet 2017

Chers collègues,

Nous avons le plaisir de faire le point sur le programme Assurance-santé Plus : Assurance-médicaments pour les enfants et les jeunes (Assurance-santé Plus).

Vous continuerez à recevoir d’autres courriels de ce genre au sujet du programme Assurance-santé Plus et nous vous invitons à les faire suivre aux membres de votre personnel, aux intervenants locaux, à d’autres cliniciennes et cliniciens, et à vos collègues.

Message du ministre

Les Canadiennes et Canadiens chérissent depuis longtemps notre système de santé public universel. Il fait partie de notre identité nationale et est ancré dans l’idée que tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes doivent avoir accès aux services médicaux, quels que soient leurs moyens financiers.

Pourtant, bien que nous fassions le nécessaire pour que plus de gens aient un fournisseur de soins, nous ne répondons pas aux besoins de beaucoup au chapitre des médicaments sur ordonnance, surtout en ce qui concerne les personnes les plus vulnérables. Pour que les soins soient vraiment universels, il faut que les gens puissent obtenir les médicaments dont ils ont besoin.

Le 1er janvier 2018, l’Ontario prendra une mesure historique afin de réaliser cet objectif en créant le programme Assurance-santé Plus : Assurance-médicaments pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Assurance-santé Plus fera de l’Ontario la première province du Canada à offrir une protection universelle complète aux 24 ans et moins, quel que soit le revenu familial. Plus de 4 millions d’enfants et de jeunes bénéficieront de ce programme, qui couvrira 100 % du prix de plus de 4 400 produits médicamenteux, la totalité du Formulaire des médicaments de l'Ontario. Il n’y aura pas de franchise annuelle ou de co-paiement. Il suffira d’avoir une ordonnance valide et une carte Santé pour en bénéficier.

L’Ontario trace une nouvelle voie avec ce programme, l’expansion la plus importante de l’assurance-santé dans la province depuis sa création il y a 50 ans. Je continuerai à soutenir le régime universel d’assurance-médicaments et à rechercher de nouvelles occasions d’élargir l'assurance-médicaments sur ordonnance pour tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes.

[originale signée par]

L'hon. Eric Hoskins, Ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée


Comment le programme Assurance-santé Plus : Assurance-médicaments pour les enfants et les jeunes fonctionnera-t-il?

Tous les enfants et les jeunes âgés de 24 ans et moins couverts par l’Assurance-santé bénéficieront automatiquement de la protection Assurance-santé Plus, qui prendra fin à leur 25e anniversaire. Le nouveau programme Assurance-santé Plus couvrira tous les médicaments et produits médicamenteux actuellement pris en charge par le Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario (PMO). Cela comprend plus de 4 400 produits médicamenteux figurant dans le Formulaire des médicaments de l'Ontario/l’Index comparatif des médicaments, ainsi que d’autres médicaments remboursables dans le cadre du Programme d'accès exceptionnel (PAE).

Sont inclus les médicaments contre :

  • l’asthme
  • la dépression
  • l’anxiété
  • les troubles d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (THADA)
  • les infections (p. ex. antibiotiques)
  • l’épilepsie
  • le diabète (dont les bandelettes réactives)
  • la santé reproductive (p. ex. contraceptifs oraux)
  • certains cancers et maladies rares infantiles

À compter du 1er janvier 2018, si toute personne de 24 ans ou moins a besoin d’un médicament admissible, elle ou son aidant pourra présenter une ordonnance valide et sa carte Santé à la pharmacie pour obtenir ce médicament sans frais. Les enfants et les jeunes admissibles à l’Assurance-santé seront automatiquement couverts par l’Assurance-santé Plus. Il n’y aura pas de débours (franchise ou co-paiement).

Ce que le programme Assurance-médicaments Plus pour les enfants et les jeunes ne couvre pas

Les produits médicamenteux non couverts par le PMO ne seront pas remboursés.

Mises à jour subséquentes

Vous continuerez à recevoir des mises à jour régulièrement au fur et à mesure que nous avancerons ensemble.

Gardez le contact

Rendez-nous visite à Ontario.ca/assurancesanteplus.

Vos commentaires nous tiennent à cœur. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires, écrivez-nous à OHIPplus@ontario.ca.

Pour recevoir automatiquement ces mises à jour, écrivez-nous à OHIPplus@ontario.ca pour faire partie de notre liste d’envoi.

Ce document est disponible en formats alternatifs sur demande.


Retour à l'archive

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h