Learn More >

Ministry Status: Routine Monitoring and Engagement

Ontario Public Drug Programs

Reimbursement levels for Blood Glucose Test Strips

Research has indicated that Blood Glucose Test Strips (BGTS) have a limited benefit for many patients who do not take insulin to manage their diabetes. Based on best evidence, the government is introducing changes to the number of blood glucose test strips it will reimburse people with diabetes, while ensuring those who need test strips to help manage diabetes will continue to have access to them. The new changes are effective August 1, 2013, and are aligned with the Canadian Diabetes Association (CDA) for encouraging proper testing practices for optimal patient outcomes.

A July 2009, report from Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) stated that blood glucose test strips, in practice, have a limited clinical benefit for many patients who are not on insulin. The CDA also published a commentary recognizing that some limits on the number of blood glucose test strips reimbursed for patients on oral anti-diabetes medications may be reasonable.

Test Strip Reimbursement Limits

To help monitor the number of test strips your patient has received during a 365-day period, the ministry's Health Network System (HNS) will track and determine the reimbursement level based on each patient's diabetes treatment. For more information on the HNS and your role, please visit our question and answer page.

The chart below shows the reimbursement limits for test strips for each 365-day period:

Diabetes Treatment Category Number of BGTS allowed within a 365-day period
Patients managing diabetes with insulin 3,000
Patients managing diabetes with anti-diabetes medication with high risk of causing hypoglycemia 400
Patients managing diabetes using anti-diabetes medication with low risk of causing hypoglycemia 200
Patients managing diabetes through diet/lifestyle therapy only (no insulin or anti-diabetes medications) 200

We need your help

We need your help to ensure that each patient receives the correct number of strips and to help answer any questions they may have on the new limits. We're asking that you discuss the new limits with your patients and speak to them about proper testing practices and frequency of testing that's right for them.

Printable documents for sharing with your patients are available here:

Information for health care professionals:

MedsCheck

If your patient is using prescription medication as part of their diabetes treatment plan, we also ask that you remind your patient of the free annual MedsCheck consultation for diabetes with their community pharmacist.

We thank you for continuing to help your patients manage their diabetes and your ongoing commitment to keeping Ontarians healthy.

If you need more information on the new reimbursement levels for your patients using blood glucose test strips, please contact Service Ontario at 416-326-1234 or 1-800-267-8097 (toll-free)

If you want more information on the latest from the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, including diabetes newsletters and other downloadable resources, please visit Stand Up to Diabetes

Image:Pdf icon.gif To view PDF format files, you need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer.
You can download this free software from the Adobe Web site.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Programmes publics de médicaments de l'Ontario

Limites du remboursement des bandes réactives pour la glycémie

Des études ont indiqué que les bandes réactives pour la glycémie (BRG) présentent un avantage limité pour de nombreux patients diabétiques qui ne sont pas traités à l’insuline. En se basant sur les meilleures preuves, le gouvernement modifie le nombre de bandes réactives pour la glycémie qu’il remboursera aux personnes diabétiques tout en veillant à ce que celles qui ont besoin de ces bandes pour gérer leur diabète continuent de les obtenir. Les nouveaux changements entreront en vigueur le 1er août 2013 et s’alignent sur les lignes directrices de l’Association canadienne du diabète (ACD) afin d’encourager l’adoption de pratiques de vérification appropriées pour que les patients en retirent des bienfaits optimaux.

Un rapport de juillet 2009 de l’Agence canadienne des médicaments et des technologies de la santé (ACMTS) indique qu’en pratique les bandes réactives pour la glycémie ont des bienfaits cliniques limités pour de nombreux patients qui ne sont pas traités à l’insuline. L’ACD a aussi publié dans le numéro de septembre 2011 du Canadian Journal of Diabetes un commentaire à l’intention des fournisseurs de soins de santé dans lequel elle dit qu’il peut être raisonnable de limiter le nombre de bandes réactives remboursées aux patients qui prennent des médicaments oraux contre le diabète. 

Limites du remboursement des bandes réactives

Afin de faciliter la surveillance du nombre de bandes réactives que votre patient a reçues au cours d’une période de 365 jours, le Système du réseau de santé (SRS) suivra et déterminera le niveau de remboursement en se fondant sur le traitement du diabète du patient. Pour en savoir davantage sur le SRS et sur son rôle, consultez notre foire aux questions.

Le tableau ci-dessous montre les limites du remboursement des bandes réactives pour une période de 365 jours :

Catégorie de traitement du diabète Maximum annuel de BRG pour une période de 365 jours
Gestion du diabète avec de l’insuline 3 000
Gestion du diabète avec des médicaments contre le diabète qui risquent FORT de causer l’hypoglycémie 400
Gestion du diabète avec des médicaments contre le diabète qui risquent PEU de causer l’hypoglycémie 200
Gestion du diabète au moyen du régime alimentaire et du mode de vie seulement (pas d’insuline ni de médicaments contre le diabète) 200

Nous avons besoin de votre aide

Nous avons besoin de votre aide pour faire en sorte que chaque patient reçoive le nombre approprié de bandes et pour répondre à ses questions sur les nouvelles limites. Nous vous demandons de lui parler des nouvelles limites, des pratiques appropriées de vérification et de la fréquence des vérifications appropriée pour lui.

Des documents imprimables à distribuer à vos patients se trouvent ici :

Renseignements pour les professionnels de la santé :

MedsCheck

Si vos patients prennent des médicaments délivrés sur ordonnance dans le cadre de leur plan de traitement du diabète, nous vous demandons de leur rappeler qu’ils peuvent avoir une consultation annuelle gratuite MedsCheck à la pharmacie de leur quartier.

Nous vous remercions de continuer à aider vos patients à bien gérer leur diabète et de votre engagement constant à préserver la santé de la population ontarienne.

Si vous avez besoin d'autres renseignements sur le niveau de remboursement des bandes réactives pour la glycémie de vos patients, veuillez prendre contact avec ServiceOntario au 416 326-1234 ou sans frais au 1 800 267-8097.

Si vous désirez obtenir les renseignements les plus récents du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l’Ontario, y compris les bulletins sur le diabète et d’autres ressources téléchargeables, consultez le site  Faisons face au diabète

Image:Pdf icon.gif Certains documents sont disponibles en format Acrobat PDF (version 7 minimum). Une copie gratuite du logiciel requis pour visionner les fichiers Acrobat PDF est disponible. Le site Web d'Adobe a été conçu par l'organisme qui ne fait pas partie du gouvernement de l'Ontario et est le seul responsable du contenu du site.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h