Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Ontario Public Drug Programs

Frequently Asked Questions for Ontario Pharmacists: Blood Glucose Test Strip Reimbursement Policy

Does the maximum number of allotted Blood Glucose Test Strips allotment “reset to zero” August 1?

The maximum number of allotted Blood Glucose Test Strips allotment does not “reset to zero” on August 1 or any other date.

The reimbursement allotments for Blood Glucose Test Strips for Ontario Drug Benefits recipients apply to the total number of strips reimbursed over the previous 365-day period. The allotment is recalculated each time the Health Network System reviews the 365-day period prior to every BGTS claim.

Why did the ministry introduce changes to the reimbursement of Blood Glucose Test Strips (BGTS)?

Research indicated that BGTS have a limited benefit for many patients who do not take insulin to manage their diabetes. Based on best evidence, the government introduced changes to the number of BGTS it reimburses people with diabetes while ensuring those who need test strips to help manage diabetes, continue to have access to them. The changes on the reimbursement of blood glucose test strips came into effect August 1, 2013. The changes are aligned with the Canadian Diabetes Association (CDA) to encourage proper testing practices for optimal patient outcomes.

A July, 2009 report from the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH), stated that in practice, blood glucose test strips have a limited clinical benefit for many patients who are not on insulin. The CDA also published a commentary for healthcare providers recognizing that some limits on the number of blood glucose test strips reimbursed for patients on oral anti-diabetes medications may be reasonable.

How often should patients be self-monitoring their blood glucose?

The ministry’s BGTS reimbursement policy is in alignment with the CDA recommendations to test according to the current medication profile.

The CDA has made several recommendations about Self-Monitoring of Blood Glucose (SMBG) in their 2013 Clinical Practice Guidelines:

For individuals using insulin more than once a day, SMBG should be used as an essential part of diabetes self-management [Grade A, Level 1, for type 1 diabetes; Grade C, Level 3, for type 2 diabetes] and should be undertaken at least three times per day [Grade C, Level 3] and include both pre- and postprandial measurements [Grade C, Level 3]

In those with type 2 diabetes on once-daily insulin in addition to oral antihyperglycemic agents, testing at least once a day at variable times is recommended [Grade D].

For individuals with type 2 diabetes not receiving insulin therapy, SMBG recommendations should be individualized depending on type of antihyperglycemic agents, level of glycemic control and risk of hypoglycemia [Grade D].

When glycemic control is not being achieved, SMBG should be instituted [Grade B, Level 2] and should include periodic pre- and postprandial measurements and training of healthcare providers and patients on methods to modify lifestyle and medications in response to SMBG values [Grade B, Level 2].

If achieving glycemic targets or receiving medications not associated with hypoglycemia, infrequent SMBG is appropriate [Grade D].

For a complete version of the 2013 Clinical Practice Guidelines: http://guidelines.diabetes.ca/

When did the changes in reimbursement of BGTS come into effect?

The changes for BGTS reimbursement came into effect on August 1, 2013 and were applied on the first claim for test strips after that date.

How many diabetes test strips are ODB recipients eligible to receive under the ODB Program?

As of August 1, 2013, the Health Network System (HNS) tracks and determines appropriate levels of reimbursement of BGTS based on the current diabetes therapy used by eligible ODB recipients.

When a claim is submitted for BGTS for eligible ODB recipients, the HNS automatically reviews the anti-diabetes medications claims within the previous six months to identify claims for insulin products and other anti-diabetes medications. The HNS then applies a maximum number of self-monitoring BGTS that may be reimbursed for the recipient in the following 365 days, based on both online and paper claims as follows:

Diabetes Treatment History Number of BGTS allowed
Patients managing diabetes with insulin 3,000
Patients managing diabetes with anti-diabetes medication with high risk of causing hypoglycemia* 400
Patients managing diabetes using anti-diabetes medication with low risk of causing hypoglycemia 200
Patients managing diabetes through diet/lifestyle therapy only (no insulin or anti-diabetes medications) 200

(*low blood sugar)

For additional information regarding treatment classes, please refer to question 8 below.

Recipients are be allotted the indicated number of test strips for use over the course of a 365-day period. The test strip allotment  applies to both online and paper claims.

When submitting a claim for insulin or anti-diabetes medication along with a claim for BGTS, pharmacists should submit all anti-diabetes medications prior to entering the BGTS claim. This ensures that the most current drug profile is included in the historical treatment review and patients are allocated the proper number of test strips. Similarly, all related paper claims should be submitted for processing as soon as possible.

When a claim is submitted, the HNS will look back over the prior 365 days, and will calculate whether the recipient has met their allotted maximum during that time. If the recipient has not reached their maximum number of allotted test strips over the previous 365 days, they will be eligible to receive test strips up to the maximum amount.

When did the new policy for reimbursement start for each patient?

The application of a maximum number of test strips provided to an individual in a 365- day period began when a pharmacist submitted the first claim for BGTS for the patient on or after August 1, 2013.

How should simultaneous claims for test strips and insulin/anti- diabetes medications be processed?

When submitting a claim for insulin or anti-diabetes medication along with a claim for BGTS, pharmacists should submit all anti-diabetes medications prior to entering the test strip claim. This ensures that the most current drug profile is included in the historical treatment review and patients are allocated the proper number of test strips. All related paper claims should be submitted for processing as soon as possible. The test strip allotment will apply to both online and paper claims.

What insulin or anti-diabetes medications does the HNS use to determine treatment categories for ODB recipients?

The HNS system determines the treatment category for an ODB recipient based upon claims for insulin products or other anti-diabetes medications available on the ODB Formulary.

Treatment Class Medication Name or Class
Patients managing diabetes with anti-diabetes medication with HIGH risk of causing hypoglycemia
  • Sulfonylureas (e.g. glyburide)
  • Meglitinides (e.g. nateglinide)
Patients managing diabetes using anti-diabetes medication with LOW risk of causing hypoglycemia
  • Metformin
  • Acarbose
  • Thiazolidinediones (e.g. pioglitazone)
  • GLP-1 agonists (e.g. exenatide)

 

What should I do if an ODB recipient has received insulin or anti- diabetes medications that were not reimbursed under the ODB program?

The intervention code NF – Override – Quantity Appropriate may be used for patients who require more than 200 or 400 test strips in a given year because they had claims for insulin and/or anti-diabetes medications at high risk for hypoglycemia in the recent six months that were not reimbursed under the ODB program. The identified anti-diabetes medications that were reimbursed by private drug insurance plan or paid by the patient must be documented and readily available for audit purposes.

How would I know how many strips a patient is entitled?

Pharmacists can determine the overall annual allotment for test strips that patients are entitled to by assessing the patient’s medications in the past six months and the number of strips already reimbursed in the past 365 days at any point in time. In order for patients to track the remaining number of strips available for reimbursement, patients should be encouraged to have their prescriptions filled at one pharmacy to ensure that they have a complete history of all the medications and test strips that they have received in the past.

Patient with allotment of 400 strips

What happens when an ODB recipient reaches their annual allotment of test strips?

If the maximum number of test strips is exceeded in a 365-day period for a given patient, a response code is provided to the pharmacist indicating that the recipient has reached their allotment and the claim is rejected.

If the claim can be accepted by reducing the quantity of strips dispensed, a response code and message line will be returned to the pharmacy (OC – Quantity Reduction Required) to advise the pharmacist of the allowable number of test strips for the recipient before they reach their limit.

If the response code LO – Maximum Benefit Exceeded is returned, the recipient has exceeded their maximum benefit.

What if an ODB recipient requires more test strips annually than they are allowed under the new limits?

A maximum of 100 additional test strips may be reimbursed for non-insulin dependent patients who have been directed by a healthcare professional, for clinical reasons, to monitor blood glucose levels more closely than what would be required over a one year period as determined by their anti-diabetic medication profile.

Pharmacists can enter the intervention code MG – Override – Clinical Reasons for patients with documented clinical reasons for requiring test strips beyond the prescribed annual limit for a given 365-day period and submit a claim of up to 100 test strips.

Documentation should include the reason for the higher than recommended monitoring schedule, specific testing frequency (if not indicated on the prescription) and the name of the referring healthcare professional.

What are some clinical reasons for which a person may require additional BGTS?

Patients may require more frequent testing for a variety of reasons. Some common reasons for which an individual may require more frequent testing include the following:

  • Patient has experienced acute illness or infection that affected blood glucose control over a sustained period of time
  • Issues related to drug interactions which have impacted blood glucose control
  • Patient has gestational diabetes
  • Patient has an occupation that requires strict avoidance of hypoglycemia (e.g., pilots, air-traffic controllers, critical positions in railways)
  • Patient is not meeting glycemic targets for 3 months or greater

Documentation should include reason for the higher than recommended monitoring schedule, specific testing frequency (if not indicated on the prescription) and the name of the referring healthcare professional.

My patient indicates they have not received their maximum allotment but I am receiving a maximum limit code. What should I do?

If a patient provides information that differs from what is being indicated in the HNS, the patient medication profile may be out of date or incomplete.

If there is a discrepancy  the pharmacist should:

  1. Reconfirm the patient’s allotment based on the patient history to ensure that the limit indicated in the HNS is correct. All prescription information should be confirmed as up-to-date.
  2. Review what order prescriptions were entered - if a prescription was entered into the system after the claim for the test strips, the limit indicated for the patient may not be accurate.
  3. Inquire to see if the patient has received any medications outside of the ODB program within the last six months that would entitle them to a higher allotment.

If it is determined that the patient is wrong about their allotment (change in medication profile, etc.), an override is not allowed.

Can a pharmacist prescribe or authorise a renewal for BGTS?

BGTS are designated listed substances as defined by ODBA and require a prescription by a physician in order to be eligible for reimbursement under the ODB Program. Prescriptions and prescription extensions by pharmacists for BGTS are not eligible for reimbursement under the ODB program. The ministry will continue to monitor the impact of this policy.

How does the HNS system determine the allotment if a patient changes to a medication from a different treatment class?

When a BGTS claim is submitted, the HNS determines the patient’s diabetic medication use in the previous six months and calculates the number of test strips already reimbursed in the previous 365 days. Thus a patient’s allotment can change if a patient originally uses a medication with a high risk of hypoglycaemia, but then only uses medications with a low risk of hypoglycaemia or vice versa.

For example:

A physician discontinues glyburide, a medication with a high risk of hypoglycaemia, and the patient remains on medications with a low risk of hypoglycaemia. The patient’s allotment was originally 400 annual test strips, but will change to 200 annual test strips six months after the last fill of glyburide. The total number of strips reimbursed in the past 365 days is still calculated in the same manner. Education of the patient’s monitoring frequency is important when there are changes with the patient’s medications.

Allotment change due to medication change

A patient changed their diabetic testing device and their current test strips are not compatible with their new device. Will they receive the full allocation of test strips for their device?

Changing to a new device does not qualify as a clinical reason for additional test strips. If the patient has not reached their allotment, they can receive test strips for their new device, but the total allocation includes the test strips from their previous device. It is recommended that the patient use a device that will be compatible with their current test strips to ensure the patient does not exceed their allocated maximum number of test strips for the year. If there are malfunctions with their current device, it is recommended that the patient use a new device that remains compatible with their test strips.

How can I ensure that my patient appropriately manages their blood glucose monitoring?

We’re asking that you discuss the  limits with your patients and speak to them about proper testing practices and frequency of testing that’s right for them.

Informing patients to monitor their blood sugar as directed by their health care professional can help ensure that patients monitor their blood glucose effectively and prevent patients from running out of test strips. Patients should be reminded that BGTS do have an expiry date and that refilling their test strips judiciously can ensure that they are not left with expired test strips.

A blood glucose log sheet is available on the Canadian Diabetes Association website (http://smbg.diabetes.ca/CDA_SMBG_Log.pdf) that a patient can use to keep track of their blood glucose levels. Health care professionals may use this tracking sheet to assess the patient’s blood glucose control and determine if they are monitoring their blood glucose as recommended by their healthcare provider.

How does the HNS administer claims for BGTS that exceed the usual 50 or 100 strips per pack?

Changes to the HNS for the reimbursement of blood glucose test strips for eligible ODB recipients have been made to accommodate test strip packaging that exceeds the usual 50 or 100 strips per pack. Test strip allotments for ODB recipients take into account diabetic test strip products that contain 51 and 102 test strips per package.

The revised limits are administered automatically without requiring the use of an override code.

Image:Pdf icon.gif To view PDF format files, you need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer.
You can download this free software from the Adobe Web site.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

ImprimerImprimer
EnvoyerEnvoyer

Programmes publics de médicaments de l'Ontario

Foire aux questions pour les pharmaciens de l’Ontario : Politique de remboursement des bandes réactives pour la glycémie

Le nombre maximal alloué de bandes réactives pour la glycémie est-il « remis à zéro » le 1er août?

Le nombre maximal alloué de bandes réactives pour la glycémie n’est pas « remis à zéro » le 1er août non plus qu'à une autre date.

Le nombre de remboursements alloué pour des bandes réactives pour la glycémie destinées à des prestataires du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario s’applique au nombre total de bandes réactives remboursées au cours de la période précédente de 365 jours. Le nombre alloué est recalculé chaque fois que le Système du réseau de santé examine la période de 356 jours précédant chaque demande de remboursement de BRG.

Pourquoi le Ministère a-t-il modifié le remboursement des bandes réactives pour la glycémie (BRG)?

Des études ont indiqué que les BRG présentent un avantage limité pour de nombreux patients diabétiques qui ne sont pas traités à l’insuline. En se basant sur les meilleures preuves, le gouvernement a modifié le nombre de BRG qu’il rembourse aux personnes diabétiques tout en veillant à ce que celles qui ont besoin de ces bandes pour gérer leur diabète continuent de les obtenir. Les changements sont entrés en vigueur le 1er août 2013. Les changements s’alignent sur les lignes directrices de l’Association canadienne du diabète (ACD) afin d’encourager l’adoption de pratiques de vérification appropriées pour que les patients en retirent des bienfaits optimaux.

Un rapport de juillet 2009 de l’Agence canadienne des médicaments et des technologies de la santé (ACMTS) indique qu’en pratique les bandes réactives pour la glycémie ont des bienfaits cliniques limités pour de nombreux patients qui ne sont pas traités à l’insuline. L’ACD a aussi publié un commentaire à l’intention des fournisseurs de soins de santé dans lequel elle dit qu’il peut être raisonnable de limiter le nombre de bandes réactives remboursées aux patients qui prennent des médicaments oraux contre le diabète.

À quelle fréquence les patients devraient-ils vérifier leur glycémie?

La politique de remboursement des BRG adoptée par le Ministère s’aligne sur les recommandations de l’ACD qui indiquent d’effectuer les analyses en fonction du profil pharmaceutique.

L’ACD a formulé plusieurs recommandations sur l’autovérification de la glycémie (AVG) dans ses lignes directrices de pratique clinique de 2013 (traduction libre) :

  • Pour les personnes qui utilisent de l’insuline plus d’une fois par jour, l’AVG devrait être un élément essentiel de l’autogestion du diabète (grade 1, niveau 1 pour le diabète de type 1; grade C, niveau 3, pour le diabète de type 2), être effectuée au moins trois fois par jour (grade C, niveau 3) et inclure des mesures préprandiales et postprandiales (grade C, niveau 3).
  • Pour les personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 qui prennent de l’insuline une fois par jour et des agents antihyperglycémiques oraux, la vérification au moins une fois par jour à des moments variables est recommandée (grade D).
  • Pour les personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 qui ne suivent pas de traitement à l’insuline, les recommandations d’AVG devraient être individualisées en fonction du type d’agents antihyperglycémiques, du niveau de contrôle de la glycémie et du risque d’hypoglycémie (grade D).
  • Quand la glycémie n’est pas contrôlée, il faudrait instituer l’AVG (grade B, niveau 2) et inclure des mesures préprandiales et postprandiales, ainsi que de la formation des fournisseurs de soins de santé et des patients sur la modification du mode de vie et des médicaments en fonction des résultats de l’AVG (grade B, niveau 2).
  • Si les cibles glycémiques sont atteintes ou si le patient prend des médicaments non liés à l’hypoglycémie, l’AVG occasionnelle est appropriée (grade D).

    La version intégrale des lignes directrices de pratique clinique de 2013 se trouve à :
    http://guidelines.diabetes.ca/ (en anglais seulement).

Quand les modifications du remboursement des BRG sont-elles entrées en vigueur?

Les modifications du remboursement des BRG sont entrées en vigueur le 1er août 2013 et ont été appliquées à la première demande de remboursement de BRG présentée après cette date.

À combien de bandes réactives pour la glycémie les prestataires du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO) ont-ils droit?

À partir du 1er août 2013, le Système du réseau de santé (SRS) suit et détermine les niveaux appropriés de remboursement des BRG en se fondant sur le traitement du diabète suivi par les prestataires admissibles du PMO.

Quand une demande de remboursement de BRG est présentée au nom de prestataires admissibles du PMO, le SRS examine automatiquement les demandes de remboursements de médicaments contre le diabète des six mois précédents pour relever les demandes de remboursement de produits d’insuline et d’autres médicaments contre le diabète. En se basant sur les demandes de remboursement en ligne et imprimées, il applique ensuite le nombre maximal ci-dessous de BRG qui peut être remboursé dans les 365 jours suivants.

Traitement du diabète Maximum annuel de BRG pour une période de 365 jours
Gestion du diabète avec de l’insuline 3 000
Gestion du diabète avec des médicaments contre le diabète qui risquent fort de causer l’hypoglycémie* 400
Gestion du diabète avec des médicaments contre le diabète qui risquent peu de causer l’hypoglycémie* 200
Gestion du diabète au moyen du régime alimentaire et du mode de vie seulement (pas d’insuline ni de médicaments contre le diabète) 200

 (*faible taux sanguin de sucre)

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements sur les catégories de traitement, voir la question 8 ci-dessous.

Les prestataires ont droit au nombre indiqué de bandes à utiliser au cours d’une période de 365 jours, nombre qui englobe les demandes de remboursement en ligne et imprimées.

Les pharmaciens qui présentent une demande de remboursement d’insuline ou de médicaments contre le diabète avec une demande de remboursement de BRG, devraient présenter la demande de remboursement de tous les médicaments contre le diabète avant d’entrer la demande de remboursement des BRG. Ainsi, le profil pharmaceutique le plus à jour est pris en compte dans l’examen du traitement chronologique et les patients reçoivent le nombre approprié de bandes. De même, toutes les demandes de remboursement imprimées connexes devraient être présentées le plus tôt possible.

Quand une demande de remboursement sera présentée, le SRS passera en revue la période de 365 jours et calculera si le prestataire a atteint le maximum alloué pour cette période. S’il n’a pas atteint le maximum, il sera admissible à recevoir des bandes jusqu’à concurrence de la quantité maximale.

À partir de quand s’est appliquée la nouvelle politique de remboursement pour chaque patient?

Le nombre maximum de bandes fourni à une personne pour une période de 365 jours a commencé à s’appliquer quand le pharmacien a présenté la première demande de remboursement de BRG le 1er août 2013 ou après.

Comment traiter les demandes simultanées de remboursement des bandes réactives et d’insuline/de médicaments contre le diabète?

Les pharmaciens qui présentent une demande de remboursement d’insuline ou de médicaments contre le diabète avec une demande de remboursement de BRG devraient présenter la demande de remboursement de tous les médicaments contre le diabète avant d’entrer la demande de remboursement des BRG. Ainsi, le profil pharmaceutique le plus à jour est pris en compte dans l’examen du traitement chronologique et les patients reçoivent le nombre approprié de bandes. Toutes les demandes de remboursement imprimées connexes devraient être présentées le plus tôt possible. Le nombre alloué s’appliquera aux demandes de remboursement en ligne et imprimées.

Quelle insuline ou quels médicaments contre le diabète le SRS utilise-t-il pour déterminer les catégories de traitement des prestataires du PMO?

Le SRS détermine la catégorie de traitement d’un prestataire du PMO en se basant sur les demandes de remboursement de produits d’insuline ou d’autres médicaments contre le diabète figurant dans le formulaire du PMO.

Catégorie de traitement Nom ou catégorie du médicament

Gestion du diabète avec des médicaments contre le diabète qui risquent FORT de causer l’hypoglycémie*

  • Sulfonylurés (p. ex. glyburide)
  • Méglitinides (p. ex. natéglinide)

Gestion du diabète avec des médicaments contre le diabète qui risquent PEU de causer l’hypoglycémie*

  • Metformine
  • Acarbose
  • Thiazolidinediones (p. ex., pioglitazone)
  • Agonistes du GLP-1 (p. ex., exénatide)
Que faire quand un prestataire du PMO a reçu de l’insuline ou des médicaments contre le diabète qui n’ont pas été pas remboursés par le PMO?

Il est possible d’utiliser le code d’intervention NF – Dérogation – Quantité appropriée pour les patients qui ont besoin de plus de 200 ou 400 bandes réactives au cours d’une année donnée parce qu’ils ont eu au cours des six derniers mois des demandes de remboursement de l’insuline et/ou de médicaments contre le diabète qui risquaient fort de provoquer une hypoglycémie et n’ont pas été remboursés par le PMO. Les médicaments contre le diabète remboursés par un régime privé d’assurance-médicaments ou payés par le patient doivent être documentés et disponibles à des fins de vérification.

Comment connaître le nombre de bandes réactives auquel un patient a droit?

Les pharmaciens peuvent déterminer l’allocation annuelle générale de bandes réactives à laquelle les patients ont droit en évaluant leurs médicaments des six derniers mois et le nombre de bandes déjà remboursées à n’importe quel moment au cours des 365 derniers jours. Il faudrait encourager les patients à faire exécuter leurs ordonnances à la même pharmacie afin qu’ils aient l’historique complet de tous les médicaments et de toutes les bandes réactives qu’ils ont obtenues par le passé et connaissent le nombre restant de bandes remboursables.

Patient ayant une allocation de 400 bandes

Qu’arrive-t-il quand un prestataire du PMO arrive à la fin de son allocation annuelle de BRG?

Si un patient dépasse le nombre maximal de bandes au cours d’une période de 365 jours, le pharmacien reçoit un code de réponse indiquant que le bénéficiaire a atteint le maximum alloué et que la demande est refusée.

Si la demande de remboursement peut être acceptée en réduisant la quantité de bandes fournies, le pharmacien recevra un code de réponse et une ligne de message (OC – Réduction requise de la quantité) pour l’informer du nombre permis de bandes avant que le patient atteigne sa limite.

Si le code de réponse est « LO – Prestation maximale dépassée », c’est que le prestataire a dépassé le maximum alloué.

Que faire quand un prestataire du PMO a besoin de plus de bandes réactives par an que ce qui lui est alloué dans le cadre des nouvelles limites?

Un maximum de 100 bandes réactives supplémentaires peut être remboursé pour les patients non insulinodépendants auquel un professionnel de la santé a demandé, pour des raisons cliniques, de surveiller sa glycémie plus étroitement que ce qui est requis au cours d’une année selon son profil pharmaceutique antidiabétique.

Les pharmaciens peuvent entrer le code d’intervention MG – Dérogation – Raisons cliniques pour les patients ayant des raisons documentées qui ont besoin d’un nombre de bandes réactives qui dépasse la limite annuelle prescrite pour une période de 365 jours, et présenter une demande de remboursement de 100 bandes réactives au maximum.

La documentation devrait inclure la raison de la fréquence plus élevée de surveillance que celle qui est recommandée, la fréquence précise des vérifications (si elle n’est pas indiquée sur l’ordonnance) et le nom du professionnel de la santé traitant.

Pour quelles raisons cliniques une personne peut-elle avoir besoin de BRG supplémentaires?

Des patients peuvent avoir besoin de vérifier leur glycémie plus fréquemment pour diverses raisons. Les plus communes sont :

  • Le patient a eu récemment une maladie de courte durée ou une infection qui a eu des conséquences sur le contrôle de la glycémie pendant une période prolongée
  • Des problèmes dus à des interactions de médicaments qui ont eu des conséquences sur le contrôle de la glycémie
  • Diabète gestationnel
  • Profession qui oblige à éviter strictement l’hypoglycémie (p. ex., pilote, contrôleur aérien, postes essentiels dans les chemins de fer)
  • Le patient n’atteint pas les cibles glycémiques depuis 3 mois ou plus

La documentation devrait inclure la raison de la fréquence plus élevée de surveillance que celle qui est recommandée, la fréquence précise des vérifications (si elle n’est pas indiquée sur l’ordonnance) et le nom du professionnel de la santé traitant.

Mon patient indique qu’il n’a pas obtenu l’allocation maximale mais je reçois un code de limite maximale. Que faire?

Quand un patient fournit des renseignements qui diffèrent de ce qui figure dans le SRS, c’est que son profil pharmaceutique n'est peut-être pas à jour ou est incomplet.

S’il existe un écart, le pharmacien devrait :

  1. Reconfirmer l’allocation du patient en fonction de son historique afin de déterminer si la limite indiquée dans le SRS est correcte. Il faudrait confirmer que tous les renseignements sur les ordonnances sont à jour.
  2. Examiner dans quel ordre les ordonnances ont été entrées dans le système. Si une ordonnance a été entrée après la demande de remboursement des bandes réactives, la limite indiquée pour le patient est peut-être incorrecte.
  3. Voir si le patient a reçu au cours des six derniers mois des médicaments autres que ceux couverts par le PMO qui lui permettraient d’avoir une allocation supérieure.

S’il est déterminé que le patient s’est trompé concernant son allocation (changement du profil pharmaceutique, etc.), une dérogation n’est pas permise.

Est-ce qu’un pharmacien peut prescrire ou autoriser le renouvellement de BRG?

Les bandes réactives pour la glycémie sont des substances énumérées dans la Loi sur le régime de médicaments de l’Ontario. Une ordonnance de médecin est obligatoire pour qu’elles soient remboursables. Les ordonnances et les renouvellements d’ordonnances rédigés par les pharmaciens ne sont pas admissibles à un remboursement dans le cadre du PMO. Le ministère continuera à suivre les incidences de cette politique.

Comment le SRS détermine-t-il l’allocation quand un patient change de médicament et que celui-ci entre dans une catégorie de traitement différent?

Quand une demande de remboursement de BRG est présentée, le SRS détermine le traitement contre le diabète que le patient a suivi au cours des six mois précédents et calcule le nombre de bandes réactives déjà remboursées au cours des 365 jours précédents. Par conséquent, l’allocation peut changer si le patient prenait à l’origine un médicament assorti d’un grand risque d’hypoglycémie, mais qu’il prend maintenant uniquement des médicaments assortis d’un faible risque d’hypoglycémie, ou vice-versa.

Par exemple :

Un médecin arrête le glyburide, un médicament assorti d’un grand risque d’hypoglycémie, et prescrit des médicaments risquant peu de provoquer une hypoglycémie. L’allocation du patient était à l’origine de 400 bandes réactives par an, mais elle passera à 200 bandes par an à partir de six mois après le dernier renouvellement de l’ordonnance de glyburide. Le nombre total de bandes remboursé au cours des 365 jours est encore calculé de la même manière. Il est important d’indiquer aux patients la fréquence de la surveillance quand leurs médicaments changent.

Changement de l'allocation dû à un changement de médicament

Un patient a changé de dispositif de vérification et ses bandes actuelles ne sont pas compatibles avec le nouveau. Recevra-t-il l’allocation complète de bandes réactives pour son nouveau dispositif?

Le changement de dispositif n’est pas une raison clinique pour obtenir des bandes réactives supplémentaires. Si le patient n’a pas atteint sa limite, il peut obtenir des bandes réactives pour son nouveau dispositif, mais l’allocation totale inclut les bandes réactives pour le dispositif précédent. Il est recommandé que le patient utilise un dispositif compatible avec ses bandes réactives actuelles afin qu’il ne dépasse pas son maximum alloué pour l’année. Si son dispositif actuel ne fonctionne pas bien, il est recommandé qu’il utilise un nouveau dispositif compatible avec ses bandes réactives.

Comment faire en sorte que mon patient surveille sa glycémie comme il se doit?

Nous vous demandons de parler à vos patients des limites, des pratiques appropriées de vérification et de la fréquence des vérifications appropriée pour eux. Afin que les patients surveillent leur glycémie efficacement et qu’ils ne se trouvent pas à court de bandes réactives, il est bon de leur dire de vérifier leur glycémie en suivant les conseils de leur professionnel de la santé. Il faudrait leur rappeler que les BRG ont une date d’expiration et qu’ils doivent se réapprovisionner judicieusement afin de ne pas se retrouver avec des bandes arrivées à expiration.
Les patients peuvent utiliser le registre de la glycémie offert sur le site Web de l’Association canadienne du diabète (http://smbg.diabetes.ca/CDA_SMBG_Log.pdf) (en anglais seulement) pour enregistrer leur glycémie. Les professionnels de la santé peuvent aussi utiliser ce registre pour évaluer le contrôle de la glycémie et déterminer si les patients surveillent leur glycémie selon les consignes.

Comment le SRS gère-t-il les demandes de remboursement pour des paquets de BRG dépassant le nombre habituel de 50 ou de 100 bandes par paquet?

Les changements au SRS concernant le remboursement des bandes réactives pour la glycémie pour les prestataires admissibles du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario ont été faits afin de tenir compte des emballages de bandes réactives pour la glycémie qui dépassent le nombre habituel de 50 ou de 100 bandes par paquet. Le nombre de bandes alloué pour les prestataires du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario tient compte des paquets de bandes réactives pour la glycémie contenant 51 et 102 bandes.

Les limites révisées sont gérées automatiquement sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’utiliser un code de dérogation.

Image:Pdf icon.gif Certains documents sont disponibles en format Acrobat PDF (version 7 minimum). Une copie gratuite du logiciel requis pour visionner les fichiers Acrobat PDF est disponible. Le site Web d'Adobe a été conçu par l'organisme qui ne fait pas partie du gouvernement de l'Ontario et est le seul responsable du contenu du site.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h