Print

Excellent Care for All

The Emergency Neuro Image Transfer System (ENITS)

Health Care Challenge

When a patient suffers a head trauma each second between injury and diagnosis is critical. Transferring head trauma patients can be very risky and can cause tremendous stress on their families. It also comes with significant costs to the health care system. Prior to ENITS, the majority of emergency head trauma cases were transferred either to a neurosurgical centre in Ontario or to a similar facility in the United States. The average cost of these out-of-country transfers is approximately $100,000.

The challenge was to improve access to expert neurosurgery care for patients across Ontario, regardless of their location.

Real Change In Action

The Emergency Neuro Image Transfer System (ENITS) is a centralized web-based image archive that makes remote neuro consultations easier, faster and more accurate.

Referring hospitals across the province can send emergency CT head scan images to ENITS where they are accessed and viewed, at any time, by on-call neurosurgeons from any of the province’s 13 neurosurgical centres.

For patients, ENITS means a decrease in time required to receive an informed diagnosis, the reduced likelihood of unnecessary transfers, the ability to receive quality service closer to home and improved access to Ontario neurosurgical resources when time is critical.

“The consultation process can be life-saving for head injured patients requiring urgent neurosurgical attention, and can facilitate the speed with which they are transferred to a specialized neurosurgical center” says Dr. James Rutka, Neurosurgeon, Hospital for Sick Children and Chair of the Neurosurgery Expert Panel.

The number of neurosurgical referrals through CritiCall Ontario, where ENITS is consulted, was 4,361 between April 2010 and March 2011. The percentage of patients transferred in that same period was 38% compared to 51.6% of patients transferred just three years prior, before ENITS was implemented.

Better Quality, Sustainable Care

Avoiding the unnecessary transfer of head trauma patients wherever possible can have a profound impact on health outcomes and the well-being of patients and their families. ENITS has dramatically improved access to neurosurgical expertise and removed geographical barriers. ENITS can be life saving because it enables the increased speed and ease with which patients with severe head injuries can receive proper diagnosis and the urgent care they need, when and where they need it.

Virtual neurosurgical consultations have also reaped substantial health care savings, which will benefit the sustainability of the system over time.

ENITS is the recipient of the Showcase Ontario 2011 Merit Award and the Showcase Ontario 2011 Award of Excellence, both in the “Innovation” category.

Learn more on the eHealth Ontario website, the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care website and CritiCall’s website.

Contact person :
Angela Lianos
Director, Diagnostic Imaging Program
eHealth Ontario
Tel: 416.324.0802
E-mail: angela.lianos@ehealthontario.on.ca

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Print

L'excellence des soins pour tous

Le système de transfert d'images cérébrales pour les urgences (STICU)

Défi en matière de santé

Dès le moment où survient un traumatisme crânien et jusqu’à ce que le diagnostic soit posé, chaque seconde compte. Le transfert de patients atteints d’un traumatisme crânien peut être très risqué et causer beaucoup de stress aux familles de ces patients. Il est aussi très coûteux pour le système de santé. Avant la mise en place du STICU, la majorité des patients atteints de traumatisme crânien devant être traités d’urgence étaient transférés soit à un centre de neurochirurgie en Ontario, soit à un établissement semblable aux États-Unis. Ces transferts à l’extérieur du pays coûtent en moyenne environ 100 000 $.

L’enjeu consistait à améliorer l’accès à des soins spécialisés en neurochirurgie pour les patients de partout en Ontario.

Mise en oeuvre de vrais changements

Le Système de transfert d’images cérébrales pour les urgences (STICU) est un système d’archivage d’images centralisé sur le Web qui permet d’effectuer à distance des consultations en neurologie avec plus de facilité, de rapidité et de précision.

Les hôpitaux d’origine à la grandeur de la province peuvent envoyer d’urgence des imageries obtenues par tomodensitométrie cérébrale au STICU, où ces images pourront être consultées et visualisées, en tout temps, par les neurochirurgiens de garde des 13 centres de neurochirurgie de la province.

Pour les patients, le STICU signifie qu’ils recevront le diagnostic plus tôt, risqueront moins d’être transférés inutilement, pourront recevoir un service de qualité plus près de chez eux et auront davantage accès à des ressources en neurochirurgie en Ontario lorsque le temps est compté.

« Le processus de consultation peut être déterminant pour la vie des patients présentant un traumatisme crânien qui nécessitent de toute urgence des soins en neurochirurgie et peut accélérer le processus de transfert à un centre spécialisé en neurochirurgie », dit le docteur James Rutka, neurochirurgien, Hospital for Sick Children et président du Comité d'experts en matière de neurochirurgie.

Entre avril 2010 et mars 2011, 4 361 patients ont été adressés en neurochirurgie par CritiCall Ontario, dont le personnel consulte le STICU. Pendant cette période, 38 % des patients ont été transférés, comparativement à 51,6 % des patients seulement trois ans auparavant, avant la mise en place du STICU.

Des soins de meilleure qualité et viables

Le fait d’éviter autant que possible de transférer inutilement les patients présentant un traumatisme crânien peut grandement influer sur l’état de santé et le bien-être des patients et de leurs familles. Le STICU a énormément amélioré l’accès à l’expertise en neurochirurgie et a fait fi des frontières géographiques. Le STICU peut sauver des vies, car il permet aux patients présentant de graves lésions crâniennes de recevoir plus rapidement et plus facilement leur diagnostic ainsi que les soins dont ils ont urgemment besoin, au moment opportun et là où ils se trouvent.

Les consultations virtuelles en neurochirurgie ont aussi permis de réaliser d’importantes économies en soins de santé, ce qui contribuera à la durabilité du système au fil du temps. 

Le STICU est le récipiendaire du Prix du mérite 2011 de Showcase Ontario et du Prix d’excellence Showcase Ontario 2011, tous deux dans la catégorie « Innovation ».

En savoir plus en consultant le site Web du Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care website, ainsi que cyberSanté Ontario et CritiCall (en anglais seulement).

Personne-ressource :
Angela Lianos
Directrice, Programme d’imagerie diagnostique
cyberSanté Ontario
Tél. : 416 324 0802
E-mail: angela.lianos@ehealthontario.on.ca

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h