Print

Excellent Care for All

Telemedicine - Improving access to care through technology

Health Care Challenge

The sparsely populated north presents a particular challenge to the Ontario health care system. With more than 87 per cent of the province’s land area and just 6 per cent of the population, northern and rural hospitals struggle to recruit frontline health care workers. As a result, smaller hospitals strain to provide the same level of care offered in larger, urban centres. Patients often end up travelling great distances to be seen by a specialist.

Real Change In Action

To meet the needs of patients living in northern and rural communities, the government invested in the Ontario Telemedicine Network (OTN). Now one of the largest telemedicine networks in the world, it uses two-way videoconferencing at hundreds of health care locations across the province to provide Ontarians with greater access to high quality health care.

Ontario continues to invest in telemedicine to further expand and improve the network of doctors and hospitals available to treat patients remotely. The program has expanded beyond rural and northern communities to include patients in long-term care facilities and patients throughout Ontario who would have to travel to another city for care.

“Telemedicine has enabled increased access to health care for thousands of people across the province,” said Ontario Telemedicine Network CEO Dr. Ed Brown. “Ontario is leading the way in telemedicine across Canada and around the globe. We are constantly innovating to solve health care challenges with technological solutions.”

Northern Ontario accounts for 49% of total telemedicine activity and has realized significant benefits from the development of provincial telemedicine delivery infrastructure, including:  improved access to health services by rural, remote, aboriginal, under-serviced, and official language minority communities; decreased travel time and costs for clinicians and patients, and facilitation of remote education and skills transfer for health care professionals.  OTN facilitates the delivery of numerous health service programs in northern Ontario, including the Northern Ontario Francophone Psychiatry Program, and Telemedicine Critical Care pilots in Kenora and Thunder Bay that enables patients in critical condition to access life-saving care that scarce in the north.

Better Quality Care

Initiatives like telemedicine refocus the health care system around the needs of the patient. This technology eliminates costly and time-consuming long distance travel for the patient and visits to the emergency department.

In 2010/2011 OTN enabled over 111,000 telemedicine events, including over 134,000 patients served across over 1,000 sites in Ontario.

Telemedicine also significantly reduces the costs, travel and carbon footprint associated with accessing health services in Ontario’s north. An estimated $25M annually in northern travel costs has been avoided. Since 2002, over 67M kilograms of pollutant load has been eliminated and over 27M litres of fuel has been saved. Since 2002, over 245M kilometres of travel have been avoided.

“I believe that telemedicine is an essential service for the people of Northern Ontario,” said Laura Kokocinski, CEO of the North West LHIN. “This technology ensures that residents can continue to receive care as quickly, efficiently, and as close to home as possible.”

For more information on this innovative program, please contact the Ontario Telemedicine Network : http://otn.ca/

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Imprimer

L'excellence des soins pour tous

TÉLÉMÉDECINE – Amélioration de l’accès aux soins grâce à la technologie

Défi en matière de santé

La population clairsemée du Nord constitue un enjeu particulier pour le système de santé de l’Ontario. Les hôpitaux ruraux et du Nord, qui couvrent 87 % du territoire de la province, mais seulement 6 % de sa population, se battent pour recruter des travailleurs de la santé sur le terrain. Par conséquent, les plus petits hôpitaux doivent faire des efforts pour fournir le même niveau de soins offert dans les centres urbains plus importants. Les patients finissent souvent par devoir faire de grandes distances afin de consulter un spécialiste.

Mise en oeuvre de vrais changements

Afin de satisfaire les besoins des patients qui vivent dans des collectivités du Nord et des collectivités rurales, le gouvernement a investi dans le Réseau Télémédecine Ontario (RTO). Désormais l’un des plus importants réseaux de télémédecine au monde, il utilise la vidéoconférence bidirectionnelle dans une centaine d'installations de soins de santé partout dans la province afin d’offrir à la population ontarienne un meilleur accès à des soins de santé de qualité.

L’Ontario continue à investir dans la télémédecine afin d'élargir et d’améliorer encore plus le réseau de médecins et d'hôpitaux disponibles pour soigner les patients à distance. Le programme s’est étendu au-delà des collectivités des régions rurales et du Nord afin d’inclure les patients des établissements de soins de longue durée de partout en Ontario qui auraient dû se rendre dans d’autres villes pour recevoir des soins.

« La télémédecine a permis d'accroître l'accès aux soins de santé pour des milliers de personnes à l’échelle de la province, explique le Dr Ed Brown, chef de la direction du Réseau Télémédecine Ontario. L’Ontario est le chef de file en matière de télémédecine au Canada et partout sur la planète. Nous innovons constamment afin de résoudre les défis en matière de soins de santé grâce à des solutions technologiques. » 

Le Nord de l’Ontario compte pour 49 % de l’activité totale en télémédecine et a obtenu des avantages considérables du développement de l’infrastructure provinciale permettant l’exécution de la télémédecine, notamment : l’amélioration de l’accès à des services de santé par des collectivités rurales, éloignées, autochtones, mal desservies, et minoritaires de la langue officielle; la diminution du temps et des coûts de déplacement pour les cliniciens et les patients, de même que la facilitation de l'éducation à distance et du transfert de compétences pour les professionnels de la santé. RTO facilite l’exécution de plusieurs programmes de services de santé dans le Nord de l’Ontario, notamment le Programme psychiatrique francophone du nord de l’Ontario et les projets pilotes de télémédecine en matière de soins intensifs de Kenora et de Thunder Bay qui permettent aux patients dans un état critique d’accéder à des soins nécessaires à la survie qui sont rares dans le Nord.

Des soins de meilleure qualité et viables

Des initiatives comme la télémédecine recentrent le système de santé autour des besoins du patient. La technologie élimine de longs déplacements coûteux et dévoreurs de temps pour le patient, ainsi que des visites au service des urgences.

En 2010-2011, RTO a permis la réalisation de 111 000 événements de télémédecine, notamment plus de 134 000 patients qui ont été vus dans plus de 1 000 établissements en Ontario.

La télémédecine réduit aussi significativement les coûts, les déplacements et l’empreinte de carbone associés à l’accès à des services de santé dans le Nord de l’Ontario. On estime à 25 millions de dollars les coûts des déplacements en provenance du Nord qui ont été évités. Depuis 2002, plus de 67 millions de kilogrammes de charge polluante ont été éliminés, plus de 27 millions de litres d’essence ont été économisés et plus de 245 millions de kilomètres de déplacements ont été évités.

« Selon moi, la télémédecine est un service essentiel pour la population du Nord de l’Ontario, explique Laura Kokocinski, chef de la direction du RLISS du Nord-Ouest. Cette technologie garantit que les habitants de la région peuvent continuer à recevoir des soins aussi rapidement, efficacement et près de leur domicile que possible. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant ce programme novateur, communiquez avec le Réseau Télémédecine Ontario :  http://otn.ca/fr/

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h