Print

Bundled Care (Integrated Funding Models)

September 2015

Announcement of Wave 1 Teams

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care is acting on plans set out in Patients First: A Roadmap to Strengthen Home and Community Care by selecting the first wave of Ontario healthcare providers to roll out bundled care.

Following an Expression of Interest (EOI) process, receipt of 50 submissions, and a multi-phased assessment process, six teams have been selected to receive project management funding to support implementation of Integrated Funding Models (IFM).

In a bundled care approach, a group of health care providers determine a single payment to cover all the care needs of an individual patient's hospital care and home care. "Integrated funding models" and "bundled care" are synonymous terms to describe the ministry's initiative to implement innovative approaches to integrate funding over a patient's episode of care.

The successful teams and their corresponding project descriptions are as follows :

Connecting Care to Home: Optimizing Care for COPD and CHF Patients in London Middlesex

Project Partners : London Health Sciences Centre, South West Community Care Access Centre, St. Joseph's Health Care London, Thames Valley Family Health Team, South West Local Integration Network

In this project, patients with moderate intensity needs related to chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and congestive heart failure discharged home from London Health Sciences Centre will experience an integrated and coordinated system of care based on evidence-based practice as they transition from hospital to the community. Focused on integrating current hospital and CCAC funding, patients will be supported by an innovative eHomecare model that enables remote monitoring, 24/7 access to a clinical team, supported by a navigator, clinical care coordinator, dedicated home care provider, ambulatory clinics, and common electronic medical record. The hospital and Community Care Access Centre will work together with specialists and primary care to ensure that patients are provided seamless and patient-centred care.

Integrated Comprehensive Care 2.0: Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant (HNHB) LHIN-wide COPD and CHF

Project Partners : St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton, Brantford Community Health System, Centre de Santé Communautaire, Grand River Community Health Centre, Haldimand War Memorial Hospital, Hamilton Health Sciences, HNHB Community Care Access Centre, HNHB Local Health Integration Network, HNHB Primary Care lead, Joseph Brant Hospital, Niagara Falls Community Health Centre, Niagara Health System, Norfolk General Hospital, North Hamilton Community Health Centre, St. Joseph's Home Care, West Haldimand General Hospital

Building on the success of the St. Joseph's Health System's Integrated Comprehensive Care Program, all acute care hospitals in the LHIN and the CCAC will work closely with primary care partners and specialists to provide integrated post-acute care to patients who have been admitted to a hospital with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and congestive heart failure and require home care after discharge. Key features of the project will include integrated care coordinators, who will provide patients with a single point of contact in hospital and at home; 24/7 access to medical expertise and care for patients; unified health records; and the use of technology to support team and patient communication.

Hospital 2 Home: The Central West Integrated Care Model

Project Partners : William Osler Health System, Central West Community Care Access Centre, Headwaters Health Care Centre, Central West Local Health Integrated Network, Ontario Telemedicine Network

Hospital to Home (H2H) will improve the patient experience by leveraging an integrated model of care that reduces handoffs as people transition from the hospital to the community. It will initially support patients requiring short-term nursing interventions, later expanding to support those with more complex needs. Care will be further enhanced through a partnership with the Ontario Telemedicine Network (OTN) which will provide eVisits and, where appropriate, leverage telewound to safely transition and care for patients in the home. Overall, this model will reduce duplication and barriers, create a more seamless experience, shorten hospital stays and reduce hospital readmissions. It will also build on the recent non-clinical integration between the region's hospitals and CCAC, as all partner organizations strive to create a more integrated health care journey for patients across Central West.

Putting Patients at the Heart: A Seamless Journey for Cardiac Surgery Patients in Mississauga Halton

Project Partners : Trillium Health Partners and Saint Elizabeth Health Care with support from the Mississauga Halton Local Health Integration Network

Trillium Health Partners will work with Saint Elizabeth Health Care to allow patients to go home on average 3 days sooner after cardiac surgery. This will be supported by continuing specialist engagement and providing care in the home for up to 30 days post-discharge. Patients will experience a seamless journey from pre-surgery through their stay in hospital and through their care once transitioned home, thereby reducing length of stay, readmissions and emergency department visits. Key features include an integrated care coordinator that works with patients beginning at pre-op, a 24/7 contact centre and telemonitoring in the home.

One Client, One Team: Central and Toronto Central LHIN Integrated Stroke Care

Project Partners : Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Providence Healthcare, North York General, Toronto Central Community Care Access Centre, Central Community Care Access Centre

With a focus on stroke care and beginning with patients discharged from hospital to home for up to 60 days, this team includes acute, home and outpatient providers in two LHINs. Patients will have a seamless care experience across the continuum of care including improved quality, health outcomes and experience as a result of evidence-based pathways of care, integration across providers and settings.The model will include the use of a clinical collaboration tool; warm handoffs between health care providers when there is a transition in care - for example, when the patient moves from hospital to home; and the potential use of telecommunications technologies to deliver healthcare services to patients at home.

Integrating Specialized and Primary Care: The North York Central Collaborative for COPD and CHF Patients

Project Partners : North York Integrated Care Collaborative (North York General Hospital, Central Community Care Access Centre, Saint Elizabeth Health Care, Pro Resp Home Oxygen & Respiratory Care, Circle of Care, North York Family Health Team), West Park Healthcare Centre

This project is focused on caring for patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and congestive heart failure in the mid- to late-stage of their disease as they transition from hospital to home for up to 18 weeks post-discharge. Patients will experience a collaborative and coordinated team approach across health care partners (hospital - both acute and outpatient, community, primary care) to reduce Emergency Department (ED) visits, admissions and improve the patient experience. The integrated care approach will include dedicated care coordinators, a 24/7 access line for patients, remote consults enabled through technology and specialist follow-up including ambulatory rehabilitation.

Background

On February 5th, 2015, the ministry issued an Expression of Interest (EOI) to the health system for Integrated Funding Models that will champion the delivery of quality, evidence-based care to patients. Providers (including hospitals, CCACs, direct service home care providers, physicians, and others) were encouraged to create innovative and solutions-driven approaches within a defined policy framework and are based on evidence-informed clinical pathways and focus on enhancing coordination of care. This approach will allow providers to integrate funding over a patient's episode of care, regardless of who is providing the care, or in what care setting.

This work builds on the foundation laid by the Excellent Care for All Act, Health System Funding Reform, and Vision for Home and Community Care by promoting high quality patient-centred care across the care continuum. It is one of the recommendations in Bringing Care Home, a report from the expert group on home and community care, which includes 16 recommendations to improve patient- and family-centred care, and is a key recommendation set out in Patients First: A Roadmap to Strengthen Home and Community Care.

In March, 50 EOIs were submitted in total. A multi-phased assessment process was then undertaken, including reviews by :

As a result of this combined feedback, 14 readiness assessment site visits were conducted in 10 LHINs between the end of April and mid-May. Ultimately, six of the 14 teams were selected for wave 1.

What's Next?

Teams will begin implementing their integrated funding models this fall. A real-time evaluation is taking place to support measurement of the impact of the Bundled Care initiative. After early results of the six projects are reviewed, findings of the evaluation will be reviewed to inform roll-out across the province.

Several applicants demonstrated great promise through the readiness assessment process and will be supported to ensure they are ready to join the six teams in the coming months. In addition, there is commitment to build on the momentum that was created through the call for Expressions of Interest and other options are being considered that may provide opportunities for additional LHINs and organizations, across broader populations and geographic areas to be involved in bundled care initiatives.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Imprimer

Les soins regroupés (modèles de financement intégré)

Septembre 2015

Annonce des équipes de la première vague

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée concrétise les plans énoncés dans Priorité aux patients : Feuille de route pour renforcer les soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire. En effet, il a sélectionné la première vague de fournisseurs de soins de santé de l'Ontario qui mettront en œuvre le concept des soins regroupés.

Après la publication d'une déclaration d'intérêt ayant donné lieu à la réception de 50 mémoires et à un processus d'évaluation en plusieurs étapes, on a sélectionné six équipes qui recevront un financement pour la gestion de projet afin de soutenir la mise en œuvre des modèles de financement intégré.

Selon la formule des soins regroupés, un groupe de fournisseurs de soins déterminera un paiement unique pour prendre en charge l'ensemble des besoins en matière de soins hospitaliers et à domicile d'un patient. Les « modèles de financement intégré » et les « soins groupés » sont des termes qui désignent aussi bien l'un que l'autre l'initiative du Ministère visant l'application d'approches novatrices pour intégrer le financement relatif à un seul et même épisode de soins d'un patient

Vous trouverez ci-dessous les noms des équipes sélectionnées et les descriptions de leurs projets respectifs.

Le lien avec les soins à domicile : la bonification des soins pour les patients atteints de MPOC et d'ICC à London et Middlesex

Partenaires du projet : London Health Sciences Centre, Centre d'accès aux soins communautaires du Sud-Ouest, St. Joseph's Health Care London, Équipe Santé familiale de Thames Valley, Réseau local d'intégration des soins de santé du Sud-Ouest

Ce projet vise des patients du London Health Sciences Centre qui ont des besoins modérément intenses liés à la maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) et à l'insuffisance cardiaque congestive (ICC) et qui sont renvoyés à la maison. Pendant leur transition de l'hôpital à la collectivité, ces patients bénéficieront d'un système intégré et coordonné de soins relevant d'une pratique fondée sur des données probantes. Grâce aux efforts visant à intégrer le financement actuellement octroyé à l'hôpital et au Centre d'accès aux soins communautaires (CASC), les patients seront pris en charge à l'aide d'un modèle novateur de cybersoins à domicile qui comprend la surveillance à distance et l'accès 24/7 à une équipe clinique, avec le soutien d'un guide du patient, d'un coordonnateur des soins cliniques, d'un fournisseur dédié de soins à domicile, de cliniques de soins ambulatoires et d'un dossier médical électronique commun. L'hôpital et le CASC collaboreront avec des spécialistes et des fournisseurs de soins primaires afin de veiller à offrir aux patients des soins unifiés et axés sur leurs besoins.

Soins intégrés complets 2.0 : MPOC et ICC à l'échelle du RLISS Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant (HNHB)

Partenaires du projet :Centre de soins de santé St-Joseph de Hamilton, Brantford Community Health System, Centre de santé communautaire, Grand River Community Health Centre, Hôpital War Memorial de Haldimand, Hamilton Health Sciences, Centre d'accès aux soins communautaires de HNHB, Réseau local d'intégration des services de santé de HNHB, responsable du renouvellement des soins primaires de HNHB, Hôpital Joseph Brant Memorial, Niagara Falls Community Health Centre, Système de santé de Niagara, Hôpital général de Norfolk, North Hamilton Community Health Centre, St. Joseph's Home Care, Hôpital général de Haldimand-Ouest

Misant sur le succès du programme de soins intégrés complets du Système de santé St‑Joseph, tous les hôpitaux de soins de courte durée au sein du RLISS et le CASC travailleront en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires et des spécialistes de soins de santé primaires pour fournir des soins postactifs intégrés aux patients hospitalisés qui sont atteints de maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) ou d'insuffisance cardiaque congestive (ICC) et qui nécessitent des soins à domicile après leur congé de l'hôpital. Parmi les principales caractéristiques du projet, mentionnons la présence de coordonnateurs de soins intégrés qui fourniront aux patients un point de contact unique à l'hôpital et à la maison; l'accès 24/7 à des connaissances médicales et aux soins pour les patients; des dossiers de santé unifiés; et l'utilisation de la technologie pour soutenir les communications entre l'équipe et les patients.

De l'hôpital à la maison : Le modèle de soins intégrés du Centre-Ouest

Partenaires du projet :William Osler Health System, Centre d'accès aux soins communautaires du Centre-Ouest, Headwaters Health Care Centre, Réseau local d'intégration des services de santé du Centre-Ouest, Réseau Télémédecine Ontario

Le projet De l'hôpital à la maison (H2H) permettra d'améliorer l'expérience des patients en misant sur un modèle intégré de soins destiné aux patients qui sont en phase de transition entre l'hôpital et la collectivité. Il commencera par soutenir les patients qui nécessitent des soins infirmiers de courte durée, puis s'étendra aux personnes ayant des besoins plus complexes. Les soins prodigués seront renforcés grâce à un partenariat avec le Réseau Télémédecine Ontario (RTO), qui organisera des cybervisites et, au besoin, utilisera le système de télésoins des plaies pour assurer une transition et des soins efficaces pour les patients à domicile. Dans l'ensemble, ce modèle permettra de réduire les doubles emplois et les obstacles, de créer une expérience plus uniforme, de raccourcir la durée des séjours à l'hôpital et de réduire les réhospitalisations. Il mettra également à profit la récente intégration non clinique entre les hôpitaux et le CASC de la région, puisque tous les organismes partenaires tâchent de créer un parcours de soins plus intégré pour les patients dans tout le Centre-Ouest.

Les patients au coeur du système : un parcours unifié pour les patients en chirurgie cardiaque à Mississauga Halton

Partenaires du projet :Trillium Health Partners et Saint Elizabeth Health Care avec l'appui du Réseau local d'intégration des services de santé de Mississauga Halton

Trillium Health Partners travaillera avec Saint Elizabeth Health Care pour permettre aux patients de rentrer chez eux trois jours plus tôt en moyenne après une chirurgie cardiaque. Bénéficiant du soutien continu de spécialistes, ce projet vise à prodiguer des soins à domicile jusqu'à 30 jours après le congé. Les patients suivront un parcours unifié depuis la période préopératoire jusqu'à leur transition à la maison, en passant par leur séjour à l'hôpital. Cela permettra de réduire la durée d'hospitalisation ainsi que le nombre de réhospitalisations et de visites aux services des urgences. Parmi les caractéristiques du projet, mentionnons un coordonnateur de soins intégrés qui travaille avec les patients depuis la période préopératoire, un centre de contact 24/7, et la télésurveillance à domicile.

Un client, une équipe : prise en charge des AVC aux RLISS du Centre et du Centre-Toronto

Partenaires du projet :Centre Sunnybrook des sciences de la santé, Providence Healthcare, Hôpital général de North York, Centre d'accès aux soins communautaires du Centre-Toronto, Centre d'accès aux soins communautaires du Centre

L'équipe est chargée de s'occuper, pendant un maximum de 60 jours, de patients ayant connu un épisode d'AVC qui quittent l'hôpital pour demeurer à la maison. Elle compte parmi ses membres des fournisseurs de soins actifs, de soins à domicile et de soins ambulatoires provenant de deux RLISS. Les patients bénéficieront d'une expérience fluide dans le continuum des soins, y compris l'amélioration de la qualité, des résultats de santé et de l'expérience grâce à l'utilisation d'un parcours de soins fondé sur des données probantes ainsi qu'à l'intégration des fournisseurs et des établissements.Le modèle comprendra l'utilisation d'un outil de collaboration clinique; des transferts directs entre les fournisseurs de soins en cas de transition des soins, par exemple lorsque le patient quitte l'hôpital pour se rendre chez lui; et l'utilisation potentielle des technologies de télécommunications pour prodiguer des services de soins aux patients à la maison.

Intégration des soins spécialisés et primaires : projet de collaboration North York Central pour les patients atteints de MPOC et d'ICC

Partenaires du projet :North York Integrated Care Collaborative (Hôpital général de North York, Centre d'accès aux soins communautaires du Centre, Saint Elizabeth Health Care, Pro Resp Home Oxygen & Respiratory Care, Circle of Care, Équipe Santé familiale de North York), Centre de soins de santé West Park

Ce projet porte sur les soins aux patients atteints de maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) et d'insuffisance cardiaque congestive (ICC) qui en sont à un stade intermédiaire ou avancé de leur maladie, pendant leur transition de l'hôpital à la maison pour un maximum de 18 semaines après le congé. Les patients bénéficieront d'une approche collaborative et coordonnée par équipe entre les partenaires de soins de santé (hôpital – soins actifs et ambulatoires, collectivité, soins primaires) pour réduire les visites aux services des urgences (SU) et les hospitalisations, et pour améliorer l'expérience du patient. L'approche de soins intégrés fera appel à des coordonnateurs de soins dédiés, à une ligne d'accès 24/7 pour les patients, à des consultations à distance grâce à la technologie, et à un suivi par des spécialistes qui comprendra la réadaptation ambulatoire.

Contexte

Le 5 février 2015, le Ministère a publié une déclaration d'intérêt adressée au réseau de soins au sujet de modèles de financement intégré, qui soutiendront la prestation aux patients de soins de qualité fondés sur des données probantes. Les fournisseurs (hôpitaux, CASC, fournisseurs de services directs de soins à domicile, médecins et autres) ont été encouragés à créer des approches novatrices axées sur les solutions dans un cadre précis de politique et fondées sur des cheminements cliniques informés par des données probantes, en se concentrant sur une meilleure coordination des soins. Cette approche permettra aux fournisseurs d'intégrer le financement tout au long de l'épisode de soins d'un patient, peu importe qui fournit les soins ou dans quel cadre.

Ce travail s'appuie sur les fondements mis en place par la Loi sur l'excellence des soins pour tous, la Réforme du financement du système de santé et la Vision pour les soins communautaires et à domicile en Ontario, en encourageant la prestation de soins de qualité élevée et axés sur le patient dans tout le continuum de soins. C'est là l'une des recommandations formulées dans Amener les soins au domicile, un rapport du Groupe d'experts pour l'examen des soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire, énonçant 16 recommandations visant à renforcer la prestation de soins axés sur le patient et la famille. C'est également l'une des principales recommandations dans Priorité aux patients : Feuille de route pour renforcer les soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire.

En mars, 50 déclarations d'intérêt au total avaient été présentées.  Un processus d'évaluation en plusieurs étapes a ensuite été entrepris, comprenant des examens par les intervenants suivants :

Une fois les commentaires regroupés, 14 visites d'évaluation de l'état de préparation ont été réalisées dans 10 RLISS entre la fin avril et la mi-mai. En fin de compte, six équipes sur les 14 visitées ont été sélectionnées en vue de la première vague.

La suite des événements

Les équipes commenceront à mettre en place leurs modèles de financement intégré dès cet automne. Une évaluation en temps réel se déroule pour appuyer l'évaluation des retombées de l'initiative de soins regroupés. Une fois que les premiers résultats des six projets auront été examinés, on passera en revue les conclusions de l'évaluation afin de guider la mise en œuvre à l'échelle de la province.

Plusieurs candidats se sont montrés fort prometteurs pendant le processus d'évaluation de l'état de préparation. Ceux-ci seront pris en charge afin de pouvoir se joindre aux six équipes au cours des prochains mois. On constate également un engagement à profiter de l'impulsion donnée par l'appel de déclarations d'intérêt; d'autres options envisagées pourraient donner l'occasion d'ajouter des RLISS et des organismes desservant des populations et zones géographiques plus larges qui sont susceptibles de participer aux initiatives de soins regroupés.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h