Print

Excellent Care for All

Changes To Schedule of Benefits

The ministry needs to ensure that scarce health dollars are focused on the delivery of quality, evidence-based services to Ontarians. While expert bodies provide guidelines, recommendations and reports on the clinical effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of medical services, many physicians are not aware of or do not follow current practice standards.

In Ontario, health care spending has continued to rise steadily. Over the past six years, physician activity has been a significant driver of spending, with OHIP expenditures growing at an average rate of 8.6%. This is significantly higher than the growth seen in Ontario’s population (1.1%) and number of physicians (2.4%).

The ECFA strategy supports a shift toward funding for health care based on evidence-based practices. Funding would be directed to those areas demonstrated through evidence to produce the greatest value, without compromising access to health care services established by experts to be medically necessary.

Health care professional with patient

The ministry is recommending evidence-based targeted changes to the Schedule of Benefits for Physician Services (Physician Schedule) under ECFA. In particular, the Ministry is focusing on reducing expenditures on specific testing and interventions shown to be clinically ineffective or inappropriate.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Imprimer

L’excellence des soins pour tous

Modifications à la liste des prestations

Le ministère doit s’assurer que les précieux dollars destinés à la santé servent principalement à la prestation de services de qualité, axés sur les résultats cliniques pour la population ontarienne. Même si des organismes d’experts fournissent des lignes directrices, des recommandations et des rapports sur l’efficacité clinique et la rentabilité des services médicaux, plusieurs médecins ne connaissent pas ou ne suivent pas les normes de pratiques actuelles.

En Ontario, les dépenses en soins de santé ont continué de croître de manière constante. Au cours des six dernières années, l’activité des médecins a propulsé le montant des dépenses, avec les dépenses de l’Assurance-santé qui ont notamment cru en moyenne de 8,6 %. Cela est significativement plus élevé que la croissance constatée dans la population ontarienne (1,1 %) et du nombre de médecins (2,4 %).

La Stratégie d’excellence des soins pour tous favorise le passage à un financement des soins de santé axé sur des pratiques fondées sur les résultats cliniques. Le financement serait dirigé vers les domaines dont il a été prouvé qu’ils créent la plus grande valeur, sans compromettre l’accès aux services de santé que les experts considèrent médicalement nécessaires.

Health care professional with patient

Le ministère recommande des changements ciblés fondés sur les données à la liste des prestations pour les services de médecine (liste pour les médecins) aux termes de la LEST. En particulier, le ministère tente de réduire les dépenses pour certains examens et interventions qui se sont avérés être cliniquement inefficaces ou inappropriés.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h