Print

Excellent Care for All Act Updates

Performance Based Compensation


Update - as of November 22, 2011

The 2011/12 year marked the first time that performance based compensation was required as part of the Excellent Care for All Act (2010). In this second year of ECFAA, organizations will be expected to strive towards performance improvement in every aspect of implementation, including performance based compensation.

What This Means for Hospitals

ECFAA requires the compensation of CEOs and other executives to be linked to the achievement of performance improvement targets laid out in the QIP of every hospital in Ontario. As executive compensation is to be tied to the QIP, organizations are required to include a performance based compensation component as part of the QIP every fiscal year.

The purpose of performance based compensation related to ECFAA is to drive accountability for the delivery of quality improvement plans. By linking achievement of targets to compensation, organizations can increase the motivation to achieve both long and short term goals. Hospitals will be required to identify the link to compensation in the QIP Narrative. Although currently there is no mandated minimum, the government has the opportunity to mandate a specific percentage at any time.

A Push Towards Performance

Some hospitals may still be in preliminary phases of developing a performance based compensation plan for executives, however hospitals are encouraged to evaluate their performance based compensation plan to ensure that improvement is a focus. To facilitate this, organizations may wish to expand the scope of performance based compensation to other members of the senior management team, or delineate a larger portion of annual salary to variable compensation. When linking performance based compensation to priority indicators, it is suggested that organizations set aggressive targets for executives to ensure the highest level of motivation in improving organizational effectiveness.

For more information about performance based compensation, refer to the revised guidance document for 2012/13 which outlines requirements and best practice in complying with ECFAA while increasing performance.

For more information about Excellent Care for All, or to receive regular ECFAA updates, please email ECFAA@ontario.ca.

Related Legislation

Section 9.
(1) Every health care organization shall, in accordance with the regulations, ensure that payment of compensation for any executive of the organization under a compensation plan is linked to the achievement of the performance improvement targets set out in the annual quality improvement plan.

(2) This Act prevails over the provisions of a compensation plan and, if there is a conflict between this Act and a compensation plan, the compensation plan is inoperative to the extent of the conflict.

(3) Every health care organization shall give the Minister such reports as may be provided for in the regulations concerning its compliance with this section.

(4) Each report must be submitted in such form and manner as may be provided for in the regulations and within the period provided for in the regulations.

(5) Each report shall include a statement signed by a person provided for in the regulations certifying whether the health care organization has complied with this section throughout the reporting period.

(6) The Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010 applies to the compensation plans of executives during the period specified in section 6 of that Act.

(7) Where a compensation plan applicable to an executive is subject to the Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010 and the compensation plan allows for a portion of compensation to be paid to an executive on the basis of an assessment of performance, the health care organization shall ensure that the assessment of performance also includes an assessment of achievement of the performance improvement targets set out in the annual quality improvement plan.

(8) Where a compensation plan applicable to an executive is subject to the Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010 and the compensation plan does not provide for payments based on an assessment of performance, the health care organization shall ensure that the executives compensation plan is modified so that the payment of a portion of the executives compensation under the plan is made contingent upon the achievement of the performance improvement targets set out in the annual quality improvement plan.

(9) A health care organization acting under subsection(7) or (8) with respect to an executive shall be deemed to be acting in compliance with subsection (1) and with the Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010 as a result of the health care organization,

a) ensuring that the assessment of performance included an assessment of achievement of the performance improvement targets under subsection (7); or b) modifying the compensation plan under subsection(8);
if, in the result, the actual or potential compensation available to the executive does not exceed what was available to him or her on March 24, 2010 or such other applicable effective date as is determined in accordance with section 6 of the Public Sector Compensation Restraint to Protect Public Services Act, 2010.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Imprimer

Mise à jour concernant la Loi de 2010 sur L'excellence des soins pour tous

Rémunération axée sur le rendement


Mise à jour en date du 22 novembre 2011

L’année 2011-2012 était la première où la rémunération axée sur le rendement était exigée dans le cadre de la Loi de 2010 sur l'excellence des soins pour tous. Au cours de la deuxième année d’application de la LEST, les organismes devront chercher à améliorer le rendement de tous les aspects de la mise en œuvre, notamment la rémunération axée sur le rendement.

Ce que cela signifie pour les hôpitaux

La LEST exige que la rémunération des chefs de la direction et des autres cadres soit liée à la réalisation des objectifs d’amélioration du rendement circonscrits dans le plan d’amélioration de la qualité de chaque hôpital ontarien. Puisque la rémunération des cadres doit être liée au plan d’amélioration de la qualité, les organismes doivent, à chaque exercice financier, inclure un élément concernant la rémunération axée sur le rendement dans leur plan d’amélioration de la qualité.

En ce qui concerne la LEST, l'objectif de la rémunération axée sur le rendement vise à mettre en place la reddition de comptes pour l'exécution des plans d'amélioration de la qualité. En reliant la réalisation d'objectifs à la rémunération, les organismes peuvent augmenter la motivation à atteindre les objectifs à court et à long terme. Dans le document narratif, les hôpitaux seront tenus de mettre en évidence le lien avec la rémunération. Même s'il n'y a actuellement aucun minimum obligatoire, le gouvernement a le pouvoir de fixer en tout temps un pourcentage précis obligatoire.

Un coup de pouce en matière de rendement

Bien que certains hôpitaux puissent être à élaborer un plan de rémunération axée sur le rendement pour leurs cadres supérieurs, les hôpitaux sont cependant encouragés à évaluer leur plan de rémunération axée sur le rendement afin de s’assurer que l’amélioration est une cible. Afin de faciliter ceci, les organismes peuvent vouloir étendre la portée de la rémunération axée sur le rendement à d’autres membres de l’équipe de haute direction, ou délimiter une portion plus importante du salaire annuel à la rémunération variable. En reliant la rémunération axée sur le rendement aux indicateurs prioritaires, nous suggérons aux organismes d'établir des objectifs audacieux pour les cadres supérieurs afin de s'assurer de leur plus haut degré de motivation en ce qui concerne l’efficacité organisationnelle.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la rémunération axée sur le rendement, consultez le document d’orientation révisé pour 2012-2013 qui décrit les exigences et les pratiques exemplaires en matière de conformité à la LEST tout en augmentant le rendement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant la Loi sur l’excellence des soins pour tous, ou pour recevoir des mises à jour sur la LEST, écrivez à ECFAA@ontario.ca.

Législation connexe

Section 9.
(1) L'organisme de soins de santé veille, conformément aux règlements, à ce que le versement d'une rémunération à un de ses cadres conformément à un régime de rémunération soit lié à la réalisation des objectifs d'amélioration du rendement énoncés dans le plan annuel d'amélioration de la qualité.

(2) La présente loi l'emporte sur toute disposition d'un régime de rémunération. En cas d'incompatibilité entre les deux, le régime est inopérant dans la mesure de l'incompatibilité.

(3) L'organisme de soins de santé présente au ministre les rapports prévus dans les règlements concernant sa conformité au présent article.

(4) Les rapports sont présentés en la forme, de la manière et dans le délai prévus dans les règlements.

(5) Les rapports comprennent une déclaration signée par la personne prévue dans les règlements attestant que l'organisme de soins de santé s'est conformé au présent article pendant toute la période visée par le rapport.

(6) La Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics s'applique au régime de rémunération des cadres durant la période précisée à l'article 6 de cette loi.

(7) Si un régime de rémunération qui s'applique à un cadre est assujetti à la Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics et qu'il autorise le versement d'une partie de sa rémunération à un cadre en fonction d'une évaluation de son rendement, l'organisme de soins de santé veille à ce que cette évaluation comprenne également une évaluation de la réalisation des objectifs d'amélioration du rendement énoncés dans le plan annuel d'amélioration de la qualité.

(8) Si un régime de rémunération qui s'applique à un cadre est assujetti à la Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics et qu'il ne prévoit aucun versement en fonction d'une évaluation du rendement, l'organisme de soins de santé veille à ce que le régime de rémunération du cadre soit modifié de sorte que le versement d'une partie de la rémunération du cadre prévue aux termes du régime soit subordonné à la réalisation des objectifs d'amélioration du rendement énoncés dans le plan annuel d'amélioration de la qualité.

(9) L'organisme de soins de santé qui agit aux termes du paragraphe (7) ou (8) en ce qui concerne un cadre est réputé agir conformément au paragraphe (1) et à la Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics si, selon le cas :

a) il s'est assuré que l'évaluation du rendement comprenait l'évaluation de la réalisation des objectifs d'amélioration du rendement prévue au paragraphe (7);
b) il a modifié le régime de rémunération aux termes du paragraphe (8),
et que, en conséquence, la rémunération réelle ou éventuelle pouvant être versée au cadre n'est pas supérieure à la rémunération qui lui était offerte le 24 mars 2010 ou à l'autre date d'effet applicable fixée conformément à l'article 6 de la Loi de 2010 sur les mesures de restriction de la rémunération dans le secteur public visant à protéger les services publics.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h