Print

Excellent Care for All Act Updates

Quality Committees


Update - as of February 7, 2011

The Excellent Care for All Act (ECFAA) requires every health care organization to establish a quality committee responsible for monitoring and reporting on quality issues at the hospital. Regulations describing the composition of quality committees have been filed and came into effect January 1, 2011.

Quality Committee Composition

Each hospital's quality committee will be a sub-committee of the Board (see PHA Regulation 965 for updated information on board membership), with at least one third of the membership being voting members of the Board. In addition, the quality committee must include :

  1. One member of the hospital's medical advisory committee (MAC).
  2. The hospital's chief nursing executive.
  3. One person who works in the hospital and who is not a physician or a nurse. This individual can be either a manager or an individual who provides direct care. This promotes inter-professional practice and wider involvement with the committee.
  4. The hospital's administrator, as defined by the Public Hospitals Act.
  5. Such other persons as are appointed by the hospital's board. There is no limit to the number of individuals who sit on a hospital's quality committee, and hospitals can appoint additional members to the quality committee to meet the needs of the hospital and the community it serves.

The chair of the quality committee will be a voting member of the hospital's board, appointed by the hospital's board. Any member of the quality committee mentioned above may, with the approval of the hospital's board, appoint a delegate to sit as a member of the committee in his or her stead. It is expected that these delegates be temporary in nature and should not be permanent members of the quality committee. Additional individuals may attend quality committee meetings and provide advice to the committee (for example, Director of Quality and Patient Safety), but are not required to be voting members.

Other similar committees that might qualify

Your organization may have an existing Board sub-committee that could potentially qualify as a quality committee. For example, a Performance Monitoring Committee could qualify as a quality committee as long as it fulfills the composition requirements and meets the responsibilities described in the legislation and regulations.

It is not advisable to designate the Board Quality Committee as a hospital's Quality of Care Committee under the Quality of Care Information Protection Act, 2004 (QCIPA). Please see the Ontario Hospital Association's Frequently Asked Questions on Critical Incident Reporting for more information.

Responsibilities of the Quality Committee

The Quality Committee has the following responsibilities:

  1. Monitor and report to the Board on quality issues and on the overall quality of services provided in the health care organization (making use of appropriate data).
    • This includes the review of critical incident data. As of January 1, 2011, the PHA Regulation 965 will be amended to ensure that the administrator provides aggregated critical incident data to the quality committee at least two times per year. See the update on critical incidents for more information.
    • This includes considering the medical advisory committee's recommendations that relate to systemic or recurring quality of care issues at the hospital (see updated the PHA Regulation 965).
  2. Consider and make recommendations to the Board regarding quality improvement initiatives and policies
  3. Ensure that best practices information is shared with staff at the health care organization and monitor the use of these materials. A list of resources for best practices information has been provided.
  4. Oversee the preparation of annual quality improvement plans

Next steps

Regulation 445/10 came into force on January 1, 2011. It is expected that hospitals will begin to address the composition requirements of their quality committees as soon as the regulation has been filed, and that quality committees will be in the implementation phase well before April 1, 2011, at which date the annual Quality Improvement Plans must be posted.

For questions about Excellent Care for All, please email ECFAA@ontario.ca

Related Legislation

Section 3.
(1) Every health care organization shall establish and maintain a quality committee for the health care organization.

(2) The membership, composition and governance of quality committees shall be as provided for in the regulations.

(3) Every quality committee shall report to its responsible body.

Section 4.
Every quality committee has the following responsibilities :

1. To monitor and report to the responsible body on quality issues and on the overall quality of services provided in the health care organization, with reference to appropriate data.
2. To consider and make recommendations to the responsible body regarding quality improvement initiatives and policies.
3. To ensure that best practices information supported by available scientific evidence is translated into materials that are distributed to employees and per-sons providing services within the health care organization, and to subsequently monitor the use of these materials by these people.
4. To oversee the preparation of annual quality improvement plans.
5. To carry out any other responsibilities provided for in the regulations.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Imprimer

Mise à jour concernant la Loi de 2010 sur L'excellence des soins pour tous

Comité de la qualité


Mise à jour du 7 février 2011

La Loi de 2010 sur l’excellence des soins pour tous (LEST) exige que chaque organisme de santé mette sur pied un comité de la qualité qui sera chargé de surveiller les problèmes de l’hôpital liés à la qualité et de préparer des rapports à ce sujet. Le Règlement qui décrit la composition des comités de qualité a été déposé et est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2011.

Composition du comité de la qualité

Le comité de la qualité de chaque hôpital sera un sous-comité du conseil d’administration (pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur la composition du conseil, veuillez consulter le Règlement 965 pris en application de la Loi sur les hôpitaux publics), dont au moins le tiers des membres seront des membres du conseil ayant droit de vote. De plus, le comité de la qualité doit comprendre :

  1. un membre du comité médical consultatif;
  2. le chef de direction des soins infirmiers de l’hôpital;
  3. une personne qui travaille à l’hôpital et qui n’est pas un médecin ou une infirmière ou un infirmier; cette personne peut être une ou un gestionnaire ou quelqu’un qui fournit des soins directs; cela vise à favoriser la collaboration interprofessionnelle et une participation élargie au comité;
  4. la directrice générale ou le directeur général de l’hôpital, selon la définition de la Loi sur les hôpitaux publics (LHP);
  5. toute autre personne nommée au conseil d’administration de l’hôpital. Il n’y a aucune limite imposée au nombre de membres du comité de la qualité d’un hôpital. Les hôpitaux peuvent nommer des membres supplémentaires au comité de la qualité afin de répondre au besoin de l’hôpital et de la population qu’il sert.

Le président du comité de la qualité doit être un membre ayant droit de vote du conseil d’administration de l’hôpital, nommé par le conseil de l’hôpital. Tout membre du comité de la qualité mentionné ci-dessus peut, avec l’approbation du conseil d’administration de l’hôpital, nommer un délégué pour siéger comme membre du comité à sa place. Il est prévu que ces délégués seront de nature temporaire et qu’ils ne seront pas des membres permanents du comité de la qualité. D’autres personnes peuvent assister aux réunions du comité de la qualité et fournir des conseils au comité (par exemple, la directrice ou le directeur de la qualité et la sécurité des patients), mais il n’est pas nécessaire que ces personnes soient des membres ayant droit de vote.

Autres comités semblables pouvant être admissibles

Votre établissement dispose peut-être déjà d’un sous-comité du conseil qui pourrait jouer le rôle de comité de la qualité. Par exemple, un comité de surveillance du rendement pourrait être admissible à agir comme comité de la qualité, dans la mesure où il se conforme aux exigences relatives à la composition et qu’il exerce les responsabilités décrites par la Loi et le Règlement.

Il n’est pas à conseiller qu’un hôpital désigne comme comité de la qualité un comité de la qualité des soins constitué en vertu de la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements sur la qualité des soins. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la Foire aux questions au sujet des rapports sur les incidents critiques présentés sur le site de l’Association des hôpitaux de l’Ontario (en anglais seulement).

Responsabilités du comité de la qualité

Le comité de la qualité a les responsabilités suivantes :

  1. Surveiller les enjeux en matière de qualité et la qualité générale des services que fournit l’organisme de soins de santé et en rendre compte au conseil (en fonction de données appropriées).
    • Cela comprend l’examen des données sur les incidents critiques. À compter du 1er janvier 2011, le Règlement 965 pris en application de la LHPsera modifié afin de veiller à ce que la directrice générale ou le directeur général transmette au comité de la qualité, au moins deux fois par an, des données cumulatives ayant trait aux incidents critiques. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la mise à jour sur les incidents critiques.
    • Cela comprend la prise en compte des recommandations du comité médical consultatif concernant les problèmes systémiques ou récurrents de qualité des soins (voir la version révisée du Règlement 965 pris en application de la LHP).
  2. Procéder à un examen et faire des recommandations au conseil d’administration relativement aux initiatives et aux politiques en matière d’amélioration de la qualité.
  3. Veiller à ce que les renseignements relatifs aux pratiques exemplaires soient indiqués dans les documents remis au personnel de l’organisme de soins de santé et, par la suite, surveiller l’emploi de ces documents. Une liste de ressources d’information sur les pratiques exemplaires a été établie.
  4. Superviser la préparation des plans annuels d’amélioration de la qualité.

Prochaines étapes

Le Règlement entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2011. On s’attend à ce que les hôpitaux commencent à se conformer aux exigences relatives à la composition de leur comité de la qualité dès que le Règlement est déposé, et que les comités de la qualité en soient à une étape avancée de mise en œuvre bien avant le 1er avril 2011, date à laquelle les plans annuels d’amélioration de la qualité doivent être publiés.

Si vous avez des questions concernant l’excellence des soins pour tous, écrivez à l’adresse suivante : ecfaa@ontario.ca.

Législation connexe

Article 3.
(1) L'organisme de soins de santé crée et maintient un comité de la qualité à son égard.

(2) Les règlements prévoient l'adhésion au comité de la qualité ainsi que la composition et la gouvernance de celui-ci.

(3) Le comité de la qualité fait rapport à son organisme responsable.

Article 4.
. Le comité de la qualité s'acquitte des responsabilités suivantes :

1. Surveiller, en fonction de données appropriées, les enjeux en matière de qualité et la qualité générale des services que fournit l'organisme de soins de santé, et en rendre compte à l'organisme responsable.
2. Procéder à un examen et faire des recommandations à l'organisme responsable relativement aux initiatives et aux politiques en matière d'amélioration de la qualité.
Article 3. Veiller à ce que les renseignements relatifs aux pratiques exemplaires qu'appuient les preuves scientifiques disponibles se concrétisent dans des documents remis aux employés et aux personnes fournissant des services au sein de l'organisme de soins de santé et, par la suite, surveiller l'emploi de ces documents par ces personnes.
4. Superviser la préparation des plans annuels d'amélioration de la qualité.
5. S'acquitter de toute autre responsabilité que prévoient les règlements.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h