Print

Excellent Care for All

Guide to Clinical Initiatives - Most Responsible Physician Quality Improvement Program

Most Responsible Physicians (MRPs), or Hospitalists, are physicians who specialize in caring for unscheduled inpatients admitted to hospital from the emergency department. It is an extremely complex discipline. MRPs provide care to constantly changing groups of patients, all of whom require a generalist who can attend to their medical needs while coordinating with specialists and generally fulfilling the role of a family physician – inside the hospital.

Who’s Involved


Target Population

Patients requiring a generalist who can attend to their medical needs while inside the hospital.

Benefits to the System

MRPs have begun forming hospital-centred groups to ensure they are able to provide high quality care to patients 24/7/365. In support of that goal, and as part of an overall strategy to drive quality and value throughout the province’s health care system, the Ontario government has developed an MRP Quality Improvement Program. The program will :


MRP Basic Training and Small Tests of Change

The University of Toronto Centre for Patient Safety will provide MRPs with introductory training designed to reduce readmission rates and average length of stay for unscheduled patients. MRP group leaders will be invited to attend sessions for a general introduction to Lean methods and other QI tools, techniques and ideas. Following that, they will have a chance to apply their new skills to small tests of change in participating hospitals. For current sessions see Continuing Medical Education

For more information contact :
Matt Snyder, Performance Improvement Planning Consultant, Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Imprimer

L'excellence des soins pour tous

Guide des initiatives cliniques - Programme d’amélioration de la qualité pour les médecins traitants responsables

Les médecins traitants responsables (MTR), ou hospitalistes, sont des médecins qui se spécialisent dans la prestation de soins aux patients sans rendez-vous qui sont hospitalisés après leur arrivée aux services des urgences. Il s’agit d’une discipline extrêmement complexe. Les MTR fournissent des soins à des patients qui changent constamment et qui ont besoin d’un médecin généraliste pour répondre à leurs besoins médicaux, et ils coordonnent les soins avec les médecins spécialistes, tout en jouant le rôle de médecin de famille, en milieu hospitalier.

Participants


Population visée

Les patients qui ont besoin d’un médecin généraliste pour répondre à leurs besoins en milieu hospitalier.

Avantages pour le système

Les MTR sont apparus au sein des groupes de professionnels en milieu hospitalier afin de pouvoir fournir des soins de haute qualité 24 heures sur 24, sept jours par semaine, 365 jours par année. Pour appuyer cet objectif, et dans le cadre d’une stratégie visant à favoriser la qualité et la valeur dans l’ensemble du système de soins de santé de la province, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a créé un Programme d’amélioration de la qualité pour les médecins traitants responsables. Le programme :


Formation de base de MTR et petits projets de changement

De plus, le Centre for Sécurité des patients, de l’Université de Toronto, offrira aux MTR une formation de base visant à réduire les taux de réadmission et la durée moyenne des séjours des patients admis sans rendez-vous. Les responsables des groupes de MTR seront invités à assister à des séances offrant une introduction générale aux méthodes minimalistes et autres outils, techniques et idées en matière d’amélioration de la qualité. Par la suite, ils auront l’occasion d’appliquer leurs nouvelles connaissances dans le cadre de petits projets de changement au sein d’hôpitaux participants.

Renseignements :
Matt Snyder, conseiller en planification de l’amélioration du rendement, ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h