Print

Excellent Care for All

Guide to Clinical Initiatives - Transitions in Care


South West LHIN Transitions in Care Initiative

Extensive evidence suggests a great many avoidable hospital readmissions occur because patients do not understand how to manage their conditions at home. To support the province's commitment to quality in every part of the health care system, the South West Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) Transitions in Care initiative is intended to help improve the transitions of care between hospital and home, thereby better preparing patients and caregivers for what occurs after a hospital stay.

Who's Involved

This initiative was developed as a collaboration between researchers, The Change Foundation, the South-West LHIN, the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) and local stakeholders.

Target Population

This initiative's target population is patients who are admitted to general medical wards in community hospitals with complex medical conditions, because they are most likely to require home health services and therefore risk readmission.

Benefits to the System

The goal is to design and pilot an intervention that will minimize this risk, by improving care transitions from acute to home, enhancing patient outcomes and reducing adverse events.  The South West LHIN Transitions in Care Initiative:

This initiative will create knowledge not only of what works but also how and why, thereby extending its usefulness to other jurisdictions and providers.

Back to top


Virtual Ward

The Virtual Ward is an innovative service model that delivers high quality co-ordinated care to patients in the community, after they have been discharged from hospital. It combines the best aspects of hospital care and management, outside the walls of the hospital. It is designed to provide for safe and seamless transition of patients between acute and primary care.

Who's Involved

Target Population

Virtual wards are an appropriate form of post-discharge care for patients who are considered to be at high risk of readmission, according to the LACE index.

Benefits to the System

Virtual Ward at St. Michael's Hospital


Virtual Ward at Toronto East General and South East Toronto Family Health Team


The SETFHT Virtual Ward uses remote monitoring technology provided by Ontario Telemedicine Network (OTN). They are helping lay the groundwork for a new model of primary care in Ontario, one that ensures both quality and value and results in the best possible outcomes for patients.

Back to top

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Imprimer

L'excellence des soins pour tous

Guide des initiatives cliniques - Initiative d’adaptation des soins


Initiative d’adaptation des soins

Il existe de nombreuses données factuelles qui tendent à prouver qu’une multitude de réadmissions se produisent parce que les patients concernés ne savent pas gérer leur milieu de vie à la maison. Pour soutenir l’engagement de la province à l’égard de la qualité dans chaque partie du système de soins de santé, le Réseau local d’intégration des services de santé (RLISS) du Sud-Ouest a créé une initiative intitulée « Transitions in Care » destinée à aider à faciliter le passage entre les soins à l’hôpital et ceux dispensés à domicile, donc de mieux préparer les patients et les aidants naturels à affronter la suite d’un séjour à l’hôpital.

Participants

Cette initiative est le fruit d’une collaboration entre les chercheurs, The Change Foundation, le RLISS du Sud-Ouest, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) et des intéressés à l’échelle locale.

Population cible

La population cible de cette initiative est constituée de patients qui sont admis aux services de médecine générale d’hôpitaux communautaires atteints de pathologies complexes, parce qu’ils sont plus susceptibles de nécessiter des services de santé à domicile et sont donc exposés à un risque de réadmission.

Avantages pour le système

TL’objectif est de concevoir et de piloter une intervention qui permettra de réduire au minimum ce risque en facilitant la transition entre un service de soins de courte durée et un service de soins à domicile, ce qui permettra d’améliorer les résultats pour les patients et de réduire le nombre d’événements indésirables. L’initiative d’adaptation des soins du RLISS du Sud-Ouest offre les avantages suivants :

Cette initiative permettra de réunir des connaissances sur ce qui fonctionne, de quelle manière et pour quelle raison, ce qui en fait un programme utile pour d’autres autorités et fournisseurs.

Haut de page


La salle virtuelle

La salle virtuelle est un modèle de service novateur qui permet d’offrir des soins coordonnés de qualité élevée à des patients dans la collectivité, après leur départ de l’hôpital. Elle combine les meilleurs aspects des soins et traitements hospitaliers à l’extérieur de l’hôpital. Ce programme est conçu pour assurer une transition sécuritaire et harmonieuse des patients entre les soins aigus et les soins primaires.

Participants

Population cible

Les salles virtuelles constituent un moyen efficace de fournir des soins à des patients qui viennent de quitter l’hôpital et qui risquent fort d’y retourner, selon l’indice LACE.

Avantages pour le système

Salle virtuelle de l’Hôpital St. Michael


Salle virtuelle de l’Hôpital Toronto East General et de l’équipe de santé familiale du Sud Est


La salle virtuelle de l’équipe de santé familiale du Sud-Est utilise la technologie de surveillance à distance fournie par le Réseau Télémédecine Ontario (RTO). Ce programme contribue à jeter les bases d’un nouveau modèle de soins primaires en Ontario, lequel assure la qualité et l’efficience dans les meilleurs résultats possible pour les patients.

Haut de page

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h