Print

Excellent Care for All

Guide to Clinical Initiatives - Patient Safety


Patient Safety Indicator Reporting

Healthcare associated infections are an unwelcome reality in modern health care settings across the globe.

Prevention and control of these infections in hospitals is a priority for Ontario and is key to keeping patients safe.

In order to support prevention and control of healthcare associated infections, the Ministry of Health and Long-Term care reports on indicators relating to patient safety at Ontario, and supports health care providers in improving their infection control practices.

For more information :

Back to top


Surgical Safety Checklist

The Surgical Safety Checklist (SSC) is another tool to further the government’s goal of improving patient safety in Ontario hospitals.

The SSC is a one-page list of 26 of the most common tasks and items that operating room teams carry out to ensure patient safety. The ministry has identified the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) Surgical Safety Checklist as the checklist to be adopted by all hospitals, but has acknowledged that hospitals may need to modify the checklist to meet their needs.

Originally developed as a tool to support patient care through professional preparation and teamwork, the consistent use of this checklist has been shown to reduce the rates of death and complications associated with surgical care.

For more information :

Back to top


Hand Hygiene

Hand hygiene is a responsibility shared among all health care providers. Just Clean Your Hands, the Ontario evidence-based hand hygiene program was created to help hospitals and individuals overcome the barriers to proper hand hygiene and improve compliance with hand hygiene best practices.

Ontario hospitals now provide public reports of hand hygiene compliance rates. Hospitals will post on their web sites, on an annual basis, by hospital site, the compliance rate for:


For more information :

Back to top


Medication Safety Support Program

The Medication Safety Support Service (MSSS) is a joint initiative of the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and the Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada established to promote medication safety.

For more information :

Back to top

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Imprimer

L'excellence des soins pour tous

Guide des initiatives cliniques - Sécurité des patients


Rapports sur les indicateurs de sécurité des patients

Les infections associées à la prestation des soins sont regrettables, mais elles représentent de nos jours une réalité dans les établissements de soins de santé partout dans le monde.

La prévention et le contrôle de ces infections dans les hôpitaux sont des priorités pour l’Ontario afin de préserver la sécurité des patients.

Pour soutenir la prévention et le contrôle des infections associées à la prestation des soins, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée prépare des rapports sur les indicateurs relatifs à la sécurité des patients de l’Ontario, et il encourage les fournisseurs de soins de santé à améliorer leurs pratiques de prévention des infections.

Renseignements :

Haut de page


Liste de vérification pour une chirurgie sécuritaire

La Liste de vérification pour une chirurgie sécuritaire est un autre outil visant à poursuivre l’objectif du gouvernement d’améliorer la sécurité des patients dans les hôpitaux de l’Ontario.

Il s’agit d’une liste regroupant sur une seule page 26 des tâches les plus courantes que les équipes des salles d’opération doivent réaliser pour veiller à la sécurité des patients. Le ministère a déterminé que cette liste, créée par l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, devrait être adoptée par tous les hôpitaux, tout en leur donnant le loisir de la modifier selon leurs besoins.

Utilisé de façon régulière, cet outil visant à soutenir les soins aux patients, grâce à une préparation professionnelle et au travail d’équipe, a permis de réduire le taux de mortalité et le nombre de complications associées aux soins chirurgicaux.

Renseignements :

Haut de page


Hygiène des mains

L’hygiène des mains est une responsabilité qui concerne tous les fournisseurs de soins de santé. Le programme Lavez-vous les mains, un programme d’hygiène des mains fondé sur les données probantes, a été conçu pour aider les hôpitaux et les particuliers à surmonter les obstacles à une hygiène des mains appropriée et à observer les pratiques exemplaires en matière d’hygiène des mains.

Les hôpitaux de l’Ontario sont désormais tenus de publier leur taux de conformité en matière d’hygiène des mains. Les hôpitaux publieront sur leur site Web, sur une base annuelle et par établissement, le taux de conformité relatif à :


Renseignements :

Haut de page


Programme de soutien pour la sécurité des médicaments

Les Services de soutien pour la sécurité des médicaments est une initiative conjointe du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l’Ontario et de l’Institut pour l’utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments du Canada conçue pour promouvoir la sécurité à l’égard des médicaments.

Renseignements :

Haut de page

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h