Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Emergency Planning and Preparedness

Guidance for Health Care Workers and Health Sector Employers on Asian lineage Avian Influenza A(H7N9)

Last reviewed: October 11, 2017
Last updated: October 11, 2017

This information is intended for use by health workers and health sector employers in all settings.

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care has also developed general information on the avian influenza A(H7N9) virus.

What's New?

  • The following updates were made on October 11, 2017:

    • The ministry revised the case definition to clarify the focus on Asian lineage avian influenza A(H7N9), the definition of a close contact, as well as the exposure criteria.
    •  The ministry provided a link to the Public Health Ontario Laboratory (PHOL) Test Information Sheet for Avian Influenza.
    • The ministry added a section on contact management.

Case Definitions

These case definitions are for surveillance purposes only. They are not intended to replace clinical or public health practitioner judgment in individual patient assessment and management.

The ministry’s case definitions for the Asian lineage avian influenza A(H7N9) virus differ from those provided by the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC). PHAC has provided a case definition that only includes severe acute respiratory infection, while the ministry’s case definition is broader to ensure a wider range of individuals are tested.

Person Under Investigation

A patient with acute respiratory illness or other symptoms compatible with influenza, regardless of illness severity, meeting any of the exposure criteria† and for whom laboratory confirmation is not known or pending, or for whom test results do not provide a sufficient level of detail to confirm Asian lineage avian influenza A(H7N9) virus infection.

Probable Case

A patient fitting appropriate exposure criteria and with acute respiratory illness or other symptoms compatible with influenza, regardless of illness severity, for whom laboratory diagnostic testing is positive for influenza A but un-subtypeable (i.e., negative for H1pdm09, negative for seasonal H1 and negative for seasonal H3 by real-time reverse transcriptase polymerase chain reaction).

Confirmed Case

A patient fitting appropriate exposure criteria† and with Asian lineage avian influenza A(H7N9) virus infection that is confirmed by a laboratory.

Case Definition Footnotes

† Exposure Criteria : The person has a history of travel to or residence in China within 10 days before onset of illness1 OR the person has recent close contact2 (within 10 days before onset of illness) with a confirmed or probable case with the Asian lineage avian influenza A(H7N9) virus.

1 To date, China is the only country where transmission of the Asian lineage avian influenza A(H7N9) virus to humans has been confirmed and where the Asian lineage avian influenza A(H7N9) virus is known to be circulating in animals. The ministry does not recommend testing patients who have travelled to countries with imported cases from China.

2 Close contact includes:

  • anyone with direct contact with infectious secretions while the case was likely to be infectious (the case is infectious one day prior to his/ her illness onset and until resolution of illness)
  • anyone who provided care for the patient, including a health worker or family member, or who had other similarly close physical contact
  • anyone who stayed at the same place (e.g., lived with, visited) as a probable or confirmed case while the case was symptomatic

Occupational Health & Safety and Infection Prevention & Control

The ministry recommends the use of Routine Practices and Additional Precautions (Contact, Droplet and Airborne) by health care workers at risk of exposure to a confirmed case, probable case or or PUI and/or the patient’s environment. These precautions include:

  • hand hygiene
  • use of airborne infection isolation rooms (AIIRs) when possible
  • masking the patient with a surgical mask (if tolerated) when outside of an AIIR
  • use of gloves, gowns, fit-tested, seal-checked N95 respirators and eye protection when entering the patient’s room or when transporting or caring for the patient

For more information on Routine Practices and Additional Precautions, health care workers should refer to the Provincial Infectious Diseases Advisory Committee’s (PIDAC's) Routine Practices and Additional Precautions in All Health Care Settings and Annex B: Prevention of Transmission of Acute Respiratory Infection in all Health Care Settings [PDF].

The use of Airborne Precautions is a higher level of precaution than is being recommended by PHAC. It is also a higher level of protection than normally recommended for seasonal influenza. The ministry is recommending that health care workers apply Airborne Precautions based on its application of the precautionary principle to this novel virus for which little information about transmission and clinical severity is available.

Infection Prevention & Control for Visitors

Health sector employers should implement Routine Practices and Additional Precautions (Contact and Droplet) for visitors of confirmed cases, probable cases and PUIs  in health care settings, as per PIDAC's Routine Practices and Additional Precautions in All Health Care Settings. This includes:

  • risk based education about hand hygiene and the use of personal protective equipment as described under Routine Practices
  • masks for visitors who must be within two metres of patients

Visitors should be kept to a minimum and must be informed about the reason for implementing infection prevention and control measures.

Assessment

Health care providers should assess patients presenting with acute respiratory illness or other symptoms compatible with influenza infections using the case definitions and clinical judgment.

Reporting

Health care workers must contact the local public health unit to report a PUI, probable case or confirmed case (see the case definitions).

Treatment

When indicated, antiviral treatment is most effective when started as soon as possible after symptom onset. Early initiation of treatment provides a better clinical response, although treatment of moderate, severe, or progressive disease started 48 hours after symptom onset may still provide benefit.

Health care workers can follow the Association of Medical Microbiology and Infectious Disease Canada’s Interim Guidance for Antiviral Prophylaxis and Treatment of Influenza Illness due to Avian Influenza A(H7N9) Virus [PDF] for guidance on treating PUIs, probable cases and confirmed cases with antivirals.

Genetic mutations linked to resistance to neuraminidase inhibitors have been detected in several human cases of the Asian lineage avian influenza A(H7N9); however, the majority of tested samples continue to respond well to neuraminidase inhibitors.

Laboratory Testing

The Public Health Ontario Laboratory (PHOL) conducts laboratory testing for avian influenza A(H7N9). Health care workers should review PHOL's Test Information Sheet for Avian Influenza for more information on laboratory testing.

Health care workers are encouraged to submit laboratory samples as soon as possible to PHOL.

Contact Management

Public health units and/ or health care workers should monitor any person who had close contact with a probable or confirmed case while the probable or confirmed case was ill for the appearance of respiratory symptoms. If symptoms develop within the first 10 days after contact, the individual should be considered a PUI and investigated accordingly.

In general, the ministry does not recommend the preventive use of antivirals for close contacts of cases of avian influenza A(H7N9). However, as per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Interim Guidance on Follow-up of Close Contacts of Persons Infected with Novel Influenza A Viruses Associated with Severe Human Disease and on the Use of Antiviral Medications for Chemoprophylaxis, antiviral prophylaxis may be considered in certain circumstances such as for people who are at highest risk of exposure to the virus (e.g., household or close family member contacts of a confirmed or probable case who has severe H7N9 infection). The ministry will support public heath units and/or health care workers with decisions about the use of antiviral prophylaxis in close contacts at the time that a probable or confirmed case is identified in Ontario.

Further Information

For more information, call the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care's Health Care Provider Hotline at 1-866-212-2272.

For additional information on worker health and safety information, please visit the Ministry of Labour Health and Community Care website.

This information does not relieve employers of their legislated obligations.

For More Information

Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
Health System Emergency Management Branch
1075 Bay Street, Suite 810
Toronto, Ontario
Canada M5S 2B1
Fax : 416-212-4466
TTY : 1-800-387-5559
E-mail : emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca

 

Health workers and health sector employers can call the Healthcare Provider Hotline for more information
Toll free : 1-866-212-2272

CritiCall Ontario provides a 24 hour call centre for hospitals to contact on-call specialists; arrange for appropriate hospital bed access and facilitate urgent triage for patients
1-800-668-4357

Gestion des situations d'urgence

Lignes directrices sur le virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) pour les employeurs et les travailleurs du secteur de la santé

Dernière révision : 11 octobre 2017
Dernière mise à jour : 11 octobre 2017

Ces renseignements sont destinés aux employeurs et aux travailleurs du secteur de la santé dans tous les établissements.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée a préparé des renseignements généraux sur la grippe aviaire A(H7N9).

Quoi de neuf?

Les mises à jour suivantes ont été apportées le 11 octobre 2017 :

  • Le ministère a révisé la définition de cas
  • afin de clarifier que l'accent est mis sur la lignée asiatique de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9)
  • et de clarifier la définition d'un contact étroit et les critères d'exposition.
  • Il a fourni un lien vers la fiche d'information intitulée Test Information Sheet for Avian Influenza (en anglais seulement) du laboratoire de Santé publique Ontario (LSPO).
  • Le ministère a ajouté une section sur la gestion des contacts.

Définitions de cas

Ces définitions de cas ne sont destinées qu’à des fins de surveillance. Elles ne visent pas à remplacer le jugement clinique de professionnels de la santé publique à des fins d'évaluation et de prise en charge de patients individuels.

Les définitions de cas du ministère pour la lignée asiatique de grippe aviaire A(H7N9) diffèrent de celles qui sont fournies par l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC). L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada a donné une définition de cas qui inclut une infection respiratoire aiguë sévère, alors que la définition de cas du ministère est plus vaste afin de s'assurer qu'un éventail plus large de personnes est testé.

Personne sous investigation

Un patient présentant une infection respiratoire aiguë ou d'autres symptômes compatibles avec la grippe, peu importe sa gravité, et répondant à l'un des critères d'exposition †, pour lequel la confirmation en laboratoire est inconnue ou pendante, ou pour lequel les résultats d'analyse ne fournissent pas un degré de détails suffisant pour confirmer l'infection au virus de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9 ).

Cas probable

Un patient dont le cas correspond aux critères d'exposition† appropriés et qui présente une infection respiratoire aiguë ou d'autres symptômes compatibles avec la grippe, peu importe sa gravité, pour lequel l'analyse diagnostique en laboratoire est positive pour la grippe A, mais non sous typable (c.-à-d., négative pour H1pdm09, négative pour le H1 saisonnier et négative pour le H3 saisonnier par la technique d'amplification par la polymérase avec transcription inverse (RT-PCR) en temps réel).

Cas confirmé

Un patient dont le cas correspond aux critères d'exposition † appropriés et qui présente une infection au virus de la lignée asiatique de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9 ) qui est confirmée par un laboratoire.

Notes de bas de page des définitions

† Critères d'exposition : La personne s’est rendue ou a résidé en Chine dans les 10 jours précédant le début de la maladie1 OU a été en contact étroit2 (dans les 10 jours avant le début de la maladie) avec un cas confirmé ou probable d’infection au virus de la lignée asiatique de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9 ).

1 Jusqu'à présent, la Chine est le seul pays où le virus de la lignée asiatique de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9) se caractérise par une transmission interhumaine confirmée et est connu pour circuler chez les animaux. Le ministère ne recommande pas de faire le dépistage de patients qui ont voyagé dans des pays où l’on a enregistré des cas d'infection chez des personnes en provenance de la Chine.

2 Par contact étroit, on entend toute personne ayant :

  • été en contact direct avec des sécrétions d’un cas qui pourraient être infectieux (un être est infectieux un jour avant le début de la maladie jusqu'à la fin de la maladie );
  • prodigué des soins à un patient, y compris un travailleur de la santé ou un membre de la famille, ou ayant eu un contact physique étroit avec le patient pour d’autres raisons;
  • séjourné au même endroit (p. ex., cohabitation ou visite) qu'un cas probable ou confirmé alors que le cas était symptomatique.

Santé et sécurité au travail et contrôle et prévention des infections

Le ministère recommande l'utilisation de pratiques de base et de précautions supplémentaires contre la transmission par contact, gouttelettes ou voie aérienne par les travailleurs de la santé qui risquent d'être exposés à un cas confirmé, à un cas suspect confirmé, à un cas probable, à une personne sous investigation ou à l'environnement d'un tel patient . Ces précautions sont notamment les suivantes :

  • l'hygiène des mains;
  • l'utilisation, dans la mesure du possible, de chambres d'isolement des infections aéroportées;
  • le port par le patient d'un masque chirurgical (si toléré), lorsqu'il se trouve à l'extérieur d'une chambre d'isolement des infections aéroportées;
  • l'utilisation de gants, de chemises ou de blouses d'hôpital et d'un respirateur N95 dont l'étanchéité et l'ajustement ont été vérifiés et d'une protection des yeux lorsqu’on entre dans la chambre du patient, le transporte ou lui prodigue des soins.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les travailleurs de la santé devraient consulter les Pratiques de base et précautions supplémentaires dans tous les établissements de soins de santé et l’annexe B :Pratiques exemplaires en matière de prévention de la transmission des infections aiguës des voies respiratoires dans tous les établissements de soins de santé [PDF] qui ont été publiées par le Comité consultatif provincial des maladies infectieuses.

Les précautions recommandées contre la transmission par voie aérienne sont plus sévères que celles qui sont recommandées par l'ASPC. Il s'agit également d'un niveau de protection supérieur à ce qui est normalement recommandé pour la grippe saisonnière. Le ministère recommande que les travailleurs de la santé appliquent les précautions contre les transmissions par voie aérienne comme mesure préventive, étant donné le peu d'information que l'on possède sur la transmission et la gravité clinique de ce nouveau virus.

Prévention et contrôle des infections pour les visiteurs

Les employeurs du secteur de la santé devraient mettre en œuvre des pratiques de routine et des précautions supplémentaires (contre la transmission par contact et gouttelettes ) pour protéger les visiteurs de cas confirmés ou probables, ou de personnes sous investigation , conformément aux Pratiques de base et précautions supplémentaires dans tous les établissements de soins de santé. Ces pratiques et précautions sont notamment les suivantes :

  • une formation fondée sur le risque en matière d'hygiène des mains et l'utilisation d'équipement de protection individuelle de la manière prévue dans les pratiques de base;
  • le port d'un masque pour les visiteurs qui doivent se retrouver à moins de deux mètres des patients.

Il faut limiter au minimum le nombre de visiteurs et les informer des raisons de la mise en place de mesures de contrôle et de prévention des infections.

Évaluation

Les travailleurs de la santé devraient évaluer les patients présentant une maladie respiratoire aiguë ou d'autres symptômes compatibles avec les infections de la grippe en utilisant la définition de cas et leur jugement clinique.

Déclaration

Les travailleurs de la santé devraient communiquer avec le bureau de santé publique de leur région  pour signaler une personne sous investigation , un cas probable ou un cas confirmé (voir les définitions de cas).

Traitement

Lorsqu'il est indiqué, un traitement antiviral est plus efficace s’il est pris dès que possible après l'apparition des symptômes. Un traitement suivi de façon précoce offre une meilleure réponse clinique, bien qu’il peut toujours être bénéfique s’il est pris 48 heures après l'apparition des symptômes d’une maladie modérée, sévère ou progressive.

Pour obtenir des conseils sur le traitement antiviral de personnes sous investigation , de cas probables ou de cas confirmés, les travailleurs de la santé peuvent suivre les directives décrites dans le document intitulé Interim Guidance for Antiviral Prophylaxis and Treatment of Influenza Illness due to Avian Influenza A(H7N9) Virus [PDF] (en anglais seulement) de l’Association pour la microbiologie médicale et l'infectiologie Canada.
Des mutations génétiques liées à la résistance aux inhibiteurs de la neuraminidase ont été détectées dans plusieurs cas humains d’infection par le virus de la lignée asiatique de la grippe aviaire A(H7N9). Cependant, la majorité des échantillons analysés continuent de bien répondre aux inhibiteurs de la neuraminidase.

Analyses en laboratoire

Le laboratoire de Santé publique Ontario (LSPO) effectue des analyses en laboratoire de la grippe aviaire A (H7N9). Pour obtenir plus d'informations sur les analyses en laboratoire, les travailleurs de la santé devraient examiner la fiche d'information intitulée Test Information Sheet for Avian Influenza (en anglais seulement) du LSPO.

Les travailleurs de la santé sont encouragés à soumettre des échantillons de laboratoire dès que possible au LSPO.

Gestion de la relation client

Les bureaux de santé publique et/ou les travailleurs de la santé devraient surveiller l'apparition de symptômes respiratoires chez toute personne ayant été en contact étroit avec un cas probable ou confirmé alors que le cas était lui-même malade. Si ses symptômes se développent dans les dix premiers jours après le contact, la personne devrait être considérée comme une personne sous investigation et faire l’objet d’une enquête.
En général, le ministère ne recommande pas l'utilisation préventive d'antiviraux chez les personnes qui ont été en contact étroit avec un cas de grippe aviaire A(H7N9). Toutefois, selon les directives figurant dans le document intitulé Interim Guidance on Follow-up of Close Contacts of Persons Infected with Novel Influenza A Viruses Associated with Severe Human Disease and on the Use of Antiviral Medications for Chemoprophylaxis des Centres américains pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies (CDC), on pourrait envisager une prophylaxie antivirale dans certaines circonstances, telles que chez les personnes qui présentent le plus grand risque d'exposition au virus (p. ex., les personnes dont un membre du ménage ou de la famille est un cas confirmé ou probable d’infection grave au H7N9). Le ministère aidera les bureaux de santé publique et/ou les professionnels de la santé à prendre des décisions concernant l'utilisation d’une prophylaxie antivirale pour soigner une personne ayant été en contact étroit avec un cas probable ou confirmé au moment où ce cas a été identifié en Ontario.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les travailleurs de la santé peuvent appeler le Service de renseignements aux professionnels de la santé au 1 866 212-2272.

Pour plus d’informations sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, veuillez consulter le site Web sur la santé et les soins communautaires du ministère du Travail.

Ces renseignements ne dispensent pas les employeurs de leurs obligations légales.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h