Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Emergency Planning and Preparedness

Emergency Medical Assistance Team (EMAT)

Questions and Answers


Back to top


When was the Emergency Medical Assistance Team (EMAT) established and why?

The EMAT is a mobile medical field unit that can be on site within 24 hours in a community with road-access, and can provide a staging and triage base for patients prior to transporting them to hospital.


Back to top


What kind of health care support does the EMAT provide?

The EMAT is a mobile medical field unit that can be on site within 24 hours, and can provide a staging and triage base for patients prior to transporting them to hospital. The EMAT has the capability to treat 20 acute care patients and 36 intermediate care patients, as well as provide :

  • patient isolation in the case of an infectious disease outbreak;
  • medical support and decontamination in the case of a chemical, biological or radiological incident; and
  • case management and triage of patients in a mass casualty situation.

Back to top


Who can request assistance from the EMAT?

Any community that is unsure about the impact of the occurring health emergency, as well as its ability to respond to the situation, should contact the Health System Emergency Management Branch (HSEMB) of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, early in the crisis. This will allow for a timely assessment for the deployment of EMAT.

See Contact information for the EMB.


Back to top


How quickly can the EMAT be in place?

Once the HSEMB of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care deploys the EMAT, it can be on site anywhere in Ontario with road access, within 24 hours of dispatch. Once the EMAT arrives at the destination, it takes approximately four to six hours to become fully operational.

Back to top


How is the EMAT staffed?

The system uses on-call health care professionals who volunteer to work on the EMAT. Team members come from a variety of locations so that no single area is without vital health human resources.

There are approximately 160 staff which include acute care nurses, medical radiation technologists, physicians, critical and advanced care paramedics and social workers.

The staff is specially trained to respond to a variety of major health emergencies including natural disasters, infectious disease outbreaks and chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear incidents. Once the EMAT is dispatched and is on its way to the site of the emergency, the EMAT on-call staff is alerted and transported to the site.


Back to top


How is the EMAT staff protected?

The EMAT staff has the appropriate training and skills to function as a team in a health emergency environment involving infectious diseases outbreaks, natural disasters or chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear incidents. The EMAT also has a range of personal protective equipment to protect staff from potential chemicals or infectious diseases while deployed.


Back to top


Why does Ontario need the EMAT?

Health emergencies that cause significant human injury or illness can sometimes overwhelm the health care resources of the community in which they occur. The EMAT can provide the medical resources needed in any community that is unable to manage large number of patients resulting from a health emergency.


Back to top

For More Information

Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
Health System Emergency Management Branch
1075 Bay Street, Suite 810
Toronto, Ontario
Canada M5S 2B1
Fax : 416-212-4466
TTY : 1-800-387-5559
E-mail : emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca

 

Health workers and health sector employers can call the Healthcare Provider Hotline for more information
Toll free : 1-866-212-2272

CritiCall Ontario provides a 24 hour call centre for hospitals to contact on-call specialists; arrange for appropriate hospital bed access and facilitate urgent triage for patients
1-800-668-4357

Gestion des situations d'urgence

Équipe des services médicaux d'urgence (ESMU)

Foire aux questions


Back to top


Quand l'équipe des services médicaux d'urgence (ESMU) a-t-elle été mise sur pied et pourquoi?

L'ESMU est une unité médicale mobile qui peut être déployée sur le site, dans les 24 heures, dans une collectivité accessible par une route, et elle peut offrir une base de stadification et de triage de patients avant de les transporter vers l'hôpital.


Back to top


Quel type d'aide en matière de soins de santé l'ESMU peut-elle fournir?

L'ESMU est une unité médicale mobile qui peut être déployée sur le site, dans les 24 heures, et elle peut offrir une base de stadification et de triage de patients avant de les transporter vers l'hôpital. Elle a la capacité de traiter 20 patients nécessitant des soins actifs et 36 patients nécessitant des soins intermédiaires, en plus :

  • d'isoler des patients lors d'une épidémie d'une maladie infectieuse;
  • d'offrir du soutien médical et des services de décontamination dans les cas d'incidents chimiques, biologiques ou radiologiques;
  • d'effectuer la gestion de cas et le triage des patients dans une situation où il y a de nombreux blessés.

Back to top


Qui peut demander l'aide de l'ESMU?

Toute collectivité qui a des doutes quant à l'incidence de la situation d'urgence en cours et à sa capacité d'y répondre devrait communiquer avec la Direction de la gestion des urgences du système de santé (SSDG) du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée dès le début de la crise pour permettre une évaluation en temps opportun du déploiement de l'ESMU.

Cliquez ici pour obtenir les coordonnées du DGSU.


Back to top


En combien de temps l'ESMU peut-elle être sur place?

Une fois que l'ESMU est déployée par la SSDG du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, elle peut être sur place n'importe où en Ontario où il y a un accès routier dans les 24 heures suivant la dépêche. Lorsque l'ESMU arrive à destination, il faut environ 4 à 6 heures pour qu'elle soit pleinement opérationnelle.


Back to top


Comment l'ESMU dispose-t-elle de personnel?

Le système dispose de professionnels de soins de santé de garde qui se portent bénévoles pour travailler dans l'ESMU. Les membres de l'équipe proviennent de différents endroits pour ne pas épuiser les ressources humaines dans une seule zone du domaine de la santé.

Les membres du personnel sont environ 160 et comprennent des infirmiers en soins actifs, des technologues en radiation médicale, des médecins, des ambulanciers paramédicaux spécialisés dans les soins critiques et les soins avancés, et des travailleurs sociaux.

Le personnel a reçu une formation spécialisée afin de répondre à toute une gamme de situations d'urgence graves liées à la santé, tels les catastrophes naturelles, les épidémies de maladies infectieuses et les incidents de nature chimique, biologique, radiologique ou nucléaire. Une fois l'ESMU dépêchée et en route vers l'emplacement de la situation d'urgence, son personnel de garde est averti et conduit au site.


Back to top


Comment le personnel de l'ESMU est-il protégé?

Le personnel de l'ESMU a reçu la formation appropriée et possède les qualités nécessaires afin de travailler en équipe dans une situation d'urgence liée à la santé qui implique des épidémies de maladies infectieuses, des catastrophes naturelles et des incidents de nature chimique, biologique, radiologique ou nucléaire. L'ESMU dispose également d'un éventail de matériel de protection individuelle pour protéger son personnel des produits chimiques potentiels et des maladies infectieuses dans le cadre du déploiement.


Back to top


Pourquoi l'Ontario a-t-il besoin de l'ESMU?

Les situations d'urgence liées à la santé qui causent de graves blessures ou une maladie peuvent parfois faire accabler les ressources de soins de santé de la collectivité dans laquelle elles surviennent. L'ESMU peut fournir les ressources médicales nécessaires dans toute collectivité incapable de gérer le grand nombre de patients à cause d'une situation d'urgence liée à la santé.


Back to top

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h