Learn More >

Ministry Status: Routine Monitoring and Engagement

Emergency Planning and Preparedness

Influenza Pandemic

When an influenza pandemic occurs it will likely spread rapidly to all communities in Ontario. A pandemic will trigger implementation of the Canadian Pandemic Influenza Plan (CPIP), the Ontario Health Plan for an Influenza Pandemic (OHPIP), and local pandemic contingency plans developed during the pre-pandemic and pandemic alert phases.

Response measures will be determined by the epidemiology of the pandemic, the age distribution and severity of the illness, and the efficiency of transmission from human to human. Ontario's response plan for the health care system is based on the best planning assumptions and estimates currently available and may have to be modified if the epidemiology of the outbreak is significantly different than anticipated.

Preparedness planning is essential to ensure that all parts of the health care system have in place the systems and procedures that will allow Ontario to identify an influenza pandemic early and minimize its impact.

Appropriate planning can reduce the extent of the outbreak as well as morbidity and mortality rates. It is vital that every jurisdiction be prepared to mobilize resources quickly and effectively to contain the spread of an influenza pandemic and limit its impact. Because viruses easily pass through and across borders, efforts to manage an influenza pandemic occur at all levels: internationally, nationally, provincially and locally.

For more information on pandemic planning and the provincial plan, please access the 2013 OHPIP through the menu bar on the left side of this page.

For More Information

Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
Emergency Management Branch
1075 Bay Street, Suite 810
Toronto, Ontario
Canada M5S 2B1
Fax : 416-212-4466
TTY : 1-800-387-5559
E-mail : emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca

 

Healthcare Provider Hotline
Toll free : 1-866-212-2272

CritiCall Ontario provides a 24 hour call centre for hospitals to contact on-call specialists; arrange for appropriate hospital bed access and facilitate urgent triage for patients
1-800-668-4357

Voir plus >

Situation au ministère: Activation

Gestion des situations d'urgence

Grippe pandémique

Quand une pandémie de grippe se déclare, elle se propage rapidement à toutes les collectivités de l’Ontario. Une pandémie déclenche le déploiement du plan canadien de lutte contre la pandémie de grippe, le Plan ontarien de lutte contre la pandémie de grippe, ainsi que les plans locaux de mesures d’urgence en cas de pandémie établis en période d’alerte prépandémique et pandémique.

Les mesures d’intervention seront déterminées par l’épidémiologie de la pandémie, la répartition selon l’âge et la gravité de la maladie, ainsi que par la capacité de transmission entre humains. Le plan d’intervention de l’Ontario pour le système de santé s’appuie sur les meilleures hypothèses et estimations prévisionnelles disponibles et devra éventuellement être modifié si l’épidémiologie de l’éclosion diffère considérablement des prévisions établies.

La planification de la protection civile est essentielle pour assurer que toutes les parties du système de santé ont en place les dispositifs et les procédures dont l’Ontario a besoin pour identifier rapidement une pandémie de grippe et en minimiser les répercussions.

Une planification adéquate peut réduire l’étendue de l’éclosion ainsi que les taux de morbidité et de mortalité. Il est primordial que chaque compétence soit prête à mobiliser des ressources rapidement et de manière efficace pour empêcher la propagation d’une pandémie de grippe et en limiter les répercussions. Les virus pouvant traverser facilement les frontières, les efforts pour gérer une pandémie de grippe sont déployés à tous les niveaux : à l’échelle internationale, nationale, provinciale et locale.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la planification en cas de pandémie et sur le plan provincial, veuillez consulter le Plan ontarien de lutte contre la pandémie de grippe de 2013 dans la barre de menu du volet gauche de cette page.

For More Information

Ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée
Direction de la gestion des situations d'urgence pour le système de santé
1075, rue Bay, bureau 810
Toronto (Ontario)
Canada M5S 2B1
Téléc. : 416-212-4466
ATS : 1-800-387-5559
Courriel : emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca

 

Les travailleurs et les employeurs du secteur de la santé peuvent appeler le Service de renseignements aux professionnels de la santé
Sans frais : 1-866-212-2272

CritiCall Ontario est un centre d’appel qui propose des services 24 heures sur 24 aux hôpitaux qui veulent joindre un spécialiste de garde, organiser l’accès à un lit d’hôpital approprié et faciliter le triage urgent des patients.
1-800-668-4357