Learn More >

Ministry Status: Routine Monitoring and Engagement

Family Health Teams

Information for Family Health Teams


External Evaluation of the Family Health Team Initiative, Summary Report

Context

In response, in 2005, Ontario developed the Family Health Team (FHT) model. This model was designed to help Ontario come closer to achieving the goals of: 1) improved access to primary care; 2) improved quality and continuity of care; 3) increased patient and provider satisfaction; and 4) increased cost-effectiveness of primary care services.

Rationale

In 2008, the Conference Board of Canada (CBoC) was retained following a Request for Proposals to conduct a formal five-year evaluation of Family Health Teams (FHTs).

The purpose of the evaluation was to identify the early successes and opportunities for improvement of the FHT initiative as it continues to mature, including how FHTs have changed over time and how they compare with other primary care models. The findings of the evaluation are to inform on-going improvements to the program.

Objectives

This evaluation included an examination of the evolution of FHTs over time and comparisons with other primary care models, mainly Community Health Centres (CHCs) and Family Health Groups (FHGs). Particular emphasis was placed in measuring and understanding the performance of the FHTs on six evaluation domains: access, prevention and health promotion, internal coordination, specialist care coordination, patient and family centeredness, and patient support for chronic disease management. The evaluation addressed the processes and impact of FHTs, and the extent to which the objectives of the FHT vision were achieved at the FHT, provider, and patient levels.

Research Questions

The final analysis was framed by seven research questions. This report is based on a sub-set of those questions and includes:

  • Have FHT structural and organizational characteristics changed over time?
  • How do patients rate their experience with FHTs at follow up? Is this different from how patients in FHGs and CHCs rate their primary care experience?
  • Has patient experience with FHTs changed from baseline to follow up? How does it compare to change in patient experience with FHGs and CHCs?
  • What structural and organizational characteristics of FHTs are most associated with higher patient experience at Follow Up? What structural and organizational characteristics of FHTs are associated with the best- and lowest-performing FHTs? What structural and organizational characteristics of FHTs are associated with greatest improvements in patient ratings?

Methods

This evaluation used a mixed-methods approach (which combines qualitative and quantitative analyses) to answer the overall and specific research questions in each of the evaluation domains laid out in the evaluation framework. The data collection methods for the evaluation included facility, provider, and patient surveys; site visits; patient focus groups; and administrative data analysis.

The full report is posted on the Conference Board of Canada website.



Family Health Team Guides

Title Format
Visual Identity Guidelines PDF

Family Health Team Templates

Title Format
PowerPoint slide Bilingual PowerPoint
PowerPoint slide blank PowerPoint
Report Word
Report Bilingual Word
Bilingual Flyer MS Word
Flyer MS Word
Horizontal Letterhead Central MS Word

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

To view XLS format files, you need to have MS Excel® installed on your computer. If you do not have the full-version software, you can download a free viewer from the Microsoft Website.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Voir plus >

Situation au ministère: Activation

Équipe Santé familiale

Renseignements pour les équipes Santé familiale

 

Évaluation externe de l'initiative des équipes de santé familiale, rapport sommaire

Contexte

En réaction, en 2005, l'Ontario a élaboré le modèle des équipes de santé familiale (ESF). Ce modèle a été conçu pour aider l'Ontario à se rapprocher de ses objectifs consistant à : 1) améliorer l'accès aux soins primaires; 2) améliorer la qualité et la continuité des soins; 3) accroître la satisfaction des patients et des fournisseurs; et 4) accroître le rapport coût-efficacité des services de soins primaires.

Raison d'être

En 2008, le Conference Board du Canada (CBdC) a été retenu, à la suite d'une demande de propositions, pour effectuer une évaluation formelle des équipes de santé familiale (ESF) portant sur cinq ans.

Cette évaluation avait pour objectif de définir les premières réussites, et les possibilités d'amélioration de l'initiative des ESF alors qu'elle continue de se développer; cette évaluation portait notamment sur la façon dont les ESF avaient changé avec le temps et sur la façon dont elles se comparaient aux autres modèles de soins primaires. Les constatations de l'évaluation sont destinées à alimenter les améliorations continuelles apportées au programme.

Objectifs

Cette évaluation comportait un examen de l'évolution des ESF au fil du temps, et des comparaisons avec d'autres modèles de soins primaires, surtout les Centres de santé communautaire (CSC) et les Groupes de santé familiale (GSF). Il s'agissait tout particulièrement de mesurer et comprendre la performance des ESF dans six domaines d'évaluation : accès, prévention et promotion de la santé, coordination interne, coordination des soins spécialisés, soins centrés sur le patient et la famille, et soutien aux patients pour la gestion des maladies chroniques. L'évaluation portait sur les processus et sur l'incidence des ESF, ainsi que sur la mesure dans laquelle les objectifs de la vision des ESF avaient été atteints au niveau des patients, des fournisseurs et des ESF.

Questions de la recherche

L'analyse finale était encadrée par sept questions de recherche. Ce rapport se fonde sur un sous-ensemble de ces questions et comprend ce qui suit :

  • Les caractéristiques structurelles et organisationnelles des ESF ont-elles changé avec le temps?
  • Comment les patients évaluent-ils leur expérience avec les ESF lors d'un suivi? Est-ce différent de la façon dont les patients des Groupes de santé familiale et des Centres de santé communautaire évaluent leur expérience en soins primaires?
  • L'expérience des patients avec les ESF a-t-elle changé entre la période de référence et la période de suivi? Comment ce changement se compare-t-il avec le changement de l'expérience des patients des Groupes de santé familiale et des Centres de santé communautaire?
  • Quelles caractéristiques structurelles et organisationnelles des ESF sont les plus associées avec des expériences de patients d'un niveau plus élevé lors du suivi? Quelles caractéristiques structurelles et organisationnelles des ESF sont associées aux ESF qui sont les plus performantes et les moins performantes? Dans les évaluations faites par les patients, quelles caractéristiques structurelles et organisationnelles des ESF sont associées aux plus grandes améliorations?

Méthodes

Cette évaluation a utilisé une approche de méthodes mixtes (qui associe les analyses qualitatives et quantitatives) pour répondre aux questions générales et spécifiques de la recherche dans chacun des domaines d'évaluation précisés dans le cadre d'évaluation. Les méthodes de collecte des données pour l'évaluation consistaient en : sondages des établissements, des fournisseurs et des patients, visites des lieux, groupes de discussion de patients, et analyse des données de gestion.

Le rapport intégral se trouve à : Conference Board of Canada website [en anglais seulement]



Guides

Titre Type de fichier
Directives sur l’identité visuelle PDF

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Modèles pour les équipes de santé familiale

Titre Type de fichier
Diapositive PowerPoint (bilingue) PowerPoint
Diapositive PowerPoint vierge PowerPoint
Rapport Word
Rapport (bilingue) Word
Circulaire (bilingue) MS Word
Circulaire MS Word
Entête de lettre (horizontale) MS Word

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h