Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Genetic Testing Advisory Committee

Members and Bios

Chair:

Mark J. Poznansky, C.M., O.Ont., PhD
Dr. Poznansky is the current President and CEO of the Ontario Genomics Institute (OGI). He has held a broad range of positions in the life sciences, managing institutes, developing businesses, and government affairs. These include President and Scientific Director of Robarts Research Institute (London, ON); President and CEO of Viron Therapeutics; founding member and past chair of the Council for Health Research in Canada; and Associate Dean of Medicine for Research at the University of Alberta. Dr. Poznansky is a member of the Order of Ontario and the Order of Canada.

Members:

Peter Ainsworth, MB ChB, PhD, FRCPC
Dr. Ainsworth holds several positions at the London Health Sciences Centre; he is Director of the Molecular Diagnostic Laboratory and a consultant in Cancer Genetics. Adjunct Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University; and Associate Scientist, Division of Genetics & Development, Children’s Health Research Institute (London, ON). He is a past Chair of the Advisory Committee: Molecular Genetics Program, Michener Institute (Toronto), and is currently an executive member of Ontario Regional Medical Genetic Centres.

Dr. Ainsworth´s research interests include: Detection and evaluation of mutations and gene variants of uncertain significance in inherited cancer predisposition genes.

Kym Boycott, MD, PhD, FRCPC
Dr. Kym Boycott is a Neurogeneticist at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO); an Investigator at the CHEO Research Institute; an Associate Professor and Research Chair in Neurogenetics with the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Ottawa. She is the Lead Investigator of the Genome Canada, CIHR funded ‘Finding of Rare Disease Genes in Canada’ (FORGE Canada) project and its successor, ‘Enhanced Care for Rare Genetic Diseases in Canada’ (Care4Rare).

Her research, bridging clinical medicine to basic science, is focused in two areas; elucidating the molecular pathogenesis of rare inherited neurological diseases using next generation sequencing (NGS), and the translation of NGS to routine diagnostics and patient care.

Pranesh Chakraborty, MD, FRCPC, FCCMG
Dr. Chakraborty is a pediatrician, geneticist, and medical biochemist serving in several positions at CHEO. In addition to seeing patients, he is Executive Director at Newborn Screening Ontario (NSO); Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics, University of Ottawa; Medical Director for Better Outcomes Registry and Network (BORN) Ontario; and a Principal Investigator for the Canadian Inherited Metabolic Disease Research Network.

His research interests include: Development and evaluation of novel laboratory assays for diagnosis and screening of inborn errors of metabolism and other childhood diseases; Clinical and health services research on outcomes of children with inborn errors of metabolism; and basic translation research on inborn errors of mitochondrial tRNA metabolism.

Daniel Gaudet, MD, PhD
Dr. Daniel Gaudet is a lipidologist with an interest in community genetics and rare, severe, genetic lipid disorders. He is currently an associate professor of medicine at the Université de Montréal; and scientific director of the Université de Montréal´s Centre for community genetic medicine as well as of the Genome Quebec Biobank and the ECOGENE-21 clinical research and translational medicine Centre. His team has developed and transferred a low-cost multiplex test, for simultaneous carrier testing of 4 recessive diseases in the French Canadian founder population, to clinical and public health services. Dr. Gaudet has also served on numerous national and international committees which include the European Union´s Seventh Framework Programme (FP7) for Rare and Orphan Diseases, involvement in the World Health Organization’s (WHO) community genetics program, and the development of WHO Reports on Familial Hypercholesterolemia.

Ron Goeree, BA, MA
Mr. Goeree is a Health Economist who specializes in Health Technology Assessment (HTA). He spent 30 years at McMaster University, most recently as a Professor in the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics. He is the founding Director of the Programs for Assessment of Technology in Health (PATH) Research Institute at St Joseph´s Healthcare Hamilton. At McMaster’s Health Research and Methodology (HRM) Program, he developed an advanced decision analytic modelling course and founded the Field of Specialization for HTA. Ron has also been involved in developing and teaching several international workshops in HTA and economic modeling. He is a co-editor of the Value in Health journal, and sits on editorial boards for Medical Decision Making and the Journal of Medical Economics.

Michael Gollob, MD
Dr. Gollob is a Clinical Electrophysiologist with an undergraduate degree in molecular genetics from the University of Toronto; a recipient of the Mid-Career Scientist Award from the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario; and holds peer-reviewed research funding from the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR).

His research focuses on the genetic and physiological basis of cardiac arrhythmia syndromes, including sudden death syndromes and the common arrhythmia of atrial fibrillation; causative genes for sudden death and atrial fibrillation were identified by his research laboratory.

Suzanne Kamel-Reid, PhD, DABMG, FACMG
Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology, University of Toronto, Head, Clinical Laboratory Genetics and Director, Molecular Diagnostics, The University Health Network. Dr. Kamel-Reid’s clinical service laboratory is one of the largest cancer genetics testing laboratories in Canada and focuses on the diagnosis, prognosis and monitoring of many hematological malignancies as well as mutation testing in solid tumors. She is Co-Chair of the Cancer Care Ontario Molecular Oncology Advisory Committee, a member of the Ontario Personalized Medicine Network, and a member of the Ontario Genetics Secretariat Executive. Her research program is currently focused on further developing the concept of Precision Medicine and its utility in the clinical setting by assessing the use of new technologies to develop more comprehensive genetic tests for clinical use. She has been the recipient of peer reviewed grant funding from the NCIC, CIHR, Cancer Research Society, OICR and Leukemia Research Fund and has published over 160 papers and 270 abstracts in the field of genetics.

Fiona A. Miller, PhD
Dr. Miller is Associate Professor of Health Policy in the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation at the University of Toronto. She heads the Division of Health Policy and Ethics at the Toronto Health Economics and Technology Assessment (THETA) Collaborative, and is a member of the Joint Centre for Bioethics (JCB). Her program of research addresses health research and innovation systems and health technology policy from the perspective of health improvement, health equity and health care sustainability.

Tanya N. Nelson, PhD, FCCMG
Dr. Tanya Nelson is Head of the Division of Laboratory Genetics, at British Columbia (BC) Children’s & BC Women´s Hospitals (BCCH/BCWH), and Director of the BCCH Molecular Genetics Laboratory, which provides clinical inherited disease testing for the province. In addition, Dr. Nelson is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of BC (UBC); an Associate Member of the Department of Medical Genetics, UBC; a Clinical Investigator at the Child and Family Research Institute, BC; and is a member of a number of UBC committees including the UBC Children’s & Women’s Research Ethics Board. She is also an elected member of the Canadian College of Medical Geneticists (CCMG) Board of Directors.

Peter N. Ray, PhD, FCCMC, FACMG
Dr. Ray is a Professor of Molecular Genetics at the University of Toronto and Head of Genome Diagnostics at the Hospital for Sick Children. Dr. Ray is a scientific director of The Centre for Applied Genomics at Sickkids; an executive member of the Sickkids Centre for Genetic Medicine; and an executive member of the Ontario Genetics Secretariat. He is a Fellow of the Canadian College of Medical Geneticists and a Founding Fellow of the American College of Medical Genetics. Dr. Ray has published extensively in the areas of molecular genetics and molecular diagnosis.

François Rousseau, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Dr. François Rousseau is a medical biochemist with a subspecialty in molecular genetics. He is the FQR-S/MSSS/CHUQ Research Chair in Health Technology Assessment and Evidence Based Laboratory Medicine; a Professor in the Department of Molecular Biology, Medical Biochemistry and Pathology at the Université Laval’s Faculty of Medicine; a Researcher, Centre de recherche du CHU de Québec; and serves or has served on several national and international committees on diagnostic tests, including the Québec Health Technology Assessment Agency (INESSS). He is the Head of one of the largest Department of Laboratory Medicine in Canada (100 laboratory physicians, 530 technicians, over 15 million test results per year). He is also a Clinical Laboratory Visitor for Accreditation Canada since 2009.

As the designated principal investigator of the CIHR-funded Canadian APOGEE-Net/CanGeneTest research consortium on health services research in genetics his research focus is on transferring clinically useful and cost-effective genetic innovations to the health care system.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Comité consultatif de dépistage génétique

Biographies des membres du comité

Président :

Mark J. Poznansky, C.M., O.Ont., PhD
Le Dr Poznansky est président et chef de la direction de l'Ontario Genomics Institute (OGI). Il a occupé un large éventail de postes dans les domaines des sciences de la vie, de la gestion des instituts, du développement des entreprises et des affaires gouvernementales. Il a été notamment président et directeur scientifique du Robarts Research Institute (London, Ontario); président et chef de la direction de Viron Therapeutics; membre fondateur et ancien président du Conseil pour la recherche en santé au Canada; et doyen associé de médecine pour la recherche à l'Université de l'Alberta. Le Dr Poznansky est membre de l'Ordre de l'Ontario et de l'Ordre du Canada.

Membres :

Peter Ainsworth, MB ChB, PhD, FRCPC
Le Dr Ainsworth occupe plusieurs postes au London Health Sciences Centre : il est directeur du laboratoire de diagnostic moléculaire et consultant en génétique du cancer. Il est professeur adjoint au département de biochimie de la Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry de l'Université Western, et chercheur associé à la division de génétique et développement de Children’s Health Research Institute (London, Ontario). Il est un ancien président du comité consultatif du programme de génétique moléculaire, Michener Institute (Toronto), et il est membre de la direction des centres régionaux de médecine génétique de l'Ontario. Les intérêts de recherche du Dr Ainsworth comprennent la détection et l’évaluation des mutations et des variantes génétiques de signification incertaine dans les gènes héréditaires de prédisposition au cancer.

Kym Boycott, MD, PhD, FRCPC
La Dre Kym Boycott est une neurogénéticienne au Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario (CHEO), chercheuse à l'Institut de recherche du CHEO, professeure agrégée et titulaire de la chaire de recherche en neurogénétique à la faculté de médecine de l'Université d'Ottawa. Elle est chercheuse principale du projet de Génome Canada, financée par les IRSC, « Découverte de gènes à l'origine des maladies rares au Canada » (FORGE Canada) et du projet subséquent,« Amélioration des soins pour les maladies génétiques rares au Canada » (Care4Rare).

Ses recherches, qui relient la médecine clinique à la science fondamentale, se concentrent dans deux domaines : élucider la pathogenèse moléculaire des maladies neurologiques héréditaires rares en utilisant le séquençage de nouvelle génération, et l’application de ce séquençage aux diagnostics de routine et aux soins aux patients.

Pranesh Chakraborty, MD, FRCPC, FCCMG
Le Dr Chakraborty est un pédiatre, généticien et biochimiste médical qui occupent plusieurs postes au CHEO. En plus de voir des patients, il est directeur général de l’organisme Dépistage néonatal Ontario (DNO), professeur agrégé au département de pédiatrie de l’Université d'Ottawa, directeur médical du Registre et réseau des Bons résultats dès la naissance (BORN) de l'Ontario et chercheur principal au Réseau canadien de recherche sur les maladies métaboliques héréditaires.

Ses intérêts de recherche comprennent : le développement et l'évaluation de nouveaux tests de laboratoire pour le diagnostic et le dépistage des erreurs innées du métabolisme et d'autres maladies de l'enfance; la recherche dans le cadre des services cliniques et de santé concernant les résultats sur la santé des enfants ayant des erreurs innées du métabolisme; et l’application de la recherche de base sur les erreurs innées du métabolisme d’un ARN de transfert (ARNt) mitochondrial.

Daniel Gaudet, MD, PhD
Le Dr Daniel Gaudet est un lipidologue ayant un intérêt dans la génétique communautaire et les troubles lipidiques génétiques rares et graves. Il est professeur agrégé de médecine à l'Université de Montréal et directeur scientifique du Centre de médecine génique communautaire de l’Université de Montréal, de la Biobanque de Génome Québec et du Centre d’études cliniques et de médecine translationnelle ECOGENE-21. Son équipe a mis au point et a transféré aux services cliniques et de santé publique un test multiplex à faible coût visant à assurer le dépistage simultané de quatre maladies héréditaires au sein de la population du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean.

Le Dr Gaudet a également siégé à de nombreux comités nationaux et internationaux, dont le comité du Septième programme-cadre de l'Union européenne pour la recherche et le développement sur les maladies rares et orphelines, le programme de génétique communautaire de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) et l’élaboration du rapport de l'OMS sur l'hypercholestérolémie familiale.

Ron Goeree, BA, MA
M. Goeree est un économiste de la santé spécialisé dans l'évaluation des technologies de la santé (ETS). Il a passé 30 ans à l'Université McMaster, plus récemment en tant que professeur au département d'épidémiologie clinique et de biostatistique. Il est le directeur fondateur des programmes d'évaluation des technologies de la santé de l’institut de recherche du Centre de soins de santé St-Joseph de Hamilton. Dans le cadre du programme de recherche et de méthodologie sur la santé de l'Université McMaster, il a conçu un cours de modélisation analytique décisionnel de pointe et il a fondé le domaine de spécialisation de l'ETS. M. Goeree a également participé à l’élaboration et à la présentation de plusieurs ateliers internationaux dans le domaine de l'ETS et de la modélisation économique. Il est corédacteur en chef de la publication Value in Health, et il siège au conseil de rédaction des publications Medical Decision Making et Journal of Medical Economics.

Michael Gollob, MD
Le Dr Gollob est un électrophysiologiste clinique titulaire d’un diplôme de premier cycle en génétique moléculaire de l'Université de Toronto. Il a été récipiendaire de la bourse de chercheur en milieu de carrière de la Fondation des maladies du cœur de l'Ontario et il a reçu des fonds pour des recherches évaluées par les pairs des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC).

Ses recherches portent sur les fondements génétiques et physiologiques des syndromes d'arythmie cardiaque, y compris les syndromes de mort subite et d'arythmie commune de la fibrillation auriculaire. Les gènes responsables de la mort subite et la fibrillation auriculaire ont été identifiés par son laboratoire de recherche.

Suzanne Kamel-Reid, PhD, DABMG, FACMG
Mme Kamel-Reid est professeure de médecine de laboratoire et de pathobiologie à l’Université de Toronto, chef du laboratoire de génétique clinique et directrice du service de diagnostic moléculaire du Réseau universitaire de santé. Le laboratoire de service clinique de Mme Kamel-Reid est l'un des plus grands laboratoires d’analyse génétique du cancer au Canada et met l'accent sur le diagnostic, le pronostic et le suivi de nombreuses hémopathies malignes ainsi que sur l’analyse des mutations dans les tumeurs solides. Elle est coprésidente du comité consultatif sur l’oncologie moléculaire d’Action Cancer Ontario, elle est membre de l’Ontario Personalized Medicine Network, et membre de la direction de l’Ontario Genetics Secretariat. Son programme de recherche porte présentement sur l’élaboration plus poussée du concept de la médecine de précision et de son utilité en milieu clinique en évaluant l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies afin de mettre au point des tests génétiques plus complets pour une utilisation clinique. Elle a été récipiendaire de bourses de recherche fondées sur l'évaluation par les pairs décernées par l'INCC, les IRSC, la Société de recherche sur le cancer, l’Institut ontarien de recherche sur le cancer et le Leukemia Research Fund. Elle a également publié plus de 160 articles et 270 résumés dans le domaine de la génétique.

Fiona A. Miller, PhD
Mme Miller est professeur agrégé en politiques de la santé à l’Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation de l'Université de Toronto. Elle dirige la division des politiques de la santé et de l'éthique de l’organisme Toronto Health Economics and Technology Assessment (THETA) Collaborative, et elle est membre du Joint Centre for Bioethics (JCB). Son programme de recherche porte sur la recherche et l'innovation des systèmes de santé et des politiques relatives à la technologie de la santé dans une perspective de l'amélioration de la santé, l'équité en matière de santé et de la viabilité des soins de santé.

Tanya N. Nelson, PhD, FCCMG
Mme Tanya Nelson est chef de la division de laboratoire de génétique, aux Children’s & BC Women's Hospitals (BCCH/BCWH), en Colombie-Britannique, et directrice du laboratoire de génétique moléculaire de BCCH, qui effectue les analyses cliniques des maladies héréditaires dans la province. De plus, Mme Nelson est professeure clinique au département de pathologie et de médecine de laboratoire de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC), membre associé du département de génétique médicale à UBC, chercheuse clinique au Child and Family Research Institute de la Colombie-Britannique et membre d'un certain nombre de comités de UBC, dont le comité d'éthique dans le domaine de la recherche sur les femmes et les enfants. Elle a également été élue membre du conseil d'administration du Collège canadien de généticiens médicaux (CCGM).

Peter N. Ray, PhD, FCCMC, FACMG
M. Ray est professeur de génétique moléculaire à l'Université de Toronto et chef de Genome Diagnostics, The Hospital for Sick Children. M. Ray est directeur scientifique du Centre for Applied Genomics et membre exécutif du Centre for Genetic Medicine au même hôpital, et membre exécutif du Ontario Genetics Secretariat. Il est titulaire d'une bourse de perfectionnement du Collège canadien de généticiens médicaux et membre fondateur de l'American College of Medical Genetics. M. Ray a beaucoup publié dans les domaines de la génétique moléculaire et du diagnostic moléculaire.

François Rousseau, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Le Dr François Rousseau est un biochimiste médical sous-spécialisé en génétique moléculaire. Il est titulaire d’une chaire de recherche FRQS-MSSS en évaluation des technologies de la santé et en médecine de laboratoire factuelle au Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec Il est professeur au département de biologie moléculaire, biochimie médicale et pathologie à la faculté de médecine de l'Université Laval.
Il est chercheur au Centre de recherche du CHU de Québec et il siège à plusieurs comités nationaux et internationaux sur les tests diagnostiques, dont l'Agence québécoise d'évaluation des technologies. Il dirige l’un des plus grands départements de médecine de laboratoire au Canada (100 médecins de laboratoire, 530 techniciens et plus de 15 millions de résultats d’analyses par année). Depuis 2009, il est aussi chercheur invité en médecine de laboratoire à Agrément Canada.

À titre de chercheur principal désigné du réseau de recherche APOGEE-Net/CanGeneTest, un consortium canadien de recherche financé par les IRSC, ses recherches portent sur le transfert vers le système de soins de santé des innovations génétiques utiles d'un point de vue clinique et efficaces par rapport à leur coût.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h