Health Equity Impact Assessment (HEIA)

Resources


Training on HEIA

In partnership with the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC), the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) has developed a free self-directed interactive e-learning course on HEIA. The HEIA course will be of interest to those involved in planning, policy, program or proposal development and who will use the Ontario HEIA tool to integrate equity considerations into new initiatives and more detailed planning. Click to access this course.

HEIA Community of Interest

Building on the existing capacity and expertise in this area, the HEIA Community of Interest (CoI) seeks to support the implementation of the MOHLTC HEIA tool within the broader mental health and addiction sector across Ontario and encourage sharing of the results of the HEIA application. Through knowledge exchange and transfer, this web-based CoI will enhance the evidence base for HEIA in Ontario, Canada, and internationally. Click to join the HEIA CoI.

Help on Gathering Evidence to Complete your HEIA

Completing an HEIA requires that you gather evidence to inform your analysis and populate the template. A broad consideration of evidence will facilitate a robust analysis and ensure that you have sufficient information to assess the needs of populations where there may be research gaps. All evidence sources should be weighed based on their strength and quality.

For best results consider using a ‘realist’ approach to gathering evidence—integrating research findings (where available) with broader evidence streams, including :


The following online resources may be useful to support your health equity impact assessment :

Research and Data to Support Health Equity Analysis


HEIA Champions


General Resources

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Évaluation de l’impact sur l’équité en matière de santé (EIES)

Ressources

Cours sur l'EIES

En partenariat avec le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD), le Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale (CAMH) a conçu un cours d'autoapprentissage interactif en ligne gratuit sur l'Évaluation de l'impact sur l'équité en matière de santé (EIES). Le cours sur l'EIES intéressera les personnes qui élaborent des plans, des politiques ou des propositions et qui utiliseront l'outil EIES de l'Ontario pour incorporer les facteurs d'équité aux nouvelles initiatives et à la planification détaillée. Pour accéder au cours en ligne, cliquez ici.

Communauté d'intérêts de l'EIES

En misant sur la capacité et les connaissances spécialisées existantes dans ce domaine, la communauté d'intérêts (CDI) de l'EIES soutient la mise en oeuvre de l'outil EIES du MSSLD dans le contexte élargi du secteur de la santé mentale et de la toxicomanie en Ontario et encourage le partage des résultats de son application. Grâce au transfert et au partage des connaissances, cette CDI en ligne renforcera l'assise factuelle pour l'EIES en Ontario, au Canada et à l'échelle internationale. Pour joindre la CDI de l'EIES, cliquez ici [en Anglais seulement]

Aide sur la collecte des données que vous utiliserez pour remplir votre EIES

Pour remplir une EIES, vous devez récolter des données pour documenter votre analyse et remplir les champs du modèle. Plus vous inclurez des données de sources variées, meilleure sera l’analyse et plus l’EIES permettra d'évaluer les besoins des populations où il pourrait y avoir des écarts de recherche. Toutes les sources de données devraient être pondérées en fonction de leur fiabilité et de leur qualité.

Pour obtenir de meilleurs résultats, vous devriez songer à une approche réaliste pour la collecte des données — intégration des résultats de recherche (lorsqu'ils sont disponibles) et des sources plus larges de données, y compris :

Recherches et données à l'appui de l'analyse de l'équité en matière de santé


Les Champions d'EIES


Ressources générales

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h