Health Workforce Planning and Regulatory Affairs Division

Regulated Professions

In Ontario, regulated health professions are governed under the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 (RHPA) and health profession Acts (i.e., Medicine Act, 1991). This legislative framework establishes health regulatory colleges, which regulate the professions in the public interest. Health regulatory colleges are responsible for ensuring that regulated health professionals provide health services in a safe, professional and ethical manner. This includes, among other things, setting standards of practice for the profession and investigating complaints about members of the profession and, where appropriate, disciplining them.

The Health Professions Procedural Code, which is Schedule 2 to the RHPA, sets out a comprehensive set of rules that all health regulatory colleges must follow when registering new members, investigating complaints, and disciplining members of the profession. These rules ensure that health professional regulation in Ontario is open, transparent, accessible and fair for those seeking to become regulated health professionals, for the regulated health professionals who are governed by the health regulatory colleges, and in particular, for patients and members of the public, whom the legislative framework is meant to protect.


 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology

Audiologists assess hearing and treat and prevent hearing problems to develop, maintain, rehabilitate or augment hearing and communication functions.

Speech-language pathologists assess speech and language functions and treat as well as prevent speech and language dysfunctions or disorders to develop, maintain, rehabilitate or augment oral motor or communicative functions.

Chiropody and Podiatry

Chiropodists and podiatrists treat and prevent diseases, disorders or dysfunctions of the foot by therapeutic, orthotic or palliative means.  Chiropodists are allowed to cut into the subcutaneous tissues of the foot, prescribe drugs designated in the regulations and inject into the feet a substance set out in the regulations.

Podiatrists also treat and prevent diseases, disorders and dysfunctions of the foot by therapeutic, orthotic or palliative means. Podiatrists are allowed to communicate a diagnosis identifying a disease or disorder of the foot as the cause of a person's symptoms, cut into subcutaneous tissues of the foot and bony tissues of the forefoot, prescribe drugs set out in the regulations and inject into the feet a substance set out in the regulations.

Chiropractic

Chiropractors assess conditions related to the spine, nervous system and joints. They diagnose, prevent and treat, primarily by adjustment: (a) dysfunctions or disorders arising from the structures or functions of the spine and the effects of those dysfunctions or disorders on the nervous system; and (b) dysfunctions or disorders arising from the structures or functions of the joints.

Dental Hygiene

Dental Hygienists assess teeth and adjacent tissues and treat by preventive and therapeutic means. They provide restorative and orthodontic procedures and services.

Dental Technology

Dental technologists design, construct repair or alter dental prosthetic, restorative and orthodontic devices.

Dentistry

Dentists assess the physical condition of the oral-facial complex and diagnose, treat and prevent any disease, disorder or dysfunction of the oral-facial complex.

Denturism

Denturists design, construct, repair, alter, order and fit removable dentures.

Dietitians

Dietitians assess nutrition and nutritional conditions and treat and prevent nutrition related disorders by nutritional means.

Back to top

Kinesiologists

Kinesiologists assess human movement and performance and rehabilitate and manage to maintain, rehabilitate or enhance movement and performance.

Massage Therapists

Massage therapists treat and prevent physical dysfunction and pain of the soft tissues and joints by manipulation to develop, maintain, rehabilitate or augment physical function or relieve pain.

Medical Laboratory Technology

Medical Laboratory Technologists perform laboratory investigations on the human body or on specimens taken from the human body and evaluate the technical sufficiency of the investigations and their results.

Medical Radiation Technology

Medical radiation technologists use ionizing radiation, electromagnetism and other prescribed forms of energy for diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, the evaluation of images and data relating to the procedures and the assessment of an individual before, during and after the procedures.

Medicine

Physicians assess the physical or mental condition of an individual and diagnose, treat and prevent any disease, disorder or dysfunction.

Midwifery

Midwives assess and monitor women during pregnancy, labour and the post-partum period and their newborn babies. They provide care during normal pregnancy, labour and post-partum period and provide normal vaginal deliveries.

Nursing

Registered nurses, registered practical nurses and nurse practitioners, promote health and treat health conditions by supportive, preventive, therapeutic, palliative and rehabilitative means in order to gain or maintain optimal function.

Occupational Therapy

Occupational therapists assess function and adapt behaviour, and treat and prevent disorders which affect function or adaptive behaviour to develop, maintain, rehabilitate or augment function or adaptive behaviour in the areas of self-care, productivity and leisure.

Opticianry

Opticians fit and adjust subnormal vision devices, contact lenses or eye glasses.

Back to top

Optometry

Optometrists assess the eye and vision system and diagnose, treat and prevent: (a) disorders of refraction; (b) sensory and oculomotor disorders and dysfunctions of the eye and vision system; and (c) prescribed diseases.

Pharmacy

The practice of pharmacy is (a) the custody, compounding, dispensing and prescribing of drugs; (b) the provision of health care aids and devices; (c) the provision of information and education related to the use of anything mentioned in (a) and (b) above; and (d) the promotion of health, prevention and treatment of disease, disorders and dysfunctions through monitoring and management of medication therapy.

Physiotherapy

Physiotherapists assess neuromuscular, musculoskeletal and cardio-respiratory systems; diagnose diseases or disorders associated with physical dysfunction, injury or pain; treat, rehabilitate and prevent relief of physical dysfunction, injury or pain; develop, maintain, rehabilitate or augment function; promote mobility.

Psychology

Psychologists assess behavioural and mental conditions; diagnose neuropsychological disorders and dysfunctions and psychotic, neurotic and personality disorders and dysfunctions; prevent and treat behavioural and mental disorders and dysfunctions; maintain and enhance physical, intellectual, emotional, social and interpersonal functioning.Psychological associates are also regulated by this college.

Respiratory Therapy

Respiratory therapists provide oxygen therapy, cardio-respiratory equipment monitoring and the assessment and treatment of cardio-respiratory and associated disorders to maintain or restore ventilation.

Speech-Language Pathology

Speech-language pathologists assess speech and language functions and treat as well as prevent speech and language dysfunctions or disorders to develop, maintain, rehabilitate or augment oral motor or communicative functions.

Transitional Council of the College of Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners and Acupuncturists of Ontario

Traditional Chinese medicine practitioners and acupuncturists assess body system disorders through traditional Chinese medicine techniques and treat individuals using traditional Chinese medicine therapies to promote, maintain or restore health.

Back to top


New Regulated Professions

Transitional Council of the College of Homeopaths of Ontario

Homeopaths assess body system disorders and treat using homeopathic techniques to promote, maintain or restore health of individuals.

Transitional Council of the College of Naturopaths of Ontario

Naturopaths assess diseases, disorders and dysfunctions, make naturopathic diagnoses and treat diseases, disorders and dysfunctions using naturopathic techniques to promote, maintain or restore health.

The profession of naturopathy in Ontario is currently regulated under the Drugless Practitioners Act by the Board of Directors of Drugless Therapy – Naturopathy.  The profession will move to regulation under the Regulation Health Professions Act, 1991 once the Transitional Council of the College of Naturopaths of Ontario has completed its work establishing the new College of Naturopaths of Ontario.

Drugless Practitioners Act

The profession of naturopathy in Ontario is currently regulated under the Drugless Practitioners Act by the Board of Directors of Drugless Therapy.  The profession will move to regulation under the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991, once the transitional Council of the College of Naturopaths of Ontario has completed its work establishing the new College of Naturopaths of Ontario.

Transitional Council of the College of Registered Psychotherapists and Registered Mental Health Therapists of Ontario

Psychotherapists and registered mental health therapists assess and treat cognitive, emotional or behavioural disturbances by psychotherapeutic means, delivered through a therapeutic relationship based primarily on verbal or non-verbal communication.

Back to top

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at :
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

 

Health Workforce Planning and
Regulatory Affairs Division
12 Floor
56 Wellesley Street West
Toronto ON M5S 2S3

Division de la planification et de la réglementation relatives aux ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé

Professions de la santé réglementées

En Ontario, les professions de la santé réglementées sont régies par la Loi de 1991 sur les professions de la santé réglementées (LPSR) et 26 lois gouvernant différentes professions de la santé. Le cadre législatif de la LPSR établit les ordres professionnels qui réglementent les professions dans l'intérêt public. Les ordres de réglementation des professions de la santé doivent veiller à ce que les membres de la profession réglementée fournissent des services de santé sûrs, professionnels et éthiques. Ils doivent notamment établir les normes d'exercice de la profession visée, enquêter sur les plaintes concernant les membres de cette profession et, au besoin, imposer des mesures disciplinaires.

Le Code des professions de la santé, qui constitue l'annexe 2 de la LPSR, établit un ensemble détaillé de règles que tous les ordres de réglementation de professions de la santé doivent suivre au moment d'inscrire de nouveaux membres, de faire enquête sur les plaintes des patients et d'imposer des mesures disciplinaires aux membres de la profession visée. Ces règles permettent de veiller à ce que la réglementation des professions de la santé en Ontario soit un processus ouvert, transparent, accessible et juste pour les professionnels de la santé qui demandent à être réglementés, pour ceux qui le sont déjà réglementés et qui sont régis par un ordre professionnel et, en particulier, pour les patients et le public, que le cadre législatif vise à protéger.


 

Audiologistes et orthophonistes

Les audiologistes exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation de l'audition en vue de développer, de maintenir, de restaurer ou d'accroître les fonctions auditive et de communication.

Les orthophonistes exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation de la fonction auditive et dans le traitement et la prévention des troubles de l'audition en vue de développer, de maintenir, de restaurer ou d'accroître les fonctions auditive et de communication.

Podologues et podiatres

Les podologues exercent une profession qui consiste dans le traitement et la prévention des maladies, troubles ou dysfonctions des pieds par des moyens thérapeutiques, orthétiques ou palliatifs. Ils sont autorisés à pratiquer des incisions dans le tissu sous-cutané des pieds, prescrire les médicaments désignés dans les règlements et administrer, par voie d'injection dans les pieds, les substances désignées dans les règlements.

Les podiatres exercent également une profession qui consiste dans le traitement et la prévention des maladies, troubles ou dysfonctions des pieds par des moyens thérapeutiques, orthétiques ou palliatifs. Ils sont autorisés à communiquer les diagnostics attribuant les symptômes que présentent des personnes à des maladies ou à des troubles du pied, à pratiquer des incisions dans le tissu sous-cutané du pied et dans le tissu osseux de l'avant-pied, prescrire les médicaments désignés dans les règlements et administrer, par voie d'injection dans les pieds, les substances désignées dans les règlements.

Chiropraticiens

Les chiropraticiens exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation des états pathologiques relatifs à la colonne vertébrale, au système nerveux et aux articulations, et dans le diagnostic, la prévention et le traitement, essentiellement par des manipulations, des maux suivants : a) les dysfonctions ou troubles découlant des structures ou des fonctions de la colonne vertébrale et découlant des effets de ces dysfonctions ou troubles sur le système nerveux; b) les dysfonctions ou troubles découlant des structures ou des fonctions des articulations.

Hygiénistes dentaires

Les hygiénistes dentaires exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation des dents et des tissus adjacents et leur traitement par des moyens préventifs et thérapeutiques, et dans la prestation d'actes et de soins de restauration et d'orthodontie.

Technologues dentaires

Les technologues dentaires exercent une profession qui consiste dans la conception, la confection, la réparation ou la modification de prothèses dentaires de reconstitution et d'orthodontie.

Dentistes

Les dentistes exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation de l'état physique du complexe oro-facial ainsi que le diagnostic, le traitement et la prévention des maladies, troubles ou dysfonctions du complexe oro-facial.

Homéopathes

Les homéopathes exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation des troubles systémiques de l'organisme et dans leur traitement par des méthodes homéopathiques pour promouvoir, maintenir ou rétablir la santé.

Denturologistes

Les denturologistes exercent une profession qui consiste dans la conception, la confection, la réparation, la modification, le fait de commander et l'adaptation de prothèses amovibles.

Diététistes

Les diététistes exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation de la nutrition et des affections d'ordre nutritionnel, et dans le traitement et la prévention des troubles relatifs à la nutrition par des moyens nutritionnels.

Haut de page

Kinésiologues

Les kinésiologues exercent une profession qui consiste dans assess human movement and performance and rehabilitate and manage to maintain, rehabilitate or enhance movement and performance.

Massothérapeutes

Les massothérapeutes exercent une profession qui consiste dans le traitement et la prévention des dysfonctions physiques et des douleurs des tissus mous et des articulations au moyen de manipulations pour développer, maintenir, restaurer ou accroître la fonction physique, ou pour soulager la douleur.

Technologistes de laboratoire médical

Les technologistes de laboratoire médical exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'exécution d'examens de laboratoire sur le corps humain ou sur des prélèvements effectués sur le corps humain et dans l'évaluation de la validité technique de ces examens et de leurs résultats.

Technologues en radiation médicale

Les technologues en radiation médicale exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'emploi des rayonnements ionisants, de l'électromagnétisme et d'autres formes d'énergie prescrites aux fins d'épreuves diagnostiques et d'interventions thérapeutiques, de l'évaluation des images et des données obtenues grâce à ces épreuves et interventions et de l'évaluation d'un particulier avant, pendant et après celles-ci.

Médecins

Les médecins exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation de l'état physique ou mental de particuliers et dans le diagnostic, le traitement et la prévention des maladies, troubles ou dysfonctions.

Sages-femmes

Les sages-femmes exercent une profession qui consiste à évaluer et à surveiller les femmes pendant la grossesse, l'accouchement et la suite de couches, ainsi qu'à évaluer et à surveiller leur nouveau-né, à dispenser des soins pendant une grossesse normale, un accouchement normal et la suite de couches normale, et à pratiquer des accouchements normaux et spontanés par voie vaginale.

Naturopathes

Les naturopathes exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation des maladies, des troubles et des dysfonctions et dans leur diagnostic naturopathique et leur traitement par des méthodes naturopathiques pour promouvoir, maintenir ou rétablir la santé.

Infirmières

Les infirmières autorisées et les infirmières auxiliaires autorisées exercent une profession qui consiste à promouvoir la santé ainsi qu'à évaluer, à soigner et à traiter les affections par des moyens préventifs, thérapeutiques, palliatifs, rééducatifs et de soutien en vue de permettre le rétablissement ou le maintien du fonctionnement optimal de l'organisme.

Ergothérapeutes

Les ergothérapeutes exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation des comportements fonctionnel et adaptatif, et dans le traitement et la prévention des troubles qui perturbent ces comportements, en vue de les développer, maintenir, rééduquer ou améliorer sur les plans des soins personnels, du rendement et des loisirs.

Opticiens

Les opticiens exercent une profession qui consiste dans la fourniture, l'adaptation et l'ajustement d'appareils de correction visuelle pour les malvoyants, de verres de contact ou de lunettes.

Optométristes

Les optométristes exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation de l'oeil et du système optique, ainsi que dans le diagnostic, le traitement et la prévention des maux suivants : a) les troubles de réfraction; b) les troubles et dysfonctions oculomoteurs et sensoriels de l'oeil et du système optique; c) les maladies prescrites.

Haut de page

Pharmaciens

Les pharmaciens exercent une profession qui consiste dans : a) la garde, la composition, la préparation ainsi que la prescription des médicaments; b) la fourniture d'appareils et accessoires médicaux; la communication de renseignements et d'instructions concernant l'utilisation de ce qui est visé aux alinéas a) et b); d) la promotion de la santé, ainsi que la prévention et le traitement des maladies, des troubles et des dysfonctions par la surveillance et la gestion de pharmacothérapies.

Physiothérapeutes

Les physiothérapeutes exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation des systèmes neuromusculaire, musculo-squelettique et cardiorespiratoire, dans le diagnostic des maladies ou des troubles associés aux dysfonctions physiques, aux blessures ou aux douleurs ainsi que dans le traitement, la rééducation et la prévention ou le soulagement de ces dysfonctions, blessures ou douleurs en vue de développer, de maintenir, de restaurer ou d'accroître la fonction physique et de promouvoir la mobilité.

Psychologues

Les psychologues exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation des troubles mentaux et comportementaux, dans le diagnostic des troubles et désordres neuropsychiques, psychotiques, névrotiques et de la personnalité, dans la prévention et le traitement des troubles et désordres comportementaux ainsi que dans l'entretien et l'amélioration des fonctionnements physique, intellectuel, affectif, social et interpersonnel. Les associés en psychologie sont également réglementés par cet ordre.

Psychothérapeutes

Les psychothérapeutes et les thérapeutes autorisés en santé mentale exercent une profession qui consiste dans consiste à évaluer et à traiter des troubles cognitifs ou affectifs ou des troubles du comportement par des méthodes de psychothérapie appliquées dans le cadre d'une relation thérapeutique fondée principalement sur la communication verbale ou non verbale.

Thérapeutes respiratoires

Les thérapeutes respiratoires exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'application de l'oxygénothérapie, dans le monitorage des fonctions respiratoires ainsi que dans l'évaluation et le traitement des troubles cardio-respiratoires et troubles associés en vue d'assurer ou de rétablir la ventilation.

Praticiens en médecine traditionnelle chinoise et les acupuncteurs

Les praticiens en médecine traditionnelle chinoise et les acupuncteurs exercent une profession qui consiste dans l'évaluation des troubles systémiques de l'organisme au moyen de techniques propres à ce type de médecine et dans leur traitement par des méthodes thérapeutiques fondées sur celle-ci pour promouvoir, maintenir ou rétablir la santé.

Haut de page

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1-866-532-3161
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

 

Division de la planification et de la réglementation relatives aux ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé
56, rue Wellesley Ouest, 12e étage
Toronto ON M5S 2S3