Health Workforce Planning and Regulatory Affairs Division

Supporting Internationally Educated Nurses

The ministry collaborates with various partners to support the integration of Internationally Educated Nurses (IENs) into Ontario's nursing workforce. These partners include :

  • College of Nurses of Ontario (CNO)
    The CNO provides a guide intended for nurses who received their nursing education outside Canada and who are not currently registered to practise nursing. Here, internationally educated nurses can find practical information and resources about the nursing profession in Ontario, as well as the requirements for becoming a Registered Nurse or Registered Practical Nurse in Ontario.

  • HealthForceOntario Access Centre
    The Access Centre offers a range of free services to support newcomers through the registration process.

  • Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration (MCI)
    MCI provides funding for bridging programs to support IENs who are preparing to work in Ontario. These bridging programs can help internationally educated nursing professionals gain the knowledge and information needed to register in Ontario.

  • Creating Access to Regulated Employment (CARE)
    CARE is an Ontario government program to help internationally educated nurses gain the knowledge and experience needed to pass the registration exam and practise nursing safely and confidently in Ontario.

  • Settlement.Org
    Settlement.org is government-funded site that provides an electronic community where newcomers can get information, read relevant news, ask questions and share their experiences with others, as well as access a database of community organizations.

  • Ontario Immigration
    Ontario Immigration provides a variety of programs and services for newcomers working in regulated professions. Each link below will take you to a page with information and resources on how to get licensed, get help and find work in that profession in Ontario.

For More Information

Director, Nursing Policy & Innovation Branch and Provincial Chief Nursing Officer
12th Floor, 56 Wellesley Street West
Toronto, Ontario
M5S 2S3
Telephone: 416-327-9689
Fax: 416-327-0167
Email: nursing@ontario.ca

Division de la planification et de la réglementation relatives aux ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé

Soutien des infirmières formées à l'étranger

Le ministère collabore avec divers partenaires pour appuyer l'intégration des infirmières formées à l'étranger dans la main‑d'œuvre infirmière ontarienne. Ces partenaires sont notamment :

  • L'Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers de l'Ontario (OIIO)
    L'OIIO propose un guide à l'intention des infirmières qui ont reçu leur formation à l'extérieur du Canada et qui ne sont pas autorisées à exercer. Ici, les infirmières formées à l'étranger trouveront des renseignements et des ressources utiles sur l'exercice de leur profession en Ontario, ainsi que les exigences à remplir pour devenir infirmières autorisées ou infirmières auxiliaires autorisées dans notre province.
  • Le Centre d'accès ProfessionsSantéOntario
    Le Centre d'accès offre un éventail de services gratuits pour aider les nouveaux arrivants à obtenir l'inscription auprès de l'ordre compétent.
  • Le ministère des Affaires civiques et de l'Immigration (MACI)
    Le MACI offre un financement aux programmes de formation relais pour aider les infirmières formées à l'étranger qui se préparent pour exercer en Ontario. Ces programmes de formation relais peuvent aider les professionnels des soins infirmiers formés à l'étranger à obtenir les connaissances et les renseignements nécessaires pour l'inscription en Ontario.
  • Programme de formation relais CARE pour le personnel infirmier (en anglais seulement)
    Le programme CARE est offert par le gouvernement de l'Ontario pour aider les infirmières formées à l'étranger à acquérir les connaissances et l'expérience nécessaires pour réussir à l'examen d'agrément et exercer leur profession en toute sécurité et en toute confiance en Ontario.
  • Etablissement.Org
    Ce site financé par le gouvernement propose un cyberespace où les nouveaux arrivants peuvent obtenir des renseignements et des nouvelles pertinentes, poser des questions, partager leurs expériences avec d'autres personnes et accéder à une base de données sur les organismes communautaires.
  • Immigration Ontario
    Immigration Ontario propose une gamme de programmes et de services aux nouveaux arrivants qui exercent une profession réglementée. Chacun des liens suivants vous conduira à une page contenant des renseignements et des ressources sur la marche à suivre pour obtenir l'agrément, recevoir de l'aide et trouver un emploi dans cette profession en Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus

Directrice, Direction des politiques et de l'innovation en matière de soins infirmiers et infirmière en chef de la province
12e étage, 56 rue Wellesley Ouest,
Toronto, Ontario
M5S 2S3
Tél. : 416 327-9689
Fax : 416 327-0167
Email: nursing@ontario.ca