Health Human Resources Strategy Division

International Medical Graduates

Eligibility to Practise

Qualified International Medical Graduates (IMGs) are a valuable part of the health care system. Ontario leads the country in the number of postgraduate medical training positions it provides for IMGs. The province continues to offer 200 new training and assessment positions annually for IMGs. This is more than all other provinces combined.

Where to Get Information

IMGs living in Ontario are encouraged to contact the HealthForceOntario Access Centre. Advisors are there to help IMGs find the most effective path into practice in the province and explain the steps they need to take.

An IMG's eligibility for practice in Ontario - and the processes he or she must follow - depends on education and practice experience.

Applying Directly to the College of Physicians and Surgeons

Some IMGs don't need to go through a ministry-funded training or assessment program. These IMGs can apply for practice registration directly through the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. For example, IMGs who have been certified in another Canadian jurisdiction, U.S. trained physicians who have met all U.S. certification requirements, or physicians who have accredited postgraduate training in the U.S. may be able to apply directly.

Obtaining Postgraduate Training or Assessment

The 200 training positions and assessments offered to IMGs annually are a combination of 1) entry level and advanced residency positions and 2) practice ready assessments. About half of these are in family medicine, a two-year residency. Physicians in other specialities or sub-specialities require four or more years of residency.

The ministry is not involved in placing or selecting candidates for these positions. The medical schools are responsible for selecting candidates.

Entry level positions

IMGs apply directly for entry-level residency positions through the Canadian Resident Matching Services (CaRMS). All IMGs who are Canadian citizens or permanent residents and meet the CaRMS application criteria can apply. Medical schools decide who will be accepted.

IMGs interested in entry-level positions can also use the services of the Centre for the Evaluation of Health Professionals Educated Abroad (CEHPEA). CEHPEA provides evaluations for IMGs which may help candidates strengthen their portfolios and be more competitive in the CaRMS match. An evaluation through CEHPEA is mandatory for entry into certain residency programs.

Advanced positions

Advanced level training refers to the second year or more advanced years of postgraduate training in a specialty area. IMGs entering at this level have been identified as needing between one and four years of training. To be considered for advanced training, applicants require at least one year of postgraduate education in the specialty they're applying for.

A Practice Ready Assessment allows eligible physicians with recent practice experience to go through a six-month assessment in a supervised clinical setting at an Ontario medical school. This determines whether the physician is ready to enter directly into practice or if he or she needs more training.

IMGs interested in advanced level training and practice ready assessment positions must apply through CEHPEA. In any year, CEHPEA will only conduct eligibility assessments for advanced level entry and practice ready positions for specialties where medical schools have identified potential capacity.

It is important to remember that all ministry-funded IMG training and assessment programs in Ontario have return-of-service requirements.

Back to top

HealthForceOntario Access Centre

HealthForceOntario is the government's health human resource strategy designed to ensure we have access to the right number and mix of health care providers, now and in the future. A key component of HealthForceOntario is the Access Centre for internationally educated health professionals.

The Access Centre opened in December 2006 and provides intensive case management service to health care professionals, including IMGs, in order to provide support through the licensure and registration process.

Visit the HealthForceOntario website to learn about the Access Centre or contact HealthForceOntario:

By mail or in person :
HealthForceOntario Marketing and Recruitment Agency
163 Queen Street, 2nd Floor
Toronto, ON  M5A 1S1

(Hours of Operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm EST)

By telephone :
Toronto : 416-862-2200
North America : 1-800-596-4046
International : 1-800-596-4046 ext. 4

By email:

Back to top

Return of Service Agreements

More than 200 new training and assessment opportunities are made available each year for international medical graduates (IMGs) wanting to practise medicine in the province. Physicians who accept these positions must agree to provide five years of full-time service in an eligible community. Physicians confirm their commitment by signing a Return-of-Service (ROS) agreement with the ministry. ROS agreements ensure that IMG participants fill the need for physicians in Ontario communities. ROS requirements are clearly specified in the signed agreements.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at :
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm


Health Human Resources Strategy Division
2nd Floor, Macdonald Block
900 Bay Street, Suite M2-61
Toronto ON M7A1R3

Division de la planification et de la réglementation relatives aux ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé

Diplômés internationaux de médecine


Admissibilité à l'exercice de sa profession

Les diplômés internationaux de médecine (DIM) compétents forment un maillon précieux du système de santé. L'Ontario est premier au pays pour le nombre de postes de formation postdoctorale qu'il propose aux DIM. La province continue d'offrir aux DIM 200 nouveaux postes de formation et d'évaluation chaque année. C'est plus que toutes les autres provinces réunies.

Où obtenir de l'information

Les DIM qui résident en Ontario sont invités à communiquer avec le Centre d'accès ProfessionsSantéOntario. Des conseillères et des conseillers sont là pour aider les DIM à trouver le chemin le plus efficace vers l'exercice de leur profession dans la province et pour leur expliquer la marche à suivre.

L'admissibilité d'un DIM à l'exercice de sa profession en Ontario et la marche à suivre pour l'obtenir dépendent de sa formation et de son expérience. 

S'adresser directement à l'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario

Certains DIM n'ont pas besoin de suivre un programme de formation ou d'évaluation financé par le ministère et peuvent demander l'inscription à la profession en s'adressant directement à l'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario, notamment les DIM qui ont obtenu leur agrément dans une autre province ou un territoire canadien, les médecins formés aux États-Unis qui ont satisfait à tous les critères d'agrément en vigueur là-bas et les médecins qui possèdent une formation postdoctorale reconnue aux États-Unis.

Obtenir une formation postdoctorale ou une évaluation

Les 200 postes de formation et d'évaluation offerts aux DIM chaque année regroupent : 1) des postes de résidence de premier échelon et de niveau avancé; 2) des évaluations du degré de préparation à l'exercice de la profession. Environ la moitié de ces postes sont offerts en médecine familiale, pour une résidence de deux ans. Les médecins rattachés à d'autres spécialités ou sous-spécialités doivent effectuer une résidence de quatre ans ou plus.

Le ministère ne participe pas au placement ni à la sélection des candidats à ces postes. Les facultés de médecine se chargent de la sélection des candidats.

Postes de premier échelon

Les DIM qui briguent un poste de résidence de premier échelon présentent leur demande directement à Canadian Resident Matching Services (CaRMS). Tous les DIM qui sont citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents et qui remplissent les critères de CaRMS  peuvent présenter une demande. Les facultés de médecine décident qui sera accepté.

Les DIM intéressés par des postes de premier échelon peuvent également utiliser les services du Centre for the Evaluation of Health Professionals Educated Abroad (CEHPEA). Le CEHPEA offre aux DIM des évaluations qui peuvent aider ces candidats à consolider leur portfolio et à être plus concurrentiels aux fins de jumelage par CaRMS. Une évaluation par l'entremise du CEHPEA est obligatoire pour l'admission à certains programmes de résidence.

Postes de niveau avancé

La formation de niveau avancé désigne la deuxième année ou les années plus avancées d'une formation postdoctorale dans une spécialité. Les DIM qui commencent à ce niveau ont été reconnus comme ayant besoin d'une formation d'un an à quatre ans. Pour que l'on envisage de leur offrir une formation avancée, les candidats doivent avoir fait au moins une année d'études postdoctorales dans la spécialité visée par leur demande.  

Une évaluation du degré de préparation permet aux médecins admissibles et possédant une expérience récente d'entreprendre une évaluation de six mois en milieu clinique supervisé, dans une faculté de médecine de l'Ontario. Ceci permet de déterminer si le médecin est prêt à intégrer directement l'exercice de la profession ou s'il a besoin d'une formation supplémentaire.

Les DIM intéressés par des postes de formation avancée et des postes d'évaluation du degré de préparation doivent présenter une demande au CEHPEA. Au cours d'une année, l'évaluation de l'admissibilité pour des postes de niveau avancé et d'évaluation du degré de préparation ne sera offerte par le CEHPEA que dans les spécialités dans lesquelles les facultés de médecine auront constaté une capacité potentielle.

Il faut savoir qu'en Ontario, tous les programmes financés par le ministère pour la formation et l'évaluation des DIM s'accompagnent d'une promesse de service.

Haut de page

Centre d'accès ProfessionsSantéOntario

ProfessionsSantéOntario est la stratégie gouvernementale des ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé qui vise à nous garantir l'accès au nombre et à l'agencement adéquats de fournisseurs de soins de santé, maintenant et pour les années à venir. L'un des volets clés de ProfessionsSantéOntario est le Centre d'accès pour les professionnels de la santé formés à l'étranger.

Le Centre d'accès est entré en fonction en décembre 2006 et fournit un service intensif de gestion de cas aux professionnels de la santé, notamment aux DIM, pour les aider dans le processus d'agrément et d'inscription.

Visiter le site Web de ProfessionsSantéOntario pour en savoir plus sur le Centre d'accès ou communiquer avec ProfessionsSantéOntario :

Par courriel ou en personne :
Agence de promotion et de recrutement de ProfessionsSantéOntario
163, rue Queen, 2e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M5A 1S1
Canada

(heures d'ouverture : de 8 h 30 à 17 h, HNE)

Par téléphone :
Toronto : 416 862-2200
Amérique du Nord : 1 800 596-4046
International : 1 800 596-4046, poste 4

Par courriel :
AccessCentre@HealthForceOntario.ca

Haut de page

Contrats de promesse de service

Plus de 200 nouvelles possibilités de formation et d'évaluation sont offertes chaque année aux diplômés internationaux de médecine (DIM) qui souhaitent exercer la médecine dans notre province. Les médecins qui acceptent ces postes doivent consentir à effectuer cinq ans de service à plein temps dans une collectivité admissible. Ils confirment leur engagement en signant une promesse de service avec le ministère. Les contrats de promesse de service garantissent que les DIM participants comblent la demande de médecins dans les collectivités ontariennes. Les exigences relatives à la promesse de service sont énoncées clairement dans les contrats qu'ils signent.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1-866-532-3161
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

 

Division de la planification et de la réglementation relatives aux ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé
56, rue Wellesley Ouest, 12e étage
Toronto ON M5S 2S3