Health Workforce Planning and Regulatory Affairs Division


Licensing of Physicians

The following organizations are concerned with the licensing of physicians in Ontario and Canada :

Agreement on Internal Trade (AIT) and Physician Mobility

The AIT and the Ontario Labour Mobility Act, 2009 require Ontario to register regulated professions including physicians coming from elsewhere in Canada. When an applicant comes from another Canadian jurisdiction where certificates of registration exist that are similar to Ontario's, the CPSO is required to register that applicant to practise without any additional material education or training.

The CPSO has incorporated the AIT requirements into its registration policies and registration regulation.

Repatriation Program

The Repatriation Program is a route into residency for qualified candidates who have completed postgraduate training outside of Canada but require up to two years of additional training to meet Canadian certification requirements.

Re-Entry Training Positions for Canadian Physicians

Through the Re-Entry Program, the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) offers funding each year for physicians currently practising in Canada to re-enter postgraduate medical training. For re-entry training positions beginning in July 2012, the ministry has funding for a total of 50 positions for qualified physicians.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at :
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm


Health Workforce Planning and
Regulatory Affairs Division
12 Floor
56 Wellesley Street West
Toronto ON M5S 2S3

Division de la planification et de la réglementation relatives aux ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé

Permis


Agrément des médecins

Les organismes suivants s'occupent de l'agrément des médecins en Ontario et au Canada.

Accord sur le commerce intérieur (ACI) et mobilité des médecins

Aux termes de l'ACI et de la Loi ontarienne de 2009 sur la mobilité de la main-d'oeuvre, l'Ontario doit inscrire les médecins provenant d'autres régions du Canada. Lorsqu'un candidat vient d'une autre région du Canada où les certificats d'inscription sont semblables à ceux de l'Ontario, l'OMCO doit inscrire ce candidat pour qu'il puisse exercer sans que soient exigées de lui d'autres attestations d'études ou de formation.

L'OMCO a intégré les exigences de l'AIT (en anglais seulement) dans sa politique d'inscription et son règlement relatif à l'inscription.

Programme de rapatriement

Le programme de rapatriement est une voie d'accès à la résidence pour les candidats admissibles qui ont suivi une formation postdoctorale à l'extérieur du Canada mais qui doivent suivre une formation supplémentaire d'une durée maximale de deux ans pour satisfaire aux exigences canadiennes d'agrément.

Postes de formation pour la réintégration des médecins canadiens

Dans le cadre du Programme de réintégration pour les médecins, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) offre un financement annuel aux médecins qui exercent au Canada pour qu'ils puissent se réinscrire à la formation médicale postdoctorale. En termes de formation pour la réintégration débutant en juillet 2012, le ministère financera au total 50 postes pour les médecins admissibles.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1-866-532-3161
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

 

Division de la planification et de la réglementation relatives aux ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé
56, rue Wellesley Ouest, 12e étage
Toronto ON M5S 2S3