Health Workforce Planning and Regulatory Affairs Division

Medical Education

Ontario is working to ensure the right number and mix of doctors are in the right places across the province. This involves working with Ontario's medical schools, physicians, communities and other partners to improve access to health care. Medical education in Ontario includes undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing professional development.

Undergraduate Medical Education

Undergraduate medical education is a three- or four-year program of classroom learning and clinical training (clerkship). Graduates receive a Medical Doctor, or MD, degree.

The following universities offer undergraduate medical education in Ontario :

 

Postgraduate Medical Education

Postgraduate residency programs provide clinical training in an area of specialization (for example, family medicine, surgery or psychiatry). Residents work and are paid during their training. Those who successfully complete their residency become eligible to take the national certification exams which are necessary to enter practice.

The following universities offer postgraduate medical education in Ontario :

Continuing Professional Development

In Ontario, there is a wide range of continuing medical education and professional development programs. These are offered through universities, hospitals, associations, and provincial and national colleges. Some of these include :

 

SIM-One

SIM-one provides value-added services in healthcare simulation, including education, events (such as the Ontario Simulation Exposition) and consulting services—which draw upon the network's resource-rich pool of interprofessional simulation experts—as well as interactive member services.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at :
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free in Ontario only)
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

 

Health Workforce Planning and Regulatory Affairs Division
56 Wellesley Street West,
12th Floor
Toronto ON M5S 2S3

Division de la planification et de la réglementation relatives aux ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé

Formation médicale

L'Ontario fait le nécessaire pour accroître le nombre de médecins dans la province. À cette fin, il collabore avec les facultés de médecine, les médecins, les collectivités et ses autres partenaires pour améliorer l'accès aux soins de santé. La formation médicale en Ontario comprend des études de premier cycle, des études postdoctorales et un perfectionnement professionnel continu.

Études médicales de premier cycle

Les études médicales de premier cycle consistent en un programme de trois ou quatre ans d'instruction en salle de classe et de formation (stage) clinique. Les diplômés reçoivent un diplôme de médecin (MD).

Les universités ontariennes suivantes offrent une formation médicale postdoctorale :

 

Études médicales postdoctorales

Les programmes de résidence postdoctoraux fournissent une formation clinique dans une spécialité (par exemple, la médecine familiale, la chirurgie ou la psychiatrie). Les résidents travaillent et sont rémunérés pendant leur formation. Ceux qui terminent leur programme de résidence avec succès sont autorisés à passer les examens d'agrément nationaux qui sont obligatoires pour intégrer la profession.

Les universités ontariennes suivantes offrent une formation médicale postdoctorale :

Perfectionnement professionnel continu

En Ontario, il existe un vaste éventail de programmes de formation médicale continue et de perfectionnement professionnel. Ils sont offerts par l'entremise d'universités, d'hôpitaux, d'associations et de collèges provinciaux et nationaux, dont les suivants :

 

SIM-One

SIM-one fournit des services à valeur ajoutée en simulation de soins de santé, notamment de la formation, des activités (p. ex., l'Ontario Simulation Exposition) et des services de consultation qui mettent à contribution le riche noyau d'experts en simulation qui font partie de ce réseau interprofessionnel, ainsi que des services interactifs à ses membres.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1-866-532-3161
(Appels sans frais en Ontario seulement)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

 

Division de la planification et de la réglementation relatives aux ressources humaines dans le domaine de la santé
56, rue Wellesley Ouest, 12e étage
Toronto ON M5S 2S3