Community-Based Specialty Clinics Strategy

Frequently Asked Questions - Applications Process for Low-Risk Cataract Procedures

Submitting an Application

When is the deadline for submitting specialty clinic applications?

The deadline for applications is April 22, 2014 11:59 PM (Eastern Standard Time), according to the time that the e-mail is received in the Ministry of Health and Long Term Care's (Ministry) and Local Health Integration Network's (LHIN) e-mail systems (the Application Submission Deadline).

How should applications be submitted?

Applications must be submitted by email to both the LHIN (see guidelines for appropriate LHIN contact email address) and the Ministry at specialtyclinics@ontario.ca by the above Application Submission Deadline.

Will receipt of an application be acknowledged before it is assessed and evaluated?

All applicants who have submitted an application will receive an acknowledgement e-mail within one business day of the application being received. If you have not received an acknowledgement email, please contact us at specialtyclinics@ontario.ca with a copy of the original email submission.

Is the process different for existing IHFs responding to the applications process?

All applicants will need to submit an application if they are interested in creating a specialty clinic under the Community-Based Specialty Clinics Strategy.

Questions during the Applications Process

Will the Ministry respond to questions from applicants during the application process?

Yes. Questions should be directed to the specialtyclinics@ontario.ca. The Questions Submission Deadline is March 31, 2014 at 11:59 PM (Eastern Standard Time), according to the time that the e-mail is received in the MOHLTC's e-mail systems. All questions (without identifying who submitted the questions) received by the deadline and the responses will be posted on the Ministry's Specialty Clinics web page at www.ontario.ca/specialtyclinics so that all potential applicants can benefit from the response.

How can additional information be obtained about the applications process?

Questions about the applications process (and general questions about the Community-Based Specialty Clinics Strategy) can be submitted via e-mail to: SpecialtyClinics@ontario.ca. Questions from applicants related to an application must be submitted before the Question Submission Deadline in order for ministry responses to be posted prior to the Application Submission Deadline.

Is it possible to submit questions after the question submission deadline?

Questions about the applications process received after the Question Submission Deadline (March 31, 2014 at 11:59 PM) will be answered. However, the responses may not be available prior to the Application Submission Deadline. Reponses will be posted to the Ministry's Specialty Clinics web page.

Will the Ministry hold information sessions for applicants on the specialty clinic application process?

The Ministry will consider hosting information sessions for applicants if there is interest. Notification about information sessions will be posted on the Ministry's Specialty Clinics web page.

Evaluation of Applications

What is the LHIN's role in evaluating the application?

Once the application is submitted, the respective LHIN will evaluate the application to ensure alignment with the LHIN Integrated Service Plan and local Vision Care Plan as appropriate/applicable. If the LHIN supports the application, the LHIN CEO will need to formally sign the application prior to submitting it to the Ministry. As part of the LHIN advice to the Ministry, LHINs will be asked to outline :

  • community feedback on the application;
  • the LHIN's support for the proposal; and
  • the LHIN's recommendation(s) to the Ministry.

When will the Ministry evaluate the application?

The Ministry will evaluate a specialty clinic application if the respective LHIN has endorsed the application and provided the advice noted above to the Ministry.

What is the Ministry's role in the evaluating the application?

The Ministry will evaluate all applications endorsed by the LHIN on their ability to meet the requirements identified in the application guidelines. The Ministry will be responsible for identifying applicants that are conditionally approved. Final approval will be issued once all relevant requirements are met, including physical design and quality requirements.

Outcome of Applications

When will applicants be notified about the outcome of the application process?

Successful applicants will be notified of conditional approval in summer/fall 201Applicants that are conditionally approved will need to meet all relevant requirements, including all quality and physical design requirements, before final approval may be granted.

Applicants who do not successfully meet requirements will be notified in summer/fall 2014.

Will there be other opportunities for unsuccessful applicants?

The Ministry plans to launch future applications processes under the Community-Based Specialty Clinic Strategy.  Previously unsuccessful applicants would be eligible to re-apply if interested in the future.

Consultation with Hospitals and LHINs

When should applicants start consultation with Hospitals and LHINs?

Applicants should contact the hospital and LHIN as early as possible. Procedures will not shift out of hospitals without the support of the hospital and the LHIN. Early engagement is encouraged to ensure agreement between the parties and alignment with local LHIN integration plans.

Are there any specific requirements under the Local Health System Integration Act, 2006 (LHSIA) that applicants need to be aware of?

Applicants will need to work with the hospitals to notify the LHIN if the shift in services from the hospital to the specialty clinic is considered a "service integration" according to the Local Health System Integration Act, 2006 (see application guidelines for further details).

Non-Profit Status

When does an applicant need to confirm incorporation as a non-profit organization?

A specialty clinic will need to confirm that it is incorporated as a non-profit organization at the time of submitting the application.

Are there any guidelines for establishing a non-profit organization?

Applicants should refer to the Not-for-Profit Incorporator's Handbook as a guide for establishing a non-profit organization. Forms for incorporation as a non-profit are available on the Ministry of Government Services (MGS) website.

Funding Questions

How is the Quality Based Procedure (QBP) Price Determined?

The Ministry is phasing in a patient-based funding model where 'money follows the patient'. QBPs were first introduced in April 2012 and use clinical best practices to identify appropriate procedures and pricing. The development of QBP best practices and prices are grounded on evidence, available case costing data and clinical consensus.

Currently, QBP prices for several services are being phased into hospital budgets. The price for these services, excluding physician professional fees, will be set as a maximum cost per case for Community-Based Specialty Clinics.

How does the QBP price apply to Specialty Clinics?

Funding will be re-allocated at the QBP rate at which the hospital shifting procedures was funded, up to a maximum of the average provincial QBP rate per procedure. In 2013/14, the average QBP funding for direct costs for cataract procedures is $547. In future years, the price may be adjusted based on evidence.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Stratégie des cliniques communautaires spécialisées

Foire aux questions - Processus de demande pour les chirurgies de la cataracte à faible risque

Présentation d'une demande

Quelle est la date limite pour présenter une demande de création d'une clinique spécialisée?

La date limite de présentation des demandes est le 22 avril 2014 à 23 h 59 (heure de l'Est), selon l'heure à laquelle le courriel est reçu dans les systèmes de messagerie électronique du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (le « ministère ») et du réseau local d'intégration des services de santé (RLISS) (la « date limite de présentation des demandes »).

Comment puis-je soumettre ma demande?

Les demandes doivent être soumises par courriel au RLISS (voir les lignes directrices pour connaître l'adresse de courriel de la personne-ressource du RLISS approprié) et au ministère à l'adresse cliniquesspecialisee@ontario.ca avant la date limite de présentation des demandes indiquée ci-dessus.

Un accusé de réception de la demande sera-t-il envoyé avant que celle-ci soit évaluée?

Toutes les personnes qui ont présenté une demande recevront un accusé de réception par courriel dans un délai d'un jour ouvrable suivant la réception de la demande. Si vous n'avez pas reçu un accusé de réception, veuillez communiquer avec nous à l'adresse cliniquesspecialisee@ontario.ca et joindre une copie de la demande originale dans votre courriel.

Le processus est-il différent pour les ESA existants qui répondent au processus de demande?

Tous les auteurs de demande devront présenter une demande s'ils souhaitent créer une clinique spécialisée dans le cadre de la Stratégie des cliniques communautaires spécialisées.

Questions durant le processus de demande

Le ministère répondra-t-il aux questions des auteurs de demande durant le processus de demande?

Oui. Les questions doivent être envoyées à l'adresse cliniquesspecialisee@ontario.ca. La date limite de soumission des questions est le 31 mars 2014 à 23 h 59 (heure de l'Est), selon l'heure à laquelle le courriel est reçu dans les systèmes de messagerie électronique du ministère. Toutes les questions reçues au plus tard à la date limite et leurs réponses seront affichées (sans identifier la personne qui les a soumises) sur la page Web du ministère sur les cliniques spécialisées à l'adresse http://www.health.gov.on.ca/fr/pro/programs/ihf/specialtyclinics/default.aspx#application de sorte que tous les auteurs de demande potentiels puissent bénéficier de la réponse.

Comment puis-je obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur le processus de demande?

Vous pouvez envoyer des questions portant sur le processus de demande (et des questions générales sur la Stratégie des cliniques communautaires spécialisées) par courriel à l'adresse cliniquesspecialisee@ontario.ca. Les questions des auteurs de demande relatives aux demandes doivent être envoyées avant la date limite de soumission des questions afin que les réponses du ministère puissent être affichées avant la date limite de présentation des demandes.

Est-il possible de soumettre des questions après la date limite de soumission des questions?

Le ministère répondra aux questions portant sur le processus de demande qui sont envoyées après la date limite de soumission des questions (31 mars 2014 à 23 h 59). Toutefois, les réponses envoyées après cette date, qui seront affichées sur la page Web du ministère portant sur les cliniques spécialisées, peuvent ne pas être accessibles avant la date limite de présentation des demandes.

Le ministère offrira-t-il des séances d'information sur le processus de demande de création de cliniques spécialisées à l'intention des auteurs de demande?

Le ministère envisagera de tenir des séances d'information à l'intention des auteurs de demande si ceux-ci démontrent un intérêt à cet égard. Un avis sur les séances d'information sera affiché sur la page Web du ministère qui porte sur les cliniques spécialisées.

√Čvaluation des demandes

Quel est le rôle du RLISS dans l'évaluation des demandes?

Une fois la demande soumise, le RLISS approprié évaluera la demande afin de s'assurer qu'elle s'harmonise à son plan d'intégration des services de santé et au plan de soins ophtalmologiques local, le cas échéant. Si le RLISS appuie la demande, le directeur général ou la directrice générale du RLISS devra signer officiellement la demande avant de la soumettre au ministère. Les avis que les RLISS envoient au ministère doivent comprendre les éléments suivants :

  • la rétroaction de la collectivité relativement à la demande;
  • le soutien du RLISS à l'égard de la proposition;
  • la ou les recommandations du RLISS au ministère.

Dans quelles circonstances le ministère évaluera-t-il la demande?

Le ministère évaluera les demandes de création d'une clinique spécialisée si le RLISS approprié a approuvé la demande et a envoyé au ministère l'avis dont il est question ci-dessus.

Quel est le rôle du ministère dans l'évaluation des demandes?

Le ministère évaluera toutes les demandes approuvées par le RLISS en se fondant sur la capacité des établissements à respecter les exigences énoncées dans les lignes directrices relatives à la présentation des demandes. Le ministère sera responsable de déterminer les auteurs dont la demande est approuvée conditionnellement. L'approbation définitive sera donnée une fois que toutes les exigences pertinentes auront été satisfaites, notamment les exigences en matière de qualité et de conception matérielle.

Résultat des demandes

À quel moment les auteurs de demande seront-ils informés du résultat du processus de demande?

Les auteurs dont la demande est retenue seront informés de l'approbation conditionnelle de leur demande à l'été ou à l'automne 2014. Les auteurs dont la demande est approuvée conditionnellement devront satisfaire à toutes les exigences pertinentes, y compris toutes les exigences en matière de qualité et de conception matérielle, avant que l'approbation définitive puisse être accordée.

Les auteurs de demande qui n'ont pas satisfait avec succès aux exigences en seront informés à l'été ou à l'automne 2014.

Les auteurs dont la demande n'est pas retenue auront-ils une autre occasion de présenter une demande?

Le ministère envisage de lancer d'autres processus de demande dans le futur dans le cadre de la Stratégie des cliniques communautaires spécialisées. Les auteurs dont la demande n'aura pas été retenue précédemment seront admissibles à présenter une nouvelle demande s'ils le souhaitent.

Consultation avec les hôpitaux et les RLISS

À quel moment les auteurs de demande devraient-ils commencer à consulter les hôpitaux et les RLISS?

Les auteurs de demande doivent communiquer avec l'hôpital et le RLISS le plus tôt possible. Les interventions ne seront pas transférées à l'extérieur des hôpitaux sans le soutien de l'hôpital et du RLISS. Les consultations devraient avoir lieu le plus tôt possible afin de garantir qu'une entente soit conclue entre les parties et d'en assurer l'harmonisation aux plans d'intégration locaux du RLISS.

Y a-t-il des exigences précises en vertu de la Loi de 2006 sur l'intégration du système de santé local que les auteurs de demande devraient connaître?

Les auteurs de demande devront collaborer avec les hôpitaux afin d'indiquer au RLISS si le transfert des services de l'hôpital à la clinique spécialisée est considéré comme une « intégration de services » en vertu de la Loi de 2006 sur l'intégration du système de santé local (voir les lignes directrices relatives à la présentation des demandes pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements).

Statut d'organisme sans but lucratif

À quel moment l'auteur de la demande doit-il confirmer sa constitution à titre d'organisme sans but lucratif?

La clinique spécialisée devra confirmer sa constitution à titre d'organisme sans but lucratif au moment de présenter sa demande.

Existe-t-il des lignes directrices pour constituer un organisme sans but lucratif?

Les auteurs de demande devraient consulter le Guide à l'intention des fondateurs de personnes morales sans but lucratif pour savoir comment constituer un organisme sans but lucratif. Les formulaires sur la constitution d'un organisme à titre d'organisme sans but lucratif sont accessibles sur le site Web du ministère des Services gouvernementaux (MSG).

Questions relatives au financement

Comment établit-on le prix des procédures fondées sur la qualité (PFQ)?

Le ministère met progressivement en œuvre un modèle de financement selon lequel « l'argent suit le patient ». Les PFQ ont été mises en œuvre pour la première fois en avril 2012 et utilisent les pratiques exemplaires cliniques pour établir les interventions et le prix appropriés. L'établissement des pratiques exemplaires et des prix des PFQ s'appuie sur des données probantes, sur des données des coûts par cas et sur des consensus cliniques.

Actuellement, le prix des PFQ pour plusieurs services est progressivement intégré au budget des hôpitaux. Le prix de ces services, à l'exception des honoraires professionnels des médecins, sera fixé comme coût maximum par cas pour les cliniques communautaires spécialisées.

Comment le prix des PFQ s'applique-t-il aux cliniques spécialisées?

Les fonds seront redistribués au taux des PFQ auquel était financé l'hôpital transférant les interventions, jusqu'à concurrence du taux moyen provincial des PFQ par intervention. En 2013-2014, le financement moyen des coûts directs des PFQ pour les chirurgies de la cataracte est de 547 $. Au cours des prochaines années, le prix pourrait être rajusté selon les données probantes.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h