Immunization

Healthy Choices, Healthy Children : Why Vaccinations Are A Healthy Choice for A Strong Immune System!

Pediatricians of Ontario (Pediatrics Section, Ontario Medical Association) recognize that some parents have concerns about vaccines. That's why the Pediatricians Alliance of Ontario asked more than 130 pediatricians what parents were asking them about vaccinations. This handout talks about what they heard from parents and offers information from the pediatricians themselves.

MYTH #1 : Vaccines can cause disorders such as autism.

The Facts - Vaccines help to build your child's immune system so it can resist harmful diseases. Because children are vaccinated at around the same age as autism is often diagnosed, some people think vaccinations and autism are linked … but they're not! Vaccines do not cause autism.

What does this mean for me and my family? Here's what pediatricians say :


MYTH #2 : A few of the materials used in vaccines are unsafe.

The Facts - In Canada, we have very strict guidelines for making vaccines. Safety tests are carried out by the Biologics and Genetic Therapies Directorate of Health Canada. Certain materials – such as thimerosal, formaldehyde and aluminum – are used to kill bacteria and make vaccines as safe and effective as possible.

What does this mean for me and my family? Here's what pediatricians say :


MYTH #3 : Multiple injections will overwhelm my baby's immune system.

The Facts - Vaccines are designed to protect your baby as soon as possible against more than one disease. Rather than overwhelming your baby's immune system, vaccines make the immune system stronger. Babies do not experience more side effects when more than one vaccine is given at a time.

What does this mean for me and my family? Here's what pediatricians say :


MYTH #4 : "Natural" immunity is better than vaccine immunity.

The Facts - Natural infection from certain diseases can kill or seriously harm your child before his/her body is able to develop a strong immune system. Vaccines use harmless or inactive virus or bacteria to trigger the body's natural immune response to provide long-term protection against a disease, without the risk of getting the disease. Vaccination is like a rehearsal for the immune system, so it is prepared if your child is exposed to the "real" disease.

What does this mean for me and my family? Here's what pediatricians say :


MYTH #5 : Vaccine-preventable diseases don't exist in Canada anymore, so there is no need for my child to be immunized.

The Facts - We are lucky! Our immunization programs have reduced the number of cases of and deaths resulting from many serious diseases in Canada. Even if the chances of contracting them in Canada are quite small, these diseases still exist in other parts of the world and can infect anyone who is not protected. Vaccination continues to provide the best protection against these diseases.

What does this mean for me and my family? Here's what pediatricians say :


MYTH #6 : Many people who are immunized still get the disease, which proves that vaccines don't work.

The Facts - Sometimes a person does not develop immunity to the disease after being vaccinated. However, it is important to note that the vaccine does not cause the disease. As well, if a person who is vaccinated develops the disease, it will be less severe.

What does this mean for me and my family? Here's what pediatricians say :


MYTH #7 : A healthy lifestyle and breastfeeding are enough to protect me and my child.

The Facts - A healthy lifestyle is important to help maintain your overall good health. Breastfeeding gives babies a great start but it will not protect your child against all of the specific diseases that can be prevented with vaccination.

What does this mean for me and my family? Here's what pediatricians say :


Conclusions

Vaccines are safe and effective, and immunization programs in Canada help protect you and your family from vaccine-preventable diseases. It is very important that you talk to your health care provider about any concerns regarding vaccines. Health care providers are passionate about protecting children and will take the time to discuss your concerns and share their knowledge about how vaccines work to build your child's immune system! A healthy immune system is the key to wellness.

Download a PDF handout for your patients

Image:Pdf icon.gif To view PDF format files, you need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer.
You can download this free software from the Adobe Web site.

Resources

The following list of online resources will help you learn more about vaccines. Remember, when looking for information, it is important to consider the source. Check to see if the website is sponsored by a government or non-profit organization, or a doctor or other health care professional.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Immunisation

Des choix sains pour des enfants en bonne santé : Pourquoi la vaccination constitue un choix sain pour un système immunitaire fort!

Les pédiatres de l'Ontario (section pédiatrique de l'Association médicale de l'Ontario) savent qu'il y a des parents qui se posent des questions sur les vaccins. C'est pour cette raison que la Pediatricians Alliance of Ontario a demandé à plus de 130 pédiatres de lui faire part des questions que les parents se posent sur la vaccination. Ce feuillet parle de ce que les parents pensent et donne des renseignements provenant des pédiatres eux-mêmes.

MYTHE No 1 : Les vaccins peuvent causer des troubles comme l'autisme.

Les faits - Les vaccins aident à renforcer le système immunitaire de votre enfant afin qu'il puisse résister à des maladies dangereuses. Parce que les enfants sont vaccinés environ au même âge que celui où l'on diagnostique souvent l'autisme, certains pensent qu'il existe un lien entre la vaccination et l'autisme... ce qui est faux! Les vaccins ne provoquent pas l'autisme.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour ma famille et pour moi? Voici ce que les pédiatres en disent :


MYTHE No 2 : Certains ingrédients utilisés dans les vaccins sont dangereux.

Les faits - Au Canada, il y a des directives très strictes en ce qui concerne la fabrication des vaccins. La Direction des produits biologiques et des thérapies génétiques de Santé Canada effectue des tests d'innocuité. Certains ingrédients, comme le thimérosal, le formaldéhyde et l'aluminium, servent à tuer les bactéries et à rendre les vaccins aussi sûrs et efficaces que possible.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour ma famille et pour moi? Voici ce que les pédiatres en disent :


MYTHE No 3 : Les injections multiples surchargent le système immunitaire de mon bébé.

Les faits - Les vaccins sont conçus pour protéger votre bébé contre plusieurs maladies dès que possible. Plutôt que de surcharger le système immunitaire de votre bébé, les vaccins le renforcent. Les bébés n'éprouvent pas davantage d'effets secondaires lorsque l'on administre plus d'un vaccin à la fois.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour ma famille et pour moi? Voici ce que les pédiatres en disent :


MYTHE No 4 : L'immunité naturelle est meilleure que l'immunité provenant de vaccins.

Les faits - L'infection naturelle à certaines maladies peut causer la mort de votre enfant ou de graves troubles avant que son corps ait eu l'occasion de se forger un système immunitaire fort. Les vaccins utilisent des bactéries ou des virus inactifs ou inoffensifs pour déclencher une réaction immunitaire naturelle du corps, afin d'offrir une protection à long terme contre la maladie, sans exposition au risque de contracter la maladie. La vaccination agit en quelque sorte comme un entraînement pour le système immunitaire, afin qu'il soit préparé si votre enfant est exposé à la véritable maladie.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour ma famille et pour moi? Voici ce que les pédiatres en disent :


MYTHE No 5 : Les maladies pouvant être évitées par la vaccination n'existent plus au Canada; mon enfant n'a donc pas besoin d'être immunisé.

Les faits - Nous avons de la chance! Nos programmes d'immunisation ont diminué le nombre de cas de maladies graves et de décès qu'elles causent au Canada. Cependant, même si les risques de contracter ces maladies au Canada sont très faibles, elles existent toujours autre part dans le monde et peuvent toucher ceux qui ne sont pas protégés. La vaccination demeure le meilleur moyen de se protéger contre ces maladies.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour ma famille et pour moi? Voici ce que les pédiatres en disent :


MYTHE No 6 : De nombreuses personnes qui sont vaccinées contractent la maladie quand même, ce qui prouve que les vaccins ne sont pas efficaces.

Les faits - Il arrive parfois que quelqu'un ne puisse pas se créer une immunité contre la maladie après avoir été vacciné. Il faut toutefois noter qu'un vaccin ne cause pas la maladie. De plus, si une personne vaccinée contracte la maladie, celle-ci sera moins grave.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour ma famille et pour moi? Voici ce que les pédiatres en disent :


MYTHE No 7 : Un mode de vie sain et l'allaitement suffisent à nous protéger, mon enfant et moi.

Les faits - Un mode de vie sain contribue largement au maintien d'une bonne santé générale. L'allaitement donne un excellent départ aux bébés, mais il ne protège pas votre enfant contre les maladies qui peuvent être évitées par la vaccination.

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour ma famille et pour moi? Voici ce que les pédiatres en disent :


Conclusion

Les vaccins sont efficaces et sans danger. Les programmes d'immunisation au Canada vous aident à vous protéger, vous et votre famille, contre les maladies qui peuvent être évitées par la vaccination. Il est très important que vous parliez avec votre fournisseur de soins de santé de vos préoccupations en ce qui concerne les vaccins. Les fournisseurs de soins de santé ont la protection de vos enfants très à coeur, et ils prendront le temps de discuter de vos préoccupations et de partager leurs connaissances sur le fonctionnement des vaccins pour bâtir le système immunitaire de votre enfant! Une vie en bonne santé commence par un bon système immunitaire.

Ressources

Pour en savoir plus sur les vaccins, consultez les ressources en ligne ci-dessous. Lorsque vous cherchez des renseignements, souvenez-vous qu'il est important d'en vérifier la source. Vérifiez si le site Web est parrainé par un organisme gouvernemental ou sans but lucratif, ou encore par un médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h