Health Care Professionals

OHIP for HC Professionals

Medical Liability Protection (MLP) Reimbursement Program

Program Requirements

Eligibility and Reimbursement Requirements

Physicians including interns, residents and clinical fellows must be licensed by the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO). Licensing requirements are available on the CPSO website located at: http://www.cpso.on.ca/uploadedFiles/downloads/cpsodocuments/policies/By-Laws_General_08.pdf

Physicians must be practicing medicine in Ontario and be a resident of Canada during the reimbursement period. Eligible reimbursements will be pro-rated based on the period of work in Ontario and residency in Canada.

A reimbursement payment option must be registered with the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC). To register or change a payment option, a Medical Liability Protection (MLP) Reimbursement Program Authorization must be completed and returned to the ministry at the address below.

CMPA members who select an automated reimbursement payment option (Option A - Advance Reimbursement or Option B - In Year Quarterly Reimbursement) must register direct deposit banking information with the ministry.

MOHLTC reimbursements are made directly to the physician. It is the physicians’ responsibility to confirm or report the reimbursement of medical liability protection fees paid by any third party such as a hospital, clinic or university.

Financing charges for instalment payments are not eligible for reimbursement by the ministry.

Change of Status, Overpayment and Recovery

Physicians are required to inform the ministry if their eligibility status has changed.

Payments made under the Medical Liability Protection (MLP) Reimbursement Program may be subject to adjustment as permitted or required by law.

For More Information

Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
Claims Services Branch
Medical Liability Protection (MLP) Reimbursement Program
P.O. Box 48
Kingston, Ontario K7L 5J3

Call MLP Reimbursement Program toll free at: 1-888-805-9877
Fax: (613) 545-5810
Hours of operation: 8:00am – 5:00pm

Professionels de la santé

Assurance-santé pour les professionnels de la santé

Programme de remboursement pour l'assurance responsabilité médicale (Programme de remboursement ARM)


Exigences du programme

Exigences en matière d'admissibilité et de remboursement

Les médecins, y compris les internes, les résidents et les boursiers en clinique doivent être titulaires d'un permis délivré par l'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario (OMCO). Les exigences pour obtenir un permis sont indiquées sur le site Web de l'OMCO à l'adresse suivante : www.fairnesscommissioner.ca.

Les médecins doivent être pratiquante la médecine en Ontario et être un résident du Canada pendant la période de remboursement. Les remboursements seront calculés proportionnellement à la période travaillée en Ontario et de résidence au Canada.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée doit être informé du mode de remboursement souhaité. Pour indiquer ou modifier un mode de remboursement, vous devez remplir le formulaire intitulé Autorisation du Programme de remboursement pour l'assurance responsabilité médicale (ARM) et retourné au ministère à l'adresse ci-dessous.

Les membres de l'ACPM qui choisissent un mode de remboursement automatisé (option A – Remboursement anticipé ou option B – Remboursements trimestriels en cours d'année) doivent avoir fourni au ministère les renseignements bancaires nécessaires afin de permettre le versement direct à un compte bancaire.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée (MSSLD) rembourse directement les médecins. Il incombe aux médecins de confirmer et de signaler le remboursement des cotisations d'assurance responsabilité médicale (ARM) payées par une tierce partie comme un hôpital, une clinique ou une université.

Les frais de financement liés aux versements échelonnés ne sont pas admissibles à un remboursement par le ministère.

Changement de statut, paiement excédentaire et recouvrement

Les médecins dont le statut d'admissibilité a changé sont tenus d'en informer le ministère.

Les paiements versés dans le cadre du Programme de remboursement pour l'assurance responsabilité médicale peuvent faire l'objet de rajustements exigés par la loi.

Pour en savoir plus

Ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée
Direction des services pour les demandes de règlement
Programme de remboursement pour l'assurance responsabilité médicale (Programme de remboursement ARM)
700 - 75, rue Albert
Ottawa ON K1P 5Y9

Pour des renseignements concernant le programme de remboursement ARM, veuillez contacter le Service Support Centre au : 1-800-262-6524
Fax: (613) 545-5810
Email: MLPReimbursement@ontario.ca
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 00 - 17 h, sauf les jours fériés