Learn More >

Ministry Status: Activation Status

Emergency Planning and Preparedness

COVID-19 - Coronavirus disease

Last reviewed March 5, 2020
Last updated March 5, 2020

What's New?

The following update was made on March 5, 2020:

  • This page was updated with general information on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

On 31 December 2019, the WHO China Country Office was informed of cases of pneumonia of unknown etiology (unknown cause) detected in Wuhan City, Hubei Province in China. A novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2, which causes coronavirus disease COVID-19) was identified as the causative virus by Chinese authorities on 7 January, 2020.

On 10 January, WHO published a range of interim guidance for all countries on how they can prepare for this virus, including how to monitor for sick people, test samples, treat patients, control infection in health centres, maintain the right supplies, and communicate with the public about this new virus.

Common signs of infection include respiratory symptoms, fever, cough, shortness of breath and breathing difficulties. In more severe cases, infection can cause pneumonia, kidney failure and death. 

Standard recommendations to prevent infection spread include regular hand washing, covering mouth and nose when coughing and sneezing. Avoid close contact with anyone showing symptoms of respiratory illness such as coughing and sneezing.

Based on currently available information, the WHO does not recommend any restriction of travel or trade. Countries are encouraged to continue strengthening their preparedness for health emergencies in line with the International Health Regulations (2005).

There is no vaccine currently available and no specific treatment for this virus.

On January 25, 2020, a presumptive confirmed case of COVID-19 was announced in Ontario in an individual who had recently travelled to Wuhan, China. Further cases have been identified in Ontario, all of which have been traced to affected areas that have ongoing COVID-19 transmission. At this time, the public health risk posed to the people of Ontario by this virus is considered low. This assessment has been made through consideration of the information available at this time, namely:

  • Almost all cases have been linked to countries where ongoing community transmission has been reported.
  • Effective Infection Prevention & Control measures in place in the Ontario health system.

As it is possible that some people who have contracted this virus will travel from the epicenter of the outbreak in China or from other countries with community spread, health care workers in Ontario should consider the possibility of COVID-19 infection in persons who meet the case definitions outlined in the Ministry of Health's Guidance for Health Workers and Health Sector Employers on 2019-nCoV. The ministry will review the case definition and update as appropriate in consultation with Public Health Ontario and the Public Health Agency of Canada.

The ministry's guidance also provides health care workers and health sector employers with information on laboratory testing and appropriate occupational health & safety and infection prevention & control measures.


To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

For More Information

Ministry of Health
Health System Emergency Management Branch
1075 Bay Street, Suite 810
Toronto, Ontario
Canada M5S 2B1
Fax : 416-212-4466
TTY : 1-800-387-5559
E-mail : emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca

 

Health workers and health sector employers can call the Healthcare Provider Hotline for more information
Toll free : 1-866-212-2272

CritiCall Ontario provides a 24 hour call centre for hospitals to contact on-call specialists; arrange for appropriate hospital bed access and facilitate urgent triage for patients
1-800-668-4357

  • Connect With Us
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

Voir plus >

Situation au ministère: Activation

Gestion des situations d'urgence

Maladie à coronavirus - COVID-19

Dernière révision 5 mars 2020
Dernière mise à jour 5 mars 2020

Quoi de neuf?

Les mises à jour suivantes ont été apportées le 5 mars 2020 :

  • Cette page a été mise à jour pour fournir de l'information générale sur la maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19).

Le 31 décembre 2019, le Bureau de l'OMS en Chine a été informé de cas de pneumonie d'étiologie inconnue (origine inconnue) détectés à Wuhan, dans la province de Hubei, en Chine. Un nouveau coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2, lequel cause la maladie à coronavirus COVID-19) a été identifié comme étant le virus responsable par les autorités chinoises le 7 janvier 2020.

Le 10 janvier, l'OMS a publié une série de lignes directrices provisoires à l'intention de tous les pays sur la manière de se préparer à ce virus, notamment la façon de surveiller les malades, d'analyser les échantillons, de traiter les patients, de lutter contre l'infection dans les centres de santé, de conserver les fournitures appropriées et de communiquer avec le public au sujet de ce nouveau virus.

Les signes courants d'infection comprennent les symptômes respiratoires, la fièvre, la toux, l'essoufflement et les difficultés respiratoires. Dans les cas plus graves, l'infection peut provoquer une pneumonie, une insuffisance rénale et la mort. 

Les recommandations standards pour prévenir la propagation de l'infection comprennent le lavage régulier des mains et la couverture de la bouche et du nez quand on tousse et éternue. éviter les contacts étroits avec quiconque présente des symptômes de maladie respiratoire comme la toux et l'éternuement.

Selon les renseignements actuellement disponibles, l'OMS ne recommande aucune restriction concernant les voyages ou les échanges commerciaux. Les pays sont invités à continuer de renforcer leur préparation aux interventions sanitaires d'urgence conformément au Règlement sanitaire international (2005).

Aucun vaccin n'est actuellement disponible et il n'y a pas de traitement spécifique pour ce virus.

Le 25 janvier 2020, l'Ontario a annoncé la confirmation d'un cas présumé de COVID-19; la personne diagnostiquée est récemment revenue de Wuhan, en Chine. D'autres cas ont été signalés en Ontario, lesquels ont tous été liés à des zones touchées où il y a transmission active. à l'heure actuelle, le risque pour la santé publique que pose ce virus à la population de l'Ontario est considéré comme étant faible. Cette évaluation a été effectuée en tenant compte des renseignements disponibles en ce moment, soit :

  • presque tous les cas ont été associés à des paysoù est signalée une transmission communautaire active;
  • le système de santé de l'Ontario a mis en place des mesures efficaces de prévention et de lutte contre les infections.

étant donné qu'il est possible que des personnes ayant contracté ce virus se déplacent de l'épicentre de l'éclosion, en Chine, où d'autres pays qui connaissent une propagation communautaire, les travailleurs de la santé de l'Ontario devraient envisager la possibilité d'infections au COVID-19 chez les personnes qui répondent aux critères de définition de cas énoncés dans les Lignes directrices sur le nCoV-2019 pour les employeurs et les travailleurs du secteur de la santé du ministère de la Santé. Le ministère examinera la définition de cas et la mettra à jour, au besoin, en consultation avec Santé publique Ontario et l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Les lignes directrices du ministère fournissent également des renseignements aux employeurs et aux travailleurs du secteur de la santé sur les analyses de laboratoire, les mesures appropriées de santé et sécurité au travail et les mesures de prévention et de lutte contre les infections.


Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Pour en savoir plus

Ministère de la Santé
Direction de la gestion des situations d'urgence pour le système de santé
1075, rue Bay, bureau 810
Toronto (Ontario)
Canada M5S 2B1
Téléc. : 416-212-4466
ATS : 1-800-387-5559
Courriel : emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca

 

Les travailleurs et les employeurs du secteur de la santé peuvent appeler le Service de renseignements aux professionnels de la santé
Sans frais : 1-866-212-2272

CritiCall Ontario est un centre d’appel qui propose des services 24 heures sur 24 aux hôpitaux qui veulent joindre un spécialiste de garde, organiser l’accès à un lit d’hôpital approprié et faciliter le triage urgent des patients.
1-800-668-4357

  • Connectez-vous avec nous
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS