Influenza information for Ontario health care providers

Print

A Guide to the Control of Respiratory Infection Outbreaks in Long-Term Care Homes

Respiratory infection outbreaks occur in long-term care homes (LTCHs) throughout the year but are more common from the fall to early spring. These can lead to substantial morbidity and mortality and are disruptive and costly for LTCHs. Respiratory tract infections are commonly diagnosed infections in LTCH residents. In Ontario, based on data from the Public Health Ontario Laboratory (PHOL), the most common respiratory viruses causing respiratory infection outbreaks are influenza A and B, entero-rhinovirus, coronavirus, RSV, parainfluenza, and metapneumovirus. Occasionally, not only one, but two or more infectious agents are identified in an outbreak.

LTCH residents are predisposed to Acute Respiratory Infections (ARIs) in part because they may be elderly, may have chronic illnesses which weaken their immune system, and may have chronic lung or neurological diseases which impair their ability to clear secretions from their lungs and airways. However, residents are also at risk because many viral and bacterial respiratory pathogens are easily transmitted in an institutional environment.

Early detection together with the timely implementation of outbreak control measures that are carefully adhered to, can effectively minimize transmission of infection, thereby preventing or more quickly bringing an outbreak under control.

The purpose of this guide is to assist LTCHs and public health units (PHUs) with prevention, detection and management of respiratory infection outbreaks which arise from the transmission of common viral pathogens, through droplet exposure.

A Guide to the Control of Respiratory Infection Outbreaks in Long-Term Care Homes 
The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care has compiled resources to support health care providers implement effective infection prevention & control (IPAC) and occupational health & safety (OHS) measures during the 2016/2017 influenza season.
96 pages | 1.33 mb | PDF format

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

For More Information
For information about flu

Call the ServiceOntario INFOline at 1-877-844-1944
TTY 1-800-387-5559
TTY (Toronto) 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

To speak with a registered nurse

Visit Telehealth Ontario or call 1-866-797-0000
TTY: 1-866-797-0007
Hours of operation : 24 hours, 7 days a week

To find health care options in your community

Visit ontario.ca/healthcareoptions or call 1-866-330-6206.

To find a health care provider

If you don’t have a health care provider, you can register for the Health Care Connect program. Visit ontario.ca/healthcareconnect or call 1-800-445-1822.

Professionnels de la santé

Guide relatif à la lutte contre les éclosions d'infections respiratoires dans les foyers de soins de longue durée

Les éclosions d'infections respiratoires surviennent dans les foyers de soins de longue durée (FSLD) tout au long de l'année, mais elles sont plus courantes de l'automne et jusqu'au début du printemps. Elles peuvent entraîner une morbidité et une mortalité élevées, sans compter les perturbations et les coûts engendrés pour les FSLD. Les infections des voies respiratoires constituent des infections fréquemment diagnostiquées chez les résidents des FSLD. En Ontario, selon les données fournies par le laboratoire de Santé Publique Ontario (laboratoire de SPO), les virus respiratoires qui causent le plus d'éclosions d'infections respiratoires sont la grippe de types A et B, l'entéro-rhinovirus, le coronavirus, le RSV, le parainfluenza et le métapneumovirus. À l'occasion, on décèle non seulement un mais au moins deux agents infectieux dans le cadre d'une éclosion.

Les résidents des FSLD sont prédisposés aux infections respiratoires aiguës (IRA), notamment en raison de leur âge avancé, d'une maladie chronique qui affaiblit leur système immunitaire ou d'une maladie pulmonaire ou neurologique chronique qui les empêche d'expectorer les sécrétions qui obstruent les poumons et les voies respiratoires. Cependant, les résidents courent également un risque parce que de nombreux agents pathogènes viraux et bactériens se transmettent facilement dans un environnement institutionnel.

La détection précoce ainsi que la mise en œuvre en temps opportun de mesures de lutte contre les éclosions et leur respect rigoureux peuvent effectivement minimiser la transmission d'une infection, permettant ainsi de prévenir une éclosion ou de la maîtriser plus rapidement.

L'objet du présent guide est d'aider les FSLD et les bureaux de santé publique (BSP) à assurer la prévention, la détection et la gestion des éclosions d'infections respiratoires résultant de la transmission de pathogènes viraux communs à la suite d'une exposition à des gouttelettes.

Guide relatif à la lutte contre les éclosions d'infections respiratoires dans les foyers de soins de longue durée
Le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée a préparé une liste de ressources afin d'aider les fournisseurs de soins de santé à mettre en œuvre des mesures efficaces concernant la prévention et le contrôle des infections ainsi que la santé et la sécurité au travail au cours de la saison grippale 2016-2017.
109 pages | 1.33 mb | format PDF

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Pour en savoir plus
Pour obtenir de l’information sur la grippe

Appelez la Ligne INFO de ServiceOntario au 1 877 844-1944
ATS 1 800 387-5559
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Pour parler à une infirmière autorisée

Consultez la page Télésanté Ontario ou composez le 1 866 797-0000
ATS : 1 866 797-0007
Heures d'ouverture : 24 heures sur 24, sept jours par semaine

Pour trouver des options de soins de santé dans votre collectivité

Rendez-vous sur ontario.ca/optionssoinsdesante ou composez le 1 866 330-6206

Pour trouver un fournisseur de soins de santé

Si vous n’avez pas de fournisseur de soins de santé, vous pouvez vous inscrire au programme Accès Soins. Rendez-vous sur ontario.ca/accessoins ou composez le 1 800 445-1822