Influenza information for Ontario health care providers

Print

Influenza Activity & Surveillance

The following does not constitute medical advice. If you have a medical question or symptoms of illness, you should consult a physician. This information is being shared for information purposes only as part of a pilot project. Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Ontario as represented by the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care makes no representation or warranty of any kind as to the accuracy, completeness or currency of the information provided. The information is subject to change at any time and without prior notice.

Influenza Activity

Current Provincial Status*
 

Green

General Notification

Based on the result of this week's risk assessment process, the current provincial status will transition to green. The assessment this week is primarily based on respiratory-related Emergency Department (ED) visits and pneumonia and influenza-like illness (ILI) related admissions.

Last reviewed February 21, 2017
Last updated February 21, 2017

* The provincial status is based on the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care's review of a number of influenza activity indicators. For information on influenza activity at the public health unit-level, please see the Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington Public Health Knowledge Management Division's influenza mapper tool.

For more information on the process used to determine the influenza activity level in Ontario, please see the Seasonal Influenza Risk Assessment Process.

Global Influenza Activity Resources

There are a variety of sources that health workers and health sector employers can turn to for information on influenza activity in Ontario, Canada, North America and the world:

Seasonal Influenza Risk Assessment Process

From November to April, the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care reviews a set of indicators on a weekly basis to assess how the province is progressing through the influenza season. These indicators include data from syndromic and laboratory surveillance systems, as well as health system utilization data.

The ministry is piloting a classification system to describe influenza activity and to support decision-making by health organizations. Over the course of the 2016/2017 influenza season, the classification system will be validated for future improvements. This system describes provincial influenza activity according to a green, yellow, orange and red colour scheme:

Green - Influenza-related activity is at low seasonal levels.

Yellow - Influenza-related activity is at elevated seasonal levels.

Orange - Influenza-related activity is at elevated seasonal levels and may be reaching peak levels this week.

Red - Influenza-related activity is at greatly elevated levels.

For more information about this project, please contact the ministry's Emergency Management Branch by email at emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca or by phone at 1-866-212-2272.

For More Information
For information about flu

Call the ServiceOntario INFOline at 1-877-844-1944
TTY 1-800-387-5559
TTY (Toronto) 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

To speak with a registered nurse

Visit Telehealth Ontario or call 1-866-797-0000
TTY: 1-866-797-0007
Hours of operation : 24 hours, 7 days a week

To find health care options in your community

Visit ontario.ca/healthcareoptions or call 1-866-330-6206.

To find a health care provider

If you don’t have a health care provider, you can register for the Health Care Connect program. Visit ontario.ca/healthcareconnect or call 1-800-445-1822.

Professionnels de la santé

Activité grippale et surveillance de la grippe

Ce qui suit ne constitue pas un avis médical. Si vous avez une question de nature médicale ou un symptôme d'une maladie, vous devriez consulter un médecin. Les renseignements ci-dessous sont communiqués uniquement à des fins d'information dans le cadre d'un projet pilote. Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l'Ontario, représentée par la ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée, ne fait aucune représentation et ne fournit aucune garantie de quelque nature que ce soit quant à l'exactitude, à l'intégralité ou à l'actualité de l'information qui est présentée. Les renseignements peuvent être modifiés en tout temps et sans avis préalable.

Activité grippale

Situation provinciale actuelle*
 

Vert

Notification générale

  • Aucune retombée importante sur les soins de courte durée ou d'autres secteurs n'est prévue cette semaine en raison de l'activité grippale.
  • Cette semaine est une bonne occasion de mettre l'accent sur les activités de prévention de la grippe, y compris l'examen des mesures de prévention et de contrôle des infections, comme les stratégies d'hygiène des mains et la vaccination du personnel du secteur de la santé, des clients, des patients et des résidents.
Dernière révision 5 décembre 2016
Dernière mise à jour 5 décembre 2016

* La situation provinciale repose sur l'examen de plusieurs indicateurs d'activité grippale effectué par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur l'activité grippale au niveau du service de santé publique, veuillez consulter l'outil de cartographie de la grippe préparé par la division de gestion des connaissances du Bureau de santé publique de Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus utilisé pour déterminer les niveaux d'activité grippale en Ontario, veuillez consulter la section intitulée Processus d'évaluation du risque de la grippe saisonnière.

Ressources concernant l'activité grippale mondiale

Le personnel et les employeurs du secteur de la santé peuvent consulter une variété de sources pour obtenir de l'information sur l'activité grippale en Ontario, au Canada, en Amérique du Nord et dans le monde.

Processus d'évaluation du risque de la grippe saisonnière

De novembre à avril, le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée analyse chaque semaine un ensemble d'indicateurs afin d'évaluer l'évolution de la saison de la grippe dans la province. Ces indicateurs comprennent des données syndromiques et provenant des systèmes de surveillance en laboratoire, ainsi que des données sur l'utilisation du système de santé.

Le ministère met à l'essai un système de classification pour décrire l'activité grippale et appuyer la prise de décision dans les organismes de santé. Au cours de la saison grippale 2016-2017, le système de classification sera validé afin d'y apporter d'autres améliorations. Ce système décrit l'activité grippale selon un code de couleurs vert, jaune, orange et rouge :

Vert - L'activité grippale est à de faibles niveaux saisonniers.

Jaune - L'activité grippale atteint des niveaux saisonniers élevés.

Orange - L'activité grippale atteint des niveaux saisonniers élevés et elle pourrait atteindre un pic au cours de la semaine.

Rouge - L'activité grippale a atteint des niveaux saisonniers considérablement élevés.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ce projet, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction de la gestion des situations d'urgence, par courriel à emergencymanagement.moh@ontario.ca ou par téléphone au 1 866 212-2272.

Pour en savoir plus
Pour obtenir de l’information sur la grippe

Appelez la Ligne INFO de ServiceOntario au 1 877 844-1944
ATS 1 800 387-5559
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h

Pour parler à une infirmière autorisée

Consultez la page Télésanté Ontario ou composez le 1 866 797-0000
ATS : 1 866 797-0007
Heures d'ouverture : 24 heures sur 24, sept jours par semaine

Pour trouver des options de soins de santé dans votre collectivité

Rendez-vous sur ontario.ca/optionssoinsdesante ou composez le 1 866 330-6206

Pour trouver un fournisseur de soins de santé

Si vous n’avez pas de fournisseur de soins de santé, vous pouvez vous inscrire au programme Accès Soins. Rendez-vous sur ontario.ca/accessoins ou composez le 1 800 445-1822