Ontario Public Health Standards

Foundational Standard

Public health programs and services that are informed by evidence are the foundation for effective public health practice. Evidence-informed practice is responsive to the needs and emerging issues of the health unit and uses the best available evidence to address them. Population health assessment, surveillance, research, and program evaluation generate evidence that contributes to the public health knowledge base and ultimately improves public health programs and services.

Goal

  • Public health practice responds effectively to current and evolving conditions, and contributes to the public's health and well-being.

Societal Outcomes

  • Population health needs are anticipated, identified, addressed, and evaluated.
  • Emerging threats to the public's health are prevented or mitigated.
  • Community-based planning and delivery of public health programs and services incorporate new public health knowledge.

Board of Health Outcomes

  • Public health programs and services are planned and implemented to address local population health needs.
  • The public, community partners, and health care providers are aware of relevant and current population health information.
  • The board of health identifies public health priorities, including identification of emerging public health issues.
  • The board of health allocates resources to reflect public health priorities and reallocates resources, as feasible, to reflect emergent public health priorities.
  • Relevant audiences have available information that is necessary for taking appropriate action.
  • Public health practitioners, policy-makers, community partners, health care providers, and the public are aware of the best available research regarding the factors that determine the health of the population and support effective public health practice.
  • The board of health has effective partnerships with community researchers, academic partners, and other appropriate organizations to support public health research and knowledge exchange.
  • The board of health identifies program implementation issues in a timely and effective manner.
  • Public health practitioners and policy-makers are aware of the effectiveness of existing programs and services, as well as of factors contributing to their outcomes.

Population Health Assessment

Population health assessment includes measuring, monitoring, and reporting on the status of a population's health, including determinants of health and health inequities. Population health assessment provides the information necessary to understand the health of populations through the collaborative development and ongoing maintenance of population health profiles, identification of challenges and opportunities, and monitoring of the health impacts of public health practice.

Requirements

  1. The board of health shall assess current health status, health behaviours, preventive health practices, health care utilization relevant to public health, and demographic indicators in accordance with the Population Health Assessment and Surveillance Protocol, 2008 (or as current). [PDF]
  2. The board of health shall assess trends and changes in local population health in accordance with the Population Health Assessment and Surveillance Protocol, 2008 (or as current). [PDF]
  3. The board of health shall use population health, determinants of health and health inequities information to assess the needs of the local population, including the identification of populations at risk, to determine those groups that would benefit most from public health programs and services (i.e., priority populations3).
  4. The board of health shall tailor public health programs and services to meet local population health needs, including those of priority populations to the extent possible based on available resources.
  5. The board of health shall provide population health information including determinants of health and health inequities to the public, community partners, and health care providers, in accordance with the Population Health Assessment and Surveillance Protocol, 2008 (or as current). [PDF]

Surveillance

Surveillance is the systematic and ongoing collection, collation, and analysis of health-related information that is communicated in a timely manner to all who need to know, so that action can be taken. Surveillance contributes to effective public health program planning, delivery, and management. Dissemination of surveillance analyses may take the form of reports, advisories, healthy public policy recommendations, alerts, or warnings. Surveillance has historically been associated with infectious diseases and vaccination programs, but its importance has become increasingly recognized for environmental health issues, child health, reproductive health, chronic disease prevention, and injury prevention.

Requirements

  1. The board of health shall conduct surveillance, including the ongoing collection, collation, analysis, and periodic reporting of population health indicators, as required by the Health Protection and Promotion Act and in accordance with the Population Health Assessment and Surveillance Protocol, 2008 (or as current). [PDF]
  2. The board of health shall interpret and use surveillance data to communicate information on risks to relevant audiences in accordance with the Identification, Investigation and Management of Health Hazards Protocol, 2008 (or as current); the Infectious Diseases Protocol, 2008 (or as current); the Population Health Assessment and Surveillance Protocol, 2008 (or as current); [PDF] the Public Health Emergency Preparedness Protocol, 2008 (or as current); and the Risk Assessment and Inspection of Facilities Protocol, 2008 (or as current). [PDF]

Research and Knowledge Exchange

Exploring an issue or investigating a question is accomplished through research - the organized and purposeful collection, analysis, and interpretation of data. Research may involve the primary collection of new data or the analysis or synthesis of existing data and research findings. Knowledge exchange is collaborative problem-solving among public health practitioners, researchers, and decision-makers, which takes place through linkage and exchange. It results in mutual learning through the process of planning, producing, disseminating, and applying existing or new research in decision-making.

Requirements

  1. The board of health shall engage in knowledge exchange activities with public health practitioners, policy-makers, community partners, health care providers, and the public regarding factors that determine the health of the population and support effective public health practice gained through population health assessment, surveillance, research, and program evaluation.
  2. The board of health shall foster relationships with community researchers, academic partners, and other appropriate organizations to support public health research and knowledge exchange.
  3. The board of health shall engage in public health research activities,4 which may include those conducted by the board of health alone or in partnership or collaboration with other organizations.

Program Evaluation

Program evaluation is the systematic gathering, analysis, and reporting of data about a program to assist in decision-making. It includes quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-method approaches. Program evaluation produces the information needed to support the establishment of new programs and services (needs assessment); assess whether evidence-informed programs are carried out with the necessary reach, intensity, and duration (process evaluation); or document the effectiveness and efficiency of programs and services (outcome evaluation).

Requirements

  1. The board of health shall routinely monitor program activities and outcomes to assess and improve the implementation and effectiveness of programs and services, including collection, analysis, and periodic reporting of indicators related to inputs, resources, implementation processes, reach, outputs, and outcomes.
  2. The board of health shall conduct program evaluations when new interventions are developed or implemented, or when there is evidence of unexpected operational issues or program results, to understand the linkages between inputs, activities, outputs, and outcomes.
  3. The board of health shall use a range of methods to facilitate public health practitioners' and policy-makers' awareness of the factors that contribute to program effectiveness.

Resources

Live Literature Searches

Links to Other Resources

The following external links have been compiled to help you access other health-related Web sites that are not maintained by the Ontario government. Please read our policy concerning external links.

  1. Effective Public Health Practice Project (EPHPP)
  2. health-evidence.ca
  3. Health Nexus
  4. National Collaborating Centre for Determinants of Health
  5. National Collaborating Centre for Healthy Public Policy
  6. National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools
  7. National Collaborating Centres for Public Health

Surveillance and Population Health Assessment

  1. British Columbia - Evidence Review: Health Assessment and Disease Surveillance (June 2006) [PDF]
  2. Public Health Agency of Canada - Toward Effective Community-Based Action: Using Epidemiological Skills in Health Surveillance for Local Public Health Practice November 2000)
  3. The Online Health Program Planner

Research and Knowledge Exchange

  1. Canadian Health Services Research Foundation, Knowledge Exchange
  2. Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Institute of Population and Public Health
  3. National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools

Program Evaluation

  1. Canadian Evaluation Society
  2. Health Promotion Building Capacity Services (Public Health Ontario)
  3. Towards Evidence-Informed Practice [PDF]

Program Planning and Health Equity Resources

  1. Sudbury and District Health Unit
  2. Region of Waterloo Public Health

3 Priority populations are identified by surveillance, epidemiological, or other research studies. They are those populations that are at risk and for which public health interventions may be reasonably considered to have a substantial impact at the population level.
4 Research that involves personal health information must comply with the Personal Health Information Protection Act, and specifically with section 44 of that Act.

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario

Norme fondamentale

Pour qu'une pratique de santé publique soit efficace, il faut que les programmes et les services de santé publique reposent sur des données probantes. Une pratique fondée sur des données probantes tient compte des besoins et des problèmes nouveaux de la circonscription sanitaire et s'en occupe en ayant recours aux meilleures données probantes existantes. L'évaluation de la santé de la population, la surveillance, la recherche et l'évaluation des programmes procurent des données probantes qui contribuent à augmenter la base de connaissances en santé publique et, en fin de compte, à améliorer les programmes et les services de santé publique.

But

  • La pratique de santé publique répond efficacement aux problèmes actuels et nouveaux et contribue à la santé et au bien-être du public.

Résultats sociétaux

  • Les besoins en matière de santé de la population sont prévus, définis, satisfaits et évalués.
  • Les nouvelles menaces pour la santé du public sont éliminées ou réduites.
  • La planification communautaire et la prestation des programmes et des services de santé publique intègrent les nouvelles connaissances en santé publique.

Résultats attendus des conseils de santé

  • Les programmes et les services de santé publique sont planifiés et mis en oeuvre de manière à répondre aux besoins de la population locale en matière de santé.
  • Le public, les partenaires communautaires et les fournisseurs de soins de santé ont des renseignements utiles et à jour sur la santé de la population.
  • Le conseil de santé détermine les priorités en santé publique, y compris l'identification de nouveaux problèmes en santé publique.
  • Le conseil de santé affecte des ressources en fonction des priorités en santé publique et procède à une réaffectation des ressources, dans la mesure du possible, pour tenir compte des nouvelles priorités en santé publique.
  • Les personnes concernées disposent des renseignements nécessaires pour prendre les mesures qui s'imposent.
  • Les praticiens de la santé publique, les décideurs, les partenaires communautaires, les fournisseurs de soins de santé et le public sont au courant des meilleures recherches existantes concernant les facteurs qui déterminent la santé de la population et qui soutiennent une pratique de santé publique efficace.
  • Le conseil de santé entretient des partenariats efficaces avec des chercheurs communautaires, des universitaires et d'autres organismes appropriés afin de soutenir la recherche et l'échange de connaissances en santé publique.
  • Le conseil de santé détecte rapidement et efficacement les problèmes touchant la mise en oeuvre des programmes.
  • Les praticiens de la santé publique et les décideurs sont au courant de l'efficacité des programmes et services existants ainsi que des facteurs qui contribuent aux résultats.

Évaluation de la santé de la population

L'évaluation de la santé de la population consiste notamment à mesurer et à surveiller l'état de santé de la population, y compris les déterminants de la santé et les iniquités en santé, et à faire rapport à ce sujet. Cette évaluation fournit les renseignements nécessaires pour comprendre l'état de la santé des populations grâce à l'élaboration et la mise à jour continue de profils de la santé de la population, à la détermination des difficultés et des opportunités ainsi qu'à la surveillance des effets que la pratique de santé publique a sur la santé.

Exigences

  1. Le conseil de santé doit évaluer l'état de santé, les comportements liés à la santé, les pratiques en santé préventive, l'utilisation des soins de santé en rapport avec la santé publique et les indicateurs démographiques actuels, conformément au Protocole d'évaluation et de surveillance de la santé de la population, 2008 (ou à la version en vigueur). [PDF]
  2. Le conseil de santé doit analyser les tendances et les changements relatifs à la santé de la population locale, conformément au Protocole d'évaluation et de surveillance de la santé de la population, 2008 (ou à la version en vigueur). [PDF]
  3. Le conseil de santé doit utiliser des renseignements sur la santé de la population, les déterminants de la santé et les iniquités en santé pour évaluer les besoins de la collectivité locale et identifier les groupes à risque afin de déterminer pour qui les programmes et les services de santé publique seraient le plus utiles (c.-à-d. les groupes prioritaires3).
  4. Le conseil de santé doit adapter les programmes et les services de santé publique en fonction des besoins de la collectivité locale en matière de santé, y compris ceux des groupes prioritaires dans la mesure du possible, d'après les ressources à sa disposition.
  5. Le conseil de santé doit fournir au public, aux partenaires communautaires et aux fournisseurs de soins de santé des renseignements sur la santé de la population, y compris sur les déterminants de la santé et les iniquités en santé, conformément au Protocole d'évaluation et de surveillance de la santé de la population, 2008 (ou à la version en vigueur). [PDF]

Surveillance

La surveillance comprend la collecte, le regroupement et l'analyse systématiques et continus de renseignements sur la santé en vue de leur transmission rapide aux personnes concernées de sorte que des mesures puissent être prises. Elle contribue à la planification, la prestation et la gestion efficaces des programmes de santé publique. Les analyses de surveillance peuvent être diffusées sous forme de rapports, d'avis, de recommandations sur les politiques publiques favorisant la santé, d'alertes ou d'avertissements. Traditionnellement, la surveillance était associée aux maladies infectieuses et aux programmes de vaccination, mais elle joue un rôle de plus en plus important dans les domaines de la santé environnementale, de la santé de l'enfant, de la santé génésique, de la prévention des maladies chroniques et de la prévention des blessures.

Exigences

  1. Le conseil de santé doit effectuer de la surveillance, ce qui comprend la collecte, le regroupement et l'analyse continus d'indicateurs de la santé de la population et l'établissement de rapports périodiques à ce sujet, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé et au Protocole d'évaluation et de surveillance de la santé de la population, 2008 (ou à la version en vigueur). [PDF]
  2. Le conseil de santé doit interpréter et utiliser les données de surveillance afin de communiquer des renseignements sur les risques aux personnes concernées, conformément aux protocoles suivants : Protocole d'identification, d'enquête et de gestion des risques pour la santé, 2008 (ou à la version en vigueur) [PDF], Protocole concernant les maladies infectieuses, 2008 (ou à la version en vigueur), Protocole d'évaluation et de surveillance de la santé de la population, 2008 (ou à la version en vigueur) [PDF], Protocole de préparation aux situations d'urgence en santé publique, 2008 (ou à la version en vigueur) et Protocole d'évaluation des risques et d'inspection des établissements, 2008 (ou à la version en vigueur). [PDF]

Recherche et échange de connaissances

La recherche, qui comprend la collecte, l'analyse et l'interprétation organisées et réfléchies de données, vise à explorer un enjeu ou à examiner une question en particulier. Elle peut inclure la collecte primaire de nouvelles données ou encore l'analyse ou la synthèse de données et de résultats de recherche existants. L'échange de connaissances est un processus axé sur la collaboration entre les praticiens de la santé publique, les chercheurs et les décideurs qui vise à régler des problèmes grâce à des activités de transfert et d'échange. Il permet un apprentissage partagé dans le cadre de la planification, de la production, de la diffusion et de la mise en application de recherches nouvelles ou existantes pour la prise de décisions.

Exigences

  1. Le conseil de santé doit réaliser des activités d'échange de connaissances avec des praticiens de la santé publique, des décideurs, des partenaires communautaires, des fournisseurs de soins de santé et le public au sujet des facteurs qui déterminent la santé de la population et qui soutiennent une pratique de santé publique efficace grâce à l'évaluation de la santé de la population, à la surveillance, à la recherche et à l'évaluation des programmes.
  2. Le conseil de santé doit nouer des liens avec des chercheurs communautaires, des universitaires et des organismes appropriés afin de soutenir la recherche et l'échange de connaissances en santé publique.
  3. Le conseil de santé doit réaliser des recherches en santé publique4. Il peut s'agir de recherches qu'il effectue seul ou en partenariat ou en collaboration avec d'autres organismes.

Évaluation des programmes

L'évaluation des programmes englobe la collecte, l'analyse et la diffusion systématiques de données sur un programme dans le but de faciliter la prise de décision. Elle s'effectue à l'aide de méthodes quantitatives, qualitatives ou combinées. L'évaluation des programmes fournit les renseignements nécessaires pour créer de nouveaux programmes et services (évaluation des besoins), pour déterminer si la portée, l'intensité et la durée des programmes fondés sur des données probantes sont convenables (évaluation du processus) ou pour consigner des données sur l'efficacité des programmes et des services (évaluation des résultats).

Exigences

  1. Le conseil de santé doit surveiller régulièrement les activités et les résultats liés aux programmes afin d'évaluer et d'améliorer la mise en oeuvre et l'efficacité des programmes et des services. Il doit notamment collecter, analyser et communiquer périodiquement des données sur les intrants, les ressources, les processus de mise en oeuvre, la portée, les extrants et les résultats.
  2. Le conseil de santé doit procéder à une évaluation des programmes lorsque de nouvelles interventions sont élaborées ou réalisées ou lorsqu'il y a des problèmes opérationnels ou des résultats imprévus afin de comprendre les liens entre les intrants, les activités, les extrants et les résultats.
  3. Le conseil de santé doit employer tout un éventail de méthodes pour renseigner les intervenants de la santé publique et les décideurs sur les facteurs qui contribuent à l'efficacité des programmes.

Ressources

Recherches documentaires (en anglais seulement)

Liens vers d'autres ressources

Les liens externes suivants vous aideront à accéder à des sites Web traitant de la santé qui ne sont pas tenus par le gouvernement de l'Ontario. Veuillez prendre connaissance de notre politique concernant les liens externes.

  1. Effective Public Health Practice Project (EPHPP) (en anglais seulement)
  2. donneesprobantes-santé.ca
  3. Nexus Santé
  4. Centre de collaboration nationale des déterminants de la santé
  5. Centre de collaboration nationale - politiques publiques et santé
  6. Centre de collaboration nationale des méthodes et outils
  7. Centre de collaboration nationale en santé publique

Surveillance et évaluation de la santé de la population

  1. Colombie-Britannique - Evidence Review: Health Assessment and Disease Surveillance (juin 2006) [PDF]
  2. Agence de la santé publique du Canada - vers des initiatives communautaires efficaces : le recours aux compétences épidémiologiques dans les programmes locaux de surveillance de la santé publique (novembre 2000)
  3. L'Outil de planification en ligne des programmes de santé

Recherche et échange de connaissances

  1. Fondation canadienne de la recherche sur les services de santé - échange de connaissances
  2. Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada - Institut de la santé publique et des populations
  3. Centre de collaboration nationale des méthodes et outils

Évaluation des programmes

  1. Société canadienne d'évaluation
  2. Services de renforcement des capacités en promotion de la santé
  3. Towards Evidence-Informed Practice [PDF](en anglais seulement)

3 Les groupes prioritaires sont identifiés grâce à la surveillance et à des recherches épidémiologiques ou autres. Il s'agit des groupes à risque pour lesquels il est raisonnable de croire que des interventions en santé publique auraient des effets importants à l'échelle de la population.
4 Dans le cas de recherches portant sur des renseignements personnels sur la santé, il faut se conformer aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé et en particulier à l'article 44 de cette loi.

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h