Ontario Public Health Standards

Principles

The delivery of public health programs and services occurs in diverse and complex geographic, physical, cultural, social, and economic environments that differ significantly across Ontario. There are systemic differences in health status that exist across socio-economic groups (i.e., health inequities). Thus, there are both common and diverse factors that influence and shape the public health response required to achieve a desired health outcome.

Effective public health programs and services take into account communities' needs, which are influenced by the determinants of health. As well, an understanding of local public health capacity and the resources required including collaboration with partners to achieve outcomes is essential for effective management of programs and services.

To ensure that boards of health assess, plan, deliver, manage, and evaluate public health programs and services to meet local needs, while continuing to work towards common outcomes, boards of health shall be guided by the following principles:

  1. Need
  2. Impact
  3. Capacity
  4. Partnership and Collaboration

1. Need

The principle of need acknowledges the importance of using data and information to inform decision-making at the local level regarding program assessment, planning, delivery, management, and evaluation. This principle must be continuously applied at all levels of program and service delivery to ensure optimal performance. In order to be successful in achieving outcomes, boards of health shall continuously tailor their programs and services to address needs that are influenced by differences in the context of their local communities. The Ontario Public Health Standards allow for flexibility in local public health programming by emphasizing the importance of population health assessment and surveillance to inform program planning and service delivery.

Public health programs and services must consider the health needs of the local population. Need is established by assessing the distribution of determinants of health, health status, and incidence of disease and injury. Boards of health shall engage in ongoing population health assessment and surveillance. Information to support this analysis shall be derived from a range of provincial and local indicators using identified data sets and methodologies. These analyses shall use specific information on the following: demographics; burden of disease, including mortality and morbidity rates; reproductive outcomes; risk factor prevalence; cultural and social behaviours related to health; health conditions (including injury and substance misuse); environmental conditions and hazards; health determinants; and other risks to the public's health.

The determinants of health will often inform the needs of a community. It is evident that population health outcomes are often influenced disproportionately by sub-populations who experience inequities in health status and comparatively less control over factors and conditions that promote, protect, or sustain their health. By tailoring programs and services to meet the needs of priority populations, boards of health contribute to the improvement of overall population health outcomes. Boards of health shall also ensure that barriers to accessing public health programs and services are minimized. Barriers can include but are not limited to education; literacy levels; language; culture; geography; economic circumstances; discrimination (e.g., age, sexual orientation, race, etc.); social factors, including social isolation; and mental and physical ability.

Many of the requirements can be more optimally achieved through partnerships with community partners, non-governmental organizations, governmental bodies, and others. The attainment of desired population outcomes, as identified in the Ontario Public Health Standards, is dependent upon the degree of integration of public health programs and services with broader community goals. Collaboration among boards of health, their local community partners, academic institutions, and government is integral to the interpretation and prioritization of needs. Shared knowledge can assist in leveraging resources and aligning community goals and objectives.

Back to top

2. Impact

The ability to influence broader societal changes is the responsibility of many parties. As a sector, public health not only acknowledges the impact of the determinants of health but also strives to influence broader societal changes that reduce health disparities and inequities by coordinating and aligning its programs and services with those of other partners. Public health has a leading role in fostering relationships to support broader health goals to achieve the best possible outcomes for all Ontarians.

Boards of health shall assess, plan, deliver, and manage their programs and services by considering the following:

  • Is there reasonable evidence of the effectiveness of the intervention in the scientific literature or in reviews of best practices? Boards of health shall draw on relevant research, evidence, and best practices to support integration of the Ontario Public Health Standards' requirements within their specific context in order to achieve intended outcomes. Wherever possible, boards of health are encouraged to use integrated and comprehensive approaches for the assessment, planning, delivery, management, and evaluation of programs. Comprehensive approaches require a broad-based, multifaceted range of activities that employ more than one health promotion strategy.
  • Are the interventions compatible with the scope of programming for boards of health? The Ontario Public Health Standards incorporate clearly defined public health functions to assist boards of health in managing their programs and services within established roles. The majority of public health activities shall be aimed at primary prevention, using a population-based approach. Some activities shall be aimed at the secondary prevention level in order to achieve broader population-based effects. All activities shall be developed to:
    • Prevent diseases or eliminate conditions that are important contributors to the burden of disease;
    • Prevent diseases or eliminate conditions that are potentially important threats to health; and/or
    • Improve the overall health, wellness, and resilience of the population as a whole, or of priority populations.
  • What are the barriers to achieving maximum health potential for individuals, groups, and communities and to narrowing inequities in health? Public health interventions shall acknowledge and aim to reduce existing health inequities. Furthermore, boards of health shall not only examine the accessibility of their programs and services to address barriers (e.g., physical, social, geographic, cultural and economic), but also assess, plan, deliver, manage, and evaluate programs to reduce inequities in health while at the same time maximizing the health gain for the whole population.
  • What relevant performance measures exist or can be developed to assess the impact and effectiveness of programs and services? Management of public health programs and services shall require ongoing monitoring of key performance indicators to support continuous quality improvement and evidence-informed public health practice.
  • Do interventions have unintended consequences that need to be further assessed to improve understanding of the program itself or the context in which it is being implemented? Boards of health shall continually re-examine program and service delivery by engaging in relevant assessment and information management, and where appropriate, program evaluation as outlined in the Foundational Standard.

Back to top


3. Capacity

Understanding local public health capacity and the resources required to achieve outcomes is essential for effective management of programs and services. All boards of health shall strive to achieve the needed capacity and resources required to meet these standards. Continuous measurement of the resource implications of the standards supports boards of health in their decision-making for managing towards optimal achievement of outcomes.

Capacity includes many areas: organizational structures and processes; workforce planning, development, and maintenance; information and knowledge systems; and financial resources. Therefore, it is important that boards of health assess their capacity with respect to the breadth and scope of programs and services in relation to the skill levels of their staff, the accessibility of relevant and timely information, and the financial implications involved in achieving the desired outcomes for their populations.

The cornerstone of public health is the quality of its workforce. Programs and services provided by boards of health shall be planned and delivered by staff with both the required technical and professional skills, including core competencies in public health as well as competencies in public health disciplines. Boards of health shall employ the services of appropriately trained professionals as mandated by the HPPA (e.g., medical officers of health, public health dentists, dental hygienists, public health inspectors, public health nurses, and public health nutritionists). Furthermore, staff shall have appropriate training in interdisciplinary public health program planning and effective program delivery (e.g., epidemiology, health promotion, toxicology, program evaluation, informatics, etc.).

Building and sustaining public health human resource capacity is also dependent on continuing educational opportunities and the influx of new professionals into the system. Boards of health shall ensure a competent and diverse public health workforce by providing ongoing staff development and skill building related to public health competencies. This shall include quality improvement and life-long learning programs for staff members, as well as the provision of opportunities for formal and informal public health leadership development. Boards of health shall foster an interest in public health practice for future health professionals by supporting student placements.

Back to top


4. Partnership and Collaboration

Public health programs and services involve extensive partnerships within the health sector (e.g., Local Health Integration Networks and primary health care) and other sectors (e.g., education, social services, housing, workplace health and safety system, and environment). Public health promotes community capacity building by fostering partnerships and collaborating with community partners, including the voluntary sector, non-governmental organizations, local associations, community groups, networks, coalitions, academia, governmental bodies, the private sector, and others. Where appropriate, boards of health shall collaborate with other boards of health to coordinate the delivery of public health programs and services.

Boards of health shall foster the creation of a supportive environment for health through community and citizen engagement in the assessment, planning, delivery, management, and evaluation of programs and services. This will support improved local capacity to meet the public health needs of the community.

The quality and scope of local partnerships shall be an essential indicator of success for boards of health in achieving and maintaining the leadership role required to create the conditions necessary for effective change. Boards of health shall continually monitor and evaluate local partnerships and collaborations to determine their effectiveness.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario

Principes

Les programmes et les services de santé publique sont fournis dans des milieux géographiques, physiques, culturels, sociaux et économiques complexes qui diffèrent beaucoup d'une région de l'Ontario à l'autre. Il y a des différences systémiques entre les groupes socioéconomiques en ce qui a trait à l'état de santé (c.-à-d. des iniquités en santé). Par conséquent, les interventions en santé publique qui sont nécessaires à l'atteinte d'un résultat visé sont influencées et guidées par des facteurs communs et divers à la fois.

Pour assurer l'efficacité des programmes et des services en santé publique, il faut tenir compte des besoins de la collectivité, sur lesquels les déterminants de la santé ont une influence. En outre, il faut identifier les ressources requises ainsi que la capacité au sein du personnel du conseil de santé et des partenaires pour gérer efficacement les programmes et services et obtenir les résultats désirés.

Pour que les conseils de santé puissent analyser, planifier, fournir, gérer et évaluer les programmes et les services de santé publique en fonction des besoins locaux, tout en visant des résultats communs, ils doivent tenir compte des principes suivants :

  1. Le besoin
  2. L'effet
  3. La capacité
  4. Le partenariat et la collaboration

1. Le besoin

Le principe du besoin reconnaît à quel point il est important d'utiliser des données et des renseignements pour prendre des décisions à l'échelle locale concernant l'analyse, la planification, la prestation, la gestion et l'évaluation des programmes. Ce principe doit être constamment appliqué à tous les niveaux de la prestation des programmes et des services afin d'assurer un rendement optimal. Pour réussir à atteindre les résultats, les conseils de santé doivent sans cesse adapter leurs programmes et leurs services de manière à répondre aux besoins qui varient en fonction des différences dans la situation des collectivités locales. Les Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario accordent une certaine souplesse pour l'élaboration des programmes de santé publique locaux en insistant sur l'importance de l'évaluation et la surveillance de la santé de la population pour informer la planification des programmes et la prestation des services.

Les programmes et les services de santé publique doivent tenir compte des besoins de la population locale en matière de santé. Pour définir ces besoins, il faut analyser la répartition des déterminants de la santé, l'état de santé et l'incidence des maladies et des blessures. Les conseils de santé doivent évaluer et surveiller continuellement la santé de la population. Les analyses doivent pour cela se fonder sur un éventail d'indicateurs provinciaux et locaux reposant sur des ensembles de données et des méthodes déterminées. Elles doivent aussi comprendre des renseignements précis sur la démographie, le fardeau de la maladie (y compris les taux de mortalité et de morbidité), les résultats en matière de reproduction, la prévalence des facteurs de risque, les comportements culturels et sociaux liés à la santé, les affections (y compris les blessures et le mésusage de substances), les conditions et les risques environnementaux, les déterminants de la santé et d'autres risques pour la santé du public.

Les déterminants de la santé servent souvent à définir les besoins d'une collectivité. Il est évident que les résultats relatifs à la santé de la population sont souvent influencés d'une manière disproportionnée par des sous-groupes qui font l'objet d'iniquités sur le plan de la santé et qui ont relativement moins de contrôle sur les facteurs et les conditions qui favorisent, protègent ou maintiennent la santé. En adaptant les programmes et les services aux besoins des groupes prioritaires, les conseils de santé contribuent à améliorer la santé de la population dans son ensemble. Par ailleurs, les conseils doivent réduire au minimum les obstacles à l'accès aux programmes et services de santé publique. Ces facteurs peuvent inclure (sans être limités à) l'éducation, le niveau d'alphabétisation, la langue, la culture, la géographie, la situation économique, la discrimination (fondée sur l'âge, l'orientation sexuelle, la race, etc.), les facteurs sociaux (y compris l'isolement social) et la capacité mentale ou physique.

La création de partenariats avec des organismes communautaires, gouvernementaux ou non gouvernementaux ou d'autres partenaires est le meilleur moyen de remplir bon nombre des exigences. L'intégration des programmes et services de santé publique au sein des objectifs communautaires généraux contribuera à l'atteinte des résultats visés pour la population, qui figurent dans les Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario. La collaboration entre les conseils de santé, les partenaires locaux, les établissements universitaires et le gouvernement est essentielle à l'interprétation des besoins et à l'établissement des priorités. Le partage de connaissances peut permettre de tirer parti des ressources et d'aligner les buts et objectifs communautaires.


2. L'effet

La responsabilité d'amener des changements importants dans la société n'incombe pas à une seule partie. En tant que secteur, la santé publique reconnaît l'incidence qu'ont les déterminants de la santé et s'efforce d'amener des changements importants au niveau de la société qui contribuent à réduire les disparités et les iniquités dans le domaine de la santé en coordonnant et en harmonisant ses programmes et ses services avec ceux d'autres partenaires. La santé publique joue un rôle déterminant dans la création de relations soutenant les objectifs généraux en matière de santé qui visent à obtenir les meilleurs résultats possibles pour tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes.

Les conseils de santé doivent analyser, planifier, fournir et gérer les programmes et les services en fonction de ce qui suit.

  • Les ouvrages scientifiques ou les examens de pratiques exemplaires fournissent-ils des preuves raisonnables de l'efficacité de l'intervention? Les conseils de santé doivent s'inspirer des recherches, des preuves et des pratiques exemplaires pertinentes pour soutenir l'intégration des exigences énoncées dans les Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario dans leur milieu afin d'atteindre les résultats visés. Les conseils de santé sont encouragés à utiliser des approches globales et intégrées pour l'analyse, la planification, la prestation, la gestion et l'évaluation des programmes autant que possible. Les approches globales exigent un vaste éventail d'activités à volets multiples qui emploient plus d'une stratégie de promotion de la santé.
  • Les interventions sont-elles compatibles avec la portée des programmes des conseils de santé? Les Normes de santé publique de l'Ontario définissent clairement les fonctions de la santé publique pour aider les conseils de santé à gérer leurs programmes et leurs services en fonction des rôles établis. La majorité des activités de santé publique doivent consister à faire de la prévention primaire en misant sur une approche basée sur la population. Une partie des activités porteront sur la prévention secondaire, ce qui permettra de produire des effets plus généraux sur la population. Toutes les activités doivent viser à :
    • prévenir les maladies ou éliminer les conditions qui contribuent de façon importante au fardeau de la maladie;
    • prévenir les maladies ou éliminer les conditions pouvant constituer des risques importants pour la santé; et/ou
    • améliorer de façon générale la santé, le bien-être et la résilience de l'ensemble de la population ou des groupes prioritaires.
  • Quels sont les obstacles qui empêchent de réaliser le plein potentiel de santé des personnes, des groupes et des collectivités et de réduire les iniquités en matière de santé? Les interventions en santé publique doivent reconnaître les iniquités existantes en santé et viser à les réduire. En plus d'examiner l'accessibilité de leurs programmes et services pour éliminer les obstacles (p. ex., les obstacles physiques, sociaux, géographiques, culturels ou économiques), les conseils de santé doivent analyser, planifier, fournir, gérer et évaluer les programmes afin de réduire les iniquités en santé tout en améliorant le plus possible la santé de l'ensemble de la population.
  • Quelles sont les mesures de rendement pertinentes qui existent actuellement ou qui peuvent être élaborées pour évaluer l'impact et l'efficacité des programmes et des services? La gestion des programmes et des services de santé publique exige la surveillance constante des principaux indicateurs de rendement pour soutenir l'amélioration continue de la qualité et les pratiques de santé publique fondées sur des données probantes.
  • Les interventions ont-elles des conséquences involontaires qu'il faut examiner de façon approfondie afin de mieux comprendre le programme lui-même ou le contexte dans lequel il est mis en oeuvre? Les conseils de santé doivent constamment réexaminer la prestation des programmes et des services en effectuant les analyses pertinentes, en gérant l'information et, le cas échéant, en évaluant les programmes comme le prévoit la norme fondamentale.

Back to top

3. La capacité

Pour assurer la gestion efficace des programmes et des services, il est essentiel de comprendre la capacité locale en matière de santé publique et les ressources nécessaires pour atteindre les résultats. Tous les conseils de santé doivent s'efforcer d'acquérir la capacité et les ressources nécessaires pour répondre aux présentes normes. Une analyse continue des ressources nécessaires pour répondre aux normes aide les conseils de santé à prendre des décisions pour favoriser l'atteinte des résultats de façon optimale.

La capacité couvre de nombreux aspects : les structures et processus organisationnels, la planification, le perfectionnement et le maintien de l'effectif, les systèmes d'information et de connaissances et les ressources financières. Il est donc important que les conseils de santé évaluent leur capacité en ce qui concerne l'étendue et la diversité des programmes et des services par rapport au niveau de compétence de leur personnel, à l'accessibilité des renseignements utiles en temps opportun et aux ressources financières nécessaires à l'atteinte des résultats visés pour la population.

La pierre angulaire de la santé publique est la qualité du personnel. Les programmes et les services fournis par les conseils de santé doivent être planifiés et offerts par des personnes qui possèdent les compétences techniques et professionnelles exigées, y compris des compétences essentielles en santé publique et des compétences dans des disciplines connexes. Les conseils de santé doivent avoir recours aux services de professionnels qualifiés comme l'exige la LPPS (p. ex., des médecins hygiénistes, des dentistes hygiénistes, des hygiénistes dentaires, des inspecteurs de la santé, des infirmières en santé publique et des nutritionnistes). En outre, le personnel doit avoir suivi une formation appropriée sur la planification de programmes interdisciplinaires de santé publique et sur la prestation efficace des programmes (p. ex., l'épidémiologie, la promotion de la santé, la toxicologie, l'évaluation des programmes ou l'informatique).

Pour accroître et retenir les ressources humaines en santé publique, il faut également offrir de la formation continue et embaucher de nouveaux professionnels. Les conseils de santé doivent assurer un personnel compétent et diversifié en offrant régulièrement à ses employés des occasions de se perfectionner et d'acquérir des compétences en santé publique. Il peut s'agir de programmes d'amélioration de la qualité ou d'apprentissage continu pour le personnel ainsi que des activités structurées ou informelles visant le perfectionnement du leadership en santé publique. Les conseils de santé doivent susciter l'intérêt des futurs professionnels de la santé à l'égard de la santé publique en offrant des stages aux étudiants.

Back to top

4. Le partenariat et la collaboration

Les programmes et les services de santé publique exigent la création de nombreux partenariats avec le secteur de la santé (p. ex., les réseaux locaux d'intégration des services de santé et les soins de santé primaires) ainsi que d'autres secteurs (p. ex., l'éducation, les services sociaux, le logement, la santé et la sécurité au travail et l'environnement). La santé publique soutient le renforcement des capacités communautaires en favorisant la création de partenariats et la collaboration avec des partenaires communautaires, notamment des organismes bénévoles, des organismes gouvernementaux ou non gouvernementaux, des associations locales, des groupes communautaires, des réseaux, des coalitions, le milieu universitaire et le secteur privé. Les conseils de santé doivent collaborer lorsque c'est approprié avec d'autres conseils de santé afin de coordonner la prestation des programmes et des services de santé publique.

Les conseils de santé doivent favoriser la création d'un milieu propice à la santé en mettant les collectivités et les citoyens à contribution pour l'analyse, la planification, la prestation, la gestion et l'évaluation des programmes et des services. Cela permettra d'accroître la capacité locale de répondre aux besoins de la collectivité en matière de santé publique.

La qualité et la portée des partenariats locaux est un indicateur essentiel de la mesure dans laquelle les conseils de santé arrivent à assumer et à conserver leur rôle de premier plan dans la création des conditions préalables aux changements efficaces. Les conseils de santé doivent constamment surveiller et évaluer les partenariats et la collaboration à l'échelle locale afin de déterminer leur efficacité.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h