Cancer

Cancer Drug Supply

Minister Matthews' Letter to Patients

October 10, 2013

Our health care system has a responsibility to patients to ensure that they receive the proper dosage of any drug that they are prescribed.

That's why it was absolutely unacceptable when we discovered, last March, that 1202 patients received lower-than-prescribed doses of chemotherapy medication.

Immediately upon learning of the underdosing problem, my first priority was to ensure that our hospitals notified patients and their families and provided them with access to an oncologist to answer their questions and discuss their personal plan of care.

I am very sorry that patients and their families had to go through this at such a difficult time in their lives.

Like you, I wanted to know how this could have happened - so that we could prevent it from happening again. I struck a working group made up of the affected hospitals, the Ontario Hospital Association, Health Canada, the Ontario College of Pharmacists, and Cancer Care Ontario. I also appointed Dr. Jake Thiessen, a pharmacy expert, to conduct an independent review of Ontario's cancer drug supply chain.

We took swift action. Our government introduced new regulations that direct hospitals to purchase only from regulated or approved entities. We also worked with the Ontario College of Pharmacists to expand its mandate to inspect non-pharmacy drug preparation premises where pharmacists and pharmacy technicians engage in drug preparation activities, like the facility where the chemotherapy drugs in question were mixed.

In addition, Health Canada released a policy statement providing direction to drug preparation facilities indicating that they can operate under either the federal Food and Drugs Act, the supervision of a provincially licensed pharmacist, or in a hospital.

On August 7, I was pleased to release Dr. Thiessen's report where he has provided some details as to the possible impact the under-dosing may have had on patients. I encourage you to continue to speak to your oncologist to address any continuing concerns you may have with respect to this issue.

Dr. Thiessen's report explains in detail how the underdosing incident occurred, and contains helpful recommendations to strengthen our hospital drug supply system. You can read a summary of his report and the full report.

Our government accepts all of Dr. Thiessen's recommendations and has taken steps to implement Dr. Thiessen's recommendations. In particular, on October 10th I introduced legislation that would, if passed, allow the Ontario College of Pharmacists to license hospital pharmacies.

We have an excellent cancer system, rivalling the best in the world. I am confident that, working together, we can make it even better for patients.

Deb Matthews
Minister of Health and Long-term Care

 

To view Portable Document Format PDF files, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat® Reader installed on your computer. You can download this free software from the Adobe website.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Cancer

Approvisionnement en médicaments contre le cancer

Lettre de la ministre Matthews aux patients

Le 10 octobre 2013

Notre système de santé doit pouvoir garantir que les patients reçoivent la bonne dose du médicament qui leur a été prescrit.

Pour cette raison, les révélations de mars dernier concernant l'administration à 1 202 patients d'une dose de médicament chimiothérapeutique inférieure à celle qui leur avait été prescrite sont absolument inacceptables.

Dès que j'ai été saisie de ce problème de sous‑dosage, ma priorité a été de veiller à ce que nos hôpitaux avisent les patients et les membres de leur famille et de garantir leur accès à un oncologue qui pourrait répondre à leurs questions et leur proposer un plan de traitement personnel.

Je suis profondément désolée que les patients et les membres de leur famille aient eu à traverser cette épreuve à un moment aussi difficile de leur vie.

Comme vous, j'ai voulu savoir comment une telle chose avait pu arriver pour éviter qu'elle ne se reproduise. J'ai créé un groupe de travail formé de représentants des hôpitaux concernés, de l'Association des hôpitaux de l'Ontario, de Santé Canada, de l'Ordre des pharmaciens de l'Ontario et d'Action Cancer Ontario. J'ai également mandaté le Dr Jake Thiessen, expert en pharmacie, pour effectuer un examen indépendant de la chaîne d'approvisionnement des médicaments anticancéreux de l'Ontario.

Nous avons agi rapidement. Notre gouvernement a rédigé de nouveaux règlements en vertu desquels les hôpitaux doivent s'approvisionner exclusivement auprès des entités réglementées ou approuvées. Nous avons également collaboré avec l'Ordre des pharmaciens de l'Ontario afin d'élargir son mandat d'inspection à des installations qui ne sont pas des pharmacies et où les pharmaciens et les techniciens en pharmacie préparent les médicaments, comme celles où les médicaments chimiothérapeutiques en question avaient été mélangés.

De plus, Santé Canada a diffusé un énoncé de politique dans lequel il indique aux installations où des médicaments sont préparés de suivre la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, sous la supervision d'un pharmacien possédant un permis d'exercice provincial ou dans un hôpital.

C'est avec plaisir que j'ai publié le rapport du Dr Thiessen le 7 août 2013. Dans ce rapport, il explique les conséquences possibles d'un sous-dosage pour les patients. Je vous encourage à continuer de faire part à votre oncologue de toute inquiétude que vous pourriez avoir à ce sujet.

Le rapport du Dr Thiessen explique en détail comment l'incident de sous‑dosage s'est produit et il comprend des recommandations utiles visant à renforcer notre système d'approvisionnement en médicaments. Vous pouvez lire un résumé du rapport ou le rapport complet.

Notre gouvernement accepte toutes les recommandations du Dr Thiessen et il a pris des mesures pour les mettre en oeuvre. Plus précisément, j'ai présenté, le 10 octobre, un projet de loi qui, s'il est adopté, permettra à l'Ordre des pharmaciens de l'Ontario d'octroyer une licence aux pharmacies des hôpitaux.

Nous avons un excellent système de santé, parmi les meilleurs du monde, et je suis convaincue que si nous travaillons ensemble, nous pourrons l'améliorer encore pour nos patients.

Deb Matthews
Ministre de de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée

 

Vous aurez besoin du logiciel Acrobat® Reader pour visualiser et imprimer les documents.
Ce logiciel est gratuit et vous pouvez le télécharger du Site Web Adobe.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h