Public Information

Citizens' Council

About the Council

The Council is an advisory body of 25 Ontarians, from all walks of life, that meet to discuss and provide their values and opinions that reflect the needs, culture and attitudes of Ontario citizens on the tough decisions that need to be made on drug policy in the province.

The Council’s advice helps the government to understand what the people value and consider important. These insights help shape decision making so the government can ensure the responsible delivery of the care to all Ontarians.

Why was the Citizens’ Council created?

The Citizens’ Council evolved out of the government’s plan to reform the drug system and its commitment to meaningfully engage the public on an on-going basis in health care policy making. The Council provides a mechanism for citizens to provide input into drug policies and priorities.

What does the Council discuss?

The Citizens’ Council will discuss topics related to Ontario’s publicly-funded prescription drug programs. The questions posed to the Council are often challenging and sometimes controversial. Topics discussed at recent meetings include:

How often will Council members meet?

The Council will meet up to two times a year for 2 to 3 days at a time. An orientation session was held in November, 2009, and the first Meeting took place in January 2010.

Learn more about what happens at a meeting and how you can be an observer.
Is the public allowed to attend a meeting?
Individuals who would like to attend the “open” portions of educational sessions as observers are required to apply and pre-register with prior to each Citizens’ Council meeting by contacting the ministry. Learn more >>
Do Council members need to know anything about Ontario’s drug programs or have any expertise in this field?

No. Council members are not expected to be knowledgeable in this field and will be briefed by experts on the topics to be discussed. Council members will bring their own values and opinions to the table.

Learn more about who’s on the Council >>
How is the Council’s advice used? Are the Citizens’ Council’s report made public?

The Council is required to prepare a report that speaks to the discussion and response to the questions and topic posed at each meeting.

Each report will be presented to the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care and the Executive Officer, and made publicly available so that Ontarians can learn about the views and values formed during the deliberative process. The Executive Officer will also provide feedback outlining how the advice will be used.

Read the reports.
For More Information

For general enquiries about the Citizens' Council please email us at : CitizensCouncil@ontario.ca

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Information pour le public

Conseil des citoyens

Le Conseil en bref

Le Conseil des citoyens est un organisme consultatif composé de 25 Ontariens et Ontariennes de toutes les conditions sociales qui se réunissent pour exprimer leur opinion et les valeurs qui reflètent les besoins, la culture et les attitudes des citoyens et citoyennes de l’Ontario à l’égard des décisions difficiles qui doivent être prises au sujet de la politique de la province en matière de médicaments.

Les conseils formulés par les membres aident le gouvernement à comprendre ce qui est important pour les gens, ce qui lui permet de prendre des décisions qui assureront la prestation responsable de soins de santé à l’ensemble de la population de la province.

Pourquoi le Conseil des citoyens a-t‑il été créé?

Le Conseil des citoyens est né de la réforme du régime de médicaments entreprise par le gouvernement de l’Ontario et de l’engagement de ce dernier à faire participer le public, de façon significative et continue, à l’élaboration des politiques sur les soins de santé. Il fournit aux citoyennes et citoyens un mécanisme leur permettant de soumettre leurs commentaires concernant les politiques et priorités en matière de médicaments.

Quels sont les sujets examinés par le Conseil?

The Citizens’ Council will discuss topics related to Ontario’s publicly-funded prescription drug programs. The questions posed to the Council are often challenging and sometimes controversial. Topics discussed at recent meetings include:

Le Conseil des citoyens se penche sur des sujets relatifs aux programmes publics de médicaments sur ordonnance de l’Ontario. Les sujets soumis au Conseil sont souvent épineux et parfois controversés. Voici des exemples de sujets qui ont été discutés récemment :

Quelle est la fréquence des réunions?

Le Conseil se réunit deux fois par année pendant deux ou trois jours. Une réunion d’orientation a eu lieu en novembre 2009, et la première réunion s’est tenue en janvier 2010.

Renseignez-vous sur ce qui se passe durant les réunions et sur la façon de demander à y assister à titre d’observateur.
Le public peut-il assister aux réunions?
Les particuliers qui souhaitent assister aux séances d’information publiques à titre d’observateurs doivent présenter une demande et s’inscrire avant chaque réunion du Conseil des citoyens en communiquant avec le ministère. Pour en savoir plus >>
Les membres du Conseil doivent‑ils connaître les programmes de médicaments de l’Ontario ou avoir des compétences dans ce domaine?

Non. On n’exige pas que les membres possèdent des connaissances particulières dans le domaine. Des experts se chargeront de les renseigner sur les sujets abordés. Ils devront discuter de leurs propres valeurs et opinions.

Pour en savoir plus sur les membres du Conseil >>
Comment donne-t‑on suite aux conseils formulés par le Conseil des citoyens? Les rapports sont‑ils rendus publics?

Le Conseil est tenu de rédiger un rapport fidèle aux discussions et de fournir des réponses pour les questions et sujets soumis à chaque réunion.

Chaque rapport est présenté au ministre de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée et à l’administrateur en chef et est rendu public de sorte que les Ontariens et Ontariennes puissent connaître les points de vue et les valeurs qui se dégagent des délibérations. En outre, l’administrateur en chef fait des commentaires indiquant comment il donnera suite aux conseils formulés.

Lire les rapports.
Pour en savoir plus

Vous pouvez envoyer vos demandes de renseignements généraux par courriel au Conseil des citoyens, au : CitizensCouncil@ontario.ca

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h