Public Information

Ontario’s Narcotics Strategy

Change in Funding Status of Oxycodone Controlled Release Tablet – (Discontinuation of OxyContin and introduction of OxyNEO)


How do the new regulations apply to long-acting oxycodone controlled release products in Ontario?

The new regulations:

  • Prevent long-acting oxycodone products from being funded under the Ontario Public Drug Programs and/or designated as an interchangeable product, unless specific conditions are met. 
  • Require a manufacturer of a long-acting oxycodone product to provide evidence satisfactory to the Ministry that the oxycodone product is manufactured in such a way to make it more difficult to alter, break, crush, chew, dissolve or otherwise manipulate; or less effective and less likely to be misused or abused, in the event that the product is altered, broken, crushed, chewed, dissolved, or otherwise manipulated.
Is generic Oxycodone available in Ontario?

Yes, generic long-acting oxycodone products may be made available to patients in Ontario under certain circumstances, if authorized by a prescriber.

However, generic long-acting oxycodone products that do not satisfy the regulatory requirements under the Ontario Drug Benefit Act and the Drug Interchangeability and Dispensing Fee Act will not be available for public funding. They also cannot be substituted by a pharmacist if the prescription is written for "OxyNEO" or "OxyContin" without first contacting the prescriber.

Is long-acting oxycodone available for Ontario Drug Benefit recipients?

Long-acting oxycodone products that satisfies the regulatory requirements under the Ontario Drug Benefit Act and the Drug Interchangeability and Dispensing Fee Act will be considered for public funding and/or designation as an interchangeable product.

Currently, only OxyNEO will be reimbursed for Ontario Drug Benefit recipients. OxyNEO will be funded through the Exceptional Access Program (EAP) for treatment of chronic pain in patients who cannot tolerate treatment with another listed long-acting opioid and through the Facilitated Access to Palliative Care Drugs mechanism for the treatment of cancer-related pain, or pain in patients receiving end-of-life palliative care based on the funding criteria.

I'm not an ODB recipient and pay for my prescriptions myself or through private insurance. Do I have access to generic long-acting oxycodone?

A patient who wishes to pay for a prescription for generic long-acting oxycodone or has a private insurance coverage will be able to obtain the product if authorized by a prescriber.  However, if a prescriber writes a prescription for "OxyContin" or "OxyNEO", a pharmacist cannot substitute the generic long-acting oxycodone product without first contacting the prescriber.

Is there a difference between OxyNEO and OxyContin?

OxyNEO and OxyContin are two different brand names of the active ingredient oxycodone, which is indicated for the relief of moderate to severe pain requiring the continuous use of an opioid analgesic preparation for several days or more.

Although the active ingredients are the same, the OxyNEO tablet is manufactured differently than the OxyContin tablet.  OxyNEO is reported to be more tamper-resistant.than OxyContin because the tablet is more difficult to crush.  In addition, if OxyNEO is crushed and added to water, it results in the formation of a thick gel-like substance.

Patients are encouraged to speak with their primary health care provider on whether or not OxyNEO is an appropriate option to manage their pain.

Why are you removing long acting oxycodone from the Ontario Drug Benefit Formulary/Comparative Drug Index (“ODB Formulary”)? How will long acting oxycodone be funded for ODB recipients?

Recent studies suggest that increased rates of opioid prescribing, particularly involving long acting oxycodone have contributed significantly to opioid-related harms, including hundreds of deaths in Ontario. Issues identified in these studies include excessive prescribing, increasing misuse, diversion of drugs away from intended medical purposes, increases in addiction, and increases in opioid-related deaths.

Ontario has the highest rate of opioid use in Canada. Between 1991 and 2009, the number of prescriptions in Ontario for oxycodone drugs rose by 900 per cent. Each year in Ontario, between 300 and 400 people die from overdoses involving prescription opioids.  While there are several factors that may contribute to death (in particular, high doses of opioids and use with alcohol or other depressant-type drugs), the opioid most commonly found on post-mortem analyses in recent years is oxycodone.  In addition, compared to other opioids available in Ontario, a disproportionate number of patients taking long-acting oxycodone receive doses in excess of national guidelines.

The ministry initiated a third party review of the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) claims data to look at the use of oxycodone long acting tablets.  The results of the study were concerning because of the high number of patients who are:

  • started on long acting oxycodone after only trying short acting narcotics; or
  • are being started on long acting oxycodone as an initial treatment

The current funding criteria require patients to start on another long acting opioid first before starting on long acting oxycodone due to concerns about appropriate use.

The ministry aims to increase the extent to which long acting oxycodone is prescribed in line with these criteria, while ensuring continued access to the drug for patients who require this as an option for managing their pain.  OxyNEO will be funded through the Exceptional Access Program (EAP) and through the Facilitated Access to Palliative Care Drugs mechanism based on the funding criteria.

These changes are based on recommendations from Ontario’s Committee to Evaluate Drugs, as well as extensive discussions with practicing pain specialists, addiction experts and other health care providers, and are designed to balance appropriate use, patient care and the growing problem of opioid addiction in Ontario.

The ministry anticipates that taking steps to change the funding status of oxycodone long acting tablets will serve to improve the quality and value of the overall health and safety of patients and the public.

Are there other options available on the ODB Formulary that help manage my pain?

Yes.  There are several opioid and non-opioid products that are available on the Formulary.  Some of these options are noted below:

Non-opioid:

  • Acetaminophen
  • non-steroidal anti-inflammatory products (e.g., ibuprofen, naproxen and many others)

Short acting opioid products or combination products:

  • acetaminophen with codeine
  • oxycodone preparations with acetaminophen or ASA
  • short acting codeine products
  • short acting morphine products (also hydromorphone)

Long acting opioid products:

  • long acting codeine
  • long acting morphine
  • long acting hydromorphone, fentanyl patches
As an ODB recipient, how will these changes affect me if I am prescribed oxycodone?  How would this apply if I am already taking OxyContin?

The changes will affect Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) recipients as follows:

  • For existing ODB recipients currently receiving OxyContin (i.e. current formulation of oxycodone):
    • ODB recipients who have had a claim submitted to the ODB program for OxyContin within the past six (6) months will receive automatic coverage for OxyContin for a one (1) month period from February 29, 2012 to April 2, 2012, subject to availability of supply at the pharmacies.
    • After April 2, 2012, if your doctor determines that OxyNEO is appropriate, you will continue to receive automatic coverage for OxyNEO (10mg, 15mg, 20mg, 30mg, 40mg and 80mg) for a period of one year.  This coverage will end on February 28, 2013.
    • If coverage for OxyNEO is required beyond February 28, 2013, your physician must apply for an EAP approval.
  • For all other ODB recipients requiring OxyNEO (i.e. new formulation of oxycodone effective March 1, 2012), the following process will apply:
    • for patients with chronic pain, OxyNEO (10mg, 15mg, 20mg, 30mg and 40mg tablets) will be considered through the EAP according to specific criteria.
    • for cancer patients or palliative care patients, OxyNEO (10mg, 15mg, 20mg, 30mg, 40mg and 80mg tablets) will be considered for funding according to the specific criteria through the Palliative Care Facilitated Access List for whom the prescriber is registered.  If the prescriber is not registered on the Palliative Care Facilitated Access List, a request for funding of OxyNEO must be made through the EAP process.

It is important to talk to your health care professional about the EAP criteria and to determine which of the above situations may apply.

Why are the 60mg and 80mg strengths of OxyNEO not being funded through the Exceptional Access Program?

Narcotics/opioids have several dose-dependent side effects that must be considered when starting and adjusting therapy.  As a result, many guidelines make reference to the term “watchful dose”.  Doses above the watchful dose are likely to result in an increased risk of side effects, including addiction and death, and the guidelines should be consulted when prescribing these products.  Since each opioid has different levels of potency, the term “morphine equivalent” is used to compare the effects of the various products using a common standard.  For example, oxycodone is 1.5 to 2 times more potent than morphine on a mg to mg basis.

The "watchful dose" recommended in the Canadian Guideline for Safe and Effective Use of Opioids for Chronic Non-Cancer Pain is 200mg/day morphine equivalent.  The guideline states that: “the potential for adverse psychological and physical effects, the potential for misuse, and questionable efficacy are all factors that should be considered in limiting the dose and increasing the frequency of follow-up visits. Some studies reported safety concerns or questionable efficacy of higher daily doses of opioids.” (http://nationalpaincentre.mcmaster.ca/opioid)

As part of the review for OxyNEO, the Committee to Evaluate Drugs (CED) noted that the 60mg and 80mg strengths, when used twice daily, would approach or exceed this watchful dose.  Because of these concerns and the availability of alternative opioids, the CED recommended that the 60mg and 80mg strengths of OxyNEO not be funded for chronic non-cancer pain.

How does the Exceptional Access Program work?

The Exceptional Access Program (EAP) facilitates patient access in exceptional circumstances to drugs not listed on the ODB Formulary or where Formulary drugs are ineffective, not tolerated, or where no Formulary listed alternative are available.

To apply through the EAP, a physician must submit a request documenting complete and relevant medical information to the ministry, and provide the clinical rationale for requesting the unlisted drug and reasons why covered benefits are not suitable. 

All requests are reviewed according to the guidelines recommended by the ministry’s expert advisory committee, the Committee to Evaluate Drugs, and approved by the Executive Officer, and include a thorough assessment of the patient’s specific case and clinical circumstances, as provided by the physician, as well as the available scientific evidence.

How long does it take to get an EAP application approved? What should I do in the meantime?

Due to the volume of requests that the ministry receives, an EAP approval may take up to approximately three months from the date of the application request.  You are encouraged to discuss treatment options that best suit your need with your doctor.

I’m not an ODB recipient and pay for my prescriptions myself or through private insurance. Do I need to apply through the EAP to get my prescription for OxyNeo?

No.  The changes apply only to eligible ODB recipients receiving drug coverage under the Ontario Public Drug Programs.

I’ve tried other narcotic pain killers and Oxycontin is the only one that works for me. Can I still get Oxycontin?

No. The manufacturer is removing the brand OxyContin from the Canadian market and it will no longer be available.  However, the manufacturer is introducing a new brand OxyNEO, containing the same active ingredient. Please speak with your doctor about your treatment options, and whether or not OxyNEO would be suitable for you.

Who should I contact if I have questions about OxyNEO?

You are encouraged to speak with your primary health care provider about your treatment options.

If you have a general question on this issue, please send your question(s) to PublicDrugPrgrms.moh@ontario.ca , or call ServiceOntario at 1-866-532-3161 (TTY 1-800-387-5559, or in Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282).

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Information pour le public

Stratégie ontarienne en matière de stupéfiants

Changement concernant le remboursement du comprimé d’oxycodone à libération contrôlée – (désinscription de l’OxyContin et inscription de l’OxyNEO)


De quelle manière les nouveaux règlements s'appliquent-ils aux produits d'oxycodone à libération contrôlée à action prolongée en Ontario?

Les nouveaux règlements :

  • empêchent le financement des produits d'oxycodone à action prolongée aux termes des programmes publics de médicaments de l'Ontario ou leur désignation comme produit interchangeable, à moins de respecter des conditions particulières; 
  • exigent que le fabricant d'un produit d'oxycodone à action prolongée fournisse une preuve satisfaisante au ministère que ce produit d'oxycodone est fabriqué d'une manière qui le rend difficile à altérer, briser, écraser, mâcher, dissoudre ou autrement manipuler, ou qu'il est moins efficace et moins susceptible d'être mal utilisé ou d'en abuser, dans l'éventualité où le produit est altéré, brisé, écrasé, mâché, dissous ou autrement manipulé.
L'oxycodone générique est-il disponible en Ontario?

Oui, les produits d'oxycodone générique à action prolongée peuvent être disponibles pour les patients en Ontario dans certaines circonstances, si une personne autorisée à prescrire des médicaments l'autorise.

Cependant, les produits d'oxycodone générique à action prolongée qui ne satisfont pas aux exigences réglementaires aux termes de la Loi sur le régime de médicaments de l'Ontario et de la Loi sur l'interchangeabilité des médicaments et les honoraires de préparation ne seront pas admissibles au financement public. Si l'ordonnance est faite pour de l'« OxyNEO » ou de l'« OxyContin », un pharmacien ne peut pas y substituer un autre produit, à moins de communiquer d'abord avec la personne autorisée à prescrire des médicaments.
L'oxycodone à action prolongée est-il disponible en Ontario pour les bénéficiaires du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario?

Les produits d'oxycodone à action prolongée qui satisfont aux exigences réglementaires aux termes de la Loi sur le régime de médicaments de l'Ontario et de la Loi sur l'interchangeabilité des médicaments et les honoraires de préparation seront considérés pour le financement public ou la désignation comme produit interchangeable.

Pour le moment, seul l'OxyNEO sera remboursé pour les bénéficiaires du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario. L'OxyNEO sera financé par l'entremise du Programme d'accès exceptionnel (PAE) pour le traitement de la douleur chronique pour les patients qui ne tolèrent pas un traitement avec un autre opioïde à action prolongée inscrit et par l'entremise du processus pour faciliter l'accès aux médicaments pour soins palliatifs pour le traitement de la douleur liée au cancer, ou de la douleur chez les patients qui reçoivent des soins palliatifs de fin de vie, conformément aux critères de financement.
Je ne suis pas un bénéficiaire du Programme de médicaments de l'Ontario et mes ordonnances sont payées par moi-même ou par une assurance privée. Puis-je avoir accès à de l'oxycodone générique à action prolongée?
Un patient qui désire payer pour une ordonnance d'oxycodone générique à action prolongée ou qui est couvert par une assurance privée pourra obtenir le produit s'il obtient une autorisation à cet effet d'une personne autorisée à prescrire des médicaments. Cependant, si une personne autorisée à prescrire des médicaments fait une ordonnance pour de l'« OxyContin » ou de l'« OxyNEO », un pharmacien doit d'abord communiquer avec la personne autorisée à prescrire des médicaments avant de pouvoir substituer le produit d'oxycodone générique à action prolongée
Quelle est la différence entre l’OxyNEO et l’OxyContin?

L’OxyNEO et l’OxyContin sont deux marques de commerce différentes de l’ingrédient actif oxycodone, qui est indiqué pour soulager la douleur de modérée à aiguë exigeant l’utilisation continue d’un analgésique opioïde pendant plusieurs jours ou plus.

Même s’il s’agit du même ingrédient actif, les comprimés d’OxyNEO sont fabriqués différemment des comprimés d’OxyContin. L’OxyNEO est réputé être plus difficile à altérer que l’OxyContin parce que le comprimé est plus difficile à écraser. De plus, lorsque l’OxyNEO est écrasé et mélangé à l’eau, cela produit une épaisse substance gélatineuse.

Les patients sont invités à discuter avec leur fournisseur de soins primaires afin de déterminer si l’OxyNEO est un produit approprié afin de gérer leur douleur.

Pourquoi retirez-vous l’oxycodone du Formulaire des médicaments de l’Ontario/Index comparatif des médicaments (« Formulaire/ICM »)?
De quelle façon l’oxycodone à libération contrôlée sera-t-elle remboursée aux bénéficiaires du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO)?

Des études récentes indiquent que les taux accrus de prescription d’opioïdes, en particulier de l’oxycodone à libération contrôlée, ont contribué de façon importante aux troubles liés à l’usage des opioïdes incluant des centaines de décès en Ontario. Les problèmes énumérés par ces études comprennent la prescription excessive, le mésusage croissant, le détournement de médicaments des fins médicales prévues, l’augmentation de la toxicomanie et l’augmentation des décès liés aux opioïdes.

L’Ontario a le taux le plus élevé d’usage d’opioïdes au Canada. De 1991 à 2009, le nombre d’ordonnances d’oxycodone en Ontario a augmenté de 900 %. Chaque année en Ontario, de 300 à 400 personnes meurent d’une surdose aux opioïdes d’ordonnance. Même si plusieurs facteurs peuvent contribuer au décès (en particulier les fortes doses d’opioïdes et la consommation d’alcool ou d’autres médicaments dépresseurs), l’opioïde le plus souvent retrouvé ces dernières années à la suite d’analyses post-mortem est l’oxycodone. En outre, lorsque l’on tient compte des autres opioïdes disponibles en Ontario, un nombre disproportionné de patients qui utilisent l’oxycodone à libération contrôlée reçoivent des doses qui excèdent les directives nationales.

Le ministère a demandé à un groupe externe d’examiner les données relatives aux demandes de remboursement du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO) afin d’analyser l’utilisation des comprimés d’oxycodone à libération contrôlée. Les résultats de l’étude sont inquiétants en raison du grand nombre de patients qui :

  • commencent à prendre de l’oxycodone à libération contrôlée après avoir fait l’essai de narcotiques à action brève; ou
  • commencent à prendre de l’oxycodone à libération contrôlée comme traitement initial.

Les critères de remboursement exigent à l’heure actuelle que les patients reçoivent d’abord un autre opioïde à libération contrôlée avant de commencer à recevoir de l’oxycodone à libération contrôlée en raison des préoccupations en matière d’utilisation appropriée.

Le ministère souhaite faire en sorte que l’oxycodone à libération contrôlée soit davantage prescrit conformément à ces critères, tout en veillant à ce que le médicament soit accessible aux patients qui en ont besoin pour gérer leur douleur. L’OxyNEO sera remboursé dans le cadre du Programme d’accès exceptionnel (PAE) et par l’entremise du processus pour faciliter l’accès aux médicaments pour soins palliatifs, conformément à ces critères.

Ces changements sont fondés sur les recommandations du Comité d’évaluation des médicaments et les discussions approfondies avec des spécialistes de la douleur, des spécialistes de la toxicomanie et d’autres professionnels de la santé, et ils ont été conçus de façon à refléter un équilibre entre l’utilisation appropriée, les soins aux patients et le problème croissant de dépendance aux opioïdes en Ontario.

Le ministère estime que les mesures qui sont prises pour modifier les modalités de remboursement des comprimés d’oxycodone à libération contrôlée contribueront à améliorer la qualité et l’importance de la santé et de la sécurité des patients et du public.

Trouve-t-on d’autres médicaments sur le Formulaire/ICM qui peuvent être utilisés pour gérer ma douleur?

Oui. Il existe plusieurs produits opioïdes et non opioïdes disponibles sur le Formulaire/ICM. En voici quelques-uns :

Produits non opioïdes :

  • l’acétaminophène;
  • les produits anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (p. ex., ibuprofène, naproxen et plusieurs autres).

Produits opioïdes à action brève ou combinaison de produits :

  • l’acétaminophène avec codéine;
  • les préparations d’oxycodone avec acétaminophène ou AAS;
  • les produits de codéine à action brève;
  • les produits de morphine à action brève (aussi l’hydromorphone).

Produits opioïdes à libération contrôlée :

  • la codéine à libération contrôlée;
  • la morphine à libération contrôlée;
  • l’hydromorphone à libération contrôlée, timbres de fentanyl.
En tant que bénéficiaire du PMO, de quelle façon ces changements me toucheront-ils si on me prescrit de l’oxycodone? Comment cela me touchera-t-il si je prends déjà de l’OxyContin?

Ces changements toucheront les bénéficiaires du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO) de la façon décrite ci-dessous.

  • Dans le cas des bénéficiaires du PMO qui reçoivent de l’OxyContin (c.-à-d. la formulation actuelle de l’oxycodone) :
    • les bénéficiaires du PMO qui ont présenté une demande de remboursement de l’OxyContin au cours des six (6) derniers mois bénéficieront d’une couverture automatique d’un (1) mois de l’OxyContin, soit du 29 février au 2 avril 2012, sous réserve de la disponibilité du médicament dans les pharmacies.
    • Après le 2 avril 2012, si votre médecin détermine que l’OxyNEO vous convient, vous continuerez de bénéficier d’une couverture automatique de l’OxyNEO (10 mg, 15 mg, 20 mg, 30 mg, 40 mg et 80 mg) pour une période d’une année. Cette couverture prendra fin le 28 février 2013.
    • Si la prise en charge de l’OxyNEO est nécessaire après le 28 février 2013, votre médecin devra présenter une demande dans le cadre du Programme d’accès exceptionnel (PAE).
  • Pour tous les autres bénéficiaires du PMO qui doivent prendre de l’OxyNEO (c.-à-d. la nouvelle formulation de l’oxycodone à compter du 1er mars 2012), le processus suivant s’appliquera :
    • pour les patients atteints de douleur chronique, l’OxyNEO (comprimés de 10 mg, 15 mg, 20 mg, 30 mg et 40 mg) pourront être remboursés dans le cadre du PAE, en fonction de critères précis;
    • pour les patients atteints d’un cancer ou les patients qui reçoivent des soins palliatifs, les comprimés d’OxyNEO (10 mg, 15 mg, 20 mg, 30 mg, 40 mg et 80 mg) pourront être remboursés en fonction de critères précis lorsqu’ils sont prescrits par une personne autorisée à prescrire des médicaments inscrite sur la liste du processus pour faciliter l’accès aux médicaments pour soins palliatifs. Si la personne autorisée à prescrire des médicaments n’est pas inscrite sur la liste du processus pour faciliter l’accès aux médicaments pour soins palliatifs, la demande de remboursement de l’OxyNEO devra être présentée dans le cadre du PAE.

Il est important de discuter des critères du PAE avec votre professionnel de la santé afin de déterminer laquelle de ces deux situations s’applique à vous.

Pourquoi les comprimés de 60 mg et de 80 mg d’OxyNEO ne sont-ils pas remboursés par le Programme d’accès exceptionnel?

Les narcotiques et opioïdes provoquent plusieurs effets secondaires liés à la dose qui doivent être pris en compte au début de la thérapie et lors des ajustements. Ainsi, de nombreuses directives utilisent l’expression « dose de surveillance ». Les doses qui sont supérieures à la dose de surveillance présentent un risque accru d’effets secondaires, y compris l’accoutumance et la mort, et les directives devraient être consultées lorsqu’il s’agit de prescrire ces produits. Comme la puissance de chaque opioïde varie, l’expression « équivalent de la morphine » est utilisée pour comparer les effets de divers produits à l’aide d’une norme commune. Par exemple, à quantité égale, l’oxycodone est 1,5 à 2 fois plus puissante que la morphine.

La « dose de surveillance » recommandée par le Canadian Guideline for Safe and Effective Use of Opioids for Chronic Non-Cancer Pain est de 200 mg par jour d’équivalent de la morphine. La directive stipule que « le potentiel d’effets nocifs psychologiques et physiques, le potentiel d’abus et l’efficacité douteuse sont autant de facteurs qui devraient être considérés afin de limiter la dose et d’accroître la fréquence des visites de suivi. Certaines études ont signalé des préoccupations à l’égard de l’innocuité ou de l’efficacité douteuse de doses quotidiennes plus élevées d’opioïdes. » [Traduction]
(nationalpaincentre.mcmaster.ca/opioid - disponible en anglais seulement).

Dans le cadre de l’examen de l’OxyNEO, le Comité d’évaluation des médicaments (CEM) a noté que les doses de 60 mg et de 80 mg, lorsqu’elles sont utilisées deux fois par jour, pourraient se rapprocher ou excéder la dose de surveillance. En raison de ces préoccupations et de la disponibilité de solutions de rechange aux opioïdes, le CEM a recommandé que les doses de 60 mg et de 80 mg d’OxyNEO ne soient pas remboursées aux fins du contrôle de la douleur chronique non causée par un cancer.  

Comment le Programme d’accès exceptionnel fonctionne-t-il?

Le Programme d’accès exceptionnel (PAE) a été conçu pour faciliter, dans des circonstances extraordinaires, l’accès des patients à des médicaments qui ne figurent pas sur le Formulaire\ICM ou lorsque les médicaments étaient inefficaces, non tolérés ou qu’aucune solution de rechange n’est disponible parmi les médicaments qui figurent au Formulaire\ICM.

Pour présenter une demande dans le cadre du PAE, un médecin doit soumettre au ministère une demande expliquant les renseignements médicaux complets et pertinents, et fournir la justification clinique appuyant la demande d’un médicament qui ne figure pas au Formulaire\ICM et les raisons pour lesquelles les médicaments couverts ne conviennent pas.

Toutes les demandes sont examinées conformément aux lignes directrices recommandées par le comité d’experts consultatifs mis sur pied par le ministère, le Comité d’évaluation des médicaments, et sont approuvées par l’administratrice en chef, et donnent lieu à une évaluation approfondie de la situation particulière du patient et des circonstances cliniques, expliquées par le médecin, ainsi que des preuves scientifiques disponibles.

Combien de temps faut-il au PAE pour approuver une demande? Que dois-je faire entretemps?

En raison du grand nombre de demandes reçues par le ministère, l’approbation d’une demande au PAE peut exiger jusqu’à environ trois mois à compter de la date de la demande. Nous vous invitons à discuter avec votre médecin des possibilités de traitement qui peuvent vous convenir.

Je ne suis pas bénéficiaire du PMO et je paie mes médicaments ou j’ai une assurance-médicaments privée. Dois-je présenter une demande au PAE pour obtenir une ordonnance d’OxyNeo?

Non. Ces changements ne touchent que les bénéficiaires du PMO dont les médicaments sont remboursés dans le cadre des Programmes publics de médicaments de l’Ontario.

J’ai essayé d’autres narcotiques antidouleurs et l’OxyContin est le seul qui fonctionne bien pour moi. Puis-je continuer à me procurer de l’OxyContin?

Non. Le fabricant retire la marque OxyContin du marché canadien et ce produit ne sera plus disponible. Toutefois, le fabricant lance une nouvelle marque, OxyNEO, qui contient le même ingrédient actif. Veuillez discuter des possibilités de traitement avec votre médecin, et aussi pour savoir si l’OxyNEO vous convient.

Où puis-je m’adresser si j’ai des questions au sujet de l’OxyNEO?

Nous vous invitons à discuter avec votre fournisseur de soins primaires des possibilités de traitement qui peuvent vous convenir.
Si vous avez des questions d’ordre général sur ce sujet, veuillez les faire parvenir à PublicDrugPrgrms.moh@ontario.ca, ou téléphonez à ServiceOntario, au 1 866 532-3161
(ATS 1 800 387-5559, ATS à Toronto, 416 327-4282).

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h