Blood Glucose Test Strips

Questions and Answers


What are the reimbursement limits for blood glucose test strips under the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) program?

The number of blood glucose test strips that you are eligible to receive in a 365-day period is determined based on how you manage your diabetes.

The chart below shows how this is determined:

Diabetes Management Approach Examples Maximum test strips per 365-
day period
Insulin N/A 3,000
Anti-diabetic drugs with higher risk of causing hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) - glyburide (Diabeta)
- gliclazide (Diamicron)
400
Anti-diabetic drugs with lower risk of causing hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) - acarbose (Glucobay)
- metformin (Glucophage)
- canagliflozin (Invokana)
- empagliflozin (Jardiance)
- linagliptin (Trajenta)
- saxagliptin (Onglyza)
- sitagliptin (Januvia)

Combination products:
- linagliptin & metformin (Jentadueto)
- sitagliptin & metformin (Janumet)
- saxagliptin & metformin (Komboglyze)
200
Diet/lifestyle therapy only (no insulin or anti-diabetic drugs) N/A 200

Remember that under the rules of the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) program, you may be asked to pay a small deductible amount and a fee for each prescription filled Learn more >>

How does the ministry know how many test strips I am eligible for?

Through your pharmacy, the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care’s Health Network System (HNS) will track and automatically determine the number of blood glucose test strips that you are eligible to receive in a 365-day period. This is based on how you manage your diabetes, which is determined based on your prescription records for the past six months. It is important to note that this 365-day period is not based on the calendar year (i.e., January 1 to December 31) or benefit year (i.e., starting August 1). The 365-day period is a rolling period based on when you first filled your prescription for test strips.

For example:

If your first ODB claim for test strips was filled on December 1, 2014 (start date), your 365-day period would end on November 30, 2015 (end date). After this end date (on or after December 1, 2015), your next test strip claim will establish the new start date for the subsequent 365-day period. Note: your test strip allotment may change during this period based on changes to your anti-diabetic medication.

Please speak to your doctor or pharmacist about the number of test strips that you are eligible to receive in a 365-day period. If you use more test strips than the expected reimbursement limit in a 365-day period, you should speak to your diabetes health care provider to ensure you are testing appropriately.

How will I know how many test strips I have left?

By following the prescribed testing practices determined by your health care provider, you should have enough to last an entire 365-day period. Speak with your pharmacist for more information.

It is also important that you fill your test strip prescriptions at a single pharmacy to facilitate proper tracking of your allotment.

What if I need more test strips than my reimbursement limit?

The established reimbursement limits for test strips are set at a higher level than the minimum levels suggested by the Canadian Diabetes Association.  Additional information is available from the Canadian Diabetes Association Self-Monitoring Blood Glucose (SMBG) tool.

It is understood that there may be exceptional clinical circumstances where you require more frequent testing. Your physician may prescribe you an additional 100 test strips at a time if it has been determined that you need more test strips for exceptional circumstances.

What are the exceptional circumstances under which additional strips would be allowed?

Patients may require more frequent testing for a variety of reasons. Some common reasons for which an individual may require more frequent testing include, but are not limited to, the following:

Can my pharmacist provide me with a prescription refill for extra strips?

No. Blood glucose test strips are designated listed substances as defined by the Ontario Drug Benefit Act (ODBA) and require a prescription by a physician in order to be eligible for reimbursement under the ODB Program. Prescriptions and prescription extensions by pharmacists for blood glucose test strips are not eligible for reimbursement under the ODB program.

Can I receive an exemption for additional test strips more than once in a 365-day period?

Yes. Additional test strips may be distributed to patients in accordance with their needs as a patient, provided that any exceptional circumstances related to their condition are confirmed with a physician and noted on each prescription issued for the patient.

If I need additional strips, will there be an impact on my annual allotment for the next 365-day period?

No. Additional test strips distributed to patients for exceptional clinical circumstances will not have an impact on the allotment of test strips for the patient within the next 365-day period.

What if I start a new diabetes medication that might change my limit in my current 365-day period?

The ministry’s HNS will adjust your annual test strip allotment automatically. Talk to your pharmacist if you have any questions about your new annual reimbursement limit.

What can I do if I have not received my test strips allotment but the pharmacist says my claim has been rejected?

Your pharmacist can determine the overall annual allotment for test strips by assessing your diabetes therapy in the past six months and the number of strips already reimbursed under the ODB program in your current 365-day period.  It is important that you fill your prescriptions at a single pharmacy to facilitate proper tracking of your allotment. Please inform your pharmacist if you have filled test strip prescriptions at more than one pharmacy.

If there is a discrepancy, the pharmacist can contact the ministry’s ODB Helpdesk on your behalf for support.

What is MedsCheck for Diabetes?

MedsCheck for Diabetes is for patients who are diagnosed with either type 1 or type 2 diabetes. Ontarians with a valid Ontario Health Card living in Ontario who are living with diabetes are eligible for an annual 20-30 minute consultation, whether they are managing their diabetes through diet, medication, or both.

The MedsCheck for Diabetes program is an annual medication review provided by a community pharmacist at your local pharmacy. The program includes training on the use and disposal of diabetes-related supplies; education and advice on medication adjustments; discussion of the impact of lifestyle changes; and referral to a Diabetes Education Program and to other health professionals if required.

Because patients living with diabetes may have other medical conditions, pharmacists may provide advice on overall therapy management as well as for diabetes. Pharmacists may also provide additional Diabetes Education Follow-Up services if needed as part of the program. Speak to your pharmacist or visit www.ontario.ca/medscheck for more information. You may also call the ServiceOntario Infoline at 1-866-532-3161.

Blood Glucose Test Strips


For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at 1-866-532-3161
In Toronto, 416-314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : 8:30am - 5:00pm

Information pour le public

Limites sur le remboursement des bandes réactives pour diabétiques

Questions et réponses

Quelles sont les limites sur le remboursement des bandes réactives pour la glycémie pour les prestataires du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO)?

Le nombre de bandes réactives pour la glycémie auquel vous avez droit pour une période de 365 jours est déterminé à partir de la façon dont vous gérez votre diabète.

Ce tableau montre comment le calcul est effectué :

Approche de traitement du diabète Exemples Nombre maximal de bandes réactives par période de 365 jours
Insuline S.O. 3 000
Médicaments contre le diabète qui risquent fort de causer l’hypoglycémie (faible taux sanguin de sucre) – glyburide (Diabeta)
– gliclazide (Diamicron)
400
Médicaments contre le diabète qui risquent peu de causer l’hypoglycémie (faible taux sanguin de sucre) – acarbose (Glucobay)
– metformine (Glucophage)
– canagliflozine (Invokana)
– empagliflozine (Jardiance)
– linagliptine (Trajenta)
– saxagliptine (Onglyza)
– sitagliptine (Januvia)

Combinaison de produits :
– linagliptine et metformine (Jentadueto)
– sitagliptine et metformine (Janumet)
– saxagliptine et metformine (Komboglyze)
200
Adaptation du régime alimentaire et du mode de vie seulement (pas d’insuline ni de médicaments contre le diabète) S.O. 200

Souvenez-vous que selon les règles du PMO, on pourrait vous demander de payer une petite somme déductible d’impôts, ainsi que des honoraires pour l’exécution de vos ordonnances. En savoir plus

Comment le Ministère sait-il à quelle quantité de bandes j’ai droit?

Par l'intermédiaire de votre pharmacie, le Système du réseau de santé du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée suivra et déterminera automatiquement, en se basant sur votre traitement du diabète, le nombre de bandes réactives pour la glycémie auquel vous aurez droit pour une période de 365 jours. Le calcul repose sur la façon dont vous gérer votre diabète, ce qui est déterminé par vos ordonnances des 6 derniers mois. Il convient de noter que cette période de 365 jours ne repose pas sur l’année civile (c’est-à-dire, du 1er janvier au 31 décembre) ni sur l’année de prestations (c’est-à-dire, l’année qui commence le 1er août). La période de 365 jours est une période continue fondée sur le moment où vous avez fait exécuter votre ordonnance de bandes réactives pour la première fois.

Par exemple :

Si votre première demande de remboursement auprès du PMO pour des bandes réactives pour la glycémie a été remplie le 1er décembre 2014 (date de début), votre période de 365 jours prendrait fin le 30 novembre 2015 (date de fin). Après cette date de fin (le 1er décembre 2015 ou après), votre prochaine demande de remboursement de bandes réactives pour la glycémie déterminera la nouvelle date de début pour la période de 365 jours qui suivra. Nota : votre allocation de bandes réactives peut changer durant cette période, selon les changements apportés à vos médicaments contre le diabète.

Demandez à votre médecin ou pharmacien le nombre de bandes réactives auquel vous avez droit pour une période de 365 jours. Si vous en utilisez davantage que la limite remboursée dans une période de 365 jours, nous vous suggérons de parler à votre fournisseur de soins pour le diabète afin d'avoir l'assurance que vous effectuez la vérification appropriée.

Comment savoir le nombre de bandes réactives qu’il me reste?

En suivant les pratiques de vérification déterminées par votre fournisseur de soins, vous devriez avoir assez de bandes pour toute une période de 365 jours. Parlez à votre pharmacien si vous désirez davantage d’information.

Il est aussi important que vous fassiez exécuter votre ordonnance de bandes réactives à une seule pharmacie, afin de faciliter le suivi approprié de votre allocation.

Que dois-je faire si j’ai besoin de plus de bandes réactives que ma limite de remboursement ne le permet?

Les limites de remboursement des bandes réactives sont fixées à un niveau supérieur aux niveaux minimum suggérés par l’Association canadienne du diabète. De plus amples renseignements figurent dans l’outil Canadian Diabetes Association Self-Monitoring Blood Glucose (SMBG).

Il va sans dire qu’il existe des circonstances cliniques exceptionnelles qui peuvent exiger une vérification plus fréquente. Votre médecin peut vous prescrire 100 bandes réactives supplémentaire à la fois, si on a déterminé que vous avez besoin de plus de bandes réactives dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

Quelles sont les circonstances exceptionnelles dans lesquelles des bandes supplémentaires seraient permises?

Des patients peuvent avoir besoin de vérifier leur glycémie plus fréquemment pour diverses raisons. Les raisons les plus communes comprennent, sans toutefois s’y limiter, ce qui suit :

Mon pharmacien peut-il me fournir un renouvellement d’ordonnance pour des bandes supplémentaires?

Non. Les bandes réactives pour la glycémie sont des substances énumérées dans la Loi sur le régime de médicament de l’Ontario. Une ordonnance de médecin est obligatoire pour avoir droit au remboursement. Les ordonnances et les renouvellements d’ordonnances rédigés par des pharmaciens pour des bandes réactives pour la glycémie ne sont pas admissibles à un remboursement dans le cadre du PMO.

Puis-je recevoir une exemption pour des bandes réactives supplémentaires plus d’une fois pendant une période de 365 jours?

Oui. Des bandes réactives supplémentaires peuvent être distribuées aux patients, conformément à leurs besoins en tant que patients, à condition qu’aucune circonstance exceptionnelle liée à leur état ne soit confirmée par un médecin et inscrite sur chaque ordonnance émise pour ces patients.

Si j’ai besoin de bandes supplémentaires, y aura-t-il une incidence sur mon allocation annuelle au cours de la prochaine période de 365 jours?

Non. Des bandes réactives supplémentaires distribuées à des patients dans des circonstances cliniques exceptionnelles n’auront pas d’incidence sur l’allocation de bandes réactives pour ces patients au cours de la prochaine période de 365 jours.

Que se passe-t-il si je commence à prendre un nouveau médicament contre le diabète qui pourrait changer ma limite de remboursement au cours de ma période actuelle de 365 jours?

Le Système du réseau de santé du Ministère ajustera automatiquement votre allocation annuelle de bandes réactives. Informez-vous auprès de votre pharmacien au sujet de votre nouvelle limite de remboursement annuelle.

Que puis-je faire si je n’ai pas reçu mon allocation de bandes réactives, mais que le pharmacien dit que ma demande a été rejetée?

Les pharmaciens peuvent déterminer l’allocation annuelle générale de bandes réactives à laquelle les patients ont droit en évaluant leur traitement du diabète au cours des six derniers mois et le nombre de bandes déjà remboursées dans le cadre du PMO au cours des 365 derniers jours. Il faudrait encourager les patients à faire exécuter leurs ordonnances à la même pharmacie afin de faciliter le suivi adéquat de l’allocation. Veuillez informer votre pharmacien si vous avez fait exécuter des ordonnances de bandes réactives dans plus d’une pharmacie.

S’il existe un écart, le pharmacien peut contacter le Service de dépannage du Système du réseau de santé du Ministère en votre nom, pour obtenir de l’aide.

Qu’est-ce que MedsCheck pour les diabétiques?

MedsCheck pour les diabétiques s'adresse aux patients atteints de diabète du type 1 ou 2. Les résidents de la province qui ont une carte Santé valide de l'Ontario et qui sont atteints de diabète ont droit à une consultation annuelle de 20-30 minutes s'ils contrôlent leur diabète en suivant un régime alimentaire, en prenant des médicaments, ou les deux.

MedsCheck pour les diabétiques est une vérification annuelle des médicaments fourni par le pharmacien de votre quartier et inclut de la formation sur l’utilisation et l’élimination des fournitures liées au diabète; de l’éducation et des conseils sur le rajustement des médicaments; un entretien sur l’effet des changements du mode de vie; et au besoin, de l’orientation vers un programme d’éducation sur le diabète et d’autres professionnels de la santé.

étant donné que les diabétiques peuvent avoir d’autres troubles médicaux, les pharmaciens fournissent des conseils sur la gestion générale des traitements, ainsi que pour le diabète. Au besoin, ils peuvent aussi fournir des services de suivi pour donner de l’information supplémentaire sur le diabète, dans le cadre du programme. Informez-vous auprès de votre pharmacien ou rendez-vous sur www.ontario.ca/medscheck pour en savoir plus. Vous pouvez également appelez la ligne INFO de ServiceOntario au 1 866-532-3161.

Bandes réactives pour diabétiques


Haut de page

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 866 532-3161
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559. À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : 8 h 30 - 17 h