French Language Health Services

Designation of Public Service Agencies (Regulation 398/93)

Organizations that are partially funded by the province and provide services to the public, such as hospitals, long-term care homes and community agencies, are not automatically subject to the French Language Services Act (FLSA). To be subject to the FLSA, this type of organization must be designated as a public service agency by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, pursuant to section 8 of the FLSA. Such a designation requires the organization to provide services and communicate with the public in French, in accordance with section 2 of the FLSA. An organization may request to be designated as a public service agency.

A designation under the FLSA is recognition that an agency has met the government’s designation criteria in providing French language services to its French-speaking clients and has demonstrated its ability to continue to do so.

Before the government will designate an organization, the organization must:

  • offer quality services in French on a permanent basis;
  • guarantee access to its services in French;
  • have French-speaking members on its board of directors and in its executive;
  • develop a written policy for services in French that is adopted by the board of directors and that sets out the agency's responsibilities with respect to services in French.

If an organization is designated as a public service agency under the FLSA, the organization is subject to the FLSA in all respects. However, a regulation designating a public service agency may limit the designation to apply only to specific services provided by the agency, or may specify services that are excluded from the designation. These are called partial designations.

There are currently 217 public service agencies listed in the regulation. Eighty-nine of these agencies provide services supported by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care. There are 22 hospitals, 11 long-term care homes and 4 community health centres among them. Of the 89, 23 are partially designated. To see the complete list of all designated and partially designated public service agencies in Ontario, please click here.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Bureau des services de santé en français

Désignation d'organismes offrant des services publics (Règlement 398/93)

Les organismes qui sont partiellement financés par la province et qui fournissent des services au public, comme les hôpitaux, les foyers de soins de longue durée et les organismes communautaires ne sont pas automatiquement assujettis à la Loi sur les services en français. Pour que la Loi sur les services en français s'applique, ce genre d'organisme doit être désigné en tant qu'organisme offrant des services publics par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil en vertu de l'article 8 de la loi. La désignation exige de l'organisme qu'il fournisse des services et communique avec le public en français conformément à l'article 2 de la loi. Un organisme peut demander à être désigné en tant qu'organisme offrant des services publics.

Une désignation en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français confirme que l'organisme visé a rempli les critères de désignation du gouvernement en ce qui concerne la prestation de services en français à ses clients francophones et qu'il a démontré sa capacité à maintenir la pérennité de ces services.

Pour obtenir la désignation, l'organisme doit remplir les critères suivants :

  • proposer des services de qualité en français de façon permanente;
  • garantir l'accès en français à ses services;
  • avoir des francophones au sein de son conseil d'administration et de son conseil de direction;
  • élaborer, pour les services en français, une politique écrite adoptée par le conseil d'administration qui indique les responsabilités de l'organisme en matière de services en français.

Lorsqu'un organisme est désigné comme organisme de services publics en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français, celle-ci s'applique à l'organisme à tous égards. Cependant, un règlement désignant un organisme de services publics peut limiter la désignation de façon à ne viser que certains services fournis par l'organisme ou préciser les services qui sont exclus de la désignation. C'est ce qu'on appelle une désignation partielle.

À l'heure actuelle, 217 organismes sont répertoriés dans le Règlement. Quatre-vingt-neuf d'entre eux fournissent des services financés par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée. Parmi ceux-ci, on compte 22 hôpitaux, 11 foyers de soins de longue durée et quatre centres de santé communautaire. Vingt-trois de ces 89 organismes sont partiellement désignés. Pour voir la liste complète des organismes désignés et partiellement désignés de l'Ontario, cliquez ici.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h