French Language Health Services

The French Language Services Act, 1986 (FLSA) and Regulation 407/94

The French Language Services Act (FLSA) guarantees an individual's right to receive services in French from Government of Ontario ministries and agencies in 25 designated areas, and at government head offices. The FLSA provides legislative and political recognition of rights acquired over 400 years in Ontario. To read full text of the FLSA, please click here.

The right to receive services in French: French-language services are not limited to correspondence, telephone or translation procedures. The needs of the French-speaking population are taken into account in the development and implementation of programs, policies and procedures. Furthermore, services received in French must be equivalent to those offered in English, offered at the same time, and of the same quality.

Government of Ontario ministries and agencies: The FLSA applies equally to all Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care classified/statutory agencies for which the majority of members of the board are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor-in-Council. These include such agencies as Cancer Care Ontario and Local Health Integration Networks.

25 designated areas: In 1986, the FLSA designated specific areas where FLS must be provided by government agencies. Regulation 407/94 designates additional areas. To see a map of which areas are currently designated, please click here. About 85% of Franco-Ontarians live in a designated area. For an area to obtain designation, French-speaking residents must usually make up at least 10% of the population. In urban centres, the French-speaking population must usually be at least 5,000.

For More Information

Call ServiceOntario, Infoline at:
1-866-532-3161 (Toll-free)
In Toronto, (416) 314-5518
TTY 1-800-387-5559.
In Toronto, TTY 416-327-4282
Hours of operation : Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm

Bureau des services de santé en français

La Loi de 1986 sur les services en français et le Règlement 407/94

La Loi sur les services en français garantit le droit de chacun à recevoir des services en français de la part des ministères et organismes du gouvernement de l’Ontario dans les vingt-cinq régions désignées et au siège d’un organisme gouvernemental. Cette loi prévoit la reconnaissance légale et politique de droits acquis au cours de 400 ans en Ontario. Pour voir le texte la Loi sur les services en français, cliquez ici.

Le droit de recevoir des services en français : Les services en français ne se limitent pas à la correspondance, aux communications téléphoniques et à la traduction. Les besoins de la population francophone sont pris en considération dans l’élaboration et la mise en oeuvre des programmes, des politiques et des procédures. De plus, les services reçus en français doivent être équivalents à ceux offerts en anglais, offerts simultanément et de même qualité.

Ministères et organismes du gouvernement de l’Ontario : La Loi sur les services en français s’appliquede façon égale à tous les organismes du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée réglementés ou prévus par la loi dont la majorité des membres sont nommés par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil. Ceux-ci comprennent des organismes comme Action Cancer Ontario et les réseaux locaux d’intégration des services de santé.

Les vingt-cinq régions désignées : Les régions où les organismes gouvernementaux doivent offrir des services en français ont été désignées en 1986 dans la Loi de 1986 sur les services en français. Le Règlement 407/94 désigne des régions supplémentaires. Pour voir une carte des régions actuellement désignées, cliquez ici. Environ 85 pour cent de la population franco-ontarienne vit dans une région désignée. Pour qu’une région obtienne sa désignation, il faut en règle générale que les francophones représentent au moins 10 pour cent de sa population. Dans les centres urbains, la population francophone doit généralement compter au moins 5 000 habitants.

Pour en savoir plus

Communiquer avec la Ligne Info de ServiceOntario au 1 800 268-1154 (Appels sans frais)
À Toronto, faites le 416-314-5518
ATS : 1 800 387-5559.
À Toronto, ATS 416-327-4282
Heures d'ouverture : lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 - 17 h